Shine Stopper

Items you may also like

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Turn down the shine. A pea-sized amount of this oil control primer gives you a silky, powder-like finish that lasts 6 hours. It controls oil, minimizes pores.
Item #: 360
  • Enlarged Pores
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Unique MICROSPONGE® Technology controls shine

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 259 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 11 Next »
  1. SUSAN M.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect Makeup for 16 Hours
    • This product keeps my makeup perfect for 16 hours (or more?). If I don't use it , the oil in my skin leaves a shine and causes my makeup to fall into my lines. I would not want to be without this.

  2. Michelle Y.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Only Thing That Has Ever Worked
    • I have always had very oily skin and have tried every product under the sun. This product is the only product that I have used that has lasted for over 6 hrs! I don't need to blot at all. It has transformed my skin from slick to perfectly matte. Hands down, the best thing that has ever happened to me!

  3. monica m.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!!!!!
    • This is great. Dab a little on and you're set for the whole day! I get shiny on my T-zone and this eliminates that problem completely!

  4. TRACIE C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great!
    • I've tried several matte primers and this one is the best one I have tried! Caution to those slathering it on and not having the great results I have had: read the instructions. You need to DAB. DAB DAB DAB. If you wear foundation you will also have have to dab it on as well. I noticed a huge difference in my oil production by just changing to dabbing. At the end of the day I've only had to blot once (as opposed to 2-3 times previously) and I no long look like vaseline girl! Thanks PC!

  5. Sara R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Where Have You Been All My Life?!
    • Oh how I wish this had been around when I was in high school & college! I don't leave the house without it.

  6. Samantha G.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Amazing!
    • I have VERY oily skin that gets shiny after about two hours. I'd end up looking like I was sweating. The first few times I tried this I noticed a bit of a difference but after using a little more than recommended and really taking my time to dab it on the past two days, I'd go look in the mirror at work and see that my face wasn't shiny at all! This makes my skin feel so matte and soft as soon as I put it on and now I cant imagine living without it.

  7. Wahoonito Z.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Does what it claims
    • This product do exactly what it claims. Hope it will not discontinue.

  8. Sabrina
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Temporary relief for EXTERME oily skin
    • I've got extreme combination skin (oily skin in my T zone, normal on my cheeks) now when I say this I'm talking about 30 - 45 minutes after my skincare routing I'm an oil slick again. This product worked ok for me for the duration it held up... I think I would have about 2 hours before I was full on set oil again. I don't wear makeup so I could easily re-apply it if I was out and about.

  9. a. a
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    MIRACLE!!!
    • Well, more like a product that's actually based on research and skin care science that delivers what it promises. So, yeah, it is miracle in the damned sea of the disappointment that is the oil-controlling products out there. THIS KEEPS ME SHINE FREE ALL DAY WITH NO TOUCH UPS!!! This is my holy grail of all. Oily/comb skin fellows, GET ON THIS. YOU'LL NEVER LOOK BACK. Ok, as you can see, I am really excited about this!!!

  10. Shirley A.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very impressive!
    • I have long searched for the right primer to control shine on my nose and chin throughout the day, but this product works better than anything else I've found. The texture is quite unique, and as promised it literally soaks up moisture and reduces shine all day long.

  11. erika m.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    seriously? you're peddling something that really does what it says?
    • I have no idea what you're thinking by selling products that actually perform as you claim but I'm SO on this bandwagon! I picked this up with a big eye roll, knowing I'd send it back. Used it one morning as directed and didn't have time to check my face until mid afternoon and was SHOCKED and thrilled! I have no idea what kind of voodoo you're mixing into your potions but if I go to he!l for supporting whatever black magic you're peddling, sign me up because I'll look fabulous on my way down!

  12. Chris B
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally - Something that REALLY works!
    • I was hesitant to waste money on yet another product I was sure would fail to live up to its claim of controlling oil. Microsponge? Puh-lease! But I decided to I order some product samples, including Shine Stopper. I found several products I love, but this one blew me away. It REALLY works. REALLY! It lasts about 5 hours on my very oily skin, then I just blot with a tissue and put on a bit more. A whole day without becoming a huge oil slick! Hooray for a product that does what it says. Buy it!

  13. kathleen h.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Hmmmmmm......
    • Seems to work just fine-makes my skin feel smooth- not waxy .Make up went on very easily! I really like this stuff! thanks Paula, you did it right again!

  14. D
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really works
    • I'm in my 40's, and I've always had a shiny nose. Usually my nose produces more oil in response to anything meant to create a matte look. This is the first product I've ever used that works.

  15. Susan D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE!
    • I absolutely love this product. Has considerably cut down the oil and has even helped with black heads! At first I was rubbing the product into my skin, so because I wasn't using it right I didn't know if I liked it. After reading the directions again and seeing that you need to dab, NOT rub the product into skin I've fallen in love with it. I use it morning and night after cleaning and moisturizing. I would recommend anyone who has trouble controlling their oily skin try this product!

  16. Ree A
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My refuge
    • Shine Stopper is my only refuge since they reformulated Antishine from Smashbox. I am still in mourning over that particular loss, but Shine Stopper is a good successor. :)

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, December 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This is the first oil-control product I've tried that actually works. Oil is my biggest skin problem, and I always thought it seemed like my face was exceptionally bad. Typically, I would wash my face in the morning, and use 4-5 oil blotting sheets throughout the day. Each sheet would be completely clear each time. Now, I put this on in the morning after I wash my face and I don't even think about blotting--it works SO well and the "instant matte" definitely lives up to its name. It lasts too!

  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very pleased with the lovely result
    • I have moderately oily t-zone, don't wear foundation, and only use concealer to cover up blemishes. Primer is such a foreign concept. As shine's become more noticeable in photos these days, I finally tried this(free w/purchase) after it'd been sitting around for a while. Had to practise for an even application though. It didn't leave my skin parched, just a matt beginning and a glow by the end of 5-6 hours. That's 1 extra step I can add to my lazy person routine to look polished and feel pretty.

  19. VANESSA S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love It
    • I have quite an oily T zone, made worse by the fact I insist on wearing 'dewy' foundations. This product has solved my dilemma. It really controls the oil without your face looking too matt. I put it on before work and can go until after lunch without having to even worry about checking for a shiny face. Just a tip, and it does say it on the packaging - let your makeup set before you put this on. I have put it on straight after putting my foundation on when in a rush and it didn't work for me.

  20. LeeAnne N
    Reviewed on Friday, December 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • My skin isn't the oiliest, but I wear a medical mask and take it off and on all day, which tends to make my face shiny by the end of a work day. When I use this product, there's no shine at the end of the day

  21. Sofia, R.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is unbelievable.. won't go anywhere without it
    • This is by far my favorite Paula's Choice product. It really is amazing and you can see results immediately. I apply literally a tear drop size amount onto my finger, rub together and pat onto my shiny areas & I am not shiny all day. Now I will still be a little oily, but if anything I look dewy and refreshed. I can see the difference in my skin when I don't use it. I literally won't go anywhere without this and an SPF color chap-stick. I share this will all my friends & they love it too

  22. Kristina K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Combats Oil All Day
    • I don't have particularly oily skin, but it's very red, and I do use sea buckthorn oil to calm the flushing. The down side of using an oil directly on your face is that it gets very oily very quickly throughout the day. This shine stopper stuff is the only thing that stops my face from getting oily throughout the day! And it's great, because it creates a barrier between my skin and the air, so my skin isn't getting dried out at all.

  23. Ann G.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing miracle product! Thank you!
    • I have literally battled EXTREMELY oily skin my entire life. I always thought that I would outgrow it eventually. I am still waiting. My skin is as oily today in my 50's as it was at 15. Within 1 hour I had an oily shine and within 2 hours my face was a greasy mess. Gross. I have spent a lot of money on dozens of products over my lifetime. Some helped a little, some not at all. I can honestly say this product is AMAZING! It completely controls the oil for 6-7 hours! The holy grail for oily skin!

  24. Rachael M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good product if your extremely oily
    • I bought this along with several other Paula's Choice products. After using Paula's products my skin is no longer oily to the point of needing this product. I should have returned it. Free shipping was great enticement to try Paula products. This one does exactly as it claims and is great in itself. If however, you use other Paula products in the Clear line you may not need this one at all!

  25. Andrea M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Never stop producing this one, please!
    • I ordered a sample of this and just used it. My skin is so oily -specially on my forehead , that not even my MAC studio fix powder stays on for more than 3-4 hours. I need to reapply it often. I used this shine stopper and my makeup stayed on all day!! Will order the full size soon. Good job for this amazing product!!

« Prev Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is clinically proven to keep skin perfectly matte for at least 6 hours. Its unique MICROSPONGE® Technology works invisibly to keep oily shine in check while minimizing the appearance of pores. The luxurious formula dries to a silky-soft, powder-like finish that smoothes out minor skin imperfections—your makeup will look better and last longer than ever!

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Anyone with oily skin (or oily areas) who wants to maintain a fresh, matte complexion. Shine Stopper is perfect for blackhead- and blemish-prone skin; ideal for combination skin with an oily t-zone (forehead, nose, chin).

Sources to support the claims made for Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with Microsponge® Technology

International Journal of Cosmetic Science, Epublication, July 2010; Molecular Pharmaceutics, September–October 2009, pages 1,441–1,448; British Journal of Dermatology, November 2006, pages 890–894; and www.microsponge.com.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, silicone

Product Ingredients:

Water, Methyl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent/absorbent polymer), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (thickener), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-100 Stearate (thickener), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (absorbent), Glyceryl Stearate, Myristyl Myristate, Ceteareth-20, Xanthan Gum (thickeners), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Dispense a pea-sized amount and using clean fingers or a foundation sponge, dab (do not rub) lightly over oily areas as the last step of your skincare routine or over your foundation. If you wish to apply powder or blush over Shine Stopper, let Shine Stopper set completely first. Reapply as needed.

Additional Application Options and Tips

  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish works best when used with a lightweight liquid or powder foundation that also has a matte finish.
  • Those with oily skin should use a mattifying daytime moisturizer with SPF or a foundation with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater.
  • Don't wear makeup? No problem! If you have oily skin or oily areas, Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish may be used alone. The finish is invisible.
  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is excellent for men struggling with shiny areas, including on the scalp.
  • For best results, wait for your exfoliant and/or toner to set/absorb before applying Shine Stopper.
  • If using with one of Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrates, apply Shine Stopper after the serum.

Is Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish a primer?

Yes, in the sense that it helps those with oily skin maintain control over excess surface oil while smoothing skin's texture. These features help enhance makeup application and wear, so you'll see longer-lasting results and won't have to touch up frequently. For best results, make sure your foundation has a matte finish.

What exactly is Microsponge® Technology?

This proprietary technology works instantly and over time to help absorb and trap excess oil as it reaches your skin's surface. Much like a sponge absorbs moisture, Microsponge uses special porous polymers that not only absorb excess oil but also leave your skin feeling powdery smooth and fresh. Think of this technology as millions of spherical sponges working to keep your oily skin looking beautifully refined and perfectly matte without dryness or dullness.

Where does all of the excess oil go?

Once absorbed via the Microsponge® Technology, the excess oil remains trapped inside the unique polymers until they've reached their capacity to trap oil. Once this happens, you'll begin seeing excess shine on your skin; however, most will find that the technology built into Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish keeps excess oil (shine) in check for several hours. When you cleanse your face, the polymers holding the excess oil are simply washed away!

Does Microsponge® Technology involve the use of nanoparticles?

No, this technology was made possible without the use of nanoparticles.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.