Items you may also like

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

The best foundation you never see. This light and silky tint evens out your complexion with a hint of color while keeping out the sun’s rays.
Item #: 912
  • Rosacea
  • For All Skin Types
  • Sheer coverage
  • Protects from the #1 cause of brown spots and signs of aging

Not sure of your shade? Purchase a sample pack here.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 274 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 11 Next »
  1. Kelsey, M
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    (would be nice in larger size)
    • Live this stuff... please start making a larger size, it's a pain to reorder often xP

  2. Tracy M.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 27, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Decent on its own, great as a base
    • This stuff isn't going anywhere, once applied on your face. If you apply it on it's own, it might be drying. I use a moisturizer, then this, then touch it up with foundation in my more blotchy areas and under my eyes. It works amaaaazing as a base. Yeah, the color is a bit goofy, but a touch of powder or foundation will fix it. An anyone else in the world probably wouldn't notice anyway.

  3. Theresa S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love Love!
    • I have used this product for years. It is perfect for the "no makeup" makeup look with an efficacious sunscreen. It also works perfectly with Paula's powder, MAC Mineralize Skin Finish or Laura Geller Balance 'n' Brighten for a natural, medium coverage look. This is a holy grail product for me and I hope Paula never stops making it.

  4. Stacey H.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    true to skin color and stays all day
    • I have tried several drugstore tinted BB creams and they always made my skin have an orangey glow, plus they don't last all day. I have used this for a few weeks now and I love it! I have pretty fair skin and the color is perfect for my face. No orangey/overly tan look here. Now my face matches my real skin tone. Also, it lasts all day, even in the sun. It doesn't run or melt even when it's hot out.

  5. Christina C
    Reviewed on Monday, June 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    In love!
    • easily blends, moisturizing, perfect shade for my light, olive skin tone. I almost purchased All Bases Covered but wanted more of a skin care item. Doesn't hide every imperfection, but use some concealer &/or powder and voila! Just wish it came in a bigger size!!!!!!!

  6. Robyn T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I adore this Tint
    • I usually switch to this product from my other PC foundation in the summer, when it is hotter and I am more prone to getting a little moist in the face. I have oily-combination, blackhead and acne-prone skin. It is light on my skin, looks amazing on, and works incredibly well in my hot, humid climate. It honestly makes me look like I have naturally, flawlessly even, clear, skin. Well, I almost do because of PC products, but this gives me that extra umph! It is a wonderful product.

  7. Jenny A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best!
    • I've tried a few tinted moisturizers (I had been alternating between Arcona Reozone SPF 40 and Tarte Amazonian clay BB tinted moisturizer SPF 20 for a while. Meh). This is the first one I've found that's both moisturizing and light! The others were either too heavy or too drying. This formula is perfect for my skin! This is also the first time I've found a colour that isn't too chalky or too dark for my pale but freckled complexion.

  8. Martha P.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Almost perfect
    • This tinted moisturizer feels great on my skin, and really is barely there! Except, it's slightly too yellow and not light enough for my complexion. I would use RESIST foundation in porcelain, but it's too drying for my skin and too much coverage. I find that if I mix the two together it looks perfect! Won't be purchasing either products again though.

  9. KATE S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product
    • The first tinted moisturizer I've liked! I have combination skin and this neither dries me out nor makes me shine. I also have very fair skin and while most tinted moisturizers, even in their lightest color, tend to look orange on me, this one looks great! I love it.

  10. Vanessa
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lovely
    • This is a great sunscreen, better than Clinique Super City Block which I found too greasy. I do like to set it with a bit of powder as its a bit too dewy for my liking. This was the first PC product I bought because I was looking for a mineral based sunscreen and a BB cream in one. Now I'm converted to PC products.

  11. Tina S.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Lightweight and Smooth
    • Do due my combination/oily skin and T-zone acne breakouts (a medication side effect), my skin can't handle traditional thick foundations that you find at the store. Similar to a BB cream, the product gives me decent coverage and doesn't worsen my acne breakouts which is wonderful. I will say, that I wish it came in a bigger container and I still need a good cover up for things like acne spots and darkness under my eyes but it's light and applies easily.

  12. Laura C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 03, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Perfect for me
    • I have dry skin so I use moisturizer under this and treat it as a very light coverage foundation that has sun screen. For the summer I don't really need the extra moisturizer in the AM if I use it at night in the summer. Looks very natural and when set with Paula's pressed powder with SPF, I'm ready to go for a day in light sun.

  13. Janice
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A great tinted moisturizer
    • I really love this tinted moisturizer! This is better than the 1st one Paula came out with. I have very dry skin & use this over my moisturizer. Blends very well, looks so natural, & nice coverage for a tinted moisturizer. Colors are great, very natural. I have level 3 & 4. 3 for the winter, 4 for summer. Sometimes I mix the 2. Just a great product, better than any tinted moisturizer I've tried, high-end & drugstore, oh! & many compliments on my skin while wearing this.

  14. Ariana M
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Two thumbs down
    • Did not work for my combination, olive complexion. The medium tan looked orange and did not apply well.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 28, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry this product disappointed you. Please feel free to contact us to discuss a return or exchange.

    —Admin
  15. Diane from Canada eh!
    Reviewed on Friday, April 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30
    • Love this product! Whoever passed the comment that this product was too drying for her, do you exfoliate? It does help to absorb moisturizer and foundation. As it is described, it is a sheer foundation, if you need more coverage, you need to go to her "all bases covered". Diane

  16. Tanis S
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 17, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Wished for more...
    • Very disappointed with this product. I thought this would act like a tinted moisturizer, I can't even classify it as a foundation for its very low coverage. It does go on thick but it really doesn't provide much if any coverage and I used Level 3, I was actually going to order Level 2 but it was sold out, good thing I didn't. It is very drying, it felt like sandpaper and made my skin itchy. Definitely not much of a moisturizer either. Thumbs down, sorry.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, April 17, 2014

    We're sorry this porduct did not meet your needs. It is not a foundation, it is meant to be a sheer tint with sunscreen. The formula contains several hydrating ingredients, but those with dry skin will want to apply moisturizer first. Please contact us to arrange for a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  17. Jennifer K.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love it!
    • I love this tinted SPF. Gives some sheer coverage, very natural looking. I am pale and shade 1 works well for me. It hasn't irritated my sensitive skin or caused breakouts. My skin is on the drier side and I do need to use another moisturizer underneath.

  18. Paula S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Paula
    • I love this stuff-blends beautifully and looks natural! You don't feel like you're wearing anything with sunscreen in it. I like to layer it for extra coverage. I normally use level 1, but thought it was a bit light, so decided to get level 2. Problem is, you've been out of stock of BOTH for AGES! Argh! I ordered level 3 to blend with my remaining level 1. Seemed to work well, but now my level 1 has run out and I am left with level 3 which is too dark. Can't wait to get my hands on MORE!!!

  19. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Oxidation Station
    • I'd try going a shade down. Samples were out of stock when I ordered, so I went ahead and tried the full size of 4. Straight out of the tube, I thought I could hack it fine, by blending down to neck, etc.---wrong! Halfway through my workday I saw my reflection in the bathroom, and I was so embarrassed- I looked like an Oompa Loompah! I think my oily skin paired with a warm day triggered some sort of oxidation, and I haven't been able to wear it confidently since.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, April 08, 2014

    Hi there! Be sure to contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange.  We're sorry the Barely There SPF 30 wasn't a fit for you!

    —Admin
  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love This Despite the Stocking Issue
    • I love this product. It has just the right combination of sheer coverage and moisturizer. Not too oily and not too drying. I have rosacea and am sensitive to almost all products, but not this one. The stocking issue is very frustrating. It is often out of sock and take a long time to come back in stock. PLEASE work on rectifying this problem.

  21. Renee D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE this....IF I could only re-order it....
    • I can't tell you how much I love the sheer coverage of the Barely There Tint. It is the best tinted moisturizer I've used. I have skin that tends to be oily-combo, and it works great with my skin. It IS terribly frustrating that it continues to be out of stock every 4-6 months though. I've had to go to one of PC's foundations in the interim and mix with moisturizer for a sheerer look. PLEASE keep in stock!

  22. KANDA H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best, Best, Best!!
    • I can't say enough about how great this product is. I love it. It has replaced my normal moisturizer in the morning unless I am feeling a bit dry then I layer it over some moisturizer. The coverage is perfect for the natural, polished look I like. The colors have been slightly reformulated and now Level 1 is the PERFECT shade for my very fair, rosy skin. It looks lovely all day, doesn't make my skin oily or shiny and comes off easily at night. Great work Paula!

  23. THOMAS W.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best fit
    • 1) I use medium/tan, usually mixed with resist super-light sunscreen for a very natural, smooth finish look 2) Love the texture of this tinted moisturizer, which gives me enough blending time 3) mix with my MAC select cover concealer to bonus with SPF! (this MAC concealer is somewhat fast-drying, by adding this tinited moisturizer, this can pro-long the blending time under my eyes! perfect combination

  24. Barely There Fan in Upstate NY
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    ABSOLUTELY THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER!!!!!!!!!
    • Paula, THANK YOU for creating what I consider the BEST foundation I have ever used. PLEASE NEVER DISCONTINUE this product. I have spent years searching for a foundation that is natural looking, completely blends into my own skin AND offers a 100% mineral sunscreen for sun protection. (I cannot use any chemical sunscreen around my eyes - yours is completely comfortable around my eyes)! I also use enough all over my face to have complete sun protection and yet my skin looks natural and healthy!

  25. Wahoonito Z.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not Matte
    • I do not dislike this. Pro: (i) It matches your skin and looks natural. (ii) Dewy finish. Con: (i) If you are with oily skin, or combination skin who are looking for truly matte finish product, be aware that this is not. It has satin to natural finish, not matte. Using PC shine control ex-ante and setting it with a press powder ex-post will help it looks matte for about 4 hours at most. The rating is low only due to the misleading claim but not due to the performance.

« Prev Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 is an unbelievably light and silky tinted moisturizer that blends effortlessly to even out your complexion while allowing your natural skin tone to show through. You'll get a smooth, satin-matte finish with sheer coverage and a hint of color to enliven skin. All this, plus broad-spectrum sun protection via pure titanium dioxide and zinc oxide make it the perfect beginning to your makeup application!

This product is 100% fragrance-free.

Who is this product for?
Barely There Sheer Matte Tint is recommended for all skin types and may be used by those with rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 136–149; Pharmazie, January 2008, pages 58–60; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; The Lancet, August 2007, pages 528–537; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2005, pages 253–262; http://www.aad.org/public/publications/pamphlets/common_melasma.html; and http://www.emedicine.com/DERM/topic260.htm.

Key Ingredients: sodium hyaluronate, titanium dioxide, vitamin C, vitamin E, zinc oxide

Product Ingredients:

Active: Titanium Dioxide 5%; Zinc Oxide 5% (mineral-based sunscreens); Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Propylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PEG/PPG-18/18-Dimethicone (silicone-based emulsifier), Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate (thickener), Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone slip agents), Talc (absorbent), Phytantriol (water-binding agent), Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (antioxidants vitamin E and C), Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Aluminum Hydroxide, Stearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (slip agent), Boron Nitride (absorbent), Sodium Dehydroacetate (preservative), Palmitic Acid (thickener), Dextrin Palmitate (emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives). May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide (pigments).

DIRECTIONS: Apply after using your usual skin-care routine. You can use this tinted moisturizer with sunscreen over your daytime moisturizer whether it also contains sunscreen or not. It is fine to layer sunscreens. Apply with a makeup sponge, foundation brush, or clean fingertips. Dab the tint over the central part of the face, and blend downward using short, smooth strokes. Layer as needed to build desired coverage and then smooth out any excess product. If desired, follow with a pressed powder.

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 can be layered for additional color and a bit more coverage. Since this is a tint, the level of coverage increases only subtly as you add layers (not substantially as it would with a foundation).

Since the shades are sheer, it is not critical to get an exact match. If you are in-between two shades, we recommend going with the shade that is slightly darker (instead of lighter) than your skin tone. This will add a touch of translucent color to your face, though you will want to make sure the shade matches your neck/jawline as closely as possible (samples of each shade are available).

Do I need to use a separate moisturizer with Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30?

Unless you have dry skin or dry areas, Barely There Sheer Matte Tint can be used comfortably on its own. It is designed for all skin types, but someone with dry to very dry skin may prefer to apply a moisturizer first for additional hydration. Those with normal to oily skin will likely appreciate the light feel and natural matte finish Barely There Sheer Matte Tint provides, though for this skin type a lightweight moisturizer can be applied to dry areas if needed.

Is Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 closer to a tinted moisturizer or a foundation?

It is closer to a tinted moisturizer, but offers more coverage than most tinted moisturizers do. It does not provide coverage on par with liquid foundations, including All Bases Covered Foundation SPF 25 for normal to dry skin) and Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25 (normal to oily/combination skin).

Is Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 safe for breakout-prone skin?

It is a good choice due to the fact that it isn't heavy, thick or greasy. However, we cannot guarantee it won't cause or worsen blemishes. For some people, this product's active ingredients (the mineral sunscreens titanium dioxide and zinc oxide) can cause clogged pores. The only way to know if any product will cause or worsen breakouts is to try it and see how your skin responds.

How come this foundation's SPF rating increased from SPF 20 to SPF 30? Did the formula change?

Rest assured the formula has not changed. What happened is that we retested Barely There Sheer Matte Tint to comply with the latest FDA regulations. We were thrilled to find out that not only does this sunscreen meet the FDA's new broad-spectrum protection standards, but also that its mineral-based SPF rating is higher than previous testing revealed. It's the same sheer foundation you've been enjoying—only now you're getting a greater amount of critical sun protection!

Help! I'm confused by the new shade names. How do I know which shade to buy now?

Our goal with switching from shade names to shade levels (intensities) was used to make the process easier, but we recognize that fans of this product may be confused as to which level matches their ideal shade. Here's how it breaks down:

Used to use Sheer Fair? The new shade name is Level 1.

Used to use Sheer Ivory? The new shade name is Level 2.

Used to use Sheer Neutral? The new shade name is Level 3.

Used to use Sheer Beige? The new shade name is Level 4.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.358 12/20/2014 5:51:54 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.