Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Acne, I won’t miss you when you’re gone. Unclog pores, reduce redness, and start a relationship with the healthy skin of your dreams.
Item #: 620
  • Acne Breakouts, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Redness
  • For All Skin Types

For best results, use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 234 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 10 Next »
  1. Kathryn L.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This product is amazing! Feels like water.
    • I've used BHA products before and they are usually very drying. This, though, feels like putting water on your face! I suggest skipping the cotton ball directions and just putting some on your fingertips. You have to apply it fast but cotton soaks it up too much. Seriously amazing product.

  2. Mini
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miracle in a bottle
    • I have been suffering with hormonal cystic acne for several months. I'd been using a 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide cream and an AHA cream, which had always worked in the past, but didn't seem to be cutting it. BHA's have never worked for me, but I tried this as a last resort. I noticed a difference overnight - my skin's texture was better and the huge cysts I had on my face for months were FINALLY shrinking. I've used this for a month now and have since re-ordered so I will never be without it again!

  3. Jason B.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This Is The One!
    • I was using the extra strength CLEAR exfoliant for a couple weeks and I hate the texture of it, so Paula recommended I try this version. I'm glad I listened. It's not oily feeling at all like the extra strength one is. This regular strength is like slightly thick water; Does that even make sense? Well, whatever, the texture's great, I don't feel oily, I see it calming my skin but doing its job of exfoliating too. This is the one I'll keep buying again and again. Thanks for recommending it!

  4. Yuliya
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a BHA I can trust
    • I really like this exfoliant and i feel like I can only trust PAULAS BHA because everything else doesn't have the right pH. I started out using this day and night but it was too much and gave me tiny irritation pimples .. I now only use it at night and sometimes only on problem spots. This and the c15 are pimple blasters! Just make sure you don't over use if you have sensitive skin.

  5. Katherine V.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Gave it a second try
    • I tried the regular strength acne trial kit, was disappointed with the results, tried the extra strength, and again was disappointed. I tried other PC products and found a regimen that worked for me. My skin wasn't perfect, but it was ok. But soon I realized that I was settling for less than perfect skin! I decided to give the exfoliating solution another shot. SO glad I did! My skin is totally clearing up and looks healthier! Combined with the right toner & moisturizer this system really works!

  6. Adrianna C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    great product, bottle leaks
    • love the product, not the packaging. 95% of the time when I have it upright on my sink, the packaging works fine with no leaking. But when it goes in my suitcase for a trip (roadtrip, not a flight), it leaks. Not necessarily a deal breaker for me since I really like the product, but its a little bit annoying. Might try another one of PC BHA products that is less liquidy.

  7. Hena S
    Reviewed on Monday, April 21, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    So so
    • I purchased this product after reading many good reviews about PC products. I'm in my early 30s struggling with white heads. I use this product twice daily along with other PC products. After 2 months use, I can't say that the product has reduced or eliminated white heads (as advertised) but the redness and marks have faded.

  8. Trisha B
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    First Salicylic Acid That Works!
    • Salicylic Acid always irritates my skin. I love the benefits of a Salicylic Acid but I wish I could experience those results. I have extremely acne prone, oily skin. I am glad I gave Salicylic Acid another chance. I believe this is the only product that contains Salicylic Acid that works! My horrible skin cleared up beautifully in a week. I am a forever lover of Paula's Choice products! I cannot wait to try out more things from this site.

  9. Marie
    Reviewed on Friday, April 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best salicylic acid product EVER
    • This product is the BEST! I'm 32 and still struggle with acne! Birth control pills plus this product have kept me breakout free for over a year. I have tried almost all of PC's other sal acid products, but this is the best: it is gentle, effective, and weightless on the skin. I can layer my sunscreen (eltaMD UV clear) and makeup over this without product balling up on the skin. Though truthfully, I only wear powder now since my skin is so clear!

  10. MARY K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Product at the BEST Price!
    • I use this every other day in the morning & at night. One day I use AHA one day BHA. My skin is very oily & resistant to products. I love how this toner really has made a difference with my acne, and pore size. I love how this has transformed my skin and it well priced it is. If you are hesitant buy the trail size portion, you will be amazed at the results.

  11. YIDAO H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Review for Paula
    • I feel really strange why Paula did not promote this product as from my pespective, I believe this should be the best BHA product for those oliy skin. I wish Paula could see my review and tell this execellent BHA product to more people.

  12. Narin A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    best exfoliator
    • This is the best toner/exfoliator/breakout prevention treatment/skin lightener all in one. I used to use gritty exfoliators and didn't realise I was actually damaging my skin. I feel like this product does a good job at daily exfoliation, it brightens my skin and prevents breakouts. I haven't had any dry patches, irritation or redness from this. Its perfect.

  13. Mae C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantabulous!!!
    • This product is amazing!!! I was using the CLEAR extra strength exfoliant and found it to be too irritating for my skin. I switched to the regular strength and couldn't be more happy with the results! My pores are smaller, blackheads are reduced and hardly any more breakouts!!

  14. Christina C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lifesaver!
    • After having success with Stridex for several months, my skin began to break out again for some unknown reason. Nothing in my routine changed at all. Suddenly there were just more breakouts. I've heard the menthol in Stridex can be problematic for some, so I went on the search for a BP toner without it. This product has been AMAZING. The clogs and whiteheads I was seeing have become far less frequent. I'm so much more confident!

  15. kayr
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The only thing that is helping clear up my skin!
    • I've tried just about everything, including prescription acne medications and nothing has made my skin look and feel the way this product does! It's only been about two weeks, but I have fewer pimples and those that have come about go away in less than two days! It's non-drying and has also made my pores smaller. I am an absolute fan of this!

  16. Nicole G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • I was previously using PC's 1% BHA Gel Exfoliant in the morning, but it was rolling up when I was applying my foundation. So, I ordered this when the gel was almost gone, and I love it! It's very light and does not dry out my skin. It also made my face feel extremely soft! It's never felt this soft before. I definitely recommend this!

  17. Linda F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Magic potion!
    • As with other reviewers, my son & I prefer this formulation over the extra strength for its weightless feel on the skin. With just ONE use, his acne calmed and redness was visibly diminished. He's inherited terrible acne-prone skin from both his father & me. This is like a magic potion reducing redness and breakouts overnight! I wish I had this product when I was his age!

  18. Anna
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Keeps my pores Clear
    • I LOVE this product. It keeps my pores clear and feels like nothing. Is not drying either.

  19. erika m.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Well, this works
    • Keeps my pores clear. My oily, acne-prone, fair skin that has always been red (before I found Paula's Choice), is no longer discolored. Not harsh or drying and doesn't sting. I agree with the other reviewers and would also like to submit my request that this be upgraded to a larger size bottle. I would gladly purchase this by the liter because I'm forgetful and lazy and don't want to keep having to remember to re-order.

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Savior
    • After my 2nd pregnancy (5 yrs ago), my skin changed. It began with a few clogged pores and next I knew, it was along my jawline to my temples. My skin was never problematic so battling this was stressful. About 8 mths ago, I learned about Paula's Choice from www.skinacea.com. Although I have a cabinet full of useless products and spent money on facials, I'm glad I haven't spent money for a dermatologist yet. This product saved me from my saga with battling clogged pores. Glad I found it!!!

  21. Katie N.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect and lightweight!
    • This in the morning, in conjunction with 2% liquid BHA at nighttime have completely saved my skin! This toner is perfectly absorbent and lightweight, and didn't dry my skin out like I feared it would. It helps keep breakouts at bay, but hydrates at the same time. For a while I thought salicylic acids were a hoax because NONE of them had ever worked for me, but Paula's Choice products are fantastic! It's a perfectly perfect daytime toner for me!

  22. Erin S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A Great Find for Me
    • This has been a great find for me. I have oily (drier in winter), sensitive, break-out-prone skin. I cannot pile products on my face, or I will pay for it with a plethora of pimples. I've found that toners in general either bring me more break outs or really sting and irritate my skin, including other PC toners I've tried in the past. But this one is different. I use it at night after washing my face with PC Moisture Boost Cleanser (the best!), and it helps keep my skin clear w/o irritation.

  23. Victoria G.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favourite exfoliant.
    • This is my favourite out of all Paula's exfoliants. I love that it absorbs into my skin instantly and doesn't leave a shiny look. It is also completely non irritating.

  24. Kristen D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wondeful!
    • This is a super light exfoliant. It feels like putting water on your face. It really helped keep my acne at bay. I tried a sample of the extra strength version but it was much too drying for me. So glad that Paula's Choice has samples.

  25. Marina V.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This is the only BHA that worked for me, I tried just about each one and this is the only one I love and will keep on repurchasing! Ive noticed a huge improvement in my pores and finally after a year of battling with acne, my skin is clearing up. I couldnt be happier, and it really feels water-like (no smell, no greasy feeling and dries in an instant.) A++++++

« Prev Page of 10 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution brings about an immediate reduction in blackheads, white bumps, and acne by unclogging pores and reducing inflammation with 2% salicylic acid.

Unlike most products designed for acne-prone skin, Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution doesn't use harsh, irritating ingredients such as alcohol, menthol, peppermint, or camphor that can make acne worse.

Its light-as-water texture leaves skin feeling like there is nothing on your face, yet delivers powerful anti-acne benefits all day long.

Ongoing use can guarantee significantly Clearer, smoother, even-toned skin and can eliminate redness from acne lesions.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with an effective pH range of 3.5-3.9.

Who is this product for?
This product is recommended for all skin types experiencing mild to moderate acne, blackheads, or white bumps. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution

Cutis, July 2009, pages 48–55; Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, allantoin, salicylic acid, panthenol, sodium hyaluronate

Product Ingredients:

Active: Salicylic Acid 2% Inactive: Water, Dipropylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Pentylene Glycol (slip agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), PEG/PPG-17/6/Copolymer (solvent), Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agent), Glycereth-26 (thickener), Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Sodium Metabisulfite (stabilizer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily after cleansing. Lightly soak a cotton pad and apply over the entire face, including the eye area (avoid the lower lash line and eyelids). Do not rinse. If excessive dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once per day or once every other day. For daytime, follow with a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 25 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution differ from Paula's regular BHA products?

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution contains salicylic acid just like all of her other BHA products. The difference is that this product is a nearly weightless liquid for those struggling with acne and blackheads. It also contains specialized anti-irritants and a blend of skin-conditioning agents designed to help calm skin that's inflamed and reddened from acne.

Why didn't Paula formulate a 1% salicylic acid exfoliant for the Clear line?

The Clear line was designed to be an over-the-counter routine that's as effective as possible for those struggling with acne. Rather than offer an exfoliant with 1% salicylic acid, Paula opted to use 2% but formulate the exfoliant so its pH is slightly higher but still within range for efficacy. The penetration enhancers chosen help control the release of salicylic acid into the skin; the result is an effective product that's surprisingly gentle.

What's the difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants? Both contain 2% salicylic acid!

The difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants is in the delivery systems and their textures. Both contain 2% salicylic acid but the Regular Strength has a nearly weightless feel on your skin and a pH of around 3.9, making it gentler on the skin. The Extra Strength version's formula can penetrate deeper into the pore and has a pH of 3.5. It is designed for those with more stubborn or persistent breakouts. Both exfoliants are highly effective options as part of a routine for Clear skin; you may need to experiment with both to see which works best for your skin type. It is also fine to use both: Apply one in the morning and the other at night.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.358 12/20/2014 8:37:35 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.