Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Acne, I won’t miss you when you’re gone. Unclog pores, reduce redness, and start a relationship with the healthy skin of your dreams.
Item #: 620
  • Acne Breakouts, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Redness
  • For All Skin Types

For best results, use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 227 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 10 Next »
  1. Cynthia
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    where have you been all my life?
    • I'm over 50 and thought I was still battling acne, which began when I was 13. For years I used mild soap and 2.5% BP and thought it was the best I could do. I've realized that I don't have inflamed pustules or cysts, just lots of enlarged clogged pores. My routine has now changed. I use this every other night and only spot treat if necessary with the BP. I have smooth and glowing skin for the first time in decades. It is due to this product. I noticed a difference after the first use.

  2. Jenny T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    No results in 3 months
    • I used it as a toner. I transferred it to a mini travel spray bottle. I like to spray it to my hand, spread it on my face, and pat it. At night, I use it with a cotton pad if I wear makeup that day. It dries a little fast. I have the extra strength version and noticed it doesn't dry as fast. I used this day and night for 3 months. My reason to buy this was because my main concern is clogged pores. I didn't see a difference that it had made for my clogged pores or my skin according to its claims.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, November 07, 2013

    Thanks for your review! Without knowing what else you were using on your face, it's difficult to determine why this exfoliant didn't improve matters. Please contact us for additonal information and to determine if another product or products in your routine are making your clogged pores worse.

    —Admin
  3. Rachel M
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for Moderate Acne
    • I was afraid to use any BHA because I thought it would burn my skin. I'm prone to the acne that is red, hard, clustered, and doesn't pop. I call them super zits. Before this BHA, these clustered pimples would last forever. Now that I use this at morning and night, when I do get these pimples, they go away quicker. Yea! My skin isn't drying out and it seems like my old acne scars are going away, too. BONUS!

  4. Katelyn H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this stuff!
    • This is my miracle product. Doesn't dry out my skin and doesn't feel sticky or heavy on. Just wish it was sold in a bigger bottle because since I use it twice a day, I run out pretty quickly and I am constantly having to re-order. Great stuff though - definitely worth the money.

  5. Abbie R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic product
    • After I'd been using this product for a week, a friend came to town and the first thing she said was, "Your skin looks amazing!" This product was the only change to my skincare routine. Since using it for about a month, I have only had two pimples, and both were hormonal. Before this product, I used to have one or two pimples on my face most of the time. I have also noticed an improvement in the blackheads on my nose and chin. I will repurchase again and again!

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    where has this been all my skin's life????
    • PROS: Keeps my pores clear & NOTICEABLY smaller & exfoliates surface layer. No fragrance. Did not bother my sensitive skin. If careful, can even use where I get milia in undereye area (NOT close to eye.) Keeps my teen's acne skin under control. teen's routine: CLEAR cleanser, then this solution, then the CLEAR benz. perox. treatment, then Clean & Clear Oil-Free Dual Action moisturizer. CONS: Wish it came in a bigger bottle too, to save $. Product comes out too fast out of the bottle.

  7. Jay C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I love this product!
    • This is a staple in my skincare routine! It absorbs nicely into the skin, and really has helped my to improve my skin tone tremendously! It has also helped to curb breakouts and blackheads. I love that this is gentle on my skin but so clearly effective, by far this is a standout exfoliating product from the Paula's Choice line. Bravo!!

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail of skincare
    • I've dealt with sensitive, problematic skin for as long as I can remember. My mild to moderate acne would flare up without warning and as I am a swimmer, the chlorine further damaged my skin. Within a few days of using this exfoliant, my skin was clear and glowing, and it has improved even further with daily use. I've been using this for about a month and I have never had these kind of results from anything, even chemical peels. Thank you Paula! Your line is truly exceptional.

  9. JY
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AWESOME exfoliant
    • I sampled at least 4-5 PC exfoliants, and my combo/oily/sensitive skin had issues with all of them - too sticky, too shiny, caused milia, too heavy, you name it. Almost gave up until I came across this line - this product restored my faith in BHA. Weightless, water-like texture, dry finish, and really works on improving my skin texture without irritation. Best so far, can't recommend it highly enough!

  10. Kay M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best BHA
    • This is hands-down the best cleanser I have ever tried, and like so many others, I have tried them all :) it really controls my redness beautifully and was lightweight and not sticky at all! It helps keep my blackheads, milia AND breakouts under control. Yaaaaay for Paula's Choice.

  11. MARIANNA
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product!
    • This stuff is awesome! It has really helped with my acne and red marks. It seems to make my skin glow.

  12. Mae
    Reviewed on Friday, August 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow
    • Wow, I was struggling for years with cystic acne and ever since using this I have completely eliminated the problem. My skin feels like it is able to breathe now. It feels fresh and this BHA has also helped to fade the dark marks on my skin from past breakouts. I am so happy with this product!

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect skin
    • This is an amazing product ! The promises on the bottle are not empty promises ! I will continue to use this product faithfully , the results on my skin are amazing!

  14. Olivia M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm Hooked
    • Paula really out did herself with this one. This is hands-down one of the best products, besides Accutane, I have ever used. My skin looks and feels wonderful. Please, please, please do not discontinue or alter the formula. Leave it just the way it is, its a truly great product.

  15. Elisha K.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love the product, dislike the quantity
    • I love this product, however I find myself purchasing this much more often than the cleanser, as the bottle is a lot smaller. I probably purchase this twice as much as the cleanser, and it's very inconvenient having to reorder products at different times. The CLEAR line of products is the only line that has worked for my acne!

  16. Monica H
    Reviewed on Friday, July 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very very good (please change the bottle)
    • I love love love this product. I have found it to be one of the only products that keeps my chin clear. Without it I would have pimples no matter what products I use. The only gripe I have is that bottle is so tall and thin that as the product diminishes, the bottle tips over very easily. I have had so many bottles of this fall off the counter or else tip over accidently spilling onto the countertop or floor. Please make the bottle a bit more squat! Other than that one issue, I LOVE this!

  17. Jay P
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Definitely "Holy Grail" status for me...
    • This is now a total, holy grail status skin care product for me. I have seen this stuff almost instantaneously shrink pimples and greatly reduce their redness in a matter of minutes. This not only keeps my skin clear, I believe it also improves the texture and clarity of complexion overall. And I love that this is in liquid form- so, I just use this in place of my toner in the morning. I use this once every morning. It initally feels a little sticky, but after 20 min, your face will feel smooth.

  18. Ali
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Gentle yet effective
    • I use this BHA liquid as an everyday toner and have also poured some into a small opaque travel spray bottle for easy application to my back. It dries up my excess oil production without drying out my skin. I love the consistency and prefer this formula over the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA liquid which I found too drying.

  19. SARAH B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Absolute holy grail toner
    • This toner is amazing and feel weightless. I like the consistency/feel of this one much better than the extra strength version, and it seems to work just as well on my large pores and breakout prone skin. Works to calm acne and shrink pores. I also use it on my arms and back if I ever get breakouts from sports bras, etc. Also works on ingrown hairs. I use it every night. It's the best toner ever!!

  20. LYNN R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product!
    • I have very sensitive skin with a few stubborn bumps on my chin. They weren't really pimples, just clogged up pores, I think. After using this product for one week, several of them just sloughed right off and the rest are on their way out. Even with my dry & sensitive skin, this product doesn't cause flakiness. If it feels too dry, I just skip one application.

  21. NATALIA C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great for acne prone skin!
    • I am allergic to benzoyl peroxide. This product helps to clear skin.. and keep acne at bay. I find this product is not as drying the extra strength 5% benzoyl peroxide and works better on my skin. I used it all over my skin except on my cheeks because the skin on my cheeks is quite dry already.

  22. LORENZO W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • This seems to be the best exfoliant that works for me. This really feels lightweight unlike the liquid and so far I haven't had any major new breakouts! I think this one is a keeper.

  23. kris
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best BHA liquid!
    • I can't say enough about this product. It has made a huge difference in the clarity of my skin! The search for a star Salicylic Acid treatment is over! Non irritating even with twice daily use. I also noticed a huge difference in the redness of a blemish within a few hours of use. It can leave a slight residue on the face but is unnoticeable as soon as I apply my next product no matter how light it is. I really like the size of this product as well.

  24. GEORGE
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • absolutely wonderful exfoliant. I love this so much and love the new packaging change which helps limit the amount of liquid that comes out. Bravo, PC!

  25. Laura
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally something that works.
    • I have very sensitive skin that is prone to clogged pores and pustules. Until now I could not use BHA due to irritation, but the Clear Regular toner works amazing for me. I use this once a day at night and have seen great results. Inflamed acne starts to go down in just one night and I also have not had any new clogged pores. Best of all I don't experience any stinging, redness, or dryness. Doesn't leave a shiny finish either. Just ordered 2 more bottles and will be using for a long time.

« Prev Page of 10 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution brings about an immediate reduction in blackheads, white bumps, and acne by unclogging pores and reducing inflammation with 2% salicylic acid.

Unlike most products designed for acne-prone skin, Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution doesn't use harsh, irritating ingredients such as alcohol, menthol, peppermint, or camphor that can make acne worse.

Its light-as-water texture leaves skin feeling like there is nothing on your face, yet delivers powerful anti-acne benefits all day long.

Ongoing use can guarantee significantly Clearer, smoother, even-toned skin and can eliminate redness from acne lesions.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with an effective pH range of 3.5-3.9.

Who is this product for?
This product is recommended for all skin types experiencing mild to moderate acne, blackheads, or white bumps. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution

Cutis, July 2009, pages 48–55; Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, allantoin, salicylic acid, panthenol, sodium hyaluronate

Product Ingredients:

Active: Salicylic Acid 2% Inactive: Water, Dipropylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Pentylene Glycol (slip agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), PEG/PPG-17/6/Copolymer (solvent), Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agent), Glycereth-26 (thickener), Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Sodium Metabisulfite (stabilizer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Use twice daily. After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser, soak a large cotton ball with Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution and gently stroke over face. Pay special attention to acne- and blackhead-prone areas. Do not rinse. Avoid contact with eyes, eyelids, and mucous membranes. If excessive dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once per day or once every other day.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution differ from Paula's regular BHA products?

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution contains salicylic acid just like all of her other BHA products. The difference is that this product is a nearly weightless liquid for those struggling with acne and blackheads. It also contains specialized anti-irritants and a blend of skin-conditioning agents designed to help calm skin that's inflamed and reddened from acne.

Why didn't Paula formulate a 1% salicylic acid exfoliant for the Clear line?

The Clear line was designed to be an over-the-counter routine that's as effective as possible for those struggling with acne. Rather than offer an exfoliant with 1% salicylic acid, Paula opted to use 2% but formulate the exfoliant so its pH is slightly higher but still within range for efficacy. The penetration enhancers chosen help control the release of salicylic acid into the skin; the result is an effective product that's surprisingly gentle.

What's the difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants? Both contain 2% salicylic acid!

The difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants is in the delivery systems and their textures. Both contain 2% salicylic acid but the Regular Strength has a nearly weightless feel on your skin and a pH of around 3.9, making it gentler on the skin. The Extra Strength version's formula can penetrate deeper into the pore and has a pH of 3.5. It is designed for those with more stubborn or persistent breakouts. Both exfoliants are highly effective options as part of a routine for Clear skin; you may need to experiment with both to see which works best for your skin type. It is also fine to use both: Apply one in the morning and the other at night.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 12:24:55 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.