Resist BHA 9

Blackheads and bumps, be gone.This concentrated, leave-on acne spot treatment clears up stubborn blemishes and unclogs and shrinks pores.
Item #: 773
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Calms redness and fades marks from past breakouts

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist BHA 9

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

77 out of 100
(Based on 570 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 23 Next »
  1. Kristi C
    Reviewed on Friday, July 04, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Didn't work for me
    • I tried two bottles of this stuff using once nightly in combination with the Clear line of products but it didn't seem to touch my acne or sebaceous hyperplasia.

  2. SR
    Reviewed on Friday, July 04, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Hasn't worked so far!
    • I used this diligently every night for a month for sebaceous hyperplasia but unfortunately it didn't seem to make any difference to them. maybe I should have given it more time but decided to purchase the retacnyl (retin A) for them instead which I had been holding off on buying as I wanted to try the BHA 9 first. Not sure if I could use both products together? At the moment just using the retacnyl alone. Pity, love many other of Paula's products!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, July 14, 2014

    Thanks for your review! BHA 9 may be used with retinoid products, but because this combination increases the risk of side effects such as flaking and dry patches, you'l want to pay close attention to how your skin responds and adjust frequency of use accordingly.

    —Admin
  3. Rose S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 03, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed
    • I purchased this product based on it's claims to remove stubborn imperfections. I've have very deep rooted blackheads on my nose since my early adolescence. I applied this to my nose nightly for 2 weeks in hope to finally rid my blackheads on my nose and nothing. I had some new blackheads form on my cheeks earlier this year and this did get red of those. Also, I used it the first night on some huge pimples and they went away, but now it's like my skin is used to it and it does nothing anymore.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, July 14, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We wish this was the same quick fix product for everyone, but some people will need to be more patient, particularly if you have stubborn, longstanding blackheads. Keep using it, and you should begin to see better results!

    —Admin
  4. Allen
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 03, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    I'm yet to comprehend what this product does
    • I have stubborn blackheads on my nose and I was hoping that by using this product on a weekly basis, it will take care of my problem. Well, my blackheads persisted so I am not sure what stubborn imperfections this will get rid of for you. Fortunately, the comedone extractor works wonders on blackheads but I was really hoping to switch to a 9 % BHA exfoliant instead. I also don't like the consistency of this and how it gets disposed from the pump and it's expensive too!

  5. Chantal S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    not for me
    • i was super excited to try this. the clear line had gotten my breakouts in check but still get the hormonal breakouts. when i got a few on my chin, gave this a try after multiple reviews of people saying this worked wonders…not for me. it made my chin so dry and broken, and it burned terribly. now after a month, my chin is still super sensitive and dries up for no reason. lets mention that i have oily-normal skin, never in my life have i had dry skin. this only made me peel and nothing more.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, July 02, 2014

    Thanks for your review! It seems you've had difficulties with many of our products, and perhaps Paula's Choice isn't the right line for you. That's why our team continued to review products from over 300 other brands, so our customers always have alternatives also worth buying. Please contact us for assistance with returning any of the items you've been displeased with.

    —Admin
  6. Jenny
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product, not so great dispenser
    • I love this product. If I have a pimple, I simply apply this at night and in the morning it's much smaller / no longer noticeable. I agree with the previous reviewer that the dispenser needs work. It always dispenses far more than I need, and I've not found any way to control the amount. There's a problem with the mechanism - it feels like it sticks, and requires too much pressure to dispense. The glass tube that the sample comes in was much easier to use. The product itself is great though.

  7. Jennifer C
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Very runny
    • It's okay, but very runny. It sits on top of the skin. I find the extractor tool works best followed by BP. No scarring and gets rid of of new pimples before it gets irritated and grows. I didn't notice a difference with this product

  8. Hannah D
    Reviewed on Friday, June 20, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love it! But
    • I do love this product it is amazing and has really helped my skin with various breakouts and hyper-pigmentation. My only complaint and the reason it gets only four stars is because of the packaging, you can't control the amount that comes out thus wasting a rather expensive product. I have had to put this in a different container so that I won't waste this precious product, I think it would do better in a dropper bottle that way you have full control of the product.

  9. DARLENE L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pimple gone overnight!
    • I use this if I have a blemish and when I do at night I put it on and the next day it is gone or significantly reduced! I try not to dispense that much which is tricky but I manage to do that. Great product and it is something that I will always purchase!

  10. Justine L
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I find this worthwhile
    • I use this nightly over my t-zone after cleansing and toning. After cleansing, before toning I use oil blotting papers. The BHA9 at least softens or starts to dissolve any clogging in pores, that can later be removed. I'm not sure it works on big pimples as I don't get them now thanks to tretinoin, a topical antibiotic and Paula's arsenal of products. Hard work to manage oily skin. I feel this product helps though, to minimize clogging or otherwise about to be clogged pores.

  11. Mary B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Sebaceous hyperplasia is a plague on my face
    • My hopes for this did not come to fruition. Despite years of Tretinoin and several rounds of Spironolactone, I have multiple sebaceous hyperplasia. I thought BHA 9 might be the solution to ridding my skin of these insidious blemishes. After five months of use, BHA 9 hasn't put a dent in them and though I hoped it would slow down their growth, two bumps have sprung up, since. Sebaceous hyperplasia is a plague on aging skin and nothing stops it, including this product.

  12. MARIANNE
    Reviewed on Monday, June 09, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Really wanted this to work!
    • I love Paula's products and am actually here to order my son an acne kit. However, this product didn't do a thing for me, and it was really expensive to boot. I have had sebaceous hyperplasia for a while and was looking for an alternative to having them burned off. So hoping this product would help because I still use the BHA and AHA products. It did nothing, sadly, for the SH or blackheads. Will there be a higher BHA percentage coming soon?

  13. Robyn T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for stubborn blackheads
    • I used to fall asleep frequently without washing my face, much less using my products. When I was so terrible about washing my face at night, I would get the WORST blackheads, as would be expected. This product was AMAZING at ridding my nose of them, no doubt. I have since used the entire bottle, and am much better now about routinely washing my face and applying products. This was great when I needed it!

  14. Jason B.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 06, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    DISAPPOINTED
    • Aside from the dispenser shooting product out practically across the room, after using it only twice I started getting cysts on my chin. I'm scared if I continue using it the cysts will only get worse, which surprises me given that it's such a high dose of salicylic acid. Isn't that stuff supposed to help? I think it might be because of the oily texture. It's got a bit of a baby oil feel to it (I know there's no oil in it though.) I dunno, kinda disappointing for such a pricey product.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, June 09, 2014

    Hi Jason! We're sorry to hear about your experience! Please contact our Customer Care Team, as they would be happy to help discuss why your usage of BHA 9 didn't provide much better results (and they can also assist with a refund or exchange, too).

    —Admin
  15. Naomi B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Surprised, this didn't work for me.
    • There are products that I definitely enjoy and cannot live without from Paula’s Choice but this is most definitely not one of them. This did absolutely nothing for my skin texture, red marks, or pores and I have been using it consistently for almost 2 months! I was expecting this treatment to be effective for me; disappointed to say the least. P.S.The treatment is thick and does not soak into the skin easily and I have dry skin.This would be something I would overlook if it worked for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, June 04, 2014

    Hi Naomi! We're sorry BHA 9 didn't work for you! Please contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  16. LEONORE L.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 02, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good Stuff
    • So pricey, but it did seem to help fade some of my reddish discoloration from past breakouts & clear up the little while bumps on my forehead. I use a full Paula's Choice Resist routine and have seen drastic improvements in my complexion. But I don't think this product will do all the work if you are fighting against it w/ other unhealthy products on your skin. I'm hoping now to move off the $$ treatment & go to careful maintenance.

  17. D. C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 01, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    don't waste your money
    • Sorry, this stuff gets a zero star rating for my sebaceous hyperplasia, tried it for three weeks. Not strong enough. Don't waste your money. Don't waste any more time, go get 'em zap with a laser.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, June 02, 2014

    Hi D.C.! We're sorry the RESIST BHA 9 wasn't a fit for your sebaceous hyperplasia, and we understand it can be frustrating when your results don't match those of other customers.  We would recommend contacting our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange!

    —Admin
  18. LAURA H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Helps My Husband's Face but Not Mine
    • I found that this very expensive treatment only caused more breakouts. It does seem to be helping my husband's face. He has rosacea, and had a bunch of white bumps on his face before using this treatment. Many are gone now and others are smaller.

  19. Jen
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    No go...
    • I have tried this for a month now. I increased to 2x a day after 1 wk of seeing no results. I don't get many breakouts, once in a while I will get those stubborn under the skin ones on my chin. It took 3 wks for one bump to clear and I don't think this had anything to do with it. My own home techniques would have had it gone in 3-4 days. I have so many bumps now on my chin, I feel like this is causing breakouts now maybe. I am going to stop and see if things clear up. I have very stubborn skin.

  20. Sannia J.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Didn't work
    • I've tried other Paula's choice products and most of them are good but this one didn't live up to the mark. I got it due to the awesome reviews- I have three very stubborn pimples and after a week of daily use - nothing! Seriously, nothing! Major disappointment.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 27, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry you didn't see results as soon as you had hoped. We urge you to keep using this, as some breakouts are more stubborn than others, and you may need to increase frequency of application. If you remain disappointed, we're happy to provide a full refund, so please contact us to discuss.

    —Admin
  21. ERIK D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great spot treatment!
    • This is a blessing for us that can't use benzoyl peroxide for over are all over BHA on those stubborn spots!

  22. Natalie
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Utterly brilliant
    • This product works for resistant clogging but you must be diligent using it. I have extremely fair skin and am prone to clogging on my forehead from copious use of mineral sunscreen. For general blemishes and clogging, I found it made a difference after 2-3 nights (already a BHA devotee); after a couple of weeks, my forehead was almost 100% clear. But the miracle occurred after about 4 weeks when suddenly my stubborn sebaceous hyperplasia was almost gone (I nearly gave up). Thank you PC!

  23. Kristina G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skin Emergency Solved!
    • I love this product. A lot of ground has been covered in previous reviews, my experience is no different. The turning point for me was when I went away on vacation, and swimming in the ocean made me break out worse that my 14 year old self. It was bad. White pimples, painful red ones, dry patches of wind burn, so bad. When I got back, I had 3 days before going back to work. I used this product morning and night, and kept makeup off my face. The result was baby smooth, clear skin.

  24. Morgan H
    Reviewed on Monday, May 19, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Mixed Results with this Product
    • I've had mixed results with this product. I have normal / somewhat combination skin (dryer cheeks, a little oily in the T-zone). This worked somewhat on the blackheads on my nose area, but did not work well on my chin, and in fact made me break out on my chin. However, if I use this on my nose area it did help smooth out any bumps / blackheads there. So this does work, but if you skin is a little bit temperamental / oiler may not work quite as well.

  25. Crystal
    Reviewed on Monday, May 19, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Did nothing sebaceous hyperplasia but did srink pores
    • Bought this hoping I would no longer need to burn off sebaceous hyperplasia bumps. Been using for 2 weeks and see no change. I do however notice smaller pores and reduced blackheads. It does also help reduce redness from acne. The product is also a bit greasy and seems to bond with itself on one area of your face rather than stay in the area that you apply it to. I would consider buying more after it's out.

« Prev Page of 23 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist BHA 9 is a first-of-its-kind spot treatment specially formulated to address your most stubborn skin imperfections. The technology behind BHA 9 is indeed unique, allowing for a controlled, sustained release of salicylic acid without diminishing any of its effectiveness. In fact, you will have enhanced results without dryness or irritation! BHA 9 for Stubborn Imperfections has a pH range of 3.2-3.6.

BHA 9 can do all of the following:
  1. Unclog pores with the first use
  2. Diminish white bumps
  3. Minimize enlarged pores
  4. Refine and smooth skin's texture
  5. Minimize sebaceous hyperplasia
  6. Smooth and soften dry, rough patches
  7. Help balance oily skin
  8. Fade red marks from breakouts
  9. Reduce breakouts

Who is this product for?
Resist BHA 9 is designed for anyone who has struggled with stubborn skin imperfections who wants enhanced results over and above the treatments they've been using.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist BHA 9

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, 2010, page 110; Cosmetic Dermatology, Second Edition, McGraw Hill, Baumann, Leslie, MD, 2009, pages 150–151; Dermatologic Surgery, April 2009, pages 638–644; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology, and Leprology, March-April 2005, pages 87–90; Pharmazie, March 2005, pages 215–220; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November 2004, pages 519–531; and Drugs Under Experimental and Clinical Research, Volume 3, 2003, pages 101–105.

Key Ingredients: Boerhavia diffusa root extract, Avena sativa, glycerin, arginine, sea whip extract, salicylic acid

Product Ingredients:

Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/time-released exfoliant, 9%), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract (soothing plant extract), Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: At night, apply as a leave-on spot treatment for stubborn imperfections. Dispense a very small amount of Resist BHA 9 onto a clean fingertip, and massage a thin layer over affected areas. Suitable for use around the eyes, but avoid contact with eyelids and do not apply along the lower lashline. For best results, use after cleansing and toning, but it can also be used as the last step in your skincare routine. Experiment to see which method works best for your skin concerns. May be applied on its own or over a Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant. May be applied over larger areas if needed. Reduce frequency of usage if irritation or flaking occurs.

PRECAUTIONS:

This product contains 9% salicylic acid. Please note:

  • Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin
  • If you experience irritation, rinse from skin and discontinue use
  • Avoid direct contact with eyes
  • Protect skin with sunscreen daily
  • Ask your doctor before using on children
  • Keep out of reach of children
  • If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your doctor before use

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps even those who cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

Is BHA 9 just a spot treatment or can I use it all over my face?

A thin layer of BHA 9 may be applied all over your face if needed, but you would want to use it first over smaller areas where stubborn imperfections (for example, blackheads that have not responded to a BHA exfoliant with 2% salicylic acid) are an issue to see how your skin responds.

How often can I use BHA 9?

We recommend applying BHA 9 once a day preferably in the evening, after cleansing and toning. Many will find that their imperfections respond favorably with less frequent usage, such as 2-3 times per week. For best results, experiment to determine the frequency of application that works best for you.

Is it OK to use BHA 9 if I am also using a skin lightening product that contains hydroquinone?

Yes. Apply the BHA 9 to affected areas first and follow with the skin lightening product where needed. Finish with your Paula's Choice serum and moisturizer. During the day, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Can BHA 9 be applied at the same time as my retinol or prescription tretinoin product?

Yes, but for use with prescription retinoids, check with your doctor first. If you decide to try the BHA 9 use it as part of your evening skincare routine. Apply a thin layer of BHA 9 first, as either a spot treatment or all over your face and then follow with your retinol or prescription retinoid product, and finish with serum and/or moisturizer. Pay close attention to how your skin responds.

Can I use the BHA 9 at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA or AHA products?

Yes, though for some skin types applying two exfoliants at the same time increases the risk of irritation and that is never the goal. It is also fine to apply any of our BHA or AHA products to areas of your face where you are not applying the BHA 9 exfoliant, or you can alternate by applying your regular exfoliant in the morning and BHA 9 at night. BHA 9 was designed to be a spot treatment though lots of people are having great success using it all over their face and chest.

Is BHA 9 recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply BHA 9 to the eyelid or underbrow area.

Can BHA 9 be used on the body?

Yes. BHA 9 is excellent for treating stubborn imperfections on the body, too, especially white bumps, breakouts, and stubborn blackheads or patches of persistent keratosis pilaris. It is slippery so you would want to be careful what you wore to go to bed.

Will BHA 9 help fade acne scars?

Regular use of BHA 9 will help fade pink, red, or brown marks (known as post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation) from acne breakouts, but will not affect deep or pitted scars such as those that can occur from cystic acne.

I have eczema. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, morning or evening. If applying over patches of eczema, pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue applying BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application. Follow with an emollient moisturizer.

I have rosacea and/or sensitive skin. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, in the evening. Pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue to apply BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application.

Is BHA 9 better than the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant?

Not necessarily better, but it is stronger and designed to be a targeted treatment. BHA 9 is designed for stubborn imperfections (blackheads, white bumps, red marks from acne, sebaceous hyperplasia) that have not responded well (or at all) to one of our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants with 2% salicylic acid. BHA 9 is a potent treatment that for most will work best when applied to problem areas. For routine, daily exfoliation, continue to use one of our other BHA exfoliants on other parts of your face, neck, and chest.

How come BHA 9 is not part of the Clear line of anti-acne products?

Paula feels strongly that the benefits of BHA 9 are great enough to extend it beyond keeping acne breakouts under control. It is an excellent spot treatment for many types of skin issues such as sebaceous hyperplasia which primarily affects women over 40 who have oily skin and that wouldn't fall under the category of acne. Without question, BHA 9 can benefit acne-prone skin and can be used as part of a Clear routine if a stronger exfoliant to treat areas with stubborn imperfections, including Resistant blackheads and white bumps (milia) is needed.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps who even cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

What is the pH of BHA 9?

Resist BHA 9 has a pH range of 3.1-3.6, just like most of our other BHA exfoliants.

What's the difference between BHA 9 and your skin-lightening products?

The salicylic acid in BHA9 fades discoloration by increasing skin cell turnover rate, while key ingredients in Resist Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment and our hydroquinone-based skin lighteners work to interrupt the pathways in skin that melanin (skin pigment) needs to form the discolorations. Used together on dark spots, these products will have a complementary, synergistic effect. And don't forget the sunscreen, a must when figting brown spots and uneven skin tone.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.