RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

Dull skin, your days are over. Our leave-on exfoliant reveals healthy, new skin as it builds collagen and evens out skin tone.
Item #: 766
  • Anti-Aging, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Evens out skin tone

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 135 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Barbara
    Reviewed on Friday, April 20, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Smooth skin
    • Wow! This is a really nice AHA. I love how my skin feels after applying this - very smooth. I also like the pump - it delivers a consistent amount every time and there's no product wasted. I'm also not having any problems using it around my eyes.

  2. Molly
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 18, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A skincare MUST for me....
    • I have truly combination skin - oily/shiny in the T-zone and yet flaky everywhere else. This product is the ONLY one I've been able to find that completely eliminates the flakiness when used on a regular basis. I recently ran out and couldn't seem to find the time to reorder it. After about 2 weeks without it, my skin is forcing me to take the time to reorder it! Please send it FAST!

  3. Erin
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 11, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Curious to see long-term results; package problems
    • Within minutes of first applying this product, my skin felt amazing; smoother than it had in a long time. I believe that it evened out my skin tone a bit, but I was hoping for more dramatic anti-acne improvement (I'm mid-30s with some redness at the bottom of my cheeks & at the base of my nose, and have some acne in my mouth/chin area). Unfortunately the intenal pump mechanism broke with about half of the formula still in the bottle, so product retrieval became a big source of frustration. I'll give this one another shot because I'm curious as to how I'll respond to it longer-term. I just hope the pump stays in tact this time. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We understand your frustration and you do not have to struggle to use the product. We will send you a replacement and hope it works well for you! Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  4. Kathy
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 04, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works good for me
    • I have been a PC customer for years & just started the Resist line a few months ago. The smoothing treatment seems to work good for me. I use it day and night (w/ the once weekly 10% treatment) and my skin feels soft. And I actually think it looks a little more even. The only issue I've had is the cap as well. The last bottle I opened the cap just wouldn't pump. Luckily, I still had my old bottle & I switched it out. Otherwise, I've been happy with the product. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments, we will be sure to share your experience with the product to Paula and her Packaging team. Please contact customer care if you encounter any problems with the pumps in the future and please contact customer care with any questions.

  5. JN
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I have moderate acne-prone skin, have been battling with acne for over 13 yrs. I've been using Paula's CLEAR acne system which has been controlling my acne well, but my skin was always looking dull. I had been looking for something to help make my skin more smooth, firm, but at the same time not to cause my skin to break out. The RESIST AHA 5% has been working very well for me! I use this in the morning, and in the evening I use the BHA 2% lotion which continues to help control my acne. I've been using this AHA for 2 weeks now and my skin is looking great! Thank you!

  6. Lynn
    Reviewed on Friday, March 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Results as promised
    • I can't say enough about this product- I use it every morning and use the 10% weekly AHA almost every night. My skin can take it. It was looking thick and this keeps it smooth without irritating it. Has worked better for me than Retin-A did, and at a better price point. I use most of the Resist line but have substituted the mattifying antioxidant serum. Wonderful products!!!

  7. KT
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 15, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Good but not for me
    • This product goes on very nicely, and makes my skin so soft immediatley after applying. Unfortunately, I develop little pimples within a few hours of applying. It just isn't working for my skin. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We will credit you for the product and send the BHA exfoliant samples to try instead to help clean out the pores and prevent clogged pores and blemishes to see how your skin likes it. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  8. p.a.r
    Reviewed on Friday, March 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Smells & feels amazing
    • I have used Paula's 8% AHA gel for years now & have been very happy with it, but I just got some samples of this and am delighted with its texture and its scent! What a wonderful surprise, to find a fruity (to me, it smells lightly of bananas) scent in one of Paula's products. I knew it had to be accidental or at least incidental, as I know how strongly Paula feels about fragranced products, but I love it just the same. My ideal world includes a separate fragranced line of Paula's Choice products--all exactly the same as they are now, but scented. :)I love it. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you like the product. We don't use any masking fragrances or perfumes in the formulas but some of the ingredients do have a natural smell such which helps to add a bit of a sweet smell to some formulas. Feel free to contact customer care with any questions.

  9. Jason
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 26, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product, Needs better quality packaging
    • It has been a week since i started on the product. Skin seems smoother and firmer. However, the product came with the head damaged, I was unable to get the pumping action to work. Hopefully it will work the next time. Thanks! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We can assure you all review feedback is passed along to Paula and because of the review feedback this product will be changing packaging for this product later this year. We will issue you a replacement in the meantime. We will pass along your feedback and concerns to Paula and feel free to contact us with any other questions or concerns.

  10. Tabi
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Customer Service
    • I am adding to my previous post. I went ahead and called CS to see how I go about sending the defective bottle back and how long it would take to receive the new one. They apologized about the problem and just sent me a new one! I don't have to go a day without my product!! It is rare to find good products to begin with. But, it is extremely rare to find a company that backs their guarantee 100%! Her Customer Service Reps are some of the nicest, friendliest, knowledgeable people around! You have a customer for life Paula... Thank You! :)

  11. Tabi
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Nothing Short of Amazing!!
    • I use this morning and night and I use the weekly 2x a week. What a difference! I never write reviews but I had to write a review for all the PC products I am using now! I use the Resist Line and I love ALL of them! In just a few weeks my skin is like night and day. I can tell, but when you get compliments from other people... That pretty much sums it all up! I love her products because we don't have to pay for the fancy packaging or all the other silly frills. Just darn good product that works and is so affordable! I'm going to have to call CS though, because for some reason the lid to this popped off and it is hard to get the product out. But I am afraid to send it back because I don't want to be a single day without it! LOL I'll just tough it out and be more careful with the next one. All in all, my final comment would be The Resist Line is absolutely amazing!! You won't be sorry!

  12. Fay
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic
    • Fantastic product! Love the packaging, and LOVE the consistency; it's in a lightweight cream form, as opposed to a liquid or gel, which makes it so easy to work with. A+

  13. Marj
    Reviewed on Monday, February 06, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Resist Daily Smoothing
    • I love this product. It makes my skin feel soft and smooth. The problem is the Cap broke off and I could not get it to work so I have to lift the broken top off and turn upside down to get it out. Because of this problem and the mess to use it I do not know if I would purchase again. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We apologize this product arrived damaged. Please let us know right away if there are any problems with the packaging of products as we will issue you out a replacement right away. We will send you a replacement for this product. Please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  14. amy
    Reviewed on Monday, January 23, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great for the summer!
    • This has absolutely wonderful ingredients and worked well for me to keep my skin clear and exfoliated in the summer if I used it about every other night before moisturizer. However, it is just too much for my dry, senstive skin to handle in the winter without becoming more irritated, despite the abundance of soothing ingredients. So I will keep it for when the weather gets warmer again!

  15. Dee
    Reviewed on Friday, January 20, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lovely product
    • This is just lovely! Takes very little for each application and feels very good. There is a tiny smell, I guess, but I am allergic to so many perfumes and I don't consider this scented. I also have sensitive skin and it does not bother me, although I think it best to start out slowly, especially if you use a retinoid at night. (I use Retin-A at night). I love it--on my second bottle and about to order more.

  16. Heather W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great product!
    • This is honestly the best 5% AHA you could ever put on your skin! It is so very expensive, but an amazing product. I will order it again some time when I feel I can spend the money for it. (Paula has amazing products, but in this economy, not everyone can afford them.)

  17. Kate
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Got in me shape for my wedding!
    • Thanks Paula, for you have saved me hundreds of dollars in the past few months on dermatology treatments! I needed to get my skin clear for my wedding, and I used the whole resist line. It really worked, and now I'm a customer for life! Even my makeup artist noticed how much better my skin looked - and now I wear less foundation. Please keep the prices reasonable and the company trustworthy and honest!

  18. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 07, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Made me break out in a rash!
    • This product came as part of the Resist set. I was trying to match products with the Vivite line that I have used for a couple of years. While I absolutely love the cleanser and toner, this product made me break out in a rash. Along with the set I received a sample packet of the Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator and after a couple of days switched to that. My face cleared up immediately and looks great so I purchased the full sized Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator. Now I am stuck with this Smoothing Treatment and I am not sure if I can return just part of the set for a refund. I wish I had bought them all separately. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product to be used on a future phone order by calling: 1-800-831-4088. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  19. Jeanette
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Part of my every day routine!
    • This product has done a fine job for me, doing exactly what it claims to do. It seemed expensive, but the bottle lasts a long time and the results are excellent. PLEASE DON'T EVER DISCONTINUE THIS ONE.

  20. Mary-Ellin
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 03, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed, will try something else
    • I love most of the Paula's Choice products that I've tried, but this one was a clunker for me. I don't like the way it makes my (facial) skin feel - seems to make my dry skin drier - and it smells TERRIBLE. It's not worth the trouble for me to return this, so I'm using it on my body (yes, really). The skin on my arms and legs seems to respond okay to this, and I just hold my breath until the smell dissipates. I know it's fragrance free, but my guess is that the ingredients have an odor. Oddly, though I have dry skin on my face, it seems to respond MUCH better to BHA rather than AHA exfoliants, so I'll go back to using those. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are not happy with the smell of the product and it did not respond well to your skin. The smell is from the natural raw ingredients used and it is okay to use it from the neck down, anywhere on the body. The body also benefits from daily exfoliation which is very important. We will leave the purchase price of this product on your account to be used toward a future phone purchase by calling: 1-800-831-4088. Anyone may help you place this order and please contact us with any questions.

  21. Dawn
    Reviewed on Friday, December 30, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing.
    • I love Paula's Choice products, but this is by far my favorite. I've had oily, angry, irritable skin that broke out all the time. With the BHA's I got the breakouts to go away, but the Daily Smoothing Treatment took it to a whole new level. My skin is so soft and smooth after only a couple of weeks. This is definitely my stranded on a desert island product!

  22. Denise
    Reviewed on Friday, December 30, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!!
    • This is a truly great product!! I had been using a BHA exfoliant, but didn't see much change (I have an oily skin type.) I decided to try an AHA instead and WOW!! My skin is firmer and much more refined appearing. Thank you, Paula, for another wonderful product!

  23. Susan
    Reviewed on Monday, December 26, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Dramatic results
    • This product has made a dramatic difference to my appearance - fine lines are disappearing and my youthful glow is returning.I have sensitive skin, so only use it once a day, and never after the weekly Resist Weekly Treatment with 10% AHA, or my weekly facial.

  24. Lou
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 25, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    VERY GOOD PRODUCT
    • This product has smoothed my 65-year-old skin and reduced the depth of the deep wrinkles between my brows and on either side of my mouth. I use it every other day. I love the Resist products and am now using many of them as my daily routine for the last year. I have really noticed a difference in my skin. Compared to the prices of other high-end anti-aging products, the cost of these is low because they last a long time.

  25. Kristin
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 18, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I stuck with it...and I'm a believer!
    • I would like to amend my earlier post, Too Much for My Skin. After consulting with Customer Care about my initial reaction to the Resist line, I took their advice, allowed my skin to calm down and gradually added products back into my regimen. I've used the products sparingly and my skin has acclimated very quickly. I cannot believe the change in the course of a week. Acne has cleared up, skin tone and clarity are significantly improved, texture is smooth and my fine lines are disappearing with each passing day. I am a believer, and would encourage anyone who finds the retinol a challenge at first to stick with it. I feel that these products are working below the surface of the skin to affect real change -- and I am very grateful to Customer Care for responding so quickly to my concerns. Their advice is paying off - and I haven't been this excited about skin care products based on real, visible results... ever. Thank you, PC.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid is a must-have exfoliant for those who want their skin to look and act younger. It features an effective concentration of glycolic acid with a boost of pore-penetrating salicylic acid. This anti-aging exfoliant reveals youthfully radiant skin and counteracts sun damage—without redness or irritation! The innovative daily-use formula continually renews your skin's texture, evens skin tone, smooths fine lines, and stimulates healthy collagen production via exfoliation and by delivering a potent blend of antioxidants that help fight free-radical damage.

Fragrance- and colorant-free, this silky treatment doubles as a lightweight moisturizer and is recommended as an integral part of the Paula's Choice RESIST line This AHA exfoliant has a pH range of 3.5-3.8.

Who is this product for?
RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid can be used by all skin types and is ideal for anyone concerned with preventing and reducing the signs of aging, including sun damage, fine lines, uneven skin tone, and wrinkles.

Sources to support the claims made for RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, Thornfeldt Carl MD, 2010, pages 180–181; Dermatologic  Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,109–1,118; Clinical Evidence Online, December 16, 2008; Seminars in Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, September 2008, pages 170–176; Journal of Dermatological Science, December 2005, pages 195–204; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156–1162; Cutis, August 2001, pages 135–142; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001 pages 1–5; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, July 2000, pages 280–284; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, March-April 2000, pages 81–88; Dry Skin and Moisturizers: Chemistry and Function, edited by Marie Loden and Howard Maibach, 2000, page 237; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May-June 1999, pages 111–119; Journal of Cell Physiology, October 1999, pages 14–23; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 1996, pages 867–875.

Key Ingredients: epigallocatechin gallate, cell-communicating ingredients, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Cucumis melo (melon) fruit extract, ceramide 2, antioxidant, palmitoyl oligopeptide, allantoin, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, caffeic acid, AHA, bisabolol, salicylic acid, vitamin E, glycolic acid, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycolic Acid (AHA exfoliant), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent and penetration enhancer), Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredient), Ceramide 2 (skin-identical ingredient), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuoylmethane (anti-irritants/antioxidants derived from curcumin), Epigallocatechin Gallate, Caffeic Acid (antioxidants), Salicylic Acid (BHA exfoliant/anti-irritant), Disodium Lauriminodipropionate Tocopheryl Phosphates (vitamin E-based antioxidant), PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol (fatty acid thickener), Cucumis Melo (Melon) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/texture enhancers), Tribehenin (texture enhancer), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, PPG-14 Butyl Ether, PEG-40 Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate (thickeners), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Polyacrylamide (film-forming agents), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), C13-14 Isoparaffin (solvent), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Caprylyl Glycol (preservative), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Hexylene Glycol (solvent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply daily after cleansing and toning. Dispense 1–2 pumps and smooth over entire face. Follow with Paula's Choice RESIST Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and/or RESIST Barrier Repair Moisturizer or RESIST Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator. First-time users should apply once daily, preferably at night. For maximum results, alternate with RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% AHA once per week. Avoid direct contact with eyes.

Sun Protection Advice When Using Any AHA Exfoliant: This product contains 5% glycolic acid, an ingredient that may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun and the possibility of sunburn. Always apply a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater every day. When outdoors, wear protective clothing whenever possible, seek shade, and avoid prolonged sun exposure.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

How should I alternate using RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment?

RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment is recommended for use at night, at least once but up to 4 or 5 times per week depending on how your skin responds. Since we do not advise using other exfoliants at the same time as RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment, you can apply RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment as part of your morning skin-care routine or on night(s) you do not apply the RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment. In the morning, if desired, you can apply RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment after cleansing and toning or you can limit use of the Daily Smoothing Treatment to nighttime (this is best for first-time users). For daytime, follow with a serum and/or moisturizer or foundation rated SPF 15 or greater.

How does the RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment differ from the Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant?

While both of these products are AHA exfoliants, the texture and overall formulas differ. The RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment is an advanced AHA lotion that contains 5% glycolic acid and numerous antiaging ingredients designed to improve wrinkles. The 8% AHA Gel contains 8% glycolic acid formulated in a silky gel base with soothing agents and antioxidants. Both are excellent products but RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment offers additional benefits that go beyond what our 8% AHA Gel does, especially if wrinkles are a chief concern.

Can I use RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with one of the RESIST skin lighteners?

Yes, but not at the same time unless they are applied to separate areas of your face. This is because both of our RESIST skin lighteners contain an exfoliant (the Lotion has glycolic acid and the Gel has salicylic acid). If you're using one of our RESIST skin lighteners, you may apply it in the morning or on the nights you do not apply the RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment or apply the skin lightener only to discolorations and apply RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment over the rest of your face.

Can I use RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA products?

Yes, but ultimately it is not necessary to use an AHA and BHA exfoliant at the same time. Exfoliation is a balancing act that requires not tipping the scale so the potential for irritation outweighs the benefits. Using multiple exfoliants at the same time increases the likelihood of irritation and doesn't necessarily provide greater benefits. If you'd like to use a BHA product and RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment, we recommend applying one in the morning and the other in the evening. Which one you apply when is a matter of personal preference.

Is RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment to the eyelid or underbrow area.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my AHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of an AHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to wait until skin has returned to its normal texture and color. This may mean waiting a few days or, depending on the depth of the peel or laser procedure, it may mean waiting several weeks. Both peels and laser procedures can temporarily leave skin extra-sensitive, so if in doubt it's best to wait rather than rush things. Once you begin using your AHA exfoliant again, pay attention to how your skin responds and adjust frequency of use accordingly. Discontinue use if you notice signs of irritation.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.