Items you may also like

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Time to fade out, brown spots. Lighten discolorations and even out your skin tone with this silky gel. It improves texture and reveals younger-looking, clearer skin.
Item #: 763
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots
  • Combination , Oily Skin
  • Contains the gold standard skin-lightening ingredient, hydroquinone
  • 2% BHA targets blackheads, exfoliates skin’s surface and inside pores

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

70 out of 100
(Based on 213 Reviews)
Page of 9 Next »
  1. Amanda A.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 05, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Works great but note the new smaller size for the same price
    • I like this product and have been using it for a while but was very disappointed to get my latest order and see the product size has been cut in HALF with NO change to the price. My last order in January for this was for 2 oz and I paid exactly what I paid for this 1 oz tube ordered in late October. Will be rethinking whether it is worth double the price per ounce...

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, November 05, 2014

    Thank you for contacting us regarding the size change for our RESIST Triple Action Dark Spot Erasers! We’d be happy to explain the reasons behind this decision. This change was made for the following reasons:

    • We found that most of our customers use these skin lighteners to spot-treat rather than apply all over the face, and much of the former size was wasted before it could be completely used.
    • Customers not using this product within a year of opening were likely to see diminished effectiveness due to hydroquinone’s tendency to destabilize after this time.
    • Both formulas have become more expensive to make, so rather than keep the size the same and raise the price (and with the above facts in mind), we made the more practical decision to downsize to ensure the product remains just as effective from first use to last.
    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  2. Esther A
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 02, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Does not work and does not get absorbed
    • I have been using this gel for over two months for my brown spots, twice daily, but no results whatsoever. It actually seems they got worse. The product is also not user friendly, is not absorbed well by skin. Very dissapointing.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, November 03, 2014

    Thanks for your feedback! We're sorry this product didn't work for you, and can certainly assist you with a refund or exchange. Do keep in mind that no skin-lightening product can work to its full potential unless you apply sunscreen to the affected areas every day, no exceptions (one bout of UV light exposure can undo weeks of improvement).

    —Admin
  3. Rafaella S.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Glad I didn't give up on it!
    • I bought the Triple Action for acne marks and I will tell you it probably won't work for that. Don't buy the BHA for this reason (for some people it does work though). My skin was irritated when I started using the BHA (first time BHA user). But you need to give it more time! I wasn't going to, but someone told me to do so. I'm glad I did. I do see my marks brighter in general (but not spectacularly so), it clears up my breakouts in a heart beat now, but not much improvement on my blackheads :/

  4. Kathleen (Kitty) W.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Like it!
    • Really like it better than the 7% (or 9%?) bha gel. I like the feel of this much better. It is not as sticky as the 7%. But, the opening in the tube is too big!! A lot of product can be wasted. Must be very careful

  5. NICOLE
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great for me!
    • This product works like no other. I live in the Florida Keys and spend a ton of time on and in the water. Despite using lots and lots of sunscreen, I still get dark spots developing. This product seems to be the only one that fades them. Yes, it goes on slimy but quickly dries and then you can put moisturizer right over it. I've been using PC products for years; they are going to keep me from turning into a piece of dried up leather down here in the Keys!

  6. Kelly N
    Reviewed on Monday, September 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works like an eraser!
    • I had brown discolouration on my forehead that this took away within two weeks. This product has also been working well on the discolouration on my nose. I am blown away how well this has worked for me.

  7. Scott
    Reviewed on Monday, September 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This stuff works!
    • I tried a product from a well known company that contained ascorpic acid and it did absolutely nothing. Then I bought this product and the biggest spot began to get lighter in a week. After three weeks it is almost gone! My face has two kinds of spots. One are a lighter brown splotch, which I consider "age spots." These spots are the ones this product works really well on. The other kind of spots are dark brown freckle like spots, and these seem to be unaffected by this product.

  8. Samantha M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love This.
    • It took a little while to work , but my skin has never looked better. Works really well on my age spots, and evened out my skin tone beautifully. I do prefer the AHA version but bought this as they were out of stock of AHA. Works just as well on my spots but the texture is a little slimey & takes some getting used to. If you use this or the AHA version be paranoid about sunscreen, I forgot for one day only and had a lot of spots start darkening again.

  9. MELODY
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Stay Away...
    • I wish I could give this product a 5-star like all the other PC products I've tried. But, I can't. This is simply the worst product from Paula's Choice. Ever since finding out about PC a few years back, I have completely switched up my skincare routine and religiously use PC products. I have dark spots and so wished this would work, but the consistency was slimy, the smell was awful, and it did absolutely nothing for me despite continuous use. So disappointed... :(

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, September 05, 2014

    Thanks for your feedback! We're sorry this product proved so disappointing. Since you've been a customers for quite some time, you likely know all of our products are 100% guaranteed. Please contact us to arrange for a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  10. JUNE F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 10, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not Much Improvement
    • I have used this product for over 3 months, both morning and night. If I use my imagination, I see a very slight lightening of the (4) dark spots I was treating on my face. I was hoping for better results than that after 3 months. I love all the other Paula's Choice products I've purchased, but I question if this one is working for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, August 11, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry this product didn't work for you and will assume you were diligent about applying sunscreen every day, rain or shine. This is a key component to the success of any skin-lightening treatment. The other consideration is that some dark spots or patches of hyperpigmentation can be extremely stubborn, requiring a combination of topical and laser treatments for satisfactory resolution. You  may want to consult a cosmetic dermatologist for treatment advice, including, potentially, a prescription-strength hydroquinone product.

    —Admin
  11. Lauren
    Reviewed on Monday, August 04, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not as good as Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment
    • I didn't love this product. I think maybe it was too harsh for my skin since I think it gave me little bumps or clogged my pores. I used the whole tube but didn't notice much lightening of my brown spots. I now use the Resist Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment.

  12. Monica R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 02, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Yuck...
    • I picked this up for summer because dark spots tend to come out the more I'm in the sun. I can't speak to the effectiveness of the product because I can't get past the greasy feel of it and the awful smell. I LOVE my other PC products and maybe because my skin is oily, it just doesn't sit on my skin. I would much rather try something else instead.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, August 04, 2014

    Thanks for your comments! We're sorry the texture and finish of this product didn't meet your needs. We encourage you to return or exchange it for something else and also to keep in mind that brown spot treatment demands minimal sun exposure, always with sunscreen and other protective elements, such as a hat. Sun avoidance is essential to keeping brown spots away.

    —Admin
  13. Diana M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I've recently started using Paula's Choice products and can say the Vit C serum has been amazing. Unfortunately I cannot say the same of this product (RESIST TRIPLE-ACTION DARK SPOT ERASER 2% BHA GEL). I have seen no difference on my skin even with following the directions of applying 2-3 times per day. I've kept out of the sun and do wear sunscreen but have not seen a difference in my skin.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, July 23, 2014

    Thanks for your review! Not all skin discoloratoins will respond to hydroquinone, though in most cases at least 12 weeks (3 months) of daily use is needed before results become visible. Glad the C15 is making a differnce, though; feel free to contact us to arrange for a refund or exchange for the lightener you're not happy with.

    —Admin
  14. AKSA
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Goodbye, brown spots!
    • I have combination skin: dry and flaky in the winter, and in the summer, it's oily in places and dry in places. I use this product with the Resist C15 Super Booster on my nose, where I have embarrassing brown spots on the tip of my nose. In just 7 weeks, my spots are much, much lighter. It's a miracle! I use both products twice a day and my skin has held up well: no irritation, redness, flaking, etc. I love Paula's Choice. All products work just like they say!

  15. William
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Wish for a more elegant texture
    • I love that this is gentle and doesn't smell like other hydroquinone products. I am not a fan of gels, particularly thick gels like this product. Adding to the problem is that it's difficult to get out a small amount of due to the large size of the tube opening. And if you dispense/apply too much, it's just a sticky mess. I'm almost through one tube and have a second on hand from when it was on special. I see mild fading of spots on my hands. Will try the AHA version next time.

  16. Zoe
    Reviewed on Friday, June 06, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Caused irritation
    • I ended up only using it on my forehead and nose, since my cheeks are very sensitive and reacted to it. My forehead/nose never reacted to anything before, but whenever I tried using this product, I would get a lot of peeling, roughness and red dots (don't think it's acne, since I almost never get pimples) on the areas applied. Then I tried only using it once a week, but irritation still occurred. I guess I'll just use it on the back of my arms and see if it works...

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, June 06, 2014

    Hi Zoe! We're sorry to learn the RESIST Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA didn't work out for you! Please contact our Customer Care Team, as they would be happy to help out with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  17. Sue M.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    2 for 1 bonus!
    • I have been using this product for years. I use it once a day in the morning after Skin balancing toner followed by a serum and then a sunscreen. I like that it exfoliates and keeps brown spots at bay at the same time. I do not find it tacky. I've tried all the PC exfoliants both AHA and BHA and this is the one that works best for my normal to oily combo skin. Well done!

  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Fast whitening
    • I grew up in Australia, and the sun there is a lot more potent. We are trained from very young to use hats and sunglasses, but I still have sunspots on my legs and lower back from lack of sufficient clothing cover. I use this nightly with the vitamin C on my face as well as these spots. My face has lightened incredibly fast, but my sunspots are still visible (although faded). In my experience this works better for quickly removing a tan then for getting rid of those very dark spots.

  19. Bonnie A
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It Works
    • This product has helped tremendously to improve skin smoothness and reduce the brown patches from sun damage. My skin is slightly dry but I'm not able to tolerate glycolic acid, so I tried the BHA dark spot treatment, and find it works without drying. However, I am disappointed about the price.

  20. Narin A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    good product
    • My skin concern is acne scars. I pair this with the C15. I have only been using this combo for one week & I have seen a huge difference. Howevr im not sure if the effects I am seeing is from this product, or the C15. I have used the C15 alone &my skin was glowing. But when I tried this alone, I couldn't decide whether there was a difference. But then again, the ingredients in this would require continuous use over time to treat the problem. As of now, this combo is really improving my skin

  21. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works Great!
    • I used this as a spot treatment. As another reviewer mentioned, it does stay a little tacky. But it works great for lightening spots and works fast. I do not like the tube though. It is a runny product and there is a huge opening for the product. If there was a smaller hole it would be easier to dispense a small amount.

  22. Alex E
    Reviewed on Monday, March 31, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    so elegant
    • I use the 2% gel on my neck and this on my face and I have to say that this is a lot nice that the plain 2% gel it has a tackyness that never really goes away this on the other hand is like butter melting on the skin plus the bonus of hydroquinone! price is fair as well.

  23. kkkkk
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    pppp
    • lllllllllllllllll

  24. Sharyn W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Ist time customer
    • I'm a 1st time customer of PC and ordered the Resist skin lightener with 2% BHA and I'm seeing some mild results already in fading of dark splotches and my skin texture is so smooth and soft to the touch. My 1st experience with customer service was excellent the customer service rep was named Holly she was super fantastic.

  25. Heidi A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 26, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • So this in part was due to my own fault, b/c this treatment is designed for dark spots (I purchased this thinking it was designed to treat post-acne marks). My skin got agitated, began to break out severely and my skin formed little bumps... not cute! I have returned this and am awaiting credit back to my card. I was told that the super booster c15 is what I need to treat post acne marks, so hopefully that will work for me without any reactions! Great customer service through chat helped a ton

Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel is a unique treatment for those struggling with discolorations and breakouts. 2% hydroquinone lightens sun-damaged areas while 2% salicylic acid exfoliates to reduce blemishes. This anti-aging lightener restores an even skin tone by fading skin discolorations caused by the sun or hormones. The silky, breathable gel texture is ideal for normal to oily skin. The formula glides on easily and absorbs without feeling sticky or greasy. Special packaging keeps key sensitive ingredients stable and prevents product discoloration. You'll see improved skin texture and clarity.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.4-3.8.

Who is this product for?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel is formulated for anyone struggling with skin discolorations, uneven skin tone from sun damage, and breakouts. It is best suited for normal to oily or combination skin.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Cutis, April 2008, pages 356–371 and August 2006, pages S6–S19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, pages S272–S281; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, September–October 2005, pages 592–597; Experimental Dermatology, January 2005, pages 34–40; April 2003, Supplemental, pages 57–63; and January 2003, pages S43–S50; Cancer Letters, December 2002, pages 125–135; Journal of Dermatological Science, August, 2001, Supplemental, pages 68–75; Molecular Carcinogenesis, July 2001, pages 152–160; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001, page 429; and Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Cosmetic Dermatology Principles and Practice 2nd Edition, McGraw Hill Medical Publishing, Leslie Baumann MD, 2009, pages 150–151 and page 316.

Key Ingredients: Epilobium angustifolium extract, licorice extract, hydroquinone, superoxide dismutase, aloe juice, salicylic acid, Aloe barbadensis, allantoin, glycerin, anti-irritant, BHA (beta hydroxy acid), dipotassium glycyrrhizate

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Hydroquinone 2% (melanin inhibitor)
Other Ingredients: Water, Ethoxydiglycol (solvent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent/water-binding agent), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate (anti-irritants), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (skin-conditioning agents), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Sodium Metabisulfite, Sodium Sulfite (stabilizers), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Polyquaternium-10 (thickener), Phytic Acid (antioxidant), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily to cleansed, toned skin. Spread a thin layer over areas where discolorations and breakouts are a concern. During the day, follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice sunscreen (essential to prevent discolorations from recurring). At night, follow with Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator and/or Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. Results for discolorations should appear after 8–12 weeks of consistent use.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the difference between the Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel and Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion?

The main differences are texture (gel vs. lotion) and the type of exfoliant included in the formula. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel was designed with normal to oily skin in mind, so it contains salicylic acid (BHA) which is preferred over AHAs for that skin type. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion contains glycolic acid and is ideal for someone with normal to dry skin. Both work to provide smoother, younger-looking skin.

Can I use an AHA or BHA in combination with either one of the skin lighteners?

Using an additional exfoliant may not be necessary with either skin lightening product, because both already contain them. However, if you prefer, you can alternate use of one of our AHA or BHA products with either skin lightener. If you're spot-applying one of our skin lighteners, then you can apply your regular AHA or BHA exfoliant to the rest of your face.

At what point in my routine do I apply the skin-lightening product?

Whether you're using our Resist Triple-Action Lotion or Gel, either product should be applied to dark spots or uneven areas twice daily after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. In the morning, follow with serum and moisturizer with sunscreen. At night, follow with serum and moisturizer.

If you're using a prescription retinoid product at night, apply that first, then follow with the Dark Spot Eraser.

I have heard/read from sources that hydroquinone is carcinogenic (cancer-causing) and the FDA wants to ban it. What does Paula think of that?

Paula has written about this topic on her Web site and in her books, but the summation is that the negative research about hydroquinone and the frightening assertions being levied in the media are not related to how this effective ingredient is used in skincare products sold in the United States. It has been, and still is, the most effective topical agent for fading and/or eliminating sun- or hormone-induced brown skin discolorations and there is copious research to support this conclusion (Sources: Cutis, August 2006, Supplemental pages 6–19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, Supplemental, pages 272–281).

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.351 11/21/2014 10:49:58 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.