Resist BHA 9

Blackheads and bumps, be gone.This concentrated, leave-on acne spot treatment clears up stubborn blemishes and unclogs and shrinks pores.
Item #: 773
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Calms redness and fades marks from past breakouts

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist BHA 9

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

77 out of 100
(Based on 554 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 23 Next »
  1. D. C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 01, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    don't waste your money
    • Sorry, this stuff gets a zero star rating for my sebaceous hyperplasia, tried it for three weeks. Not strong enough. Don't waste your money. Don't waste any more time, go get 'em zap with a laser.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, June 02, 2014

    Hi D.C.! We're sorry the RESIST BHA 9 wasn't a fit for your sebaceous hyperplasia, and we understand it can be frustrating when your results don't match those of other customers.  We would recommend contacting our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange!

    —Admin
  2. LAURA H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Helps My Husband's Face but Not Mine
    • I found that this very expensive treatment only caused more breakouts. It does seem to be helping my husband's face. He has rosacea, and had a bunch of white bumps on his face before using this treatment. Many are gone now and others are smaller.

  3. Jen
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    No go...
    • I have tried this for a month now. I increased to 2x a day after 1 wk of seeing no results. I don't get many breakouts, once in a while I will get those stubborn under the skin ones on my chin. It took 3 wks for one bump to clear and I don't think this had anything to do with it. My own home techniques would have had it gone in 3-4 days. I have so many bumps now on my chin, I feel like this is causing breakouts now maybe. I am going to stop and see if things clear up. I have very stubborn skin.

  4. Sannia J.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Didn't work
    • I've tried other Paula's choice products and most of them are good but this one didn't live up to the mark. I got it due to the awesome reviews- I have three very stubborn pimples and after a week of daily use - nothing! Seriously, nothing! Major disappointment.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 27, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry you didn't see results as soon as you had hoped. We urge you to keep using this, as some breakouts are more stubborn than others, and you may need to increase frequency of application. If you remain disappointed, we're happy to provide a full refund, so please contact us to discuss.

    —Admin
  5. ERIK D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great spot treatment!
    • This is a blessing for us that can't use benzoyl peroxide for over are all over BHA on those stubborn spots!

  6. Natalie
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Utterly brilliant
    • This product works for resistant clogging but you must be diligent using it. I have extremely fair skin and am prone to clogging on my forehead from copious use of mineral sunscreen. For general blemishes and clogging, I found it made a difference after 2-3 nights (already a BHA devotee); after a couple of weeks, my forehead was almost 100% clear. But the miracle occurred after about 4 weeks when suddenly my stubborn sebaceous hyperplasia was almost gone (I nearly gave up). Thank you PC!

  7. Kristina G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skin Emergency Solved!
    • I love this product. A lot of ground has been covered in previous reviews, my experience is no different. The turning point for me was when I went away on vacation, and swimming in the ocean made me break out worse that my 14 year old self. It was bad. White pimples, painful red ones, dry patches of wind burn, so bad. When I got back, I had 3 days before going back to work. I used this product morning and night, and kept makeup off my face. The result was baby smooth, clear skin.

  8. Morgan H
    Reviewed on Monday, May 19, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Mixed Results with this Product
    • I've had mixed results with this product. I have normal / somewhat combination skin (dryer cheeks, a little oily in the T-zone). This worked somewhat on the blackheads on my nose area, but did not work well on my chin, and in fact made me break out on my chin. However, if I use this on my nose area it did help smooth out any bumps / blackheads there. So this does work, but if you skin is a little bit temperamental / oiler may not work quite as well.

  9. Crystal
    Reviewed on Monday, May 19, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Did nothing sebaceous hyperplasia but did srink pores
    • Bought this hoping I would no longer need to burn off sebaceous hyperplasia bumps. Been using for 2 weeks and see no change. I do however notice smaller pores and reduced blackheads. It does also help reduce redness from acne. The product is also a bit greasy and seems to bond with itself on one area of your face rather than stay in the area that you apply it to. I would consider buying more after it's out.

  10. ANDREA W.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Changed My Life
    • Have suffered with severe cystic acne my whole life, have done Accutane, always on antibiotics, use Differin; this product, used daily, sometimes twice daily, plus the extra strength Clear 5% Benzoyl Peroxide= clear skin and a new life; thank you Paula and team :) Oh, and, I am 41 and this product is also making my fine lines disapear!

  11. Casey R
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Must Own!
    • Amazing product! Helped my skin so much. I have blackheads and large pores and this helped so much with both.

  12. Sharon
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing product
    • I was skeptical about the effectiveness of the product when I purchased it. The price was also a little high for a small amount of product. This product did not let me down. I have combination skin, and if I don't exfoliate frequently, I get small cystic acne. Twice I felt a bump on my chin and I applied at night. It was almost gone when I woke up! A small amount goes a long way. I also felt a slight sting, but nothing terrible. No redness or flaking. Just great-looking skin!

  13. valerie t.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Shrunk my pores
    • I used for the first time last night and was amazed at how it had shrunkened my pores overnight. I used this on the problematic areas after cleanse , tone with sb toner , followed by c15 . Love this and will continue buying .

  14. Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent for acne spot-treatment
    • Product is excellent. Put some on a budding blemish and it will never come to fruition and will quickly fade in a day or two. It is actually much gentler than my 2% BHA toner. Not a hint of stinging or dryness. I would love to use it more often as a full-face treatment, but with its current price tag, I only use it for spot treatment.

  15. milu r.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 03, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did not see any improvements
    • I purchased this over two months ago, as i was getting white lumps/ white heads below my cheek bones and sore red spots on my chin and cheeks, i used this every night but saw no difference or improvements what so ever. It was a total disappointment.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 06, 2014

    Hi there! We're sorry RESIST BHA 9 didn't work out for you! It's hard to say why your experience wasn't like that of others, but we certainly can help with a refund or exchange. Please contact our Customer Care for assistance.

    —Admin
  16. Tiffany
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I don't believe in panaceas, but...
    • this is pretty close. I use this in tandem with the BHA 2% liquid for problem areas. I have almost entirely replaced my expensive Dr. Dennis Gross two-step peel with these two items. Even my blackhead-studded nose responds to this stuff. It's easier to squeeze out the problem gunk, and not as much accumulates in the first place. It can also dissolve through a stubborn clogged pore like no one's business! It fades any remaining hyperpigmentation quickly and painlessly.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love the product! Hate the package
    • I love the BHA 9! It's my go-to product for breakouts. It works quickly and doesn't make my skin dry and flaky like a lot of other products. But I usually only need a little and with the pump-style packaging, I get way too much....enough for my whole face! I feel like I'm wasting a lot of an expensive product. Maybe a rollerball or eye dropper would be a better applicator?

  18. Heather H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Amazing stuff!
    • This little black tube of miracle goo has been transformative to my blackhead covered, sebaceous hyperplasia dotted, reddened, self-esteem crushing skin! Why only 4 stars? Well, I followed the PC suggestion about combining this with the RESIST anti-wrinkle retinol for sebaceous hyperplasia, and I was not really impressed. However, when I used this product alone (after cleaning and toning of course), the results are magnificent. I've dealt with skin issues for 2/3's of my life. Thank you so much!

  19. Kirsten H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING PRODUCT
    • I use this in combination with the following Paula's Choice products: Acne Clear Wash, I alternate the regular strength and extra strength exfoliant from the Clear system to decrease drying. I LOVE this stuff and I was apprehensive to spend the money on it, but I am So thrilled and shocked with the results. My face is COMPLETELY clear. I don't know what I would do without it now. I will continue to buy this product. I can not thank Paula's Choice enough.

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Decent!
    • I use this primarily on my nose and bit on the rest of my t-zone. I have noticed that the blackheads have been less prominent and that the pore size has been slightly reduced. However, I feel like it has stopped giving results (after a few months of use). It is not a product I can use daily as it causes the side of my nose to peel and getting itchy and irritated. The slight discomfort was worth the results. I wish my results kept improving, but my pores are better than they were.

  21. MARY K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Worth the Price
    • This is a daily staple in my skin care routine. I use every other night. I use one pump and it covers my t zone very well and a bit on my cheeks. I have no adverse reactions. It really helps with the few spots I have of Sebaceous Hyperplasia. It doesn’t remove them completely- but really helps. The only drawback is the price, which is why I gave it four stars.

  22. Shirley A
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • THIS IS AN AMAZING PRODUCT. I have been under the care of a very good dermatologist but nothing he prescribed can compare to this. I have blemishes that have lasted months and nothing would get rid of them - one Rx for $230. and just using this a few days has cleared most of them completely. I am so happy] to have discovered Paula's Choice and her marvelous products!

  23. Wahoonito Z.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail
    • I am blessed to be able to use it. I think this is the 4th order of this. With very sensitive skin, my skin does not react to it at all. I use it once a week, but some times 7 days continuously. I use it as spot treatment, but some times all over cheek. Work like a wonder. You just need to try your luck and see if you can tolerate it. The only thing that you need to be aware of is it is quite greasy, but I only care the performance not the texture. Please carry this product forever.

  24. Yanti
    Reviewed on Friday, April 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Something that I cant live without :)
    • I love this! I use it only at night after cleansing, toning, exfoliating, serum and moisturizer. This is my "on the spot" treatment. When my hormone is raging and i start to feel a tiny bump(s) on my face, i'll use a tiny bit of this and gently massage it on the bump(s) in circular motion. When I wake up in the morning, the bump(s) and redness have gone completely. Thank you, Paula for such a great and gentle product.

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Your advice for combating sebaceous hyperplasia is excellent!
    • First of all, you are the only skin care company I have found that even addresses this concern. Second, what you recommend works even better than the skin care protocol that my dermatologist suggested. Over the years, I have spent hundreds of dollars on lotions and potions that claim to help improve skin texture and wrinkles.They have all proved disappointing until now. The triple combination of the Resist BHA 9, the Resist Retinol Serum, and the Skin Balancing Pore Reducing Toner is amazing!

« Prev Page of 23 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist BHA 9 is a first-of-its-kind spot treatment specially formulated to address your most stubborn skin imperfections. The technology behind BHA 9 is indeed unique, allowing for a controlled, sustained release of salicylic acid without diminishing any of its effectiveness. In fact, you will have enhanced results without dryness or irritation! BHA 9 for Stubborn Imperfections has a pH range of 3.2-3.6.

BHA 9 can do all of the following:
  1. Unclog pores with the first use
  2. Diminish white bumps
  3. Minimize enlarged pores
  4. Refine and smooth skin's texture
  5. Minimize sebaceous hyperplasia
  6. Smooth and soften dry, rough patches
  7. Help balance oily skin
  8. Fade red marks from breakouts
  9. Reduce breakouts

Who is this product for?
Resist BHA 9 is designed for anyone who has struggled with stubborn skin imperfections who wants enhanced results over and above the treatments they've been using.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist BHA 9

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, 2010, page 110; Cosmetic Dermatology, Second Edition, McGraw Hill, Baumann, Leslie, MD, 2009, pages 150–151; Dermatologic Surgery, April 2009, pages 638–644; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology, and Leprology, March-April 2005, pages 87–90; Pharmazie, March 2005, pages 215–220; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November 2004, pages 519–531; and Drugs Under Experimental and Clinical Research, Volume 3, 2003, pages 101–105.

Key Ingredients: Boerhavia diffusa root extract, Avena sativa, glycerin, arginine, sea whip extract, salicylic acid

Product Ingredients:

Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/time-released exfoliant, 9%), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract (soothing plant extract), Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: At night, apply as a leave-on spot treatment for stubborn imperfections. Dispense a very small amount of Resist BHA 9 onto a clean fingertip, and massage a thin layer over affected areas. Suitable for use around the eyes, but avoid contact with eyelids and do not apply along the lower lashline. For best results, use after cleansing and toning, but it can also be used as the last step in your skincare routine. Experiment to see which method works best for your skin concerns. May be applied on its own or over a Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant. May be applied over larger areas if needed. Reduce frequency of usage if irritation or flaking occurs.

PRECAUTIONS:

This product contains 9% salicylic acid. Please note:

  • Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin
  • If you experience irritation, rinse from skin and discontinue use
  • Avoid direct contact with eyes
  • Protect skin with sunscreen daily
  • Ask your doctor before using on children
  • Keep out of reach of children
  • If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your doctor before use

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps even those who cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

Is BHA 9 just a spot treatment or can I use it all over my face?

A thin layer of BHA 9 may be applied all over your face if needed, but you would want to use it first over smaller areas where stubborn imperfections (for example, blackheads that have not responded to a BHA exfoliant with 2% salicylic acid) are an issue to see how your skin responds.

How often can I use BHA 9?

We recommend applying BHA 9 once a day preferably in the evening, after cleansing and toning. Many will find that their imperfections respond favorably with less frequent usage, such as 2-3 times per week. For best results, experiment to determine the frequency of application that works best for you.

Is it OK to use BHA 9 if I am also using a skin lightening product that contains hydroquinone?

Yes. Apply the BHA 9 to affected areas first and follow with the skin lightening product where needed. Finish with your Paula's Choice serum and moisturizer. During the day, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Can BHA 9 be applied at the same time as my retinol or prescription tretinoin product?

Yes, but for use with prescription retinoids, check with your doctor first. If you decide to try the BHA 9 use it as part of your evening skincare routine. Apply a thin layer of BHA 9 first, as either a spot treatment or all over your face and then follow with your retinol or prescription retinoid product, and finish with serum and/or moisturizer. Pay close attention to how your skin responds.

Can I use the BHA 9 at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA or AHA products?

Yes, though for some skin types applying two exfoliants at the same time increases the risk of irritation and that is never the goal. It is also fine to apply any of our BHA or AHA products to areas of your face where you are not applying the BHA 9 exfoliant, or you can alternate by applying your regular exfoliant in the morning and BHA 9 at night. BHA 9 was designed to be a spot treatment though lots of people are having great success using it all over their face and chest.

Is BHA 9 recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply BHA 9 to the eyelid or underbrow area.

Can BHA 9 be used on the body?

Yes. BHA 9 is excellent for treating stubborn imperfections on the body, too, especially white bumps, breakouts, and stubborn blackheads or patches of persistent keratosis pilaris. It is slippery so you would want to be careful what you wore to go to bed.

Will BHA 9 help fade acne scars?

Regular use of BHA 9 will help fade pink, red, or brown marks (known as post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation) from acne breakouts, but will not affect deep or pitted scars such as those that can occur from cystic acne.

I have eczema. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, morning or evening. If applying over patches of eczema, pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue applying BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application. Follow with an emollient moisturizer.

I have rosacea and/or sensitive skin. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, in the evening. Pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue to apply BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application.

Is BHA 9 better than the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant?

Not necessarily better, but it is stronger and designed to be a targeted treatment. BHA 9 is designed for stubborn imperfections (blackheads, white bumps, red marks from acne, sebaceous hyperplasia) that have not responded well (or at all) to one of our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants with 2% salicylic acid. BHA 9 is a potent treatment that for most will work best when applied to problem areas. For routine, daily exfoliation, continue to use one of our other BHA exfoliants on other parts of your face, neck, and chest.

How come BHA 9 is not part of the Clear line of anti-acne products?

Paula feels strongly that the benefits of BHA 9 are great enough to extend it beyond keeping acne breakouts under control. It is an excellent spot treatment for many types of skin issues such as sebaceous hyperplasia which primarily affects women over 40 who have oily skin and that wouldn't fall under the category of acne. Without question, BHA 9 can benefit acne-prone skin and can be used as part of a Clear routine if a stronger exfoliant to treat areas with stubborn imperfections, including Resistant blackheads and white bumps (milia) is needed.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps who even cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

What is the pH of BHA 9?

Resist BHA 9 has a pH range of 3.1-3.6, just like most of our other BHA exfoliants.

What's the difference between BHA 9 and your skin-lightening products?

The salicylic acid in BHA9 fades discoloration by increasing skin cell turnover rate, while key ingredients in Resist Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment and our hydroquinone-based skin lighteners work to interrupt the pathways in skin that melanin (skin pigment) needs to form the discolorations. Used together on dark spots, these products will have a complementary, synergistic effect. And don't forget the sunscreen, a must when figting brown spots and uneven skin tone.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.