Resist Skin Resurfacing & Smoothing Set

Wrinkles and uneven skin tone, you won’t get me down. This two-part, leave-on exfoliating duo is my secret weapon. One for daily use; one to use weekly.
Item #: 485

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Skin Resurfacing & Smoothing Set

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 103 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. Karin
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE these prodtcs!
    • I'm just a wash and sunscreen girl, but my skin was looking a little ...well-old in a word. I have used the 5% every day for 14 days and the 10% treatment twice. It has made such a huge difference in the clarity and texture of my skin already. I never expected a couple of products to make this big of a difference in such a short time. Wish I tried this years ago, but so glad that I am using them now. One recommendation? Be cautious w/ the 10% once a week tx the first time you use it--I only left it on for about 10 minutes and it was plenty enough time to work. Since my skin isn't used to exfolients I erred on the conservative and am glad I did. I will leave it on a bit longer as time goes on-but for now, I saw just a little bit of a peel soon after. I use this at night and that seems to be working great. I follow this treatmentw/ a nightime moisturizer. Will try the barrier repair soon, too. Thank you for truly delivering results on these products!!

  2. Tabi
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    What A Difference!
    • All of the PC Resist Line is nothing short of amazing! Like the previous review, I too, was a 'scrub' girl. I have been using skin care products for many years. I am 54. I have never had the results of ANY product like I have had with the AHA exfoliants. I had a problem with the cap on the Daily and I was afraid to return it because I didn't want to be without it! Turns out Paula backs up her products with a 100% Guarantee. I didn't have to return the damaged one! They quickly sent me a replacement! That in itself is amazing to me. But, back to the Daily Treatment... If you can not buy anything else make sure you at least get the Treatment System! It will change your skin from night to day! OVERNIGHT! I have tough skin.. but if you are sensitive, just back off using it everyday until your skin adjusts to it. My skin was even red in the beginning, but now I use the daily everyday and I use the weekly 2x a week! My skin never got compliments before! I get them all the time now. I can see and feel the difference PC products have made on my face and neck and even the tops of my hands!! My daughter is a PC girl now, because she has SEEN the difference! So stick with it, form a routine, you won't be sorry!!! :)

  3. Sara P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    These are a game changer!
    • My skin has never looked better! I used to use manual exfoliation not understanding what damage scrubbing does to the tender skin on my face. I always thought a good scrub was the only way to smooth skin, but I am a changed woman. These chemical exfoliants have changed my skin. I used to get occasional breakouts and cystic acne and haven't suffered since making the switch. Thank you Paula's Choice!!!

  4. Jessica
    Reviewed on Friday, February 03, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Jess.
    • I so wanted to love these products, but they just didn't do the trick. I love everything Paula except these items. Unfortunately, they simply didn't agree with my skin; breakouts became worse. I will continue to purchase & use the other Paula products I can't live without, but this one will have to be removed from my mix. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product on your account. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  5. Teresa
    Reviewed on Monday, January 02, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Really liked, wished I could keep
    • I really liked (most) of the results of this skin care system: skin looked brighter and more radiant. After four weeks of use, however, I had to discontinue due to a persistent break out along my forehead. Although I had read reviews that had expressed a few problems with a break out, I didn't foresee this would be an issue for me since my skin tends to break out when I am pregnant (which I am currently not) and then around my mouth. Sad to not be able to continue use! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the products. We do suggest using your 2% BHA on a regular basis to help with surface and pore exfoliation and to prevent any blemishes. This will also help with collagen production and to help smooth your skin out and make it radiant. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  6. Alicia
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 31, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Best Ever
    • Was given a sample by a friend . Love Love Love it Had to get some It does my skin good. Great work PaulaThank you

  7. Sondra
    Reviewed on Monday, December 05, 2011
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for me
    • I read all the reviews and thought this sounded like the perfect product for a 62 year old dealing with forehead wrinkles and wrinkles around the mouth. I have been using this product for almost two weeks and find the wrinkles are worse! Plus, this stings my skin. All the products I have from Paula's Choice I love, except this one. I bought the skin resurfacing and smoothing system. Neither of the two products were nice to me. I feel like my lines are deeper and more pronounced now. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we understand that each consumer is distinctly different which means they may respond differently to our products (whether used alone or combined with other products). This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. If the products are drying that is why you have noticed lines but once you stop using the products and moisturize your skin it will return to normal. We suggest a BHA exfoliant to try instead if the AHA's did not respond well with your skin. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  8. Jane
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 26, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great & not a problem for my rosacea
    • I hesitated to buy these products because I have very sensitive skin and rosacea on my cheeks. I started by using the Daily Smoothing Treatment every other day, avoiding my cheeks. After about two weeks, I could use it daily with no problems. Next I tried the Weekly product and had no irritation at all. These leave my skin soft, smooth and with a definite sparkle, but with NO irritation. Great products! Thanks Paula!

  9. Christine
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 15, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Better together!
    • Oh how I wish I had bought these two together sooner. I use just as directed and in one week, boom major improvement. My skin texture and tone is more youthful. They don't give me breakouts or irritate my super-sensitive skin.

  10. Gwen
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 05, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    OMG!!! This stuff is wonderfull
    • Can you give a product 12-stars???? This would fit the 12-star category easily. I'm an African-American woman who has 'hyper-pigmentation' along the cheek area. I've tried a number of products to remove/eliminate the hyper-pigmentation but nothing would work long term. Have always been a HUGH fan of Paula's products, so decided to try the RESIST Resurfacing & Smoothing System. Within 1-week, there were results. In fact I was in the process of recommending Paula's products to a co-worker when she mentioned how 'clear and smooth' my complexion was. My response was...'thanks but I'm still working on the hyper-pigmented areas'. My co-worker had this strange look on her face...then asked 'what areas'. After checking a mirror, realized the hyper-pigmented areas were gone. This product is non-irritating to my very sensitive skin and a keeper in my weekly facial routine. Now I'm going to try the entire RESIST line.

  11. Shelley G.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 01, 2011
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Ouch!
    • I really wanted to like this but it just stings my skin so bad every time I use it. I give up. I just really like those sexy blue & silver bottles. Customer Care Response: Thank you for taking time to review this product. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we understand that each consumer is distinctly different which means they may respond differently to our products (whether used alone or combined with other products). This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. We suggest a BHA exfoliant which is designed best for sensitive skin types. Please contact our customer care team if we can be of further assistance or if you would like to try the BHA exfoliant instead.

  12. Kim
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 27, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    very effective
    • I love this stuff and can't imagine what I did without it. I'm in my 40s, but I still have oily skin with the occasional breakout. No breakouts since starting this, and my skin looks so much smoother. My skin is often sensitive to new products, my I had no problem with this one, even the weekly treatment. I actually notice the difference the morning after I use the weekly treatment, and I wonder if I could even use it more often--not sure if that's recommended. But the daily is great too.

  13. Kathryn
    Reviewed on Monday, September 26, 2011
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Like it but can't use it
    • I used this product for several weeks and noticed that the texture of my skin was great and lines seemed diminished. However, I also noticed numerous new milia all over my face and I was breaking out more than usual (finally after menopause I don't break out often.) So, I stopped using the product and tried again about a month later with the same results. I'm going back to a BHA product. I wish the BHAs had the same exfoliating power as the Resist products. Customer Care Response: Try using a BHA as your daily exfoliant, and alternating it with the Weekly 10% a few times per week! This has been a routine that has worked for many of our oily|combination skin-type customers.

  14. Halina
    Reviewed on Monday, September 19, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very satisfied
    • Nothing but nothing compares to Resist Skin resurfacing. What a major difference this has made to my skin. I am very very impressed

  15. Beverly
    Reviewed on Monday, September 12, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic
    • I bought the Resist Skin resurfacing system and I can't believe how well it works! After only 3 days, my husband noticed a difference in my skin. (He doesn't usually notice things like that) I find some of my deeper lines are less noticable and my skin feels and looks much better. The price to me is very good compared to other things I have tried that didn't work. I have since ordered more Resist products and can't wait to try them. Fantastic!!

  16. Maryann
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 25, 2011
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Resist 5% Resurfacing
    • Please let me know why this product has an unusual smell. Customer Care Response: We do not use masking fragrances in our formulas so what you smell is the natural raw ingredients. Please contact customer service for suggestions on other alternatives.

  17. Carrie
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 23, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Cleared up my acne in weeks
    • I almost never write reviews of products, but this stuff is the greatest. I have told everyone about it. I am 40 and prone to acne. After I started to use the 5% morning and night, and the 10% once a week, my skin was showing a major improvement after a couple of weeks. Now it has been a couple of months and my skin is PERFECT. Not a trace of acne anywhere, for the first time in years. I am so impressed with these products and will keep using them.The only drawback is that it's hard to know when they are about to run out, but I figured out a way. Once each bottle is empty I will weigh it on my digital kitchen scale and then with future bottles I'll know when it's almost all gone and time to order another one.

  18. MM
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 02, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    VERY SENSITIVE SKIN AND ROSACEA GONE
    • I have VERY sensitive skin and rosacea. Retail products advertised for dry or sensitive skin were quietly wrecking mine. Then I read, printed, and took the reviews of products with me when shopping. I threw out every product I had, moved to RESIST and Paula's other recommendations, and my skin is unbelievably free of redness. At my age, I never thought it possible to receive such compliments!

  19. Ellie
    Reviewed on Friday, July 22, 2011
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    nice, but not for rosacea
    • Although these products have been well tolerated and leave my skin quite soft, the website recommended them for rosacea, and so far that's been a bust.My rosacea is fairly advanced...no breakouts or capillary concerns, but the redness across my cheeks and nose is pronounced. It's a particular problem if I'm overheated, and one side of my face is worse than the other.I appreciate the softness, but was hoping for some help with the rosacea, and although I've been using the Resist cleanser, and barrier moisturizer, all faithfully, there's been no lessening of my rosacea.I tend to commit to a line of skin care, so I will contact customer care for options before I rule PC products out. Just a heads up for other people like me: you may have better luck, but this was definitely not for me.

  20. Alexis
    Reviewed on Friday, July 08, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product
    • This is a great system. It's the only AHA products that I have been able to use. Notice a real positive difference in my skin.

  21. Crystal K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 29, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Crystal
    • I have sensitive, acne prone skin. I am 46. I love the Resist smoothing system. I have just ordered more. My face looks better than ever. My acne has settled down too. I am very picky on products and this is great!

  22. Amy N.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 22, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My skin looks fabulous!
    • I have been using the Resist system for a few months now and my skin has never looked better. I have been getting lots of compliments on how good my skins looks! I'm 42 years old but my skin doesn't look it. Thanks Paula!

  23. Megan
    Reviewed on Monday, May 23, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    FIVE Stars!
    • my skin is 100% smooth for the first time because of these products! I have acne prone/oily skin - this is the regimen that I have been using and seen amazing results (took about 1 month): I use the the 10% formula once a week and the 5% formula every other night before bed with a 2.5% benzoil peroxide formula on the other nights. during the day I use a 2% BHA gel or Paula's 2% BHA toner before putting on makeup. yes the 5% can smell a little chemically - but still gets 5 stars from me. Good luck with your skin care concerns!

  24. Krista
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 18, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    leaves skin glowing
    • I love this combo. I wasn't using any exfoliation before except for a washcloth once a week, so these left my skin glowing and looking way younger. I haven't broken out since using them, either. Great products!

  25. Amanda
    Reviewed on Friday, May 13, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    High performance
    • I have waited three months to write a review to get a really good grasp on this product. I used it, backed off for a couple weeks, and then started back up without changing anything else about my already simple routine. My skin did indeed respond positively and I noticed a difference when I stopped and started back up again. Wow. Thankfully, I am down to a cleanser and this set with the addition of an spf in the morning. I am in my early 30's, oily skin, and history of light blemish flairs. It is a remarkable set that has truly made a difference for even my 'young' skin. Thanks for reading.

« Prev Page of 5 Next »

What makes this set unique?
The Resist Skin Resurfacing & Smoothing Set is an effective, yet gentle, 2-part resurfacing system formulated to reveal younger-looking skin. The unique combination of 5% daily and 10% weekly alpha hydroxy acid treatments actively exfoliates skin while delivering a potent blend of restorative ingredients, plus essential antioxidants to stimulate healthy collagen production. Within a few days your skin will experience renewed texture, color, and tone, as well as a reduction in the appearance of sun damage and fine lines. Over time skin will feel more toned and better able to Resist the signs of aging!

Fragrance- and colorant-free, this Set is recommended as an integral part of the Paula's Choice Resist line. Each of these exfoliants have a pH range of 3.2-3.8. May be used with any other Paula's Choice cleansers, toners, serums, and moisturizers.

Who is this product for?
Resist Skin Resurfacing & Smoothing Set is ideal for anyone concerned with preventing and reducing the signs of aging, including sun damage, fine lines, loss of firmness, and uneven or dull skin tone. This high performance, concentrated set is great for all skin types.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, Thornfeldt Carl MD, 2010, pages 180–181; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,109–1,118; Clinical Evidence Online, December 16, 2008; Seminars in Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, September 2008, pages 170–176; Journal of Dermatological Science, December 2005, pages 195–204; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156–1162; Cutis, August 2001, pages 135–142; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001 pages 1–5; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, July 2000, pages 280–284; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, March-April 2000, pages 81–88; Dry Skin and Moisturizers: Chemistry and Function, edited by Marie Loden and Howard Maibach, 2000, page 237; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May-June 1999, pages 111–119; Journal of Cell Physiology, October 1999, pages 14–23; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 1996, pages 867–875.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% AHA

Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,109–1,118; Clinical Evidence Online, December 16, 2008; Seminars in Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, September 2008, pages 170–176; Journal of Dermatological Science, December 2005, pages 195–204; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156–1162; Cutis, August 2001, pages 135–142; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001 pages 1–5; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, July 2000, pages 280–284; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, March-April 2000, pages 81–88; Dry Skin and Moisturizers: Chemistry and Function, edited by Marie Loden and Howard Maibach, 2000, page 237; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May-June 1999, pages 111–119; Journal of Cell Physiology, October 1999, pages 14–23; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 1996, pages 867–875.

Key Ingredients: ceramide 2, burdock root, anti-irritant, vitamin C, white nettle, Glycyrrhiza glabra, epigallocatechin gallate, slippery elm bark, grape seed extract, palmitoyl oligopeptide, Avena sativa, green tea, Vitis vinifera, Lamium album flower extract, Borago officinalis extract, salicylic acid, Ulmus fulva bark extract, bisabolol, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, sodium ascorbyl phosphate, Camellia sinensis, Salix nigra (willow) bark extract, borage seed extract, Boerhavia diffusa root extract, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, antioxidant, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, chamomile, willow bark, glycerin, allantoin, glycolic acid, licorice extract, AHA, caffeic acid, Cucumis melo (melon) fruit extract, vitamin E, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane

Product Ingredients:

Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid:
Water, Glycolic Acid (AHA exfoliant), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent and penetration enhancer), Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredient), Ceramide 2 (skin-identical ingredient), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuoylmethane (anti-irritants/antioxidants derived from curcumin), Epigallocatechin Gallate, Caffeic Acid (antioxidants), Salicylic Acid (BHA exfoliant/anti-irritant), Disodium Lauriminodipropionate Tocopheryl Phosphates (vitamin E-based antioxidant), PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol (fatty acid thickener), Cucumis Melo (Melon) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/texture enhancers), Tribehenin (texture enhancer), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, PPG-14 Butyl Ether, PEG-40 Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate (thickeners), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Polyacrylamide (film-forming agents), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), C13-14 Isoparaffin (solvent), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Caprylyl Glycol (preservative), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Hexylene Glycol (solvent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% Alpha Hydroxy Acid:
Water, Methylpropanediol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Glycolic Acid (alpha hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritants), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidant),Arctium Lappa (Burdock) Root Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritants), Borago Officinalis (Borage) Extract, Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidants), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Lamium Album (White Nettle) Flower Extract (antioxidant), Salix Nigra (Willow) Bark Extract, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Ulmus Fulva (Slippery Elm) Bark Extract (anti-irritants), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Allantoin (anti-irritant) Propylene Glycol (solvent), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid:
DIRECTIONS:
Apply daily after cleansing and using a non-BHA Paula's Choice toner. Dispense 1–2 pumps and smooth over entire face. Follow with a Paula's Choice Resist Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and/or Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer. First-time users should apply once daily, preferably at night. For maximum results, alternate with Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% AHA once per week. Avoid direct contact with eyes. May be alternated with a Paula's Choice BHA exfoliant, if desired.

Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% Alpha Hydroxy Acid:
DIRECTIONS: Apply with a cotton pad or clean fingers only at night after cleansing and toning. Use a dime-sized amount over the entire face. It can be left on or rinsed off after 10 minutes depending on your skin's sensitivity. Follow with a Paula's Choice Resist antioxidant serum and/or moisturizer. On the night(s) you use this treatment do not use other exfoliants or scrubs at the same time. In the mornings you can use other exfoliants as per your normal routine.

Sun Protection Advice When Using Any AHA Exfoliant: These products contains 5% and 10% concentrations of glycolic acid, an ingredient that may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun and the possibility of sunburn. Always apply a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater every day. When outdoors, wear protective clothing whenever possible, seek shade, and avoid prolonged sun exposure.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid differ from the Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel?

While both of these products are excellent AHA exfoliants, the texture and formulas differ. Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid is a creamy, lightweight lotion meant to be used every day in combination with the Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% Alpha Hydroxy Acid. The 8% AHA Gel is the preferred option for someone with normal to oily skin.

How does Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% Alpha Hydroxy Acid differ from the Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel?

Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment is a specialized AHA product that contains a higher concentration of glycolic acid and a delivery system that enhances penetration.

Can I use Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment or Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with either of the Resist skin lighteners?

Yes, but not at the same time unless they are applied to separate areas of your face. This is because both of the Resist skin lighteners contain an exfoliant. You can apply your Resist skin lightener in the morning or at nightwhen you aren't applying the Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment. You would not use it on the days you use Resist Weekly Smoothing Treatment.

Can I use Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment or Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA products?

Your skin really only needs one exfoliant at a time, whether it is an AHA or BHA. However, some women tell us they see great results from using both an AHA and a BHA so you may want to experiment to see what works best for you. If you'd like to use a BHA product and Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment, we recommend applying one in the morning and the other in the evening. Do not use either on the nights you use the Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment.

Is Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment or Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply either product to the eyelid or underbrow area.

What if the Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment or the Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment is too strong for daily use on my skin?

Because skin can respond differently to alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) treatments, first time users should start by applying the Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment once per week (morning or evening) and then gradually work up to daily use. Next, try adding Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment and use once per week in the evening, as your sole exfoliant. Do not use any other exfoliant (including a scrub) at the same time you apply the Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment. Of course, you should stop using any exfoliant if signs of irritation or redness occur.

Is it OK to use Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment more than once per week?

Yes, but you need to judge frequency of use based on how your skin responds. Some people find that using this at night either once a week or up to 4 times per week produces great results. Those with advanced sun damage may need to use this Treatment 4 or 5 nights per week for best results.

How should I alternate using Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment?

Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment is recommended for use at night, at least once or up to 4 times per week. You can apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment as part of your morning skincare routine or on nights when you do NOT apply Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment.

What if my skin experiences a stinging or tingling sensation from Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment?

It is normal to experience a small amount of tingling. It should dissipate quickly and stop altogether with ongoing use. If the tingling or stinging sensation lasts for more than a few minutes, rinse the product from your face, discontinue use, and return the product for a full refund. Keep in mind that sensitivity can occur if you are also using products from other cosmetic companies that contain irritants, are highly fragranced, or are too drying for your skin type.

I am using a prescription retinoid product (i.e. Renova, Retin-A). Is it OK for me to use Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment?

Yes, but be aware that the prescription retinoid may increase your skin's sensitivity to any AHA treatment. We recommend testing Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment on a small part of your face at first to see how your skin reacts. If your skin responds positively, you can apply it before your prescription retinoid product and then rinse the Resurfacing Treatment after 10 minutes. Finish by applying your prescription retinoid product. If desired, follow with a Paula's Choice serum and/or moisturizer. Because exfoliants make your skin act and look younger, they can increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun. It is always essential to use a sunscreen and limit sun exposure, regardless of your skin type or the skincare products you use, but even more so when using an exfoliating treatment.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my AHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of an AHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to wait until skin has returned to its normal texture and color. This may mean waiting a few days or, depending on the depth of the peel or laser procedure, it may mean waiting several weeks. Both peels and laser procedures can temporarily leave skin extra-sensitive, so if in doubt it's best to wait rather than rush things. Once you begin using your AHA exfoliant again, pay attention to how your skin responds and adjust frequency of use accordingly. Discontinue use if you notice signs of irritation.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.351 11/23/2014 3:49:25 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.