Items you may also like

Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant

Breakouts, we’re through. This super-light, matte finish lotion unclogs and shrinks too-big pores, dissolves blackheads.
Item #: 200
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Eczema, Enlarged Pores, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Calms redness, builds collagen
  • Contains quickly absorbed 1% salicylic acid

PLEASE NOTE: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

78 out of 100
(Based on 160 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Naomi W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Doesnt work with make up over it
    • I don't really know what to say - It seems to have made acne marks look darker to me, my make up looks weird...Maybe the lotion just isnt for me . On the plus side I see none of the usual shine I see at noon, my pores looke smaller and already blackheads look smaller and a lot less of them. Maybe I will try the gel - possible the lotion is just not for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    Thank you for submitting your review! Don't forget you may certainly return/exchange your 1% BHA Lotion for the BHA Gel (or contact Customer Care for samples of alternative BHAs to experiment with).
    —Admin
  2. JeanAnnVK
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great on my sensitive skin
    • I ordered a couple of samples of this and I am loving it! Right now, I am using it as a spot treatment for breakouts. I find it really effective in making them disappear! I dab a little on my problem spots at night and in the morning, they are significantly diminished. I also have rosacea and have read reports that say BHA is good for it. I'm going to buy this in my next Paula's order and give it a try.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for my Rosacea skin
    • I have been using a topical medicated cream for the last 4 years. It has kept my condition under control. But I still had some stubborn bumps that just wouldn't go away. I also used a cream exfoliant once a week. I finally decided to give this product a test drive. I was a little concerned about the combination of products ( prescription and BHA) but I spoke to customer service and was given reassurance that all would be OK.. Well I must report that all is well after 3 weeks of using this product. In fact I can't believe the improved condition of my skin. I see faster results using the BHA than my prescription cream which is also an acid. Everyday i check my magnifying mirror to appraise the results and find a great reflection!!!! It's short of a miracle. I never dreamed that a skin product could work so well. Now, of course I'll have to investigate more of Paula's products.

  4. LC
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 03, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Thickeners not for me
    • After careful testing, I've determined that the thickeners in this lotion are causing tiny blemishes. I am going to stick with the 1% BHA gel and use the anti-aging clear skin hydrator when I need to add moisturizer. I was disappointed with this because I prefer the application of the BHA lotion to the gel. The lotion is easier for me to spread thinly, while the gel can cause me to apply too much. The rest of my routine consists of CeraVe foaming cleanser, Paula's Choice toner, serum, and SPF from the skin balancing line.

  5. lasara
    Reviewed on Monday, December 31, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Must have!
    • I have oily, acne-prone skin and pores that clog easily, contributing to breakouts. I started using this 4 years ago, every night after I wash my face and before I apply my moisturizer. It's not a "cure-all" but the texture and tone of my skin improved significantly when I started using it and I haven't stopped. If you try this and have a skin reaction, don't be discouraged! Sometimes you need to slowly transition to a new product, or try out different combinations. But I think this is the one thing that has really improved the texture of my skin and reduced my breakouts over the years.

  6. JENNIFER C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Oddly, caused a reaction
    • I've used this 1% BHA lotion for years because I thought it was important to have an exfoliant in my routine and this was the recommendation of the Paula's Choice team. I have dry skin with Rosacea. This causes my skin to flush bright red for at least 10 minutes. I thought this was just a normal reaction to an exfoliant so I've continued to use it, however since it didn't appear to be doing much I thought I'd give some of the 2% BHA's a try. I've since tried the regular strength Clear Toner and 2% Gel and both were very effective and caused no irritation or flushing! I'm beyond shocked that somehow the 2% is working better for me. I thought they would only suit those with oily, acne prone skin. Apparently not! It must be something in the lotion I'm reacting to. I'm sure it's still an option for others - everyone reacts differently of course. I just want people to know that if you react to one of the BHA options- do make a point of trying the others. This may seem obvious, but since I believed this was the gentlest option I didn't experiment. I'll definitely be switching product now that I know I can exfoliate without causing a flushing episode! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We are happy to hear the other BHA's work better for you and encourage you to stick with what works! Please contact customer care so that we may off your an in house credit for this product to use toward a future purchase.

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Cured My Rosacea
    • I'd been taking a rosacea oral prescription and using a prescription topical on my sensitive dry skin. After using this product for just a couple weeks I no longer needed either of these prescriptions. After a year, I tried not using it for a week to see what happened—rosacea came back and had to start the topical prescription again. Used the 1% BHA again—prescription was needed at all a and smooth, clear flawless skin was back! Further, I have no flares at all. I apply it morning and night. (My rosacea is the red flush, swelling, few bumps.) This product is a miracle and I'll use it forever!

  8. SUSAN H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Unpleasant odor
    • I have very mild rosacea and wanted to try something else. I have been using 8% AHA gel with decent results. Also use all the Moisture Boost products which I love. The odor is offensive and I have to quickly apply and not take a breathe at the same time. I will switch back to the AHA product and will not buy this again. This is the first product I have purchased from PC that I have been disappointed with. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are not happy with the smell of this product. We don't use masking fragrances as they are irritants in the formulas so what you smell is the natural raw ingredients which can vary in intensity from batch to batch. We can assure you each batch is tested to ensure stability and potency of the ingredients. Please contact customer care so that we may offer you an in house credit for this product which may be used on a future purchase.

  9. Adriana
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 21, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Suitable for rosacea skin
    • Having a rosacea prone skin I was a little worried at first to try this producto because of the salicylic acid. But it was a pleasant surprise. From the 1st use my skin got brighter and the redness vanished. Also I woke up the next day to a plumper and firmer skin, what I previously considered impossible as effect of a cosmetic lotion. This is definetely a keeper!

  10. purpldy
    Reviewed on Friday, November 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great value!
    • I debated with myself what exfoliant of Paula's to use as I'm very sensitive and subject to rashes and redness at the drop of a hat, but I am also very dry too. I have used, with great success and very little irritation, PHA's, but find them very expensive and not easily available, so I was looking for a good alternative. On the website, the system for extra sensitive skin suggested 1% BHA, lotion formula. I was surprised with BHA, instead of AHA, but thought I'd give it a go. I'm glad I did. This formula works to exfoliate my skin without making it peel or sore and I have not seen any (additional) redness caused by using this product. I quickly went to twice a day with this formula, unheard of for me unless I wanted my skin to be like sandpaper. I'm wonderfully amazed that one small pump is working so well for me, and at about 1/4 of the price of my prior PHA. I do mix this BHA lotion with another more emollient lotion to help the one tiny pump spread over my face and neck. I just ordered the serum and might try mixing the two together when I get it. The fragrance reminds me of the Yes to Cucumbers brand when I first apply, but after putting face cream and sunscreen and foundation on, it then becomes a little bit of cinnamon. I'm very happy with this effective, and inexpensive BHA exfoliant!

  11. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Breakouts
    • I loved how this product made my sensitive and dry skin feel softer, but unfortunately it also made my skin break out. I guess I'll keep searching for a good anti-aging exfoliant. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish this product could have worked better for you. It can be difficult to determine which product, or combination of products or ingredients may be causing some type of reaction or breakout. We encourage you to contact customer care so we can discuss your skin type, routine, and how long you have been using the product for. We are happy to make suggestions and send out samples for you to try.

  12. Jeannine
    Reviewed on Friday, October 19, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    So Far So Good
    • Have been using the Resist exfoliating system since it first came out with no problems. Then woke up two days after my regular dermatologist's appt to find a horrendously broken out face. Since I was out of town, I immediately started applying antibiotics and cortisone which did nothing. To be 61 and have what appeared to be my first acne was upsetting to say the least. When I got back in , it was to learn I have rosacea. So the Resist exfoliation had to go, though I am keeping it in thought of using it on my heels. You never know. Anyway, had a sample of the old version of this lotion and liked how it felt. So I went ahead and ordered. I was skeptical about the glowing reviews but have been pleasantly surprised. I am on an antibiotic and metrogel regimen and the rosacea had caused my dry skin to not only flare but develop milia everywhere. In five days, the milia have begun to lessen and the few clogged pores on my nose have disappeared. The rosacea caused my once smooth clear skin to develop huge looking (to me) pores and I am hoping to see some change in that. I deserve something for avoiding the sun all these years and small pores seems only fair. Like may others, I, too, find the smell absolutely awful. Have tried thinking of cucumbers but to no avail. The problem with the odor is that it doesn't really dissipate after it dries. Ugh! So I just breath through my mouth during application, when it's the most unpleasant. Am hoping the meds coupled with this lotion, the Skin Recovery products and the Redness Relief ill do the trick.

  13. Pat
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 27, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Pat
    • While I am happy this lotion is gentle enough to not cause redness or irritation, I really hate the odor. I will continue to use it but only at night and only then if I am sleeping alone! In the future I will try a lotion with AHA instead, hoping it will not contain the offensive ingredient. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We would like to mention we don't use any masking fragrances/perfumes in the products as these are irritating for the skin so what you smell is the natural raw ingredients used in the formulas which can vary in intensity from batch to batch. Perhaps another BHA would be best for you. We will leave the purchase price of this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  14. Diane
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Rosacea
    • I never write reviews, but I had to in this case. I am 58 years old and have struggled to find the right products to fight my Rosacea. My skin is the best it has been in the last 30 years using a collection of products - even those recommended and prescribed by a dermatologist. I can't believe my skin is looking so good so quickly. I am in live with these products!

  15. Debi
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING!
    • After reading some of the reviews here I was skeptical about this product. But I have terribly clogged pores so I thought it was worth a try. After four days of using this morning and night my pores look like they haven't in more years then I can say. My pores are smaller and much less congested and my skin has not dried out like I feared it might. Further, there were a lot of complaints about it not absorbing into skin and the smell being terrible. I think that the smell is fantastic, like fresh cucumbers and it sinks right into my skin! Thank you Paula for saving my skin once again!

  16. Thais
    Reviewed on Friday, August 17, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Does not blend well
    • This lotion does what it's supposed to do: exfoliate and clean the pores. However, I found it impossible to layer it and just make it work with my other products. Regardless of how much time I waited to apply my foundation, the lotion and foundation would form little balls that just looked awful. At night the same thing would happen with my Resist serum. I can't send it back because it's too late, but I will just purchase the liquid/BHA toner next time. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not noticed better results. The amount of time it will take to see improvement really can vary from person to person and ultimately depends on the extent of the condition or concern they are trying to address as well has how they are using the products. Some consumers will notice results promptly while others will notice results over the course of a few weeks or months. Ultimately, we would love for you to continue use the products to see how they will work for you but in the meantime will leave an in house credit for the product on your account and encourage you to contact customer care so that we may discuss your skin type and how the products were being used.

  17. Michelle
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 10, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Wow!
    • After going to the dermatologist and being told that I have 'dematitis' on my back (which is another name for the doctors having no clue what something is), I was given an expensive prescription and told that I had to apply it with a wooden spoon so that I could reach my back. About a week ago, I had requested samples from the Hydralight line. The BHA and/or toner makes my face a little red, but it is doing wonders for my back! I just checked in the mirror, and the expensive prescription which I didn't fill) went into the garbage. This is working miraculously! Now, if I could just figure out if the BHA or toner is making my face red, I'd be a happy camper.... Customer Care Response: Thank you for such a glowing review! It is hard to say which product or ingredient, even a well formulated one could be causing redness. The toner is packed with antioxidants and it is possible you were having an initial reaction to that. Please feel free to contact customer care and we are happy to discuss your routine and some other possible options!

  18. E.H.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 08, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Perfect fit for mostly good skin!
    • I have pretty cooperative skin that recently staged an uprising when I switched birth control. I went from years of great (hormonally-controlled) skin to skin that looked great...except when it decided to belch forth one or two cystic blemishes every month. I panicked, which is what brought me to Paula's Choice, and I couldn't be happier--although it has taken some experimentation. I've bounced around between a few of the Paula's Choice exfoliants. I first tried the AHA gel, but that made my skin red, bumpy, and irritated, so I switched to the 1% BHA gel. That was a huge improvement, but I felt like my skin--which is usually dry--needed more moisture. I've been trying the 1% BHA lotion, and I've finally found the right match! It's nice to have an extra moisturizing step in my routine for my dry skin, and it's even nicer that it keeps my skin from planting new blemishes on my face. The one downside--and I really thought I wouldn't mind it, despite what other reviewers said--is the smell. It's a bit like cucumber, but a pretty rank cucumber. But, that being said, the smell is not enough to deter me, particularly since I like what I get with the product!

  19. Jordan
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 07, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Awesome if you (or others) don't mind the smell
    • I was recommended this for eczema/super dry skin with mild pimples every so often. Over the course of a week where I used this product in samples, by the end it looked like I didn't have eczema at all! Very awesome. While I don't mind the smell, my boyfriend says it smells icky and feeling self conscious is never fun. I hear the gel doesn't smell as much though, so I may try in future.

  20. G
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 05, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good, but not really for me
    • I haven't used BHAs in a long time, but I do use a sonic cleansing device every day. That wasn't enough to get my skin smooth or clear enough on it's own, so when I tried out this BHA.I never tried the old version, but I don't think the smell is that bad. At first, it wasn't totally what I was expecting, but I got used to it and now I don't notice it.I like how absorbs quickly and makes my skin smoother than before I started using it, and I don't have any negative side effects, BUT it doesn't give me any dramatic results. I have some areas of rough skin and blackheads and it's little to NOTHING for them. I think this would be better for those with mostly nice skin to start with or maintenance. I'll use this up and then go towards something hardcore, like the RESIST Weekly Treatment. If I could, I'd give it a 3.5/4. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce favorable results for you. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. We do suggest trying a 2% strength of the BHA exfoliant if the 1% is not enough. We have left an in house credit for this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order and suggest using the 2% BHA Liquid and giving it at least a couple months to see how it will ultimately work for you. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  21. Kilee
    Reviewed on Monday, June 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love It
    • I originally sent a review complaining about the smell but I have been using this for a while now and love the new formula!! Another review mentioned it had a cucumber smell and after I read that I noticed it really did have that smell. Now the smell doesn't bother me at all. I continue to love Paula's products! Kilee

  22. Aimee
    Reviewed on Monday, June 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    awesome product
    • I must admit I freaked out a little when I realized the formula was changed as I used the original 1% BHA lotion for years. However, I discovered quickly that the new formula is even better than the old; it seems to sink into my pores better. Nothing on this planet will ever make my skin perfect, but this is by far the best product I use for my blackhead and whitehead prone skin. The smell IS a little weird but quickly dissipates.

  23. Andrea
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 23, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for oily skin
    • I tried a free sample and this product made my shine worse and made my pores even worse! I guess it isn't for oily skin. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. Please contact customer care so that we may help you find a routine based on your skin type and concerns.

  24. Emily
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 27, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Does not prevent breakouts
    • I have acne with rosacea and hoped this would help as promised, but it caused more breakouts. I guess I should have tried the higher concentration? Very disappointed with this product. Customer Care Response: Thank you for sharing your experience, Emily! True, those with acne find that 2% BHA formulas are better suited to address those more advanced needs, and we're sorry this wasn't the right fit for you. We can certainly help with a refund, exchange and/or send samples with which you may experiment. Contact us at custserv@paulaschoice.com and we can make the arrangements!

  25. Emily
    Reviewed on Monday, May 21, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    wish it worked better for me!
    • my sister has said many good things about paula's choice, so she told me to try this out. i have eczema and blackheads, and some hyperpigmentation from acne. i've been using it almost 3 weeks and haven't seen much of a difference as far as the blackheads go. it HAS however prevented me from breaking out as often and kept my eczema from flaring up. but i mostly purchased this product hoping it would help with my blackheads and i haven't seen much of a difference. i was probably better off with 2%. it is a good product, just not strong enough for me! :/

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant has a lightweight lotion texture that works to reveal smooth, clear skin by exfoliating both the skin's surface and inside the pore. Because BHA helps reshape the pore lining, it unclogs pores and exfoliates the built up layers on the outside of skin while improving cell turnover rate. The result is healthier, smoother skin. This creates a dramatic improvement in the skin's appearance, feel, and function, especially if blemishes are a concern. There is a great deal of research indicating that BHA (beta hydroxy acid) increases collagen production and drastically smooths the surface of skin. Additionally, BHA has anti-bacterial properties that attack blemish-causing bacteria. This elegant formula is non-occlusive, contains no waxy, heavy ingredients and absorbs easily, setting to a soft matte finish.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.2-3.8. Every Paula's Choice BHA product is formulated with additional soothing agents.

Who is this product for?
All skin types may use this product, but the texture is especially suited for those with normal to dry skin.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for SKIN PERFECTING 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, February 2006, pages 416–421; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Preservatives for Cosmetics, 1996, by David Steinberg, Allured Publishing, pages 39-40; Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; and Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Key Ingredients: caprylic/capric triglyceride, Avena sativa, salicylic acid, allantoin, glycerin, BHA (beta hydroxy acid)

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cetyl Alcohol (thickener/emollient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PPG-14 Butyl Ether (thickener), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Allantoin, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritants), Alteromonas Ferment Extract (water-binding agent), Dimethicone, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (skin-repairing ingredient/emollient), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), PEG-40 Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate (thickeners), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (skin-conditioning agent), Polyacrylate-13 (film-forming agent), Polyisobutene (thickener), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily after cleansing and toning. Apply a dime-sized amount over the entire face, including the eyes (avoid the lower lash line and eyelids). Do not rinse. For daytime, follow with a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 25 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

What's the difference between AHA and BHA exfoliants? Do I need both?

When properly formulated, both AHAs and BHA are brilliant options for exfoliating the surface of skin. Both AHA and BHA work to reduce wrinkles, stimulate collagen, and firm skin but each has its special qualities you'll want to consider when deciding which one to use:

  • AHAs are preferred for sun-damaged and dry skin because they exfoliate on the surface of skin and have the added benefit of also improving moisture content. 
  •  BHA is preferred for oily, acne-prone skin and for treating blackheads and white bumps because BHA can get through the oil that's clogging your pores, normalizing the lining of the misshapen pore that contributes to acne.
  • BHA has anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Those are two more reasons to use a BHA exfoliant if you have acne or sensitive, reddened skin.
  • BHA is preferred for those struggling with rosacea. Not everyone with rosacea can tolerate an exfoliant, but it is wise to experiment with a BHA product to see how your rosacea responds.

If your skin is sun-damaged and you're also struggling with acne or clogged pores, add a BHA product to your routine.

If you'd like to use an AHA and BHA at the same time, that is an option, though not really necessary. Some people find they work well when they're applied at the same time, but if you want to give this a try it is best to apply them separately, one during the day and one in the evening.

How do I use an AHA or BHA exfoliant?

  • You can apply an AHA or BHA product once or twice a day.
  • You can also apply either of these around the eye area but not on the eyelid or directly under the eye.
  • Apply the AHA or BHA product after your face is cleansed and after your toner has dried.
  • Once the AHA or BHA has been absorbed, you can apply any other product in your routine, such as moisturizer, serum, eye cream, sunscreen, and/or foundation.
  • If you're using a topical prescription product such as Renova, other retinoids, or any of the topical prescription products for rosacea, apply the BHA or AHA first.

Your AHA (glycolic acid) products have a higher percentage than your BHA (salicylic acid) products. Does this mean AHA is a stronger exfoliant?

AHA products are most effective at a 5% to 10% concentration and BHA at 1% to 2% concentration. Think about it like making bread, the amount of yeast you need is tiny in comparison to the amount of flour you use but equally important to get the results you want. The percentage of effectiveness varies depending on the ingredient. Rest assured that the BHA products are not any less effective due to lower concentrations of the exfoliant.

What strength of BHA should I use? Will a higher concentration provide better and faster results?

Which BHA strength you opt to use should be based on your skin type and the stubbornness (or severity) of your acne, white bumps, or blackheads. The 1% BHA strength is a great starting point to see how using a pH-correct BHA can improve the skin's condition. The 2% concentrations can be something you step up to if and when the need arises or if your skin isn't responding well enough to the 1% concentration.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.