Items you may also like

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant

Shrink enlarged pores with this 2% liquid salicylic acid leave-on exfoliant that removes old skin cells both on the skin's surface and inside the pore.
Item #: 201
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Creates radiant, even-toned skin
  • Reduces redness & builds collagen
  • Unclogs & diminishes enlarged pores

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 757 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 31 Next »
  1. Tamara Lee
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 19, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good product so far
    • I'm a 53 yr old female with somewhat oily skin and pores on my nose I'm convinced can be seen from space. I've been using the 2% BHA for about 3 weeks now. While it wasn't an "instant" improvement, I noticed this morning that, WOW, my pores are looking a lot better! Not nearly as huge or as full of gunk! I use a good exfoliator in the morning and at night before I apply the BHA. I haven't had any drying issues nor does it feel greasy. This seems to be working for me when nothing else did!

  2. Lisa B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 18, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Surprised at the negative reviews!
    • I'm a blue-eyed redhead with very fair skin that won't tan but burns and peels at the drop of a hat. Also prone to rosacea, and blackheads and whiteheads around my nose and my chin. When I first got this, I used it only once a day; there is a slight warming feeling and I did have some minor peeling. BUT! After just ten days, the blackheads have pretty much disappeared and my face is so much smoother, brighter and clear! Maintenance 3 days a week from here should work for me. Will buy again!

  3. Alexis D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 18, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I finally found it...
    • I've had terrible, dry, dull, acne prone skin all my life. Due to this combination of problems I also have terrible scarring in addition to the other unpleasant eyesores. This product, when used with a toner, has changed my skin. Not only is it clearer, but my skin retains moisture now, AND my scarring is almost completely gone! I haven't had a skin tone this even since I was a child. Thank you for giving me my confidence back! I can leave the house without covering my face in foundation now! :)

  4. Christian R
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 15, 2015
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Purging process hasn't stopped
    • I got this product about a week ago and I am either going through a serious purging process or this bha isn't for me. I have bumps in on my face that weren't prone to breaking out, so it's a bit aggravating. I'm going to give it a few more weeks and see how it goes, through this purging process should I continue to use it daily, or lower the dosage. Please help:/

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 16, 2015

    Hello, and thanks for the question! Continue to use daily, however, if your skin is still reacting this way in another week, definitely contact a member of our Customer Care team to see if there might be another product that works better for you!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  5. Amy L
    Reviewed on Friday, February 13, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Breakouts and extreme itchy irritated skin
    • I really wanted to make this work that I tried it twice. I've never seen my blackheads more clearly than when I was using this. I also started to break out along my chin and jawline. I usually only break out hormonally. I kept thinking it's just purging, but after several weeks it became painful cystic acne. Stopped it but recently decided to try it again. Again, I have pimples in places I never break out at. My jawline is irritated and my whole face itches. Too scared to even try BHA again.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 13, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for your comments - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team for information on a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  6. Lee, S
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Flaky to ichy to burning
    • First time trying Paula's Choice products. I've heard so many good things about it, from the product quality to the customer service. Unfortunately my expectations were a let down. Day 1, flakiness. Day 2, I found my self touching my face more than usual. When I got home, the flakiness intensified. Day 3, applying moisturizer actually stung. I made no other changes to my routine so I can only attribute this to the product. Yeah, I think I'll be going back to mandelic acid...

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, February 11, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  7. Dustin L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Can we talk about it?
    • I'm a male in my mid-20's with sensitive, dry skin. My face also tends to have tons of red, splotchy patches that I've tried everything in the world to get rid of. This product has made the difference! Not only has my skin been less reddened, it's also shrunk my pores and smoothed out the texture of my skin! I can't imagine living without it. If you're thinking about getting this product, just do it! It's worth it! You have nothing to lose.

  8. Elise H.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 09, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect exfoliant for addressing multiple issues
    • I bought this product primarily to deal with breakouts, which it has done! However, what has impressed me most is how much more even and clarified my skin tone is after just a month of use. My skin looks smoother and my pores are more refined. It is 100% worth the hype.

  9. Lynette
    Reviewed on Monday, February 09, 2015
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    trying one more bottle
    • I just finished my first bottle of 2% BHA liquid. Toward the end, I finally figured out how to avoid the problems it's been causing my oily 40+ skin. Morning and night, I've started following BHA application w/ a retinol serum, which has alleviated any dry/flaky patches. Also, exfoliating w/ a good scrub (or microderm) PRIOR to applying the BHA results in noticeably softer skin w/ clearer pores the next day. I just started a new bottle of BHA and expect/hope for better results this time around.

  10. Julia C
    Reviewed on Monday, February 09, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Dry patches, irritation, poor formulas
    • I was so excited to try this stuff. Bought the trial size, along with many samples, none of which I particularly liked. Although I do appreciate that none of her products contain fragrance, they just don't deliver. But the BHA specifically was just awful. Felt greasy, and gave me insane irritation and dry patches (I felt like a sundried tomato). Maybe BHA's just aren't for me, but I'm too afraid to try any other ones at this point. So disappointed!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 09, 2015

    We're sorry you ended up disappointed and agree, BHA exfoliants don't seem to be a good fit for you. Please contact us if you'd like a refund on all of the samples you purchased.

    —Admin
  11. RST
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 08, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    PC's Best BHA Treatment
    • If you have sensitive skin and you're on the fence about which PC BHA product to buy, go with one. I ventured briefly to the Resist BHA products due to their more sophisticated formulations, however found them either irritating (foam) or ineffective (light/9%). The 2% liquid formulation leaves me with perfect skin - clear and calm, whereas the more complex formulations left me looking flushed & blemished.

  12. TamiB
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 07, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love! Love! Love!
    • I just wish I had take a before picture! I'm over 40 with very oily skin and large pores. This product unclogged years worth of gunk almost immediately. The popes on my nose have diminished considerably. Thank you, Paula!

  13. Tavia P
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 03, 2015
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Smaller pores
    • My pores are shrinking before my very eyes. I'm not getting tiny little white heads that like to pop up. It is drying though. I have normal skin that can be dry at times and I've noticed that I get dry patches now that my makeup clings to. So I guess I need a better moisturizer because I don't want to give up the results I'm seeing! This was my 1st and only purchase here. Looking forward to exploring what else paula's choice has to offer!

  14. Rachel H.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 02, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic!
    • This stuff is a holy grail item for me! I have had horribly oily skin for as long as I can remember. Even my dermatologist couldn't help me with it, and I thought it was something I would have to live with forever. But with this BHA liquid I no longer wake up with an oily face and my makeup stays on and looks fresh throughout the day! Love, love, love!!!

  15. Evelyne M.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 26, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Broke me out like nothing before
    • That thing broke me out like nothing before managed cause breakouts. The whole lower half of my face became fully irritated and very dry. And because this was not bad enough I developed a billion zits (even more than when I was a teenager!). My whole face was uncomfortable and I had to apply moisturizer several times a day for many days in order for my face to calm down. And the weirdest thing of all is that I normally do not react to skin care products. I am very disappointed.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, January 27, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  16. elektra
    Reviewed on Monday, January 26, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love
    • OBSESSED with this product. this is definitely my favorite face products i use. my skin is amazing never dry around my nose like it was. and i always feels fresh and glowing.. i do wish this product came in a bigger oz. and also a pop lid would be great instead of a twist of cap.. PLEASE make it in bigger oz one day.. over all a must product

  17. Sarah W.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 26, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Sarah Wyatt
    • So glad I ordered this! Within 3 weeks this product has changed my adult acne prone/oily/large pore complexion. SO happy.

  18. Tina P
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 25, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    2% BHA Liquid
    • I cannot rave enough about this. My poors are so much smaller. My face has restored radiance. The Holy Grail of skin care products. Love Love Love it!! ??????

  19. pg
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 20, 2015
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    was sent the wrong item
    • im new to pc and so far so good i recently just bought the skin perfecting 2% bha GEL and you sent me the LIQUID!!!! wasn't happy about that but i will see how this works for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, January 21, 2015

    Hello, and thanks for contacting us! Definitely contact our Customer Care team - they can send you a replacement product!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  20. Lauren F.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 19, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Can't live without
    • Seriously, the title says it all. I can't imagine what I did before this product and I don't think I can ever live without it.

  21. Yelyzaveta Y.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 18, 2015
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works! Salon treatments are rubbish compared to this!
    • Good product! I didn't have major issues with my skin but blackheads and occasional breakouts. I EXPECTED to have NO blackheads what so ever. I say that I'm 90% happy with how the product worked on getting rid of them. At times (period related) I have almost no blackheads. Did get mild flaking of skin when started - use once a day still. Skin still flakes when I apply too much. Recommended to 2 gilfriends and we are ALL happy with it. Paula cannot be beated on price or efficacy! Thank you.

  22. Hong, C
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 17, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Question
    • Is this product appropriate for a 14-year old girl who starts getting acne? My niece and I love this product. Thanks!

  23. Panghoua V.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 16, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fabulous Stuff
    • I have been using this product and a PC regime for 2 years now. I love this stuff!!! I can't say enough good things. I use it morning and night. I can even layer her products and it works wonders on my dry sensitive skin. I use this first and then add the 10% AHA on top of it. Some times I even add the resist toner after that too. My skin just drinks it all up. When I gave my bottle to my aunt I noticed the difference right away. I will never be without this product.

  24. Julia H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 15, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Incredible results for my acne-prone skin
    • I have been struggling with acne my entire life. You name the treatment, I've probably tried it - including two rounds of Accutane. Just when I thought I was in the clear, a breakout cropped up and I've been looking for a routine for months to battle my old nemesis. The BHA transformed my acne-prone skin into healthy, smooth, and breakout-free, and it happened in just a couple weeks. I was floored. I'm still floored. Between this and the makeup remover, I've found my lifelong skin care partners.

  25. Kim
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 11, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Thank goodness.
    • I've always struggled with acne and had a regular regimen that worked well for me. Last year unfortunately, my usual routine stopped doing anything and I started breaking out more! This was different though, now the acne was deep nodules that were swollen and painful. (I understand this is probably adult onset acne…awesome :/) I started using BHA as a part of my daily routine and over about 2 months my skin was dramatically better! No more painful nodules, Thanks Paula!!

« Prev Page of 31 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant rapidly exfoliates both the skin's surface and inside the pore, reshaping the pore lining, unclogging pores and improving skin cell turnover rate. The result is a dramatic improvement in the skin's appearance, feel, and function which leads to healthier skin. There is a great deal of research indicating that BHA (beta hydroxy acid) increases collagen production and drastically smooths the surface of skin. Additionally, BHA has antibacterial properties that attack blemish-causing bacteria. The lightweight, non-occlusive formula allows for a faster and deeper exfoliation rate than our gel or lotion BHA products, so it's an ideal choice for stubborn clogged pores or blackheads.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.5-3.9. Every Paula's Choice BHA product is formulated with additional soothing agents.

Who is this product for?
All skin types may use this product, but the texture is especially suited for those with normal to oily or combination skin, stubborn blackheads, and blemish-prone skin. It can also be used regularly to eliminate calluses on feet, elbows and knees.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for SKIN PERFECTING 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant

International Immunopharmacology, August 2009, pages 1,126–1,130; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, February 2006, pages 416–421; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November-December 2004, pages 519-531; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82; Preservatives for Cosmetics, 2006, by David Steinberg, Allured Publishing, pages 39-40; Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; and Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Key Ingredients: methylpropanediol, salicylic acid, green tea, BHA (beta hydroxy acid)

Product Ingredients:

Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (anti-irritant/antioxidant), Polysorbate-20 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily after cleansing and toning. Lightly soak a cotton pad and apply over the entire face, including the eye area (avoid the lower lash line and eyelids). Do not rinse. For daytime, follow with a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 25 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What's the difference between the 2% BHA Liquid and the 2% BHA Gel?

First, texture: One is a fluid with a toner-like consistency, the other is a thicker, clear gel. Both contain the same amount of salicylic acid, though the 2% BHA Liquid contains an ingredient that allows the salicylic acid to penetrate faster and further. With the 2% BHA Gel formula, you're getting a slower release of salicylic acid. Both are great options for treating acne, blackheads, and signs of aging. Both are suitable for all skin types but best for normal to oily or combination skin.

What's the difference between AHA and BHA exfoliants? Do I need both?

When properly formulated, both AHAs and BHA are brilliant options for exfoliating the surface of skin. Both AHA and BHA work to reduce wrinkles, stimulate collagen, and firm skin but each has its special qualities you'll want to consider when deciding which one to use:
  • AHAs are preferred for sun-damaged and dry skin because they exfoliate on the surface of skin and have the added benefit of also improving moisture content.
  • BHA is preferred for oily, acne-prone skin and for treating blackheads and white bumps because BHA can get through the oil that's clogging your pores, normalizing the lining of the misshapen pore that contributes to acne.
  • BHA has anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Those are two more reasons to use a BHA exfoliant if you have acne or sensitive, reddened skin.
  • BHA is preferred for those struggling with rosacea. Not everyone with rosacea can tolerate an exfoliant, but it is wise to experiment with a BHA product to see how your rosacea responds.

If your skin is sun-damaged and you're also struggling with acne or clogged pores, add a BHA product to your routine.

If you'd like to use an AHA and BHA at the same time, that is an option, though not really necessary. Some people find they work well when they're applied at the same time, but if you want to give this a try it is best to apply them separately, one during the day and one in the evening.

How do I use an AHA or BHA exfoliant?

  • You can apply an AHA or BHA product once or twice a day.
  • You can also apply either of these around the eye area but not on the eyelid or directly under the eye.
  • Apply the AHA or BHA product after your face is cleansed and after your toner has dried.
  • Once the AHA or BHA has been absorbed, you can apply any other product in your routine, such as moisturizer, serum, eye cream, sunscreen, and/or foundation.
  • If you're using a topical prescription product such as Renova, other retinoids, or any of the topical prescription products for rosacea, apply the BHA or AHA first.

Your AHA (glycolic acid) products have a higher percentage than your BHA (salicylic acid) products. Does this mean AHA is a stronger exfoliant?

AHA products are most effective at a 5% to 10% concentration and BHA at 1% to 2% concentration. Think about it like making bread, the amount of yeast you need is tiny in comparison to the amount of flour you use but equally important to get the results you want. The percentage of effectiveness varies depending on the ingredient. Rest assured that the BHA products are not any less effective due to lower concentrations of the exfoliant.

The Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant feels sticky and kind of greasy on my face! Why is that?

If the BHA is feeling sticky, you are probably using too much product. The average amount necessary for facial application of the 2% BHA is less than the size of a dime. The product is best applied in a thin layer, and has great spreading properties. The "greasy" feel can be attributed to the high levels of glycol in this product (glycol helps the BHA penetrate the surface layers of skin and also works as a water-binding agent). If you live in a humid, moist climate, this effect will be more pronounced and, if too much product is used, can create a "greasy" feel on the skin. Many customers have remarked how silky-soft their skin is as a result of using the 2% BHA Liquid, and that is the result of the humectants working with the BHA to exfoliate and hydrate the skin.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

1 https://autodelivery.services.paulaschoice.com/api/autodelivery/ False M/d/yyyy
585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.389 4/27/2015 2:28:27 AM
Skip to Top of Page

Free Email Sign-Up

- Expert Skin Care & Makeup News & Advice (twice a month)
- New product reviews on Beautypedia (twice a month)

Birthday (Optional)

 
[AutoDeliveryDescription goes here]
FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Resist 25% Vitamin C Spot Treatment Trial Size on $50+