Items you may also like

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant

Shrink enlarged pores with this 2% liquid salicylic acid leave-on exfoliant that removes old skin cells both on the skin's surface and inside the pore.
Item #: 201
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Creates radiant, even-toned skin
  • Reduces redness & builds collagen
  • Unclogs & diminishes enlarged pores

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 563 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 23 Next »
  1. Stephanie, H
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good
    • I purchased the liquid because the gel was out of stock thought I would like it just as well but it is different then the gel. I wish I would have just waited longer till the gel came back in stock.

  2. kielly j.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Favorite New Product
    • I have been using this product for almost two weeks and my skin looks amazing. It is less oily and has a nice glow to it. I just got a compliment from a coworker who wanted to know what I have been doing to my skin lately. I was afraid this would not work but I will keep buying this product. It also makes me hopeful to try other products.

  3. Kay J.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not for me
    • From reading the reviews, I think my skin is just on the tough side...I have very very very oily skin, even though I'm forty ( it's always been oily and slightly acne prone)...This didn't seem strong enough to exfoliate my skin and do what I needed. However, I don't feel like this is a bad product and perhaps this will be good to use on a sensitive skin day...

  4. cindy r.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love this stuff!
    • this stuff is great. the pores on my nose are nearly gone. I have less breakouts too. I'm ordering more so that I don't run out.

  5. Karen D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Fantastic Stuff!!
    • I've been using Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Toner, 8% AHA Gel (morning), and this 2% BHA liquid (night). Prior to using Paula's Choice products my skin was very dry and flakey, but with clogged pores on my nose. I wish I could post before & after pictures, because my skin is GLOWING. The clogged pores around my nose cleared up within 3 days of using this product and no more flakes! Only complaint is this doesn't soak into my skin quickly, but since I use it at night it's not a big deal.

  6. Christina C
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very bright and even complexion
    • I noticed congested pores & wanted something that would exfoliate on a deeper level than aha. I have noticed the following: it works as a soother for any blemishes, my blemishes tend to not leave such a hideous dark mark as they once did, I have less frequent blemishes, my pores look decongested & my skin is more RADIANT. I do still have black heads but they are at least 50% better & not even noticeable. I also have dry skin and den the liquid seems to be ok.

  7. Kelsey, M
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not good for me
    • This product did not work for me. I have combination oily skin with a very oily noise.. Lol. I have issues where my skin flakes to things pretty easily even though I have soon in the oilier side. I was hoping this would be a solution for my blackheads, but I was wrong. I noticed no change in blackheads and after trying several times, I've come to the conclusion that this product makes my skin flake very badly. On the bright side, the AHA 8 Gel had been working great for me :)

  8. Sara A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • This just isn't the product for me. I patch tested and thought I was fine, so I added this into my routine. Wrong. I generally have clear skin, and rarely break out. I get a pimple or two every few months. Since using this product for almost three weeks, I've never felt more unhappy with my skin. I'm getting pimples that don't come to a head in places where I've never broken out before. I'm also getting pimples on my forehead that are out of nowhere. Not for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, June 06, 2014

    Hi Sara! We're sorry the 2% BHA Liquid didn't work out for you! Be sure to contact our Customer Care Team, as they would be happy to help with a refund or exchange (as well as advice on what may have gone wrong).

    —Admin
  9. Rubaiya M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow!
    • Let me begin by telling you that I am a person who is obsessed with skin care. I am 25 yrs old and have relatively good skin. When I ordered this, I was like, ok.. it seems like a good product and probably effective with what I've read so far about it. I have used it for two days. All I have to say is WOW! Its one thing when you have problematic skin and something is effective. But its another story when you have good skin and product takes your skin to an excellent level. Love you Paula !!

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Expensive, but seems effective
    • My skin: combination-oily, prone to several types of acne, sensitive, & showing the first signs of aging because I'm 30. This product dries to a slightly tacky finish and leaves my skin looking shiny, though it does not have a slick or oily feel when touched. Therefore, I only use this at night. It's expensive, but it's hard to find good AHA/BHA products at the drugstore, so I may repurchase it anyway.

  11. Christina B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Use Sparingly
    • The first few days I used this product, my skin got unbelievably tight and I noticed some mild peeling. After a week of use my skin was a bit more sensitive to sunlight as well. For someone with very sensitive, combination skin like myself, I recommend patch testing before going full face as specified in the directions. I love Paula's Choice products but this one may not be for me.

  12. Emily T.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Holy Grail
    • This is my Holy Grail. This is Everything. I use this every night and I honestly feel as though this is what keeps those big cystic pimples at bay. I have absolutely no negative side effects. It doesn't smell bad, applies easily. Friends have noticed a change in my skin, and that's the best compliment. I send them to Paulas Choice when asked what I use. Wonderful product, can't say enough good things.

  13. Lauren R.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this stuff!
    • Unlike anything I've used before. I've only been using this for a little over week now, but I could see and feel a difference by the next morning. My skin is starting to feel firmer and stronger. I don't have any irritation with this product and I have very dry, sensitive skin. I use this along with Skin Recovery Dry/Very Dry moisturizer and toner. Thank you PC! Still going to order some products from the CLEAN Collection for those extra stubborn breakouts.

  14. Marissa C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    FINALLY!
    • After trying several bha's recommended in beautypedia I ordered samples of this. I love that its a liquid, it's easy to apply and doesn't feel heavy on the face. Plus it actually works! My clogged pores are literally falling out! You only need a really small amount so its easy to overdo it but I just let it sit a minute and soak the excess off with toilet paper. It will help with the absorption of any serums or moisturisers. Order your sample now!

  15. Nina N.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy grail
    • Paula's products are amazing and this one is no exception. Completely transformed my skin in less than a year. Cannot thank Paula and her team enough. The attention to her products yields mind blowing results. I did not think my skin would ever be as smooth and blemish free as it is now. I feel confident and very happy with what I have purchased. Loyal for life!

  16. JT
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works for Seborrheic dermatitis
    • I get Seborrheic dermatitis flares under stress and climate changes always on my scalp. Dandruff shampoo helps, but for the stubborn spots on my scalp this really helps clear it up and loosen the dry skin scales and calm the irritation, as well as the red spots. Soak a q-tip bud in the solution and dab the seb derm spot. Very simple and easy. I especially appreciate texture as I have to apply to my hairline. The no scent is a bonus,as my irritated skin does not need more irritation with a scent.

  17. Kitty K.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I wish I would have started sooner!
    • I always read about how good a chemical exfoliant would be - And I cannot believe I waited this long to try it out! I have Normal To Dry skin, so I was a bit sceptical at first. I am acne prone, and I wanted something to do more than an AHA. I have been using this product for almost a month now. And it's a beauty staple! My skin is left feeling soft and smooth. Perfect, especially if you are the type of person that gets dry patches.

  18. Maggie E.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Closed comedones - finally cleared
    • I can honestly say I have battled with stubborn closed comedones for over 5 years (around menopause) and it drove me crazy. I was diagnosed by a dermatologist and could not find anything that helped. The number of products, treatments, I have purchased trying to rid of this 'obsession' is frightening. Everything this product claims to do - it did for me!!! I am a true believer in this product and my search is FINALLY over!... from now on this is the only product I need!!! Thanks!

  19. Heather A.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 23, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    works if you aren't really sensitive
    • First two days I noticed a difference. my face felt much smoother but it DID feel more sensitive. my face looked glowy and attractive! i was so happy. I normally usually only get the odd zit here and there or , if my skin isn't liking a product, will break out massively. I started to notice I was getting these weird deep rooted pimples and the ones that dont pop up with a whitehead. All i can say is thank god for benzyl peroxide.

  20. Ann
    Reviewed on Friday, May 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent product
    • This product totally changed my skin. I've been dealing with acne since I was 13 y/o. Now, 39, I can even begging to explain how excited I am about this liquid gold. My pores look WAY SMALLER, and the overall appearance of my skin is also a lot better. I get so many compliments about how good and young my skin looks. You have to try this! I recently ordered the new resist version, and I can way to try and see if I notice even better results.

  21. Jasmine
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wish I Knew About PC 10 Years Ago
    • Does EXACTLY what the bottle says. Lightweight, easy to use and it WORKS. I've struggled with acne since high school and being dark skinned (Caribbean East Indian descent), I've also had to battle with the dark hyperpigmentation marks left behind. Using this product for less than a month and my skin is less oily, smoother, blackheads minimized. Excited to try PC sunscreen & 4% BHA foam next. Paula, please open a distribution centre in the Caribbean!!

  22. Victoria
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miraculous
    • My skin was actually already in pretty good shape before I received a sample of Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting Exfoliant in my April Birchbox. And I still noticed a difference. In only one night, too! I used it before bed one night, woke up, looked in the mirror, & thought I was looking at an airbrushed photo. This stuff is incredible. My skin looks amazing. Loved the sample so much, I was prepared to buy a full sized version and pay dearly, but it's so reasonably priced! Wow. Love!!!

  23. Kristina G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail Product
    • What everyone has already said and MORE! Just stop hesitating and try it, it took me a while to buy Paula's products myself, so I understand the hesitations. This was the first Paula's Choice product I integrated into my routine, and I credit my consistent good skin days to it. My massive pores are smaller, my uneven skin texture has been refined, and my nagging blemishes (there are always a few), are banished. I wasted so much money trying other products over the years... just stop. Get this,

  24. Ria M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fast results=Purging within days. Happy to see the clogs go!
    • Have been using this only at night for 1 week, after having used Stridex in the red box for the past 2-3 months trying to rid myself of the vast number of closed comedones that remained untouched on my forehead, cheeks & chin. After just 1 week w/ this BHA my skin is purging. It hurts & is ugly but it's incredibly satisfying to see specific clogs that I've been looking at for months finally creeping out of my skin. Hoping this will end soon so I can enjoy the results & fade the brown spots.

  25. E
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Erin
    • I found out about this product online and I'm so glad I did! After using this product for 3 days I saw a difference! My pores have shrunk, my skin tone is more even and my breakouts have stopped. I'm addicted and telling all my friends about this product! Only downfall is I'm in Australia and you don't have an Aussie site or supplier. Other than that great product! Great price! I'm going to try more of your range thanks

« Prev Page of 23 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant rapidly exfoliates both the skin's surface and inside the pore, reshaping the pore lining, unclogging pores and improving skin cell turnover rate. The result is a dramatic improvement in the skin's appearance, feel, and function which leads to healthier skin. There is a great deal of research indicating that BHA (beta hydroxy acid) increases collagen production and drastically smooths the surface of skin. Additionally, BHA has antibacterial properties that attack blemish-causing bacteria. The lightweight, non-occlusive formula allows for a faster and deeper exfoliation rate than our gel or lotion BHA products, so it's an ideal choice for stubborn clogged pores or blackheads.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.2-3.8. Every Paula's Choice BHA product is formulated with additional soothing agents.

Who is this product for?
All skin types may use this product, but the texture is especially suited for those with normal to oily or combination skin, stubborn blackheads, and blemish-prone skin. It can also be used regularly to eliminate calluses on feet, elbows and knees.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for SKIN PERFECTING 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant

International Immunopharmacology, August 2009, pages 1,126–1,130; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, February 2006, pages 416–421; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November-December 2004, pages 519-531; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82; Preservatives for Cosmetics, 2006, by David Steinberg, Allured Publishing, pages 39-40; Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; and Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Key Ingredients: methylpropanediol, salicylic acid, green tea, BHA (beta hydroxy acid)

Product Ingredients:

Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (anti-irritant/antioxidant), Polysorbate-20 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily after cleansing and toning. Lightly soak a cotton pad and apply over the entire face, including the eye area (avoid the lower lash line and eyelids). Do not rinse. For daytime, follow with a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 25 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What's the difference between the 2% BHA Liquid and the 2% BHA Gel?

First, texture: One is a fluid with a toner-like consistency, the other is a thicker, clear gel. Both contain the same amount of salicylic acid, though the 2% BHA Liquid contains an ingredient that allows the salicylic acid to penetrate faster and further. With the 2% BHA Gel formula, you're getting a slower release of salicylic acid. Both are great options for treating acne, blackheads, and signs of aging. Both are suitable for all skin types but best for normal to oily or combination skin.

What's the difference between AHA and BHA exfoliants? Do I need both?

When properly formulated, both AHAs and BHA are brilliant options for exfoliating the surface of skin. Both AHA and BHA work to reduce wrinkles, stimulate collagen, and firm skin but each has its special qualities you'll want to consider when deciding which one to use:
  • AHAs are preferred for sun-damaged and dry skin because they exfoliate on the surface of skin and have the added benefit of also improving moisture content.
  • BHA is preferred for oily, acne-prone skin and for treating blackheads and white bumps because BHA can get through the oil that's clogging your pores, normalizing the lining of the misshapen pore that contributes to acne.
  • BHA has anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Those are two more reasons to use a BHA exfoliant if you have acne or sensitive, reddened skin.
  • BHA is preferred for those struggling with rosacea. Not everyone with rosacea can tolerate an exfoliant, but it is wise to experiment with a BHA product to see how your rosacea responds.

If your skin is sun-damaged and you're also struggling with acne or clogged pores, add a BHA product to your routine.

If you'd like to use an AHA and BHA at the same time, that is an option, though not really necessary. Some people find they work well when they're applied at the same time, but if you want to give this a try it is best to apply them separately, one during the day and one in the evening.

How do I use an AHA or BHA exfoliant?

  • You can apply an AHA or BHA product once or twice a day.
  • You can also apply either of these around the eye area but not on the eyelid or directly under the eye.
  • Apply the AHA or BHA product after your face is cleansed and after your toner has dried.
  • Once the AHA or BHA has been absorbed, you can apply any other product in your routine, such as moisturizer, serum, eye cream, sunscreen, and/or foundation.
  • If you're using a topical prescription product such as Renova, other retinoids, or any of the topical prescription products for rosacea, apply the BHA or AHA first.

Your AHA (glycolic acid) products have a higher percentage than your BHA (salicylic acid) products. Does this mean AHA is a stronger exfoliant?

AHA products are most effective at a 5% to 10% concentration and BHA at 1% to 2% concentration. Think about it like making bread, the amount of yeast you need is tiny in comparison to the amount of flour you use but equally important to get the results you want. The percentage of effectiveness varies depending on the ingredient. Rest assured that the BHA products are not any less effective due to lower concentrations of the exfoliant.

The Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant feels sticky and kind of greasy on my face! Why is that?

If the BHA is feeling sticky, you are probably using too much product. The average amount necessary for facial application of the 2% BHA is less than the size of a dime. The product is best applied in a thin layer, and has great spreading properties. The "greasy" feel can be attributed to the high levels of glycol in this product (glycol helps the BHA penetrate the surface layers of skin and also works as a water-binding agent). If you live in a humid, moist climate, this effect will be more pronounced and, if too much product is used, can create a "greasy" feel on the skin. Many customers have remarked how silky-soft their skin is as a result of using the 2% BHA Liquid, and that is the result of the humectants working with the BHA to exfoliate and hydrate the skin.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.