Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant

Get your glow on. Apply this leave-on exfoliant once or twice a day. Smooths skin, fades sun damage, and reveals younger-looking skin.
Item #: 190
  • Anti-Aging, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry, Combination Skin
  • Hydrates and stimulates collagen production

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 160 Reviews)
Page of 7 Next »
  1. WendyLee
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A-Mazing!
    • This gel is amazing!! Do not hesitate to buy... I have been searching for years to find products that keep my skin hydrated, healthy, glowing... Paula's Choice has done this for my skin!! Finally. I could not be happier w/ this product. They say harsh exfoliants are bad for the skin, so I found this gel exfoliator and I'm so glad I did - it's transformed my skin!!! I have very dry, fair skin. This has completely changed everything for me!! So so glad I found this skincare line!!!!

  2. ruth k.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    spouse likes it, too...
    • When my spousal unit hit 55, he knew that looking his age would prevent him from getting clients. He's a fair-skinned, blue-eyed guy and the years spent camping without sunblock are showing. I got him a regimen of Paula's Choice to help reverse what we could. His favorite product so far is the BHA exfoliant, because it has helped in smoothing out his face and neck. He also likes the moisturizing gel, and uses both--not bad for a guy who hates fussing over his skin. (next step is sunblock!)

  3. Hadassah G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    eliminates the flakies!
    • I have to be careful to only use this once a week, because it can make my rosacea worse, but it makes such a difference to the texture of my skin. Gets rid of the flaky patches that show up under foundation, and has helped to fade my red acne marks.

  4. Tamara
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    8% AHA Gel
    • I am new to Paulas Choice.. I am amazed with this product! Next morning, I felt my skin was much smoother. I have a mild melasma, I am hoping this will help to fade with time.. Thanks Paulas choice!

  5. BungalowChic
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    smoothing wonder
    • I have battled T zone oil clogged pores my entire life while my cheeks had patches of dryness. The only way to get it out was to scrub, which angered my rosacea like skin. It seemed to "solve" one problem I was stirring up trouble with another issue. Now I just cleanse, tone and use this gel and my pores are CLEAN and seem to have reduced in size. Overall my skin tone has improved and the skin is visibly more smooth. Thank you, Paula's Choice!

  6. Yanti Tiurma I.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A good AHA for me :)
    • I have an oily acne prone and easily clogged skin. So i am religiously using PC's CLEAR series. However, to even out my skin, i tried to use this AHA 8% Gel and miraculously it doesn't irritate my skin. I use it at night and in the morning, my skin looks more clean and radiant. I don't use this regularly. Only when I feel that I need to exfoliate the upper layer of skin to make my skin looks more fresh. I love it :)

  7. Kaysha P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I have dry acne prone skin, especially in the winter when I have eczema. This product gave me beautiful skin. It keeps flaking under control(I can even wear foundation sometimes), and also fights acne. It has even dislodged some enlarged pores I have had forever, and some milia under my eyes. I stopped using for a week, and broke out horribly. I would absolutely recommend, but say start slow until your skin builds tolerance, especially if you(like me) have rosacea.

  8. TARA W.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfection
    • Longtime PC customer. I've been using BHA though. I recently made the switch to AHA and WOW what a difference for me. My skin is much more glowing and softer and smoother. I was a little concerned that this was a gel - I was used to a lotion, but my dry skin is liking the gel. Not a dry flake to be found on me. Thank you PC for another fabulous product!

  9. RACHEL
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for adult acne
    • I have been using this for over a year and it has done wonders for my sensitive, combination, acne prone skin. It helps fade marks from breakouts more quickly, makes my skin smooth and glow-y and seems to reduce the size of any new breakouts. My skin seemed to grow out of the BHA exfoliant as I hit my 30s and I find that this works so much more effectively for me. I highly recommend it!

  10. L McC
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Must Have
    • I use this every night on my very sensitive, 40 y.o. skin, alternating with one of Paula's retinol serums 2 or 3 nights/week. It's not irritating for me, while keeping my mild adult acne at bay. I get compliments on my skin all the time, which I find odd, but reassuring. This is a must-have anti-aging product for me.

  11. Brett E.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Potent
    • This stuff can be pretty strong depending on how often you use it. I have combo/normal skin and was using BHAin the AM and AHA in the PM. Man was my skin smooth but it was just too much exfoliation and eventually toned down my usage to only once a week and I think it works for my skin type.

  12. dryface
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I love this stuff
    • I have very sensitive skin and have struggled with eczema my whole life - after having a bad reaction to glycolic acid from another brand, I was surprised to see how gentle, yet super effective, this exfoliant is. The fine lines which had started to appear around my eyes and forehead are not at all as noticeable any more, and my skin is just in a really good condition. This has a lot to do with it. Thanks Paula's Choice, so glad I found this brand, will stay with it forever!

  13. Joshua A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Be Careful
    • I personally cannot use this product. I have tried to use it on a couple of different occasions each time my face burns and turns bright red. I advise people to get the sample packets of the AHA and the BHA to see what works for their skin before they buy a whole bottle. I'm not going to give it a bad review simply because I know I have very sensitive skin and it just did not work for my skin.

  14. Anali A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 17, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Too strong for me I think...
    • I really want to love this product but the few times I have used it my face burns, quite intensely for a few minutes, I have a feeling it is just too strong for me and I probably just need to use a lower percentage. My skin was pretty soft after the few times I used it though. :P

  15. Katie
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So smoothing!
    • I am now pregnant and choosing to use an AHA. I have been using Paula's Choice since 1999 and love the line. This AHA gel is so light and leaves the skin feeling so smooth. I also enjoy the 5% Smoothing Treatment, but used that up last week. Now, I am using my bottle of 8%. Paula's Choice has made my skin so flawless and bright. I love the line and will always use it. My best friend uses it as well as her teenage daughter. They are also so happy with their skin!

  16. Linda H
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    8% AHA Gel
    • I've been using your 8% AHA Gel & Moisture Boost Cream for two days. Previously I had been using a 10% Glycolic Acid treatment by Murad and Argan Oil for about a year. In 2 days,with the small amount I get out of sample packets my skin looks better. And I have really good skin, so it's not like I'm treating a lot of problems. My make up stays on better, my skin is literally glowing, and fine lines are practically invisible. And to top it off, your products are 1/2 the price!

  17. SANDRA Y.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Prevents cold sores for me
    • Used to get cold sores every 2-3 months. Started AHA gel daily around mouth 6 yrs ago and only got them every year or two. Didn't connect it, thought maybe cold sores come less often as you get older. Stopped using AHA 2 yrs ago...cold sores started again regularly. After a year of using oral medications and Abreva to treat cold sores, it occurred to me that maybe the AHA gel prevented cold sores for me. Started using it again daily around my mouth and only 1 short cold sore this year. Excellent

  18. Satinder
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 12, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    made my skin break out!!
    • After 3+ years of my mom buying BHA lotion and benzoyl peroxide for me, I decided to order my own products. I purchased this AHA gel hoping to deal with milia because this is supposed to be great for exfoliation. I used it once a day at night in my regular routine. The 2nd week I noticed a few little red spots crop up on my forehead. Now it's been 3 weeks and my face is all broken out! This is the only product that I've added to my routine so it must be causing it.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, September 30, 2013
    Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry the 8% AHA Gel didn't work out for you. It's important to note that AHA is an excellent exfoliant, but as it cannot penetrate to unclog pores (BHA is preferred for this), AHA isn't recommended for issues like milia, blackheads, blemishes and the like. Consider a formula like our Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid instead, and be sure to contact our Customer Care for assistance with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  19. JENNIFER A.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My "essential" product
    • I began using Paula's products years and years ago.......When I found them I knew I had struck gold. As this was the only place to get simple AHA gel. One that had the correct PH level and that wasn't mixed in with other moisturizers. A good,clean, simple and very effective product! The technology of skin care has really advanced over the years. I add and subtract things often. But this AHA gel is one of my 2 constant items. I get complements all the time..Thank you Paula's Choice!!

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, September 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • Makes your skin shine, gets rid of red marks, and makes your skin more evenly toned. After using BHA products for a while they seemed to make me break out horribly. I have only been using this for two weeks and have seen amazing results. It makes my skin sting a little bit but after its on for a couple minutes it starts working its magic. My breakouts have diminished after using this. I'm confident that in a couple of months I will have flawless skin. I will keep buying this!

  21. Kristen P.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • I had been using the Alpha Hydrox AHA soufflé that is given a "Best" rating on Beautypedia. I liked it and saw brighter skin after a few weeks. However, I decided to try Paula's Choice 8% AHA and my skin was even brighter and clearer after one use! And I love the way it glides over my skin - I have very dry skin that usually immediately soaks up products, making me have to use more than I should. Not this stuff. I only need to use a little bit, so a bottle will last me a long time.

  22. SARAH
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    not loaded with junk+fillers !
    • I have been using Paula's 8% AHA for a few years. My skin is very dry and very sensitive but it just loves this stuff. I've worked up to be able to use this as much as I like (4 or 5 nights a week if I want) without irritation. New users will want to take it slow at first (it used to sting a little in the beginning) and be sure to use a sunscreen during the day. For some reason I can't tolerate BHA, so as long as Paula keeps making this awesome AHA I will continue to use it.

  23. Justin
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Impressed
    • I have very typical guy's skin that sweats a lot and gets oily pretty quickly. I've always had issues with whiteheads/acne. I had been using Paula's BHA Liquid Formula which in tandem with Benzoyl Peroxide worked pretty well. However, when I started using the AHA Gel then my skin started looking a lot better. The AHA Gel helps calm my skin, makes it less red, and reduced whiteheads way better than the BHA. Also makes shaving easier by smoothing my skin.

  24. CATHERINE R.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for many purposes
    • I switched to the 8% AHA gel after the BHA products I'd used for years started to dry out my transitioning skin. It's amazing for exfoliation and has the added benefit of calming my rosacea better than Metrogel, which I've been able to stop using because of it. It helps to keep the occasional breakout at bay for me and keep new ones from occurring.

  25. Jenny M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Try this, it may be your Holy Grail product!
    • I'm 35, with oily, breakout-prone, very cranky sensitive skin, and I can't use benzoyl peroxide (not even Paula's!). This seems to be my missing evening step after cleansing and toning with Clear products. When I follow this with the Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator, I wake up with amazingly smooth skin. The sample packets are generous--2 packets held plenty of product for me to give it a good 2-week test, applying every other night. I find it odorless and have had no peeling/drying.

Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant has a sheer, weightless texture that works to exfoliate the skin's surface and fade signs of sun damage. The ultra-light formula corrects uneven skin tone for a brighter, smoother, more radiant complexion. Substantiated research shows that AHAs improve collagen production for firmer skin and increase skin's moisture-binding ability. 8% AHA Gel works to sustain the results of professional peels and wears beautifully under a moisturizer or serum.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.5-3.8.

Who is this product for?
8% AHA Gel is great for all skin types but those with normal to dry, sun-damaged skin will find it especially beneficial.

Sources to support the claims made for SKIN PERFECTING 8% AHA Gel EXfoliant

Seminars in Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, September 2008, pages 170–176; Dry Skin and Moisturizers: Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156–1162; Cutis, August 2001, pages 135–142; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001 pages 1–5; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, July 2000, pages 280–284; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, March-April 2000, pages 81–88; Chemistry and Function, edited by Marie Loden and Howard Maibach, 2000, page 237; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May-June 1999, pages 111–119; Journal of Cell Physiology, October 1999, pages 14–23; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 1996, pages 867–875.

Key Ingredients: green tea, AHA, sodium PCA, glycolic acid, sodium hyaluronate, chamomile, Aloe barbadensis

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycolic Acid (alpha hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (chamomile/soothing agent), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Propylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Hydroxyethylcellulose, Polyquaternium-10 (thickeners), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily after cleansing and toning. Apply a dime-sized amount over the entire face, avoiding direct contact with eyes and lips. Do not rinse. For daytime, follow with a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 25 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

What's the difference between AHA and BHA exfoliants? Do I need both?

When properly formulated, both AHAs and BHA are brilliant options for exfoliating the surface of skin. Both AHA and BHA work to reduce wrinkles, stimulate collagen, and firm skin but each has its special qualities you'll want to consider when deciding which one to use:

  • AHAs are preferred for sun-damaged and dry skin because they exfoliate on the surface of skin and have the added benefit of also improving moisture content. 
  • BHA is preferred for oily, acne-prone skin and for treating blackheads and white bumps because BHA can get through the oil that's clogging your pores, normalizing the lining of the misshapen pore that contributes to acne.
  • BHA has anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Those are two more reasons to use a BHA exfoliant if you have acne or sensitive, reddened skin.
  • BHA is preferred for those struggling with rosacea. Not everyone with rosacea can tolerate an exfoliant, but it is wise to experiment with a BHA product to see how your rosacea responds.

If your skin is sun-damaged and you're also struggling with acne or clogged pores, add a BHA product to your routine.

If you'd like to use an AHA and BHA at the same time, that is an option, though not really necessary. Some people find they work well when they're applied at the same time, but if you want to give this a try it is best to apply them separately, one during the day and one in the evening.

How do I use an AHA or BHA exfoliant?

  • You can apply an AHA or BHA product once or twice a day.
  • You can also apply either of these around the eye area but not on the eyelid or directly under the eye.
  • Apply the AHA or BHA product after your face is cleansed and after your toner has dried.
  • Once the AHA or BHA has been absorbed, you can apply any other product in your routine, such as moisturizer, serum, eye cream, sunscreen, and/or foundation.
  • If you're using a topical prescription product such as Renova, other retinoids, or any of the topical prescription products for rosacea, apply the BHA or AHA first.

Your AHA (glycolic acid) products have a higher percentage than your BHA (salicylic acid) products. Does this mean AHA is a stronger exfoliant?

AHA products are most effective at a 5% to 10% concentration and BHA at 1% to 2% concentration. Think about it like making bread, the amount of yeast you need is tiny in comparison to the amount of flour you use but equally important to get the results you want. The percentage of effectiveness varies depending on the ingredient. Rest assured that the BHA products are not any less effective due to lower concentrations of the exfoliant.

Can the AHA and/or BHA products be used during pregnancy or while lactating?

Although topical exfoliants should not pose a problem for pregnant woman, we do recommend asking your doctor before using any product you are concerned about.

Can I alternate using an AHA and BHA exfoliant? Is this even necessary?

You can alternate using an AHA and BHA exfoliant if desired, but it isn't necessary. Both work to exfoliate skin, improving texture and tone. Ideally, consider an AHA if breakouts and blackheads are not a concern but visible sun damage is. Choose BHA if you're concerned with signs of aging and are struggling with breakouts, blackheads, and white bumps. If you opt to use both, choose one to apply in the morning and one to apply at night. If you're only using an exfoliant once daily, alternate use between the AHA and BHA product.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my AHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of an AHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to wait until skin has returned to its normal texture and color. This may mean waiting a few days or, depending on the depth of the peel or laser procedure, it may mean waiting several weeks. Both peels and laser procedures can temporarily leave skin extra-sensitive, so if in doubt it's best to wait rather than rush things. Once you begin using your AHA exfoliant again, pay attention to how your skin responds and adjust frequency of use accordingly. Discontinue use if you notice signs of irritation.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.