Items you may also like

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant

Break up with breakouts, clogged pores, and redness for good. This exfoliant removes old skin cells both on the skin’s surface and inside pores using 2% salicylic acid.
Item #: 204
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Great for blackheads, acne breakouts
  • Smooths wrinkles, reveals younger looking skin

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

81 out of 100
(Based on 311 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 13 Next »
  1. EMMA R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Didn't work for me.......
    • I ordered this product back in 2011 and this review is a long time coming. I used this product as directed and did not see any results. With that being said, I have also tried several drugstore products with 2% salicylic acid that were recommended by the Beautypedia team, and they did not and have not worked either. I have a combination of blackheads, whiteheads, clogged pores, and EXTREMELY oily skin, and I think that my skin may be resistant to these products.

  2. Hina R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Reduced pore size and smoothened my skin
    • I noticed some immediate effects but it actually took about 1.5 months of regular use to see a real difference. My skin looks and feels smoother, is less oily and pore size has visibly decreased! However, I got better results with my acne when I used this along with Benzoyl Peroxide. Having said that, I have continuing problems with blackheads, persistent breakouts on the cheeks+ jawline + neck, acne scars, discolorations and uneven skin tone.

  3. Joelle
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product - texture is weird
    • I got this product as a sample. The first time I applied it (at night) I thought I would never use it again - the texture was way too sticky and took forever to absorb. The next morning, my skin was already visibly clearer, brighter, and less red, much to my surprise. This stuff is amazing, but I just ordered a sample of the liquid 2% BHA, though, to see if I like its texture better. :)

  4. Lacramioara S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I will be honest with you, I did not expect anything magic from this product, at least not imediatly. But I am simply amazed, after only 2 days (product use once daily) my face looks much better. Reduce red areas on a daily basis!!! I love it!!! And I definetly recomand to all my friends.

  5. ANITA
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I have been using the PC 2% BHA liquid for at least six month now and really like it. However, since I have combination skin, I was curious about the gel formula, so I requested a couple of samples on my last order. Boy am I glad I did instead of purchasing a bottle! I hate the texture of the gel. It is very sticky and goopy and felt like it would never dry or absorb. After waiting at least 1/2 hour, I just rinsed it all off and used my liquid instead.

  6. Adeena
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I have quite dry skin prone to blemishes, blackheads and a lot of little spots and whiteheads on my chin, I have tried so many products. I noticed a difference from day one of using this product, Its only been a few days and apart from a little dryness this seems to be working! I haven't had a single spot since, my skin is getting softer and more even every day. I went out of the house without any makeup on yesterday for the first time in years and felt pretty confident!

  7. Adeena
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I have quite dry skin prone to blemishes, blackheads and a lot of little spots and whiteheads on my chin, I have tried so many products. I noticed a difference from day one of using this product, Its only been a few days and apart from a little dryness this seems to be working! I haven't had a single spot since, my skin is getting softer and more even every day. I went out of the house without any makeup on yesterday for the first time in years and felt pretty confident!

  8. Adeena
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I have quite dry skin prone to blemishes, blackheads and a lot of little spots and whiteheads on my chin, I have tried so many products. I noticed a difference from day one of using this product, Its only been a few days and apart from a little dryness this seems to be working! I haven't had a single spot since, my skin is getting softer and more even every day. I went out of the house without any makeup on yesterday for the first time in years and felt pretty confident!

  9. Sherry W.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good for oily skin
    • I have used all the versions of Paula's 2% salicylic acid and prefer the gel for ease of application and reduce whiteheads. I have oily and sensitive skin. The gel works the best compare to lotion and liquid. The liquid is inconvenient to use and lotion is too oily to me. The key of this products is to remove the dead skin mildly and my skin is no longer oily. After two weeks of using this products, my pore is smaller and my skin is smooth. But I don't think it can cure the acne.

  10. Vanessa
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great exfoliant
    • I have been using this gel with the cleanser and toner from the skin balancing range for the last few weeks. My skin is no longer oily, pimples are gone, redness is gone, my skin tone is beautiful. I had been using Proactive for years but it left me with red, oily skin (no pimples though). I have to make sure I don't apply too much because it can make my skin look shiny if I go overboard with the application.

  11. Lillian
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    You only need a dot
    • I have used all the versions of Paula's 2% salicylic acid (liquid, lotion, gel) and prefer the gel for ease of application and how long the bottle lasts. You only need a tiny dot - like a pea size - and you can squirt it right onto your finger and spread it on your face. This is much easier to apply than the liquid version, and my oily skin does not need the extra moisture of the lotion. If you feel that it doesn't sink in or balls up, as someone commented below, you are using way too much.

  12. Dave M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Results!! In just 1 day of use, from a guy.
    • I have been using this product for the past 4 months, so now a review. I'm 39 and active, and I STILL get white heads and very mild acme at times, mostly in the T-Zone area. This product works overnight FOR ME. I use it about 2x a week, 3 the most, in the evening, leave it on for about two hours, wash it off and apply a moisturizing night cream (Olay). Next morning, the redness is gone, whiteheads are less and skin is smooth, as well as soft and tight. It looks even better on day 3 and 4.

  13. Lauren A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    This breaks me out.
    • I bought this product for travel because my the CLEAR BHA packaging leaks. Unfortunately, this breaks me out. I have used it for 2 one week stints and each time, my skin broke out into painful cystic pimples that would not go away until I discontinued use of this product. Within 2 days of stopping use, my skin calmed down each time. Unfortunately something in this does not agree with my skin. I'm disappointed because it really seemed perfect for travel.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, April 23, 2014

    Hi Lauren! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry the 2% BHA Gel wasn't a fit for you! Be sure to contact our Customer Care for help with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  14. Christopher M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 20, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Effective, but Issues with Gel
    • First off, I am a total convert to PC products. I pretty much exclusively use them now. This gel works as well as the other 2% BHA products. There is nothing lacking in terms of its effectiveness. For me, the downside to the gel is two-fold: 1.) a shiny "film" remains on your skin even after it has absorbed/dried, and 2.) when you are layering products, often the gel beings to "roll up" and become cakey on the skin. Not attractive.

  15. JAN S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So gentle!
    • I am using this product to deal with orange-rind skin and sun damage. However I almost didn't apply it this morning as I've had a cold and have a very sore nose and upper lip. Imagine my surprise when I accidently brushed some of the 2% BHA gel on my upper lip: no burning, no twinges...absolutely nothing. What a gentle product!

  16. Lauren C
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Effective and non-irritating
    • My skin is oily and acne prone and my pores tend to be larger and more congested. My skin always needs a good thorough exfoliation and the scrubs I tried were not doing the job. This gel is awesome. It does feel wet for 10-20 seconds when you apply it but it does dry down rather quickly to me. I did not feel sticky after I applied it. I use this morning and night and has really helped to clear the congestion in my pores and it is - best of all - not irritating! A+ product.

  17. Kylie B
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product
    • It's true what it says on the bottle.... Exfoliation is the best way to improve your skin now. I noticed an improvement in my skin and in particular my blackheads after using the product for 1 day. After a couple of days of using the PC products I did find one or two small blemishes appear during the day but would find that after following the night routine including the 2% BHA they would be gone by the morning. my blackheads and pores have continued to improve with the on-going use of this gel

  18. PATRICIA S.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 10, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Did not work for me
    • I've been using the 2% BHA liquid for quite a while and I decided to try this gel formula. Unfortunately the gel formula caused me to breakout around my chin and jawline after using it for a few days. I stopped using it and the breakouts stopped. I also immediately ordered more of the 2% BHA liquid, which seems to work better for me.

  19. PARISHA P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Second best but still good
    • Nothing compares to the old BHA 2% lotion formula but this is as close as you'll get to that once fantastic product. This will exfoliate inside the pores well but it can be sticky with a long dry time. The old formula lotion would make you look brighter the very next day after using it,, this will work well but it takes a few weeks and then it's time to buy more.

  20. RD
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best skin product I've ever used
    • I apply the BHA 2% twice a day. So much more gentle than benzoyl peroxide based products! It is my only anti-acne treatment for my acne prone skin. Although it keeps my whiteheads at bay, I still get those pesty tiny blackheads on my forehead. PC has recommended me to try the BHA9. If you have skin that gets one or two pimples every week, you ought to try this product. I'll be switching to the liquid version because this one is too shiny and takes time to dry up.

  21. Nathan T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    In My Wildest Dreams
    • Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would have the results this product has given me. I'm 24 and since age 13 have fought acne and oily skin. My skin was so oily that other students would bully me about it. I would run to the bathroom to wipe off the oil, but it never solved the problem. I used everything: Neutrogena, ProActive, Clearasil, L'Oreal... No change. This product has given me the even-toned, matte, clear skin I only dreamed of my entire high school life. Thank you so much, Paula.

  22. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I like it
    • I recently tried some paula's choice sample sized products. This one is best. I have oily skin with blackheads and hormonal acne breakouts. I had to go off my birth control for surgery and my face was very congested. I have only tried it once or twice so far and can't wait for my full sized product to arrive. It cleared up my two pimpes really fast and I like the gel texture, it doesn't make my face greasy or too moisturized. It doesn't burn or break me out in hives like glycolic acid or aha

  23. Michelle S
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Simply put... AHmazing
    • I've struggled with extremely oily skin and enlarged pores forever. Within a day or two I noticed a difference with my skin. My huge pores have diminished in size quite noticeably. My skin isn't an oil slick by the end of the day. This was the first product I've tried from Paula's Choice. Hope the rest are as good as this. What a miracle to find something that ACTUALLY works. A must try for all those struggling with their oily skin.

  24. Chris L
    Reviewed on Monday, February 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This product has transformed my skin
    • This product has transformed my skin--and that's saying something, because I have good skin for someone of my age and gender. I've always struggled with excess oil production which led to enlarged pores and the occasional breakout, but this product has addressed all those concerns beautifully. It prevents breakouts from ever happening by re-setting my skin's pH, and it has quickly diminished any breakouts and significantly reduced my pore size--something I thought was actually impossible. Bravo!

  25. Susan M.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Blackheads disappear, pores smaller
    • This product is amazing. I have had blackheads since age 13 or so when I noticed that they were all over my nose. I hesitated at first to buy this product as I am well beyond the acne years, but I still had blackheads, that is until I tried the BHA 2% gel. Now they are gone! The pores are small! I noticed it a week or so after I started using it. Now my pre-teen daughter uses it and it dissolves her blackheads too. No other product I've tried over the years works like this one.

« Prev Page of 13 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant is a water-based formula that exfoliates both the skin's surface and inside the pore, reshaping the pore lining to unclog pores and improve skin cell turnover rate. This creates a dramatic improvement in the skin's appearance, feel, and function especially for blemish-prone skin. There is a great deal of research indicating that BHA (beta hydroxy acid) increases collagen production and drastically smooths the surface of skin. Additionally, BHA has anti-bacterial properties that attack blemish-causing bacteria. The silky gel base of this exfoliant is similar to the texture of the Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Gel Exfoliant but has twice the amount of salicylic acid to combat stubborn blemishes, including blackheads and white bumps.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.2-3.8. Every Paula's Choice BHA product is formulated with additional soothing agents.

Who is this product for?
All skin types may use this product, but the texture is especially suited for those with normal to very oily skin prone to blemishes.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for SKIN PERFECTING 2% BHA Gel EXFOLIANT

The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, February 2006, pages 416–421; International Immunopharmacology, August 2009, pages 1,126–1,130; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November-December 2004, pages 519-531; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82; Preservatives for Cosmetics, 2006, by David Steinberg, Allured Publishing, pages 39-40; Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; and Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Key Ingredients: willow herb, bisabolol, BHA (beta hydroxy acid), phytosphingosine, grape seed extract, green tea, salicylic acid

Product Ingredients:

Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, (solvent/water-binding agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Phytosphingosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidant), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract (antioxidant) Epilobium Angustifolium (Willow Herb) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract (anti-irritant), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Sodium Hydroxide (pH-adjusting agent), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily after cleansing and toning. Apply a dime-sized amount over the entire face, including the eyes (avoid the lower lash line and eyelids). Do not rinse. For daytime, follow with a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 25 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What's the difference between AHA and BHA Exfoliants? Do I need both?

When properly formulated, both AHAs and BHA are brilliant options for exfoliating the surface of skin. Both AHA and BHA work to reduce wrinkles, stimulate collagen, and firm skin but each has its special qualities you'll want to consider when deciding which one to use:

  • AHAs are preferred for sun-damaged and dry skin because they exfoliate on the surface of skin and have the added benefit of also improving moisture content. 
  •  BHA is preferred for oily, acne-prone skin and for treating blackheads and white bumps because BHA can get through the oil that's clogging your pores, normalizing the lining of the misshapen pore that contributes to acne.
  • BHA has anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Those are two more reasons to use a BHA exfoliant if you have acne or sensitive, reddened skin.
  • BHA is preferred for those struggling with rosacea. Not everyone with rosacea can tolerate an exfoliant, but it is wise to experiment with a BHA product to see how your rosacea responds.

If your skin is sun-damaged and you're also struggling with acne or clogged pores, add a BHA product to your routine.

If you'd like to use an AHA and BHA at the same time, that is an option, though not really necessary. Some people find they work well when they're applied at the same time, but if you want to give this a try it is best to apply them separately, one during the day and one in the evening.

How do I use an AHA or BHA exfoliant?

  • You can apply an AHA or BHA product once or twice a day.
  • You can also apply either of these around the eye area but not on the eyelid or directly under the eye.
  • Apply the AHA or BHA product after your face is cleansed and after your toner has dried.
  • Once the AHA or BHA has been absorbed, you can apply any other product in your routine, such as moisturizer, serum, eye cream, sunscreen, and/or foundation.
  • If you're using a topical prescription product such as Renova, other retinoids, or any of the topical prescription products for rosacea, apply the BHA or AHA first.

Your AHA (glycolic acid) products have a higher percentage than your BHA (salicylic acid) products. Does this mean AHA is a stronger exfoliant?

AHA products are most effective at a 5% to 10% concentration and BHA at 1% to 2% concentration. Think about it like making bread, the amount of yeast you need is tiny in comparison to the amount of flour you use but equally important to get the results you want. The percentage of effectiveness varies depending on the ingredient. Rest assured that the BHA products are not any less effective due to lower concentrations of the exfoliant.

How does Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant compare to the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant?

The main difference lies with each product's texture. The 2% BHA Liquid has a toner-like consistency. The 2% BHA Gel features a water-light base. Both products are also appropriate for all skin types.

I currently use Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion Exfoliant. Should I switch to the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant? Is it all right to use both?

It is entirely a matter of personal preference. It is completely acceptable to use more than one of our 2% BHA products, though use only one at a time. A typical regimen would be to apply the 2% BHA Gel in the morning under makeup and the 2% BHA Lotion in the evening.

I have tried Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion Exfoliant and Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant and did not care for the texture. Will the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant work for me?

Quite possibly, yes. It's worth trying because your skin may prefer the feel of a gel to a lotion or the slip of the liquid.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.344 10/24/2014 1:27:31 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.