Items you may also like

Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter

This cream is rich in fat, so go ahead and indulge. Antioxidants, shea butter, and plant oils soften and smooth.
Item #: 556
  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin
  • For All Skin Types
  • Spreads easily forming a light, restorative barrier to heal dry skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 65 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 3 Next »
  1. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    12 hour claim is true for me!
    • I use this nightly on my very dry hands after applying the RESIST Body Treatment 10% AHA and use the RESIST hand lotion w/ SPF 30 1-2 times during the day. Hands are so soft and protected that it's now hard for my skin to scrape or tear and I use my hands hard at work. My cubicles are never dry anymore and "what hangnails?". A very little goes a long way!

  2. Seth E A.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    beautiful
    • I do prefer the old formula. It "seemed" much more moisturizing. However, I absolutely love to pair this with RESIST AHA 10% body exfoliant. When paired together and warmed up on the skin, Body Butter turns into a beautiful emollient oil like texture with extreme moisturizing properties. Great for massage and absolutely beneficial for the skin in the process. Dries down quickly and has super human restorative properties when it comes to dry skin. Well done and properly formulated.

  3. SAMANTHA
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice, but old version was better
    • I get really dry, itchy skin in the winter, and the previous version of this body butter was so soothing and moisturizing, and of course smelled delicious. This newer version is still better than most body butters for dry, itchy skin, but not quite as moisturizing as the former.

  4. Tamie
    Reviewed on Friday, January 31, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • What a great lotion - thick, not greasy and with a smooth, almost dry finish. It is the middle of winter and my hands and elbows feel softer than they have ever been. I have even been applying this to my undereye area (one of my dry zones) at bedtime. In the morning, my concealer goes on much smoother and looks great, not cakey.

  5. Sue M
    Reviewed on Friday, January 31, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    The original formula was better
    • The old version was perfection. Rich and cushiony moisturizer without being greasy. New formula sits on top of the skin with a slightly greasy slick. I loved the old formula. Why they changed this wonderful product for this greasy one is very surprising. Still have one tube left of my old fav I won't purchase the new one when it's gone.

  6. KATHRYN T.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Saved my Face!
    • I have been skiing 5 out of 7 days per week this winter. This and PC Skin Recovery Lotion SPF 30 have saved my face! My skin is soft! I like this better than any of the facial moisturizers. Also great as an all over body moisturizer w/o being greasy. On my fifth tube.

  7. Jen O.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Tattoo Healing Miracle
    • I love tattoos and lately have been getting a new design every few months. I have used many different products during the healing process, but this body butter is nothing short of a miracle! I already have extremely sensitive skin and cannot tolerate irritants, so I have to be very careful when choosing products. This body butter sinks right in and provides a ton of moisture. It keeps the scabbing to a minimum and just makes my skin feel good! Beautiful, healthy tattooed skin! Thank you, Paula!

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, January 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Prefer Old Formula
    • Foremost I want to say I am a huge fan of Paula and her team's integrity to bring women the absolute best products for our skin and I was convinced of that when I first read her books. That was 1998 and I was a practicing esthetician in a derm's office. I knew she was telling the truth! I wanted to get that out before I say I prefer the old body butter. To me it was a great weight cream that provided a non greasy barrier against moisture loss, smelled heavenly and did not leave hands greasy.

  9. NW
    Reviewed on Friday, January 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    THANK GOODNESS THE OLD SMELL IS GONE!!!
    • HATED the old formula because the smell was nauseating. Seems like this has more beneficial ingredients, too, and absorbs into the skin better. It can be a little pricey, but their is a promo going on now. Often you can get this stuff at a discount, and a little goes a long way.

  10. Victoria G.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing for cracked heels!
    • This body butter is working miracles on my dry, cracked heels. I am so impressed! I've tried dozens of creams and never had results like this. The cracks are actually sealing up and disappearing after just a few weeks of use. It's very concentrated and rich, a little goes a long way.

  11. JEANNINE K.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A little goes a long way!
    • I was trying to decide why I was having trouble with this product, if I tried to use it during the day. I had only been using it at bedtime. If I apply only a pea-size amount, I have no trouble. My hands feel great and there's nothing greasy-feeling about it. But, more than that, and my hands have soaked up as much as possible. The rest would sit on top! So, use it sparingly. Also, as some have opined, it's a little pricey. But, it will go a long way, used wisely.

  12. Deborah J
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!!
    • Fantastic for dry and damaged skin. it's quite thick to apply but sinks in quickly and leaves skin ssilky and soft. My horrid rough wrinkly hands are much improved. Definitely a must have for me!

  13. A M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Luxurious Product with Price to Match
    • Lovely, rich cream with wonderful texture and moisturizing properties. I use mainly on hands and feet on "very dry days." Regretfully, I've already purchased a more affordable, replacement product from a competitor. I won't argue for a minute that PC doesn't offer wonderful, skin-friendly products for which PC deserves reasonable profit. Key word = "reasonable." This product is almost $5 per ounce!

  14. AMY H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    FABULOUS for after laser treatment!
    • I recently had an ablative laser treatment done on my face for acne scars, and anybody who's had one done knows how incredibly dry your skin gets afterwards. Once my doctor said I could stop using Aquaphor, I discovered I had a few of these samples laying around, and they are PERFECT for that time when you're not completely scaly like a lizard anymore but still need something ultra gentle and ultra moisturizing. It's amazing how non-greasy it is, too. Would give 5 stars if it weren't so pricey.

  15. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 08, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great…but I miss the Cocoa smell :(
    • This is another one of PC fabulous products. Very moisturizing and elegant, but I have to say…I really miss the cocoa smell…I know that many clients did not like that…maybe you can make 2 versions of this body butter - one with the cocoa smell and one without? Or is that wishful thinking???

  16. mimi
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    expensive
    • I tried CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter every night for a few weeks. I didn't want to use it during the day b/c it's greasy and doesn't soak in. I didn't find it made much different to my dry hands. It's too expensive.

  17. Elaine C
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The only thing I will use
    • At first I was really sad that the "old" body butter was discontinued and decided I didn't like the new formula.....but after using it a while I could kind of detect that familiar "chocolate" scent-so it is still there but faint. I have very dry skin and horrible eczema that flares up so I have to be very careful about what I use. This is the only thing that helps my skin feel soft without being greasy. I will not use any other lotion from now on.

  18. DANIELLE M.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    miss the old formula
    • Although this lotion is very good, I miss the old formula because I found the old one had a nice light cocoa butter scent to it. Even though this one is unscented, it has a slight plastic smell. Both feel nice on the skin though.

  19. Kristina K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really Soothing - Great for KP!
    • I have extremely sensitive skin and bad keratosis pilaris, which means that my skin is either covered in red dots or just fully flushed red in irritation from the exfoliating I need to do. Someone recommended shea butter to calm the red, and it did a fair job, but this lotion is even better! It's thick and moisturizing and soothing, all without being greasy at all. It's pretty much a staple for me every morning and evening now.

  20. Dee
    Reviewed on Friday, November 15, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Its okay
    • I don't have very dry skin, but thought this cream would be good to use for winter on my normal skin. I have been using it for 2 wks, but my skin doesn't feel really hydrated. Ive used shea butter so I thought this would be great minus the smell. I don't know how people with very dry skin would find this moisturizing when on my normal skin it really isn't. I had to resort to putting an oil on top of this cream and only then my skin feels moisturized.

  21. Karolina Q
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I miss the cocoa butter smell
    • I know this is silly but I really miss the coca butter smell the original one had. Other than that, the lotion is great - moisturizes, dye free, fragrance free, no stinging, and no greasiness.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, December 05, 2013

    Thanks for your review! Some of us here miss that cocoa butter smell, too, but many customers really disliked that aspect of the previous version, so we changed it. We're sure you'll find the latest version moisturizes just as well!

    —Admin
  22. CARI S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Magical!
    • Truly amazing. I have tried every lotion, potion, body butter, and hand cream out there, but this one is state of the art. It isn't the least bit greasy; in fact, it seems almost dry. But it certainly does the trick if smooth, soft skin is your goal. Works even the next day. I ordered samples first and now I'm ordering this for Christmas gifts for everyone over 20! Winter hands, begone!

  23. Jill S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Pretty Good, But Didn't Like for Hands
    • I received a sample of this product and thought it was okay. It is a true "buttery" consistency which I liked. I tried it on my hands, which I didn't like the feel of (it felt too greasy on the palms of my hands and didn't sink in very well), but I also tried it on my feet which have rough parts and I liked it a lot on my feet- it made the rough parts quite smooth with just one use. I recently started using a foot-specific cream that I thought worked well, but this works even better on my feet!

  24. Sandra S
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    good under foundation
    • I have a terrible time with PC products and foundation. They usually ball or drag and it drives me crazy......However...I mix this with the C Booster and it works beautifully.

  25. Angela H.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing Stuff
    • Just received a sample and I am amazed. I am constantly putting body butter on my hands as I have to type all day at work and then I knit as a hobby which can also be quite drying to the hands. No matter how emollient the product says is, it would often fade quickly and I would have to reapply. Not this product! It soaked in quickly, is not greasy at all and my hands are soft, moisturized and comfortable. It is spendy but you don't need much per use and it lasts. Will be buying the full size.

« Prev Page of 3 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is the solution for problem dry skin anywhere on the body. This Clinically proven treatment cream immediately softens dry, rough skin and keeps it moisturized for 12 hours. A superior blend of antioxidant-rich plant oils, restorative emollients, soothing anti-irritants, and pure shea butter work together to restore and strengthen skin's protective barrier. Its rich texture is non-greasy and spreads easily helping dry, cracked skin become healthy again, look younger, and feel velvety-smooth.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is recommended for dry to very dry areas of skin from head to toe. Excellent for treating eczema-prone skin and designed to apply easily, even on the driest skin.

SOURCES TO SUPPORT THE CLAIMS MADE FOR Clinical ULTRA-RICH SOOTHING BODY BUTTER

Talanta, December 2009, pages 924-934; International Journal for Vitamin and Nutrition Research, May 2009, pages 152–165; Molecules, January 2009, pages 540–554; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, October 2008, pages 339–345; Annals of Internal Medicine, September 2006, pages 333–341; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, June 2005, pages 1049–1059; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, Volume , Volume 4, 2003, pages 771–788; Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, October 2003, pages 2,368–2,373; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May–June 2002, pages 175–183; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: tocopherol, shea butter, Avena sativa, avocado oil, squalane, jojoba butter, beta-sitosterol, Glycine soja oil, glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, hydrogenated vegetable glycerides citrate, Mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, rice bran oil, ascorbyl palmitate, coconut oil, panthenol, Olea europaea fruit oil

Product Ingredients:

Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) (emollient/antioxidant), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient/skin-repairing ingredient), Glyceryl Stearate SE (thickener/emulsifier), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (antioxidant), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate (thickeners), Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter (emollient/antioxidant), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Butter, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils and skin-repairing ingredients), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Squalane, Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredients), Beta-Sitosterol (plant fatty acid/skin-repairing ingredient), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Hydrogenated Vegetable Glycerides Citrate (emulsifier), Propylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Massage over dry areas (elbows, heels, knees, and anywhere you want to seal in moisture to soften skin) as often as needed. Excellent when used after applying an AHA or BHA exfoliant to enhance softness and healing.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter differ from the Paula's Choice facial moisturizers?

Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is our thickest, richest, most emollient moisturizer. It has a very different texture from any of our facial moisturizers for dry skin. It is meant to provide utmost protection and smoothing of dry to very dry skin on areas such as hands, feet, elbows, and knees.

What is the difference between Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter and the Lip & Body Treatment Balm?

In a word, texture. Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter has a soft, buttery cream texture while the Lip & Body Treatment Balm has a thicker texture and more lubricating feel.

Another difference is that Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is a water-based cream whereas the Lip & Body Treatment Balm is plant oil–based and does not contain water, which gives it a more viscous texture and slightly glossy finish. Both products are excellent for addressing the needs of dry to very dry skin, though Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter's texture is preferred for use over larger areas.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.355 11/27/2014 9:18:54 PM
Skip to Top of Page

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.