Items you may also like

Smooth Finish Conditioner

Frizz and gnarly tangles, you’re under control. Ease this lightweight, creamy formula into wet hair. Presto! Smooth, shiny hair.
Item #: 520
  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin
  • For All Skin Types
  • Doubles as a shaving cream
  • Great for sensitive skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Smooth Finish Conditioner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 94 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. CHERYL B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 26, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Nice product, bad bottle design.
    • Much better product than when I first tried it years ago--more moisturizing and conditioning. I wish it detangled better, but I have unusually tangly hair. My complaint is the new bottle for this and the shampoo. The cap is supposed to be flat. It's absolutely not! It's slight convex shape means it's IMPOSSIBLE to stand these bottle on their caps, meaning as the product gets used up you'll have to spend time shaking it like a ketchup bottle. Bring back the pump or redesign the cap, please!

  2. Sharon
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 16, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    product good, packaging a pain
    • It's better than when I tried it years ago. It does a fairly good job, but the packaging is a royal pain. It's hard to hold onto when slippery, and not being able to remove the cap means that I won't be able to use all of the product. I posted about this on Facebook and was given two ideas: one, to stand it upside down, and two, use a knife to get the cap off. Seriously?? A knife? It's hard to stand it on the cap when the surface of the cap isn't flat!! Please fix these design flaws.

  3. Alexis B.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Like the new formula much better
    • A few years back I tried the old Smooth Finish Conditioner. Iit was nice it but did not work well on my long thick curly (3b) hair. I have been so frustrated with other brands having so much fragrance that I can hardly stand myself, and decided to order the new SFC conditioner. I am very impressed, this new formula is very rich and concentrated, detangled my very prone to tangle hair and is also a great leave-in for my curls. Now if PC could just offer some fragrance free styling products.

  4. LISA L.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Why mess with perfection?
    • I've loved smooth finish for 12 years. The new bottle irritated me when I received it several months ago simply because it was smaller but I'm writing now to say that the new packaging makes it difficult to dispense. This shaped bottle requires shaking and hitting against the hand and you can't control as easily the amount that comes out. I've never written a review and consider myself laid back but life is tough enough without being frustrated with my conditioner. Will not be reordering.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, April 09, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We're sorry this didn't work out for you. The new packaging for the Smooth Finish Conditioner was selected (a flat top) so you could store it upside down in the shower and eliminate the need for shaking the bottle to dispense. We hope that helps! If not, please contact our Customer Care and they will be happy to help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  5. Miles G
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Leave-In Treatment
    • I use this as a leave-in conditioner/styling aid for my short, coarse hair. It leaves my hair feeling soft and also provides a hint of hold, so for me with my short hair it's great for a "messy" look. I don't think it would provide much hold if I had longer hair but it's great for the look I want.

  6. Carolyn W.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 18, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Does not work well for fine hair.
    • I have had frizzy, static, and not smooth hair using this product. Doesnt work well for thin, fine hair.

  7. SHARON D.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Oil-free, so no scalp Acne!!!
    • I have the typical curly-hair / acne problem: acne-prone scalp but dry hair. This conditioner is excellent, not only because it's oil-free, but I also use it as a leave-in conditioner.

  8. Michigan belle
    Reviewed on Monday, January 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Just right!
    • I've been trying for years to find the right products to get my hair through a Michigan winter. I discovered through Paula's hair care book that I was using too many products and over-conditioning. I tried many conditioners, both salon and drugstore. For awhile Dove had one that did pretty well, but they discontinued it (what?!). I had tried Paula's before and it didn't work for me, but decided I'd try the new formula. Outstanding! I bought it months ago and loved it, but decided to see if it passed the ultimate test, winter. It's January and I'm still loving it. By the way, the conditioners that didn't work for my hair make great end-of-shower body moisturizers.

  9. Sue S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for shaving!
    • I don't often use conditioner on my hair, but this product is superior for shaving my legs. I have very sesitive skin. My arms and legs tend to be dry and regular shaving cream irritates my skin. This conditioner leaves my legs feeling soft and smooth.

  10. Tim
    Reviewed on Friday, November 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Noticeable formulary improvement
    • I have used the All Over Hair & Body Shampoo and Smooth Finish Conditioner for several years. While I was happy with the old formula, I wished it was slightly more moisturising for my dry, bleached hair. This new conditioner formula is perfect! It is still light enough not to weigh my fine hair down, but makes it feel silkier and healthier than before.

  11. Ariell
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Like New Formula
    • A while ago I posted a negative review about their old formula. This formula is superb. It actually left my fingers feeling moist and soft which is funny since it is meant for the hair. It works really well on the hair and is slick and smooths right on. It didn't leave my hair feeling greasy or weighed down and I have really fine, low porosity hair that cannot tolerate a lot of build-up. I do agree with other reviewers that I did like the original bottle design better. That's actually what drew me to the brand in the first place.

  12. Lisa
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 27, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for my normal to oily hair
    • I have coarse normal to oily hair. This conditioner provides light moisture without making my hair heavy or flat. Being fragrance free makes it ideal for shaving without irritating skin.

  13. Sara
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Conditioner!
    • I love this product. It is a high quality and well-made conditioner. It is un-scented which is a little odd at first, but does not irritate my scalp the way other conditioners sometimes do.

  14. Sara
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 16, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Generally does the trick.
    • I generally like this conditioner - definitely need it after the All Over Hair & Body Shampoo. My hair is normal to slightly oily/dry, and this is a nice weight. I don't know how it would work for very dry hair, but it's generally good for mine. Seems to make my hair easier to style as well.

  15. Heidi
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    really?
    • I am truly amazed...If you dye your hair, then you know how you need a strong conditioner after the dye job - well, I tried this conditioner...left it in for about 3 or 4 minutes, while combing it throuh my hair - and WOW, I can't believe how soft my hair is! I have long, curly hair, that is usually very dry. This stuff is fantastic.

  16. Adrianne
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Shaving cream? Yes!
    • I bought this conditioner after seeing the dual usage email, hoping it would work for shaving my legs. I am unable to use shaving cream because I have ezcema. For years, I have been using one particular scented lotion to create that same slick surface to shave, but without clogging my razor. I prefer unscented, so I tried a sample of PC close shave gel, but my legs were so irritated. I just took a chance on ordering this whole bottle and YES, it works fantastic as a shave cream. Not necessarily creamy, but creates that slick surface. No irritation. Very nice

  17. Lucy
    Reviewed on Monday, July 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great
    • This conditioner is as great as many other conditioners I've tried. The bonus is that it's not perfumed. Considering the thick consistency, I'd say the price is fair. I usually buy one when it's on sale (along with the shampoo), just because there are many great shampoos and conditioners out there with minimal fragrance and at a fair price. Still, this is a good purchase and I love using it on my little girl's hair too. She gets a gentle effective product and smells like her heavenly self.

  18. Lisa
    Reviewed on Friday, June 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Multiple uses
    • Forgot to add that I love this for shaving my legs. Skin is super soft after using this as a shaving cream & also a great hand mask if left on for a few minutes & rinsed. Wonderful!

  19. Lisa
    Reviewed on Friday, June 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Multi-tasking
    • Yippee for fragrance-free. I love that I don't have to try & escape the fumes of cheap perfume! Is it just me, or are the perfumes in shampoo & conditioner getting worse? Both PC shampoo & this conditioner make my thick hair look healthier & shinier. Paula, please make a shine serum for hair that won't cause breakouts. Customer Care Response: We will certainly pass along your comments and feedback to Paula!

  20. Kristen
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 21, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Nice simple hair conditioner
    • I use a little of this on the ends of my fine, shoulder length hair, and a bottle lasts forever. I love that it is fragrance free and not heavy. I use a little on my toddler's tangled tresses at the end of her bath, and it makes her baby-fine hair soft and more easily detangled.

  21. Crystal
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is IT!!
    • My search for the best conditioner for my hair is over. I logged in specifically to mention how much I love it. I appreciate SO MUCH that this is not scented. Store brands heavy on scent have always made my scalp itch and flake terribly. And I immediately noticed how shiny, manageable and soft my hair is after using this. Thank you, Paula, for remaining committed to high quality products that do what they're supposed to!

  22. YB
    Reviewed on Friday, June 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Leave-in Conditioner
    • I use Smooth Finish Conditioner as a leave-in conditioner. It leaves my long, straight hair hydrated, silky and smooth. I use it as a conditioner after shampoo, and it's a great conditioner too - leave it on for 3 minutes, rinse it off, and you have a silky smooth hair for 2 days!

  23. Jessica
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 13, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good, but not moisturizing enough for me
    • This was a nice, light-weight moisturizer (I tried the sample). Unfortunately, I won't be able to order the full size because it's not nearly moisturizing enough for my thick, curly, long, naturally dry hair. I can see this being an excellent product for people with other hair types (such as straight or fine hair), so I'm rating it a 4. In all fairness, it's nearly impossible for me to find a conditioner that works with my bi-racial hair, so do give this conditioner a try to see if it works for you.

  24. Ryan H.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    shaving use
    • This is great to shave with, not by itself but mixed with some gel-type shaving cream. Take a small amount of this conditioner and mix it with two parts shaving gel. You'll get the most luxurious, comfortable shaving cream you've ever used, and it won't clog your razor.

  25. RE
    Reviewed on Monday, April 09, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    I've seen better
    • This product is NOT worth its price. And it made my scalp extremely itchy (yes, I did rinse ALL of the conditioner out). It made it so itchy that I had shampoo it out (not with Paula's shampoo because that made me itchy too). I've never had such a strong reaction to any products. Please people, try the samples first. At least for two weeks. Please. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We will credit you for the product. Please contact customer care with any questions.

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Precious few truly fragrance-free conditioners exist, so this one-of-a-kind, state-of-the-art conditioner works brilliantly for any hair type but is especially helpful for those with sensitivity to fragrance. Our savvy formula puts Smooth Finish Conditioner in a league of its own. The non-irritating base works as a daily moisturizing and detangling conditioner that leaves even highly-textured, coarse hair looking soft, shiny, and manageable. The silky texture makes it easy to apply and distribute through wet hair and rinses easily so hair never feels limp or greasy. Ideal for those with sensitive, itchy scalps.

This product is 100% fragrance-and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Smooth Finish Conditioner is recommended for all hair types.

Sources to support the claims made for Smooth Finish Conditioner

Journal of Cosmetic Science, Volume 55, Supplement, 2004, pages S133–S141; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, December 1999, page 1020;  Encyclopedia of Conditioning Rinse  Ingredients, Hunting, Anthony, Micelle Press, 1987, pages 147–148 and 400–401; and Conditioning Agents for Hair and Skin, Schueller, Randy and Romanowski, Perry, Volume 21, 1999, pages 281–288.

Key Ingredients: cyclopentasiloxane, hydrolyzed wheat protein, cetyl alcohol, panthenol, phenyl trimethicone

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cetyl Alcohol (non-drying, fatty alcohol/moisturizing agent), Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone conditioning agent), Behentrimonium Chloride (anti-static hair conditioning agent), Stearyl Alcohol (non-drying, fatty alcohol/thickener), Phenyl Trimethicone (silicone smoothing agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent/water-binding agent), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein (water-binding/conditioning agent), Glycol Stearate (thickener), Polyquaternium-10 (thickener), Sorbic Acid, Citric Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (all preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: After shampooing, apply conditioner, focusing on the dry parts of your scalp and hair. Leave on for 1-2 minutes, then rinse well. For dry, coarse hair that needs deeper conditioning, leave on hair for as long as possible. May be used as a leave-in conditioner.

How much Smooth Finish Conditioner should I use per application?

That all depends on your hair length and texture. If you have short hair that is fine or thin, use less and avoid the root areas. If you have normal hair (not fine or thin but not thick or coarse) use slightly more. Thick, coarse, or curly hair can use a generous amount. Experimentation will tell you which amount is best for your hair's texture and condition.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.355 11/26/2014 7:03:12 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off + FREE Shipping on Everything   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.