Items you may also like

Hydralight One Step Cleanser

Back away from the bar of soap. This refreshing gel removes excess oil, rinses away dirt and makeup. Leaves sensitive skin feeling silky, not tight.
Item #: 110
  • Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea
  • No dry, tight feeling after you use it

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight One Step Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 176 Reviews)
Page of 8 Next »
  1. kaspa
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 06, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Gentle non-irritating
    • A gentle cleanser that doesn't leave skin feeling tight afterwards. Non-irritating on my rosacea.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 02, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this cleanser
    • This takes of my makeup in a breeze, leaves no residue, leaves my skin feeling soft and refreshed but not dried out. It does not irritate my sensitive skin/rosacea. Perfect!

  3. Nikki
    Reviewed on Monday, April 13, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Simply Divine!
    • I really cannot say enough good things about this cleanser, nor can I say anything bad about it. I just love it. I've gotten distracted by fancy packaging and yummy scents browsing the skincare on store shelves a few times since using this, but time and again I'm reminded why I use this Hydralight Cleanser over all else and continuously revert back to it, happily. It's simple and it works beautifully. It contains nothing unnecessary and has everything that a perfect cleanser should. Bravo.

  4. Jo
    Reviewed on Friday, March 27, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Disappointed
    • I normally use skin balancing cleanser and now I know why. Hydralight does not remove makeup. I don't' wear heavy makeup. I have to practically scrub my face to get it off and that's not good for my rosacea. I like the texture, but it simply doesn't clean as well. I won't purchase this again. I'll go back to the skin balancing cleanser.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, March 30, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  5. Ashley W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • Love this cleanser! I have acne prone skin that is sensitive to everything!. This is the only cleanser I have used where I actually feel like my face is being cleaned. My face looks better already after a day of use and with the toner. I am so glad I did this because I feel like a new person. My skin after one day feels softer and smoother, my cc's look better and my pores are smaller! I am so glad I bought this! Thank you! I cant wait to see the future with more use :)

  6. jimmy n
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 19, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    super gentle
    • love this cleanser. ive tried many that kis best rated on beautypedia including PC Clear Cleanser but they are all slightly too drying for my combination acne prone sensitive skin. I use this with my clarisonic every night. love!

  7. HAN BYUL K.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 13, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    D0es not clean ? ?
    • Purchased this cleanser as it was on sale and was very disappointed as it did not clean my make up even when I used it multiple times over! I really want refund.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 13, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  8. Maria P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very light yet removes full face if makeup
    • I already have my HG cleanser I've been using for 20 yrs but got the Hydralight kit as a free sample after calling PC as a new customer. Thanks for being very generous!! So I just wanted to share my experience. Super light gel it doesn't feel like you even have anything on. But I actually used this gel to remove my full face of makeup tonight & it took all of it off by itself (1st time I did not use makeup remover)Wow!!!

  9. Tammy
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    non drying
    • I tried a sample yesterday and really like this. I usually swear by clinique 7 day scrub. This actually left my face feeling really clean and not tight also my skin was very soft.

  10. CARRIE W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail Cleanser
    • I'm not gonna lie, the mere thought of running out of Hydralight Cleanser makes me feel like I'm going to break out in hives. It's worth noting that I have DRY/sensitive skin, and this is the perfect cleanser for me-- I just think some people with my skin issues have much better luck with a clear, non-foamy cleanser than any other kind. I'm SO happy I found this one-- it's the only one that my skin consistently responds beautifully to. Light but moisturizing and perfect to use with a face cloth.

  11. Chris L.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 01, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Did not enjoy this cleanser!
    • This isn't the worst cleanser I've ever used -- it is fragrance free and it does glide over the skin quite nicely, but that's about where the good ends for me. I found that this gel resisted creating a solid lather, instead remaining mostly a "glycerin-y" feel that meant I used more product and didn't feel quite as deep a clean. I also noticed that I tended to break out a bit more along the jawline than normal while using this. Overall, I'm a bit disappointed given the PC team's high reputation.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, December 02, 2014

    Hello, and thanks for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team for information about a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  12. Trema
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 20, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    It does what it says!
    • Yeps, definitely a cleanser for combination skin like me! I tried Clear Line before this and it's just too drying and not helping with my pores or blackheads..... This cleanser is not too drying, doesn't strip the skin at all... Negative thing about this stuff is just it's pricey for a cleanser. Just use this if I have extra cash, regularly I'm using another brand from Paula's Recommendation and it's just suit the price.

  13. SELINA S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Best for Combo Sensitive Skin
    • I use Hydralight cleanser twice a day for prolly 3 years now. I keep coming back even after trying other PC cleansers. I am 50 with slightly dry / combo T-zone, sensitive skin with very few blemishes. This cleanser does not strip or leave any parts of my face dry, tight or oily. My skin just feels fresh and smooth especially with my brush. It does not sting my eyes and does a decent job removing eyeliner. Perfect consistency, not foamy but lush. And no fragrance!

  14. Laura M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Best Choice for 40+ Combo/Sensitive/Breakout-Prone Skin
    • I have tried for 20+ years to find skin care products. I'm allergic to Aloe, Soy, and Perfumes. My skin hates harsh Sulfates, Retinoids, and overly emollient products. I've used this for 2 weeks with the Hydralight toner, a BHA/AHA lotion (added gradually), antioxidant serum, and a mineral SPF 50 lotion with FANTASTIC RESULTS! NO itching, burning, redness, or breakouts. Takes 10 min AM and PM. Helped my daughters 20+ skin too! PLEASE, DON'T EVER REFORMULATE THIS PRODUCT, IT SAVED MY LIFE :-D

  15. L.L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Helped My Rosacea
    • This cleanser is a Godsend. I have Rosacea and use prescription Finacea Gel to keep down red spots. I noticed the Finacea wasn't helping as much as before, and thought the Purpose Liquid Cleanser I was using might be the culprit. Purpose is a great cleanser, but even the tiny bit of fragrance was a problem. I also have terrible reactions to Cocamidopropl Betaine, so I had to avoid it. The Hydralight cleanser did the trick. I now have the fewest red spots EVER. Thank you Paula!!!

  16. Edward M.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    HG cleanser
    • Hands down the best cleanser I have ever used. Please never discontinue this product Paula this cleanser is a godsend

  17. S
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not good for my skin!
    • I have very sensitive skin and have been having lots of issues with dry to very dry skin recently that occurs in patches. Had been using Cetaphil, which didn't really make it worse, but didn't do much good either. Was recommended Paula's Choice by lots of friends who claimed it to be a miracle! Have been using this cleaner (along with the Hydralight Moisturiser) for about a week and it has completely dried my skin out and I now have flaky, dry skin all over my face! Not good for my skin at all.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, September 18, 2014

    Thanks for your review! Sounds like you're not using the righr products for your skin type or concerns, not to mention it seems you had an allergic reaction to one or more of the ingredients in these products. Please contact us to discuss alternative options or, if you prefer, we can help you arrange a return.

    —Admin
  18. theyhaveways
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice Cleanser
    • This is a very nice cleanser. A gel type with a light foaming action. I understand that foaming is more of an aesthetic appeal, but I can't help but feel more clean using a cleanser with a nice amount of foam. This cleanser is gentle, and basic feeling. It does the job if you need to remove any makeup on your face, but I feel like the Skin Balancing cleanser does the best job at that. I appreciate the packaging, but it would be nice if there was a pump to help measure out how much you are using.

  19. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, August 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Gentle Thorough Cleanser
    • I was using Neutrogena's cleanser for sensitive skin, which was OK but perhaps a little drying. I switched to Hydralight & am not looking back! I have combination skin and I'm prone to breakouts especially on my chin. This cleanser removes all of my makeup and doesn't leave my skin feeling tight or dry at all - just clean and healthy. I follow up with the Hydralight toner, an exfoliant, and serums. Pores are visibly reduced, & breakouts have cleared. And I LOVE the sample packs for traveling!!

  20. Maica P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 05, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Does not remove makeup
    • I purchased a sample of this (good thing I did!) because this product did not live up to what it claims. I also tried the skin balancing cleaner, same thing. "This refreshing gel removes excess oil, rinses away dirt and makeup." After using makeup removing wipes and this, makeup was still left over after toning. It's good if you don't really wear makeup though, very gentle.

  21. Lisa C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic cleanser
    • This is a fantastic cleanser that does exactly what it is advertised to do: effectively remove all makeup (including eye makeup) and cleanse skin thoroughly without drying! The consistency is great and a quarter size is all you need. Perfect for summer when we're all a little oilier. Thanks, PC!

  22. S.H.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very Nice Cleanser
    • First I would like to thank customer service for helping me with product selection. I have been using Paula's products for several years but needed a new routine. My usual normal to dry skin & even drier in winter decided to produce more oil. While I was a tad skeptical about using a gel cleanser...I love it. It does not dry out my skin but is very effective in removing excess oil.

  23. Ann D
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 21, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Seeing improvement
    • I'm 57 years old and have struggled with Rosacea since entering menopause. Splotchy redness, enlarged and congested pores, thickening skin. I've tried many products, prescription and over the counter. Recently I ordered the full Hydralight kit. The moisture-infusing lotion seems to be too much- oily breakouts on my chin. BUT, my pores are looking better than they have with any previous treatment and my overall color is more even. I'm excited to see SOMETHING finally making a difference.

  24. Anna L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome Cleanser!!
    • Over this past winter my oily and never sensitive skin started to freak out. After cleansing I was getting irritation even from Paula's toner (Hydralight) and Paula's creams. I started using Moisture Rich line even. Still, irritation and redness, flaking big time.... until it dawned on me!!!! I ran out of Paula's Cleanser and started using La Roche Posay cleanser which I usually use in the summer with no issues. I switched to Hydralight One Step- after a few days my skin returned to normal!

  25. Alex
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Teeny bit drying
    • I find this cleanser a bit drying to use twice a day. It's perfect at night to remove makeup, but if I use it in the morning I end up with visible skin flakes. I don't really feel that I need to cleanse at all in the morning after applying the 1%BHA and the Hydralite moisturise at night. My skin looks and feels so good when I get up that a splash of water and a swipe of Skin Recovery Toner is all I need. Oily skin would love this cleanser though.

Page of 8 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is an easy-to-use gel cleanser for those who desire a fresh, clean sensation without a hint of residue. This gentle, yet effective cleanser removes excess oil and makeup (including eye makeup) without drying or stripping the skin. Even the most sensitive skin can use this cleanser.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Cleanser is ideal for those whose skin has minimal to visibly oily areas anywhere on the face. It is also ideal for those struggling with an oily T-zone (forehead, nose and chin) yet dry skin everywhere else.

Sources to support the claims made for Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: sodium PCA, allantoin, sodium hyaluronate, glycerin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Lactate, Glycine, Fructose, Urea, Niacinamide, Inositol (water-binding agents), Sodium Benzoate (preservative), Lactic Acid (water-binding agent), Allantoin (soothing agent), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (thickener), Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate (stabilizer), Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate (gentle cleansing agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Triethanolamine (pH balancer), Carbomer (gel-based thickener), Benzophenone-3 (stabilizer),Methylparaben (preservative), Propylparaben (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Wet face and apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous, yet gentle, circular motions. Rinse well. To remove heavy makeup, repeat or use with a clean, wet washcloth.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara or waterproof makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of eye makeup. If an eye makeup remover becomes necessary for tenacious makeup, be as gentle as possible and use a mild yet effective product such as Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover, either before or after this cleanser.

I have normal to dry skin that gets oilier in the summer - would Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! The lightweight, refreshing gel texture of Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is ideal for use during the humid summer months if you have normal to dry skin.

1 https://autodelivery.services.paulaschoice.com/api/autodelivery/ True M/d/yyyy
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.394 5/27/2015 7:18:11 PM
Skip to Top of Page

Free Email Sign-Up

- Expert Skin Care & Makeup News & Advice (twice a month)
- New product reviews on Beautypedia (twice a month)

Birthday (Optional)

 

NEVER RUN OUT AGAIN

Paula’s Choice Auto Delivery is a quick and convenient way to make sure you never run out of your favorite products again. Just select the products you can’t live without, choose how often you’d like them delivered and we’ll take care of the rest.

15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+