Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser

Step up to the sink with confidence. We’ve got a cleanser for the most sensitive skin. It calms and soothes skin, reduces redness and irritation.
Item #: 105
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Great for rosacea

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 135 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Marielle
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Outstanding Cleanser!
    • I have been using Paula's products for a decade and I am a huge fan. However, I always thought that cleansers were cleansers and all of them did the same thing... until I tried this one! This is a product like no other. It is creamy and feels super luxurious on the skin, removes all make-up (I wear full make-up every day), rinses off easily leaving the skin soft and radiant. The bottle is huge and since you don't need to use a lot of the product to clean your face it lasts for a long time. The only minor complaint I have is I wish it came with a pump. The new packaging is gorgeous as well.

  2. Jordan
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome cleanser!
    • This cleanser is awesome in many ways. For one, it is soft and leaves the skin feeling silky (it makes a great hand wash too!!!) and while washing off it makes the redness of my eczema disappear. The smell doesn't bother me, it has a great consistency and comes in a massive bottle!!

  3. DeAnna
    Reviewed on Monday, July 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite Cleanser
    • I have dry flaky skin and this is the only cleanser that works for my skin to eliminate it. It removes my makeup well and rinses cleanly away. There isn't a greasy feeling after like a lot of creamy cleansers. I love the texture of it. Fantastic!

  4. Rose
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    So Happy :)
    • I am only on my 4th day of using the product's for dry to normal skin. Have slight case of roseca. Allready the redness is a light pink, for two year's it looked like I had a sunburn on my cheek's. I do it in the morning and at night,can't wait to see what another week bring's. No more Dr's. I'll spend my money on your product's. Thank's again, Rose

  5. Bonnie
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 16, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    packaging issues
    • I love this cleanser and most Paula's Choice products! I have been using the full line on my finiky, dry skin for a year and a bit, and couldn't be happier. I thought I'd mention, however, the one problem with packaging that I have found. I have problems with the joints in my hands, and as a result, I find the seals that cover the bottles impossible to open. It seems like a small point, but its frustrating and seems like a quick fix-- if the seals had a longer pull tab attached to them, it would be 100 times easier to open. I won't stop using these products, but it would be lovely if I could open them on my own! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do note any inconsistencies with products and packaging so your concerns will definitely be passed along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. Please contact customer care with any questions. We are always happy to help!

  6. alohahawaii
    Reviewed on Friday, June 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pleasantly suprised
    • I finally had to give in.....My skin is just too dry and flakey. I was fighting the creamy cleanser as I adore foaming cleansers. This finally arrived today and I eagerly went to wash my face and was pleasantly suprised that with my Clarisonic; this had a pretty mild lather and my face is finally refreshed and not dry at all. I often wonder why I waited so long as the Skin Recovery Toner is my HG and I will never use another. I am sooooo HAPPY I decided to give in. The best of both worlds Creamy and Slightly lathering! YES!

  7. Amanda G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 06, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic!
    • This is hands down the best cleanser I have ever used and I can't imagine anyone not liking it, regardless of skin type! I have combination skin that is very dry in the winter and oily in the summer, not to mention eczema all over my cheeks and eyes when my skin is at its worst. I also like to wear a fair bit of makeup, including waterproof foundations and concealers. This takes it ALL OFF and leaves my skin feeling silky smooth, never even the slightest stinging, no matter how bad my eczema is. The only thing this can't remove is waterproof mascara, but I use another product for that (or good old olive oil in a pinch!). This is great when my skin is oily, great when its dry. I hope I never have to go a day without!

  8. Julie
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 31, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Cleanser I've Ever Used
    • I love this product. I have rosacea and have always had a hard time finding a cleanser that worked for me. I thought I had to live with itchy blotchy skin until my sister recommend Paula's Choice. This cleanser cleans without drying out or irritating my skin. I follow it up with the rest of the recovery system and my face has never felt so soft or calm.

  9. Nancy
    Reviewed on Friday, April 27, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I have eczema and this is the only cleanser I can use that doesn't cause it to flare. Leaves my skin soft and clean.

  10. Melanie
    Reviewed on Friday, April 27, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE this cleanser! Gentle but effective!
    • I have suffered from acne and rosacea for YEARS and have spent SO much money on cleansers, toners, treatments, prescriptions, etc. that didn't work. Even my dermatologist didn't know what else to try. I was literally almost in tears when I tried the Rosacea system from PC. I kept all of the receipts, thinking I would have to send it back (because nothing else I've tried in YEARS from everywhere else has worked).WELL, THIS SYSTEM WORKS! I LOVE the cleanser. It removes makeup, doesn't irritate my skin, and leaves my skin clean.I am so amazed. My skin cleared up. The texture is actually SMOOTH! (I have NEVER had smooth skin) and I honestly can't stop looking in the mirror at my skin! I have even avoided having family pictures made because of my skin. Now, I'm booking that appointment!THANK YOU, PAULA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

  11. Shannon
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 12, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not as great as I had hoped
    • As my first Paula's Choice product and after hearing rave reviews from friends/sisters, I used this product pretty religiously 2x a day for about a week. I guess my skin is not as normal or dry as I thought it was, because this dried me out very quickly, even after moisturizing. Even more unfortunate and disappointing, after using it for about a week or so, not only was my skin dry and flaky, but I developed the largest pimple I've ever had! I'm not sure how much of that is coincidence or if this product was just not the right fit for me. I hope it works for others, unfortunately it just wasn't right for me. I do like the creaminess of the wash and how it lightly foams. Also the bottle allows you to squeeze just the right amount out. Hopefully I can find another PC cleanser that will work better with my skin. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We will credit you for the product and please contact customer care with any questions.

  12. Madeline
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Simple and effective
    • I have been using this cleanser for years and I think it deserves some recognition. I have sensitive/combination/dry/flaky/acne-prone/generally annoying skin and I like a cleanser that removes make up and grime but does little else. I appreciate that there's no foaming, stripping or tight feeling afterwards. I think it's a perfect cleanser to use with the clarisonic Mia, since it's so gentle. I highly recommend!

  13. Kelly
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 11, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not impressed
    • I like this more than it's toner counterpart. I got this cleanser with a pump which is GREAT for dispensing the correct amount of product. I like the creaminess of the liquid, and I like that it foams lightly--never letting the skin feel stripped. I would like to note that this cleanser contains mineral oil, which might not irritate some, but caused my sensitive skin to break out like CRAZY. For me, this is a miss...For those of you that can tolerate mineral oil, go for this cleanser! It's milky and soft. I, however, am pretty disappointed. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. If you would like to discuss other cleanser options that may be better suited for your particular skin, please contact customer care.

  14. Nicole
    Reviewed on Friday, March 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    gentle effective cleanser
    • This is a gentle cleanser that removes all my makeup and does not strip my skin of moisture. It is one of the first PC products I tried, and I am very pleased with it.

  15. Jill
    Reviewed on Monday, March 19, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    too drying for me.
    • I am fairly new to Paula's choice products, and decided to give this cleanser a try since I was ordering the toner. I have dry sensitive skin, and this cleanser leaves my skin feeling somewhat tight. It actually has a bit of a foaming feeling when washing my face, and I find it to ultimately be too drying. The feeling is quickly relieved by the use of the toner, so if you like that clean feeling, you will likely find this one to be great. Personally I stopped using any type of foaming cleanser years ago because I don't like that dry feeling. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your experience with the product to Paula and her Product Development Manager. Feel free to check www.beautypedia.com for other cleanser options. In the meantime we will send you samples of our RESIST Cleanser to try which is designed for sensitive and dry skin to see how you like it and credit you for this product. Feel free to contact customer care with any questions.

  16. A. I.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love the cleanser!
    • I have tried hundreds of cleansers and I can honestly say that this is my favorite cleanser EVER. It doesn't dry my skin out, it feels wonderful on my face, and most importantly, I only need a small amount to get my face clean - when I dry it with a white towel, there is no makeup residue after washing.

  17. Erica
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 03, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally!
    • I have finally found a cleanser that removes makeup very well (skin recovery toner removes any trace left from 'evening' makeup), is gentle, moisturizing, affordable.... The Cetaphil has gone in the trash!

  18. Kathryn
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 18, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Too drying, caused redness
    • I had tried a sample which seemed ok but did not like the full size bottle I just got. Too drying and irritating. I've been washing half my face with my drugstore brand and half with this for a few days just to test, and the side washed with this product is dry and red/splotchy after the shower. Was hoping for a moisturizing cleanser for my dry and easily irritated skin, but this is not it. Cusomer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account and credited you for the product. We will send you samples of the RESIST Cleanser and Moisture Boost Cleanser to try instead. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  19. chappell
    Reviewed on Monday, February 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product
    • I am a huge fan of Paula's Choice products and especially this cleanser. My recent purchase didn't seem right at all, my first thought was that they changed the formula of the cleanser. I made a call to a representative, Roxanna, who was more than gracious in receiving my complaint, but also replacing my product order quickly. Within a few days received the replacement and it's as fabulous as I know this product to be. Thanks to such terrific customer service and such great products - truly appreciate it!!

  20. Mary L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 31, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Essential during Accutane treatment
    • I've been on Accutane for the past 5 months and wouldn't have made it without Paula's Choice Skin Recovery system (I'm using the cleanser, toner and moisturizer). As I expected, my skin has become much drier due to the medication but the Skin Recovery products help keep it supple and smooth. I experimented with other products before using my current combo and everything else was far too drying. Thanks, Paula, for helping me make it through!

  21. Nichole
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 29, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It Works !!
    • Finally a cleanser that works...This is the first time I've tried Paula's Choice line, after years of observing on tv...I finally ordered some samples to try....My skin has done nothing but improved...I am over 50 and this cleanser has made the world of difference.

  22. Brandy
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Cannot recommend enough!
    • This is, hands-down, the best cleanser I've ever used. Extremely gentle on the skin and really removes makeup (this is coming from someone who regularly wears heavy eye makeup and waterproof mascara). I'm always reminded of how wonderful this is when I'm forced to use a drugstore cleanser (which will invariably strip my skin, irritate it, or leave me with streaky Panda eyes). Definitely a must-have P.C. product.

  23. Becky
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome
    • I've always thought that your face had to tingle or burn after washing to be clean... NOPE... This cleanser is great leaves my skin totally clean without drying my already dry skin out even more. It also doesn't break me out!

  24. Nancy
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 22, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Total Trust
    • I have used this cleanser for 5 years once my skin started getting flaky every winter. It is wonderful. Removes makeup,leaves my face feeling soft. In combination with the toner and moisturizer, it a complete package of face care. Wouldn't live without it!

  25. Lisa
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite cleanser
    • This is the only facial cleanser I've ever used which does both: cleans my skin thoroughly without drying AND does not make my skin greasy or break out. I've used it for years and will continue.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is a rich, intensely hydrating cleanser that rinses easily with water. Designed for dry to very dry skin, the creamy lotion texture glides over skin while it cleanses and removes makeup. Works throughout the cleansing process to keep dry skin supple while actually improving skin's softness and adding moisture. This cleanser is also an excellent option for truly sensitive skin, including those with rosacea.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is formulated for those with normal to very dry or sensitive skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery SOFTENING CREAM Cleanser

Cutis, March 2005, pages 17-21; March 2004, pages 183–187; and December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, 2004; 17 Supplemental 1, pages 26-34;  Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: soy oil, glycerin, beta-glucan, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, cocamidopropyl betaine

Product Ingredients:

Water, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate (very mild cleansing agent), Hydrogenated Polydecene (emollient), Acrylates Copolymer (suspending agent), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (plant oil/emollient), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener), Polysorbate-80 (emulsifier), Cocamidopropyl Betaine (lather agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum) (emollient), Beta-Glucan (skin-conditioning agent), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (thickener), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent), Laureth-4 (surfactant), Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin (all preservatives), Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster).

DIRECTIONS: Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous yet gentle circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup. Follow with the appropriate Paula’s Choice toner to give your skin a generous amount of potent antioxidants and skin-renewing ingredients. Next, apply your Paula's Choice exfolaint, serum and/or moisturizer.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

It depends on how much eye or face makeup you are using or if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or other hard-to-remove makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser effectively removes most types of makeup. If you feel you need an a separate makeup remover, Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover is ideal.

How does Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser differ from the other Paula's Choice Cleansers-how do I know which one is best for me?

Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is slightly more emollient than Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser for Normal to Dry Skin, which makes it preferred for someone with dry to very dry skin. It is also more emollient than RESIST Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser, though both the RESIST and Skin Recovery Cleanser are great for dry skin of any age.

I have normal to dry skin on my cheeks but my T-zone is oily - would Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser work for me?

While it is an option, your best bet would be to try Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleansers for Normal to Dry Skin first. If you prefer a gel cleanser, consider Hydralight One Step Cleanser for Normal to Oily/Combination Skin.

I have normal to dry skin that gets noticeably drier in the winter - would Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! This would be a very good choice for normal to dry skin during the winter months.

Will this cleanser make me break out?

This cleanser is extremely unlikely to cause blemishes. However, normal to oily and blemish-prone skins will likely find this cleanser too emollient for their skin type.

PCWEB-WWW4 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.