Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser

Step up to the sink with confidence. We've got a face wash for the most sensitive skin. It calms and soothes skin, reduces redness and irritation.
Item #: 105
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Great for rosacea

View more product details

16 oz size is Out of Stock – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 154 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Regina M
    Reviewed on Friday, April 05, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love product, not packeging
    • I have been using Paula's products for years. I love the cleanser but do not like the new bottle. The old bottle was much better for my arthritic hands, sorry I threw the old bottle out.

  2. Amber W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    soft skin, but too drying
    • I have rosacea and had great success with several of Paula's products in the skin recovery line. I used this cleanser in the shower. It was very liquidy. Afterwards, my skin felt incredibly soft-- Like a baby's butt, y'all! Unfortunately, it was a little drying to my already super-dry skin. I kept the rest of my skin care routine the same and used this for about 1.5 weeks before I decided this was not for me. I will stick to my other brand of Comforting Cream Cleanser. Thank you.

  3. Andrea M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Elated!!
    • Love it! Great for my sensitive skin. My skin has gone from pink back to white! I would recommend to anyone, regardless of skin type!

  4. Rebecca W.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I like it.
    • I like the mild smell and the gentle cleansing of this product. It doesn't irritate my dry, sensitive skin. I can't say it's made vast improvements in my skin yet but I'll give it time.

  5. LISA M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • My skin changed when the weather dipped below 20 degrees, and normally I have normal skin and even the most mild cleansers weren't helping. After trying a sample of this, I am amazed how well it takes my makeup off and leaves my skin feeling clean and SOFT! I highly recommend for winter and dryer conditions. I will try the balancing one for summer. Paula - keep up the amazing job! :)

  6. Kate
    Reviewed on Monday, February 25, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for me
    • I am a long time user of Paula's products and am usually very happy with them. This cleanser was a disappointment. It left mascara/eyeliner smeared around my eyes and my skin felt dry after using. A few days after I began using it I developed small pimples all over my face. I am still on the hunt for the right cleanser for my dry, sensitive skin.

  7. Patricia T.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Laisse la peau hydratée
    • J'utilise ce nettoyant tous les soirs depuis 2 semaines et aucun effet indésirable ne s'est manifesté. Après chaque utilisation, il semble avoir un voile hydratant sur ma peau alors je n'utilise pas de crème de nuit car j'apprécie cette sensation que ma peau est libre et reste hydratée. I use this cleanser every night for 2 weeks and no adverse effects occurred. After each use, it seems to have a veil moisturizer on my skin so I don't use night cream because I appreciate that feeling that my skin is free and remains hydrated.

  8. Brett
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Exactly what i was looking for.
    • I first got hooked on cream cleansers when i started using Estee Lauder. The cost of the Lauder skin care line sent me on the hunt for something cheaper and better. While using beautiypedia to find a new cleansers i figured i would just try paulas line. She is very up front and I cannot thank her and her team enough for the awesome products they have. This is a rich and creamy cleanser that doesn't foam which is great for my dry dry skin. I use the whole Skin Recovery line and could not be more thankful that i found it. Plus for a little over $20 bucks you get a huge 16oz bottle. A great value for your money. A must have for people with dry skin!

  9. LORRAINE k.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Doesn't dry or irritate
    • It cleans very well. I never have an issue with pores. It doesn't dry or irritate my dry sensistive skin. It does a great job. (FYI-over 40, very dry skin, very sensitive pale skin)

  10. Serina M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    No more red!
    • I bought some samples of the skin recovery system after having some troubling results with the skin balancing system and after the first use the redness was gone and the irritation subsiding. Great stuff!

  11. JENNIFER C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I've been using the moisture boost cleanser for a while now, but recently felt like it was a bit too drying on me- maybe just because the weather is getting cold now. I switch to skin recovery and am loving the change! This cleanser is creamy and does not dry out my skin. I've even noticed the redness in my cheeks toned way down (rosacea). Thanks for yet another awesome product!

  12. JESSICA
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    ACNE GONE:)
    • ACNE GONE! I HAVE TRIED ALOT OF ACNE CLEANERS FOR MY ACNE. NOTHING WORKED. BUT THIS ONE DID AND IT'S NOT EVEN FOR ACNE. THANK YOU PAULA! :)

  13. Sara
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic cleanser and won't irritate
    • I have sensitive skin, and many cleansers irritate my eyes and dry my skin. Many times I end up with my skin itching and burning. I have had some sensitivity with some other of Paula's cleansers, and when this was suggested for me, it was perfect. I have never had a problem with it, and even use it to remove my eye makeup. It is perfect!

  14. Catherine
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 17, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Too Drying
    • For the first few days of use I thought I has found the perfect cleanser. It removed all my makeup with ease and was creamy in texture. I did however notice that my skin felt tight after washing. After several days I started to develop eczema on my cheeks and eyelids and have had to discontinue use. The cleanser does slightly foam and my finicky skin just can't tolerate it unfortunately. Customer service is amazing and so is the moisturizer from this line. I just need to keep searching for a cleanser. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback. We do wish this cleanser could have produced more favorable results for you. We have issued you an in-house credit which you can use towards your next phone order with us. Please remember, if you cannot find a cleanser that suits your skin type from our products, you can always check out www.Beautypedia.com for other brand reviews. If you have any questions please contact customer care, we are always happy to help!

  15. Erina
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I have a little rosacea around my nose and below my lip and although I didn't like a creamy non foaming cleanser in the past, I really love this soothing cream cleanser that washes away clean. I recommend it!

  16. Karri
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • This is the best cleanser I have ever used. I love the texture and love that it is creamy and not a gel. My face is usually reddish and I find that just using this cleaner calms my skin. Wonderful.

  17. G.S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 06, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail Cleanser
    • I have mild rosacea and normal-to-dry skin and this is my perfect year-round cleanser. The texture is super-rich and it leaves my skin incredibly soft. I don't wear much makeup, but the cleanser removes it easily and beautifully without me having to rub in in too hard. Perfect for my dry-ish sensitive skin!

  18. Lucas
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 31, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect cleanser for rosacea
    • This cleanser is amazing. Feels creamy upon application but then rinses easily, leaving no residue. I have combination skin, with an oily t-zone, but also suffer from rosacea and had been struggling to find a cleanser that would be gentle and effective. I'm glad I gave this a try. It's a great cleanser, lives skin smooth and clean but not feeling tight or dry at all.

  19. Sonia
    Reviewed on Monday, July 30, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not liking this cleanser
    • I have sensitive normal to dry skin, reason why the Recovery cleanser seemed like the obvious choice for me, big mistake. I must be allergic to one or more of the ingredients in this product; otherwise I don't see how a cleanser formulated for my skin type is making my face so dry. My skin feels striped and very tight every time I wash my face with this. Needless to say, I am not happy with this purchase and now have a full bottle of a product I am not able to use, and also don't want to return; as it is almost not worth going out of my way and paying a shipping fee on a product that I bought on sale for less than $12. In summary, back to ground zero...I am still in the search for a PC's routine perfect for my skin, trial and error really, as I have bought and tried several other PC products that I am very pleased with, and also I have never encountered a better customer service team...simply amazing! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. It is hard to know exactly which ingredient, combination of ingredients, or outside factors contributed to your skin responding negatively to this product. It can be difficult to identify which ingredient in any formula, even a well-formulated one, which could be causing dryness. Based on what you have described, it would be best to discontinue use. We will issue an in house credit for the product and are happy to send you samples of other Cleansers to try. If you would like to contact our customer care team to discuss your routine and skin type we are more than happy to help!

  20. Marielle
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Outstanding Cleanser!
    • I have been using Paula's products for a decade and I am a huge fan. However, I always thought that cleansers were cleansers and all of them did the same thing... until I tried this one! This is a product like no other. It is creamy and feels super luxurious on the skin, removes all make-up (I wear full make-up every day), rinses off easily leaving the skin soft and radiant. The bottle is huge and since you don't need to use a lot of the product to clean your face it lasts for a long time. The only minor complaint I have is I wish it came with a pump. The new packaging is gorgeous as well.

  21. Jordan
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome cleanser!
    • This cleanser is awesome in many ways. For one, it is soft and leaves the skin feeling silky (it makes a great hand wash too!!!) and while washing off it makes the redness of my eczema disappear. The smell doesn't bother me, it has a great consistency and comes in a massive bottle!!

  22. DeAnna
    Reviewed on Monday, July 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite Cleanser
    • I have dry flaky skin and this is the only cleanser that works for my skin to eliminate it. It removes my makeup well and rinses cleanly away. There isn't a greasy feeling after like a lot of creamy cleansers. I love the texture of it. Fantastic!

  23. Rose
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    So Happy :)
    • I am only on my 4th day of using the product's for dry to normal skin. Have slight case of roseca. Allready the redness is a light pink, for two year's it looked like I had a sunburn on my cheek's. I do it in the morning and at night,can't wait to see what another week bring's. No more Dr's. I'll spend my money on your product's. Thank's again, Rose

  24. Bonnie
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 16, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    packaging issues
    • I love this cleanser and most Paula's Choice products! I have been using the full line on my finiky, dry skin for a year and a bit, and couldn't be happier. I thought I'd mention, however, the one problem with packaging that I have found. I have problems with the joints in my hands, and as a result, I find the seals that cover the bottles impossible to open. It seems like a small point, but its frustrating and seems like a quick fix-- if the seals had a longer pull tab attached to them, it would be 100 times easier to open. I won't stop using these products, but it would be lovely if I could open them on my own! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do note any inconsistencies with products and packaging so your concerns will definitely be passed along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. Please contact customer care with any questions. We are always happy to help!

  25. alohahawaii
    Reviewed on Friday, June 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pleasantly suprised
    • I finally had to give in.....My skin is just too dry and flakey. I was fighting the creamy cleanser as I adore foaming cleansers. This finally arrived today and I eagerly went to wash my face and was pleasantly suprised that with my Clarisonic; this had a pretty mild lather and my face is finally refreshed and not dry at all. I often wonder why I waited so long as the Skin Recovery Toner is my HG and I will never use another. I am sooooo HAPPY I decided to give in. The best of both worlds Creamy and Slightly lathering! YES!

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is a rich, intensely hydrating cleanser that rinses easily with water. Designed for dry to very dry skin, the creamy lotion texture glides over skin while it cleanses and removes makeup. Works throughout the cleansing process to keep dry skin supple while actually improving skin's softness and adding moisture. This cleanser is also an excellent option for truly sensitive skin, including those with rosacea.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is formulated for those with normal to very dry or sensitive skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery SOFTENING CREAM Cleanser

Cutis, March 2005, pages 17-21; March 2004, pages 183–187; and December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, 2004; 17 Supplemental 1, pages 26-34;  Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: soy oil, glycerin, beta-glucan, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, cocamidopropyl betaine

Product Ingredients:

Water, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate (very mild cleansing agent), Hydrogenated Polydecene (emollient), Acrylates Copolymer (suspending agent), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (plant oil/emollient), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener), Polysorbate-80 (emulsifier), Cocamidopropyl Betaine (lather agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum) (emollient), Beta-Glucan (skin-conditioning agent), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (thickener), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent), Laureth-4 (surfactant), Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin (all preservatives), Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster).

DIRECTIONS: Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous yet gentle circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup. Follow with the appropriate Paula’s Choice toner to give your skin a generous amount of potent antioxidants and skin-renewing ingredients. Next, apply your Paula's Choice exfolaint, serum and/or moisturizer.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

It depends on how much eye or face makeup you are using or if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or other hard-to-remove makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser effectively removes most types of makeup. If you feel you need an a separate makeup remover, Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover is ideal.

How does Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser differ from the other Paula's Choice Cleansers-how do I know which one is best for me?

Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is slightly more emollient than Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser for Normal to Dry Skin, which makes it preferred for someone with dry to very dry skin. It is also more emollient than Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser, though both the Resist and Skin Recovery Cleanser are great for dry skin of any age.

I have normal to dry skin on my cheeks but my T-zone is oily - would Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser work for me?

While it is an option, your best bet would be to try Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleansers for Normal to Dry Skin first. If you prefer a gel cleanser, consider Hydralight One Step Cleanser for Normal to Oily/Combination Skin.

I have normal to dry skin that gets noticeably drier in the winter - would Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! This would be a very good choice for normal to dry skin during the winter months.

Will this cleanser make me break out?

This cleanser is extremely unlikely to cause blemishes. However, normal to oily and blemish-prone skins will likely find this cleanser too emollient for their skin type.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.