Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser

Step up to the sink with confidence. We've got a face wash for the most sensitive skin. It calms and soothes skin, reduces redness and irritation.
Item #: 105
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Great for rosacea

Our new and improved Skin Recovery Cleanser formula is thicker, creamier, and feels more cushiony on sensitive skin while still calming and soothing skin as it cleans.

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 161 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    works nicely, but goes quickly
    • I got this to use in conjunction with several AHA, BHA, and BP products for moderate acne. However, while most PC products I buy last ~10 months, this ran out very quickly. I switched to a similar beautypedia-rated "BEST" drugstore cleanser, which is 1/2 price/oz, and comes with 1.5x more. Lasts longer, is easier to repurchase, and no shipping cost. This cleanser was nice, but not worth the extra cost and inconvenience, especially since I get my "active ingredients" in my leave-on PC products.

  2. nY
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    full of surprises
    • I bought a big bottle of this Skin Recovery cleanser because it's about half price of my Green Beaver Make Up Remover that I just use as cleanser for about 8 years. PC made my skin feel "squeaky clean". I followed up with a cotton pad of toner on my face; pad came out clean -no grime. Can't say the neck pass the cotton/toner test. I didn't cleanse there. It made my skin feeling drier/tighter though; my old cleanser always left me hydrated. Thought to try it on my problematic scalp, -soothing:D

  3. Lola M
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    exellent!! but wish it had a pump
    • This cleanser is my favorite and was one of the first things i have purchased from paulas choice. For a creamy cleanser it rinses away clean without a filmy feeling on the skin. It removes all my makeup and my skin feels so calm. I have very sensitive dry skin. I love the amout of product paulas choice gives you for the price. I just wish it came in a pump or a pump would be available to purchase separately. Other than that its perfect! Thank you Paula!!!

  4. Wiggle
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good for rosacea
    • Since developing rosacea I've gone through many cleansers that haven't worked well for me (Cetaphil, Simple, Burt's Bees). I've also experimented with home remedies to no avail. So far, the Skin Recovery cleanser has been by far the best for me. I won't say it eliminates my rosacea symptoms (nor would I expect it to), but I notice fewer little red bumps, no tight dryness, and less oil sitting on top of the dryness. Everyone's rosacea is different, but I encourage others to try this.

  5. Lauren A.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 08, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Creamy and Nonirritating
    • Pretty much everything irritates my dry, flaky (eczema) skin. This did not. Even where I had itched my face raw, it barely stung, and even for just a moment. It helped heal the rawness more quickly, was moisturizing, and was incredibly nonirritating. It also keeps my skin more moisturized for a longer period of time. I really feel it when I skip my Skin Recover cleanser and toner! Definitely a repurchase, though the 8oz has lasted me over a month with no end in sight.

  6. Ashley W
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very gentle, non irritating, gr8 for those using AHA or BHA
    • Love this cleanser. Very soothing. Also love the moisture boost version, which is a little creamier. Skin Recovery cleanser is thicker, but the Moisture Boost is creamier. Both are incredible. I ran out of PC cleanser and have been using a Cetaphil bar cleanser. (it's ok but not fabulous. also the soap stings my eyes if i open them even a crack, and the cleansers do not) Can't wait for my package to get here today!

  7. BungalowChic
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Creamy gentle cleanser
    • First I cannot say what a wonderful service it is to provide a live chat option for ordering. I submitted a paragraph describing my skin needs and issues and the rep suggested this line. She answered all of my questions and was top notch. After using the samples for just two days I ordered the full skin care line and it arrived on my door within a few days. It has been two full weeks and I am delighted with the how gently and thoroughly this product cleanses my skin. All dry patches are gone!

  8. brenda
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good Makeup Remover
    • I've been using this on my normal skin even though it's probably not the kind that I should be using because I like the creamy texture. It works great on taking off eye make-up with just some light strokes over the eyes and it washes from my face easily with splashes of water. I'm going to move on and try the Moisture Boost Cleanser after I finish this bottle and see how I like that one as well.

  9. Leigh R.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    No more tight feeling!
    • I'm very pleased with this cleanser. My skin no longer feels tight and traumatized. I had been using the Neutrogena Fresh Foaming cleanser, which was acceptable, but still left a tight feeling. Now, it doesn't remove my Urban Decay gel eyeliner, but nothing does - I cannot blame this cleanser. My rosacea-skin is happy!

  10. Ms. Hiss
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Wintertime Bodywash!
    • Yes, it can be pricey for some to use as a bodywash, but hey- it's fragrance free, and with a soft puff a little can go further than you think! I started using this when my St.Ives ran out. I found with continued use that I needed LESS body moisturizer, and my body skin looks and feels BETTER! I will use an antibacterial liquid soap once or twice a week only on my feet and underarms, just to keep things copacetic. THANK YOU PAULA'S CHOICE for such thoughtfully formulated products!

  11. KS
    Reviewed on Friday, December 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Beauty Staple
    • My skin is really difficult to treat. It's dry and flaky, acne prone, sensitive, and pale, and I have large pores and a shiny T-zone. The flakiness worsens in the winter, so I opt for skin care made for dry skin. I've struggled to find a good cleanser that treats the dryness without aggravating my acne or my sensitive skin. This cleanser is wonderful! Gentle, very effective, moisturizing and doesn't cause breakouts. My skin is a lot calmer. It's a beautiful formula. I love washing my face now!

  12. Vicki D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Cleanser
    • I love this cleanser! It's creamy, non-lathering formula is perfect for my dry sensitive skin. It removes all traces of make up gently without drying out my skin. I hope Paula will always offer this cleanser.

  13. Lin D.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 02, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great cleanser
    • I love this cleanser but absolutely hate the bottle! Very hard to pop open when you're ready to use it. I wish I had kept the old bottle.

  14. RICHARD F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    FAVORITE BODYWASH???
    • I HAVE ALWAYS USED AND LOVED ALL OF PAULA'S CHOICE CLEANSERS, EVEN WHEN I WAS IN MY 'ALL NATURAL' PHASE. THEY SIMPLY ARE THE BEST WITH NO IRRITANTS LIKE LAVENDER AND LEMON. THIS CLEANSER IS SO CREAMY AND SMOOTH, MY PALE SKIN ACTUALLY LOOKS PRETTY! I LIKE IT SO MUCH I USE IT AS MY BODYWASH. IF PAULA EVER MAKES ANOTHER BODYWASH, I HOPE SHE BASIS IT ON THESE INGREDIENTS.

  15. Michele V
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Breaking Out
    • I'm a longtime Paula fan and faithful customer with very sensitive skin. Tried this cleanser and the toner hoping to find a less expensive alternative to the Resist cleanser and toner. Seemed okay for the first day or two but then I started breaking out...and I don't usually break out unless something is irritating my skin. Stopped using for a week then tried again...same issue. Unfortunately, I bought two large bottles of cleanser and a bottle of the toner when it was on sales... :-(

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, December 04, 2013

    We're sorry these products didn't work for you. Please contact us to arrange for a return or exchange.

    —Admin
  16. LIDIANA S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is the very best
    • I have tried other cleansers for my sensitive skin. This one is the one I always come back to. Leaves my face soft but not greasy. It does not leave it dry at all. I tried the gentle touch makeup remover but found it was only good for eyes, Too greasy for rest of face. This is the best for me.

  17. Max B
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Reliable and effective
    • Non-irritating, non drying, non greasy, and cleanses VERY well. Alot of other cleansers for dry skin are like rubbing lotion on your face and dont clean at all. This one actually foams with my clarisonic which I love. This is a great cleanser for dry skin. Experienced no reactions, breakouts or anything of the sort. I have it in the huge size and I love it. Thanks Paula!!

  18. KD
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Cleanses well but drying
    • I have sensitive, dry skin and cleansers often leave my face flakey, tight and dry. The Skin Recovery Cleanser was no exception. The cleanser is milky and opaque in color, while runny and slightly watery in consistency. It is not creamy and is very light, thin and slightly runny. It cleansed well, but left my face feeling too tight, dry and flakey. It did not seem to provide any moisture to my skin at all. This was not the answer for my sensitive, parched skin.

  19. ROSIE N.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for oily, sensitive skin
    • My skin is oily, I live in a warm, humid climate, and therefore this didn't seem like it would be the cleanser for me, but after trying several samples, this one proved to be just what my skin needed. I'm near 40 and my skin doesn't really break out anymore (thanks to the 2% BHA liquid!), but it has become more sensitive over the past few years. If I use something too stripping, I'll get bumps and general irriation. This cleanser calms my skin like nothing else. It removes ALL of my makeup.

  20. RN
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Like the product very much, hate the delivery system
    • Really miss the pump -- I would wet my face, give one or two pumps. and I had the product I needed. Now I have to pick up the bottle with damp hands, flip the cap -- too many steps and a bit messy. Not user friendly. This is why I gave it three stars, not five. The product itself is very good.

  21. MARLA B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great with Sonic Mia
    • I like this & the skin balancing cleanser esp, for use w/Sonic Mia (or w/washcloth). Rinses oil & make up, leaving my skin clean but not tight, dry or stripped. No foaming action, which is good with the sonic exfoliator. It is creamier than the skin balancing one, so works well in the winter when I'm dryer and need less clarifying action. I have very sensitive (rosacea) skin that is combination type & easily irritated. This is creamier & less foamy than Cetaphil, but comparable. Worth the $

  22. Mary B.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product
    • I love this product line. I have the kind of Rosacea that not only causes reddness but also full blown acne. I am 63 yrs old and thought i would have outgrown this by now. Tried about every product there is to no avail. This is the first product line that has lessen both by rosacea and acne by at least 80%. I'm not embarrassed to go out in public anymore because of my complexion. I would highly recommend for people with extremely sensitive skin.

  23. Susan C.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    The scent?
    • I threw this product out after a few uses. I could not stand to wash my face with it because the smell. I found the cleanser itself to remove makeup but it stung my eyes and was not appropriate to remove eye makeup. I was using a cleanser for years that Paula's Choice gave a poor rating to but I found it to be far better in terms of removing makeup and it never irritated my sensitive complexion.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, September 23, 2013
    Hi there! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry the Skin Recovery Cleanser wasn't a fit for you, but recommend contacting our Customer Care for help with a return/exchange. Consider Beautypedia Reviews for recommended alternatives as well!
    —Admin
  24. Nancy
    Reviewed on Monday, September 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful
    • I've been through every cleanser on the market. Never like any of them. All so drying. The cleanser is creamy but doesn't leave any leave a film, I use the moisture toner even though I don't need to because it feels good. This product is also better than most expensive make up removers. I wouldn't know what to do without this product. My skin feels great!! Highly recommend for dry skin.

  25. ELIZABETH T.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My HG cleanser
    • I have been using this stuff for years and it is absolutely the only cleanser I ever want to use. I've tried others, but always come back to this. I like that it's creamy and doesn't lather up, as sudsy cleansers leave my skin feeling stripped and dry. This leaves my skin feeling soft and very clean (even when I've been wearing a lot of makeup). Love, love, love this stuff.

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is a rich, intensely hydrating cleanser that rinses easily with water. Designed for dry to very dry skin, the creamy lotion texture glides over skin while it cleanses and removes makeup. Works throughout the cleansing process to keep dry skin supple while actually improving skin's softness and adding moisture. This cleanser is also an excellent option for truly sensitive skin, including those with rosacea.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is formulated for those with normal to very dry or sensitive skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery SOFTENING CREAM Cleanser

Cutis, March 2005, pages 17-21; March 2004, pages 183–187; and December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, 2004; 17 Supplemental 1, pages 26-34;  Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: oat beta-glucan, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, Glycine soja oil, cocamidopropyl betaine

Product Ingredients:

Water, Hydrogentated Polydecene, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Glycine Soja (Soy bean) Oil, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Polysorbate 80, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Chamomile Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Oat Beta Glucan, Mineral Oil, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Butylene Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Laureth-4, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Hydroxide, Hexylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol.

DIRECTIONS: Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous yet gentle circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup. Follow with the appropriate Paula’s Choice toner to give your skin a generous amount of potent antioxidants and skin-renewing ingredients. Next, apply your Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum and/or moisturizer.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

It depends on how much eye or face makeup you are using or if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or other hard-to-remove makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser effectively removes most types of makeup. If you feel you need an a separate makeup remover, Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover is ideal.

How does Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser differ from the other Paula's Choice Cleansers-how do I know which one is best for me?

Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is slightly more emollient than Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser for Normal to Dry Skin, which makes it preferred for someone with dry to very dry skin. It is also more emollient than Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser, though both the Resist and Skin Recovery Cleanser are great for dry skin of any age.

I have normal to dry skin on my cheeks but my T-zone is oily - would Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser work for me?

While it is an option, your best bet would be to try Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleansers for Normal to Dry Skin first. If you prefer a gel cleanser, consider Hydralight One Step Cleanser for Normal to Oily/Combination Skin.

I have normal to dry skin that gets noticeably drier in the winter - would Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! This would be a very good choice for normal to dry skin during the winter months.

Will this cleanser make me break out?

This cleanser is extremely unlikely to cause blemishes. However, normal to oily and blemish-prone skins will likely find this cleanser too emollient for their skin type.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.344 10/22/2014 8:44:15 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.