Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30

This silky lotion keeps right on smoothing and calming sensitive skin. It shields your skin from wrinkles and brown spots as it coaxes youth-reviving repair.
Item #: 146
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Antioxidants stimulate collagen growth
  • Gentle, mineral-based UVA/UVB protection from the #1 cause of signs of aging

Expiration Date 6/2016

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 166 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Alycen T.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this, wish it had SPF30 option too
    • I've been using this all winter on my dry, sensitive, allergic, rosacea-prone face, and it's been *wonderful*. Non-irritating, very hydrating, works well under makeup. But now as we are moving into summer, I wish there was an SPF 30 version for daily use!

  2. JENNIFER D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Major Breakout
    • I've used Paula's Choice products for several years and have always liked my purchased. This moisturizer made my skin breakout within a day. I'm in my 40s and haven't had any blemishes for years, so I was very disappointed. The overall feel of the product was nice, but I won't use something that causes a breakout.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that this product did not work out for you. It sounds like it may have been too emollient for your skin type. Please contact our Customer Care Team and they will be happy to make alternate product recommendations as well as assist with an exchange or credit.
    —Admin
  3. WILLA C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    OK
    • I've tried three packets of spf moisturizers and found this one best suited for my skin although it is too thick and does not glide onto the face. I have confidence in Paula's products so I'll use this moisturizer and may add a bit of Paula's moisturizer without SPF that I've been using that glides onto my face easily.

  4. iliana,V
    Reviewed on Friday, April 12, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    broke me out
    • This moisturizer was really great at first for my dry skin when i got the samples a while back but when i decided to purchase it, it broke me out. i would stop using it for a couple days and when i would use it again more breakouts. It was just too mouisturizing for my blemish prone skin and i have dry skin. Overall ladies just make sure it is the right product for you.

  5. PAT M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic!
    • A long overdue review. I have dry skin with rosacea. I've been using this for a couple of years(?) and it is so nice to have a product that you don't have to worry about changing up - because there is no need. It has a great texture, goes on easily, and moisturizes beatifully. When I got the product, I thought that the size was pretty minimal for the price, but in reality it lasts quite a long time and I use it religiously every morning and I'm not skimpy with it. Great product!

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best facial sunscreen for daily use
    • This is the only facial moisturizer/sunscreen combo I've ever used that hasn't caused acne or irritation. It does feel a little thick on the fingers and goes on bright white, but once spread in it's not noticeable. Add some of the Shine Stopper and it looks even better. Added benefit: mineral sunscreens don't cause yellow streaks on your white collars.

  7. Amber W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    To chalky for my dry skin
    • I have rosacea and had great success with several of Paula's products in the skin recovery line. This moisturizer with SPF went on smooth and silky! Unfortunately, within 2 hours, I noticed the area around my mouth was starting to develop red bumps and look a bit crusty. I thought it was user error so I continued to use the product for about 3 more weeks while trying different application techniques and implementing some lifestyle changes (i.e., drinking more water, cooler showers). no luck

  8. JULIANA S.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Creamy Goodness
    • I LOVE this moisturizer, it's very hydrating and absorbs beautifully. I love the way my skin feels throughout the day with this product. Dewy, without a feeling of residue.

  9. ninjaGlamour Beauty
    Reviewed on Monday, March 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    soothing and works great under makeup
    • I have very dry, sensitive, rosacea-prone skin and have been using this every day in the morning under my makeup and it feels great. Plays nice with BBcreams and foundation, feels soothing and hydrating, isn't too oily or shiny and provides enough SPF for the winter months for me. Non-irritating, even on post-peel or otherwise compromised skin. Definitely a winner for me.

  10. Ginger C.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best mineral-based sunscreen product I have ever used
    • This is by far the best mineral-based facial sunscreen I have used yet! I have tried so many, and they usually feel heavy and greasy - and look it too. Yes, you will get a little whitening with any mineral-based sunscreen, but the trick is to blend it well. The base of this is light enough to work it in without having to fight it.

  11. Laura D
    Reviewed on Friday, March 08, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Felt heavy and like I had a film on my face
    • I bought this because I have rosacea and wanted a moisturizer with sunblock that wouldn't irritate my skin. According to Paulaschoice.com this is perfect for people with rosacea, so I purchased a sample. Boy am I glad I didn't get a full bottle. The stuff is thick and heavy and I felt like I had a film on my face. This feeling didn't go away after an hour, and my skin started tingling in a way that warns me I am have a rosacea reaction to whatever is on my face. I had to remove the stuff.

  12. Trisha Ann
    Reviewed on Monday, February 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Above Average
    • This is the best moisturizer with SPF I've ever tried. It's mineral-based, which very few actually are. (Ones with avobenzone and/or O-chemicals irritate my skin.) It doesn't sting around the eyes or make your face greasy and gross. To get that 5th star, though, the SPF would have to be higher. Being fair and freckled, in the summer months, I need more protection. I walk outside, June through August, and the sun is like, "Get her!" Still, this is a wonderful product I'd absolutely recommend.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 25, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We were thrilled to find out that not only does this sunscreen meet the FDA's new broad-spectrum protection standards, but also that its SPF rating is higher than previous testing revealed. That's right, the Skin Recovery SPF 15 is actually an SPF 30! It's the same daytime SPF moisturizer you've been enjoying—only now you're getting a greater amount of critical sun protection! We will be reflecting this discovery on the packaging this spring/early summer.
    —Admin
  13. Patricia T.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Mon premier succès avec une crème faciale
    • Pour la première fois ma peau n'a eu que des effets positifs suite à l'utilisation d'une crème faciale. Aucun boutons, ni rougeur ou inconfort, ma peau est hydratée et parait plus saine. Par dessus tout, cette crème contient une bonne dose d'oxyde de zinc pour un FPS 15 sans laisser trop d'apparance blanche à la peau. C'est une crème géniale et je l'adopte! For the first time my skin had only positive effects due to the use of a facial cream. No buttons, or redness or discomfort, my skin is hydrated and looks more healthy. Above all, this cream contains a good dose of oxide of zinc for a 15 FPS without leaving too much white appearance to the skin. This is a great cream and I adopt it!

  14. CRB
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 07, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Really Wanted to Like It
    • Unfortunately, this is not agreeing with my skin. I ordered it because the Resist Barrier Repair wasn't moisturizing enough this New England winter. After reading reviews for several moisturizers, I decided on this one because it sounded emollient but not liable to clog my pores. At 42, I still struggle with blackheads and the monthly break-out. After a few days of use, my skin is still uncomfortably tight despite adding this to my regimen and I'm getting flaky, scaly red patches on my chin. Bummer.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    Thank you for your comments. We do wish this could have produced more favorable results for you and will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we encourage you to contact customer care to discuss your skin type and routine. We are happy to make other moisturizer suggestions and arrange for samples to be sent out!
    —-Customer Care
  15. gbooms
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    WONDERFUL!
    • I got this moisturizer as a sample a few times because I do not usually have dry skin (its normally oily/combo) and I wasn't sure how that would work out. I do get dry patches around my mouth in the winter so I wanted to see if this worked. It works wonderfully! It does not make me oily after at all and it especially does not make me break out. It cleared up my dry patches and, another bonus. it has been starting to help my redness/slight rosacea. Thanks Paula!

  16. HOWARD D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I like the satin finish
    • This is nice...gives a nice finish and less of a whitish cast than some of the other higher SPF products. I need the Resist serum underneath to give it enough slip, but good job.

  17. Brett
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A must have for dry skin.
    • My skin is very dry, like i come out of the shower and can barley move my face because it is so tight from just having water on it. This is a light textured, smooth and moisturizing daily spf lotion. I only use about a large pea sized amount for my whole face and down to my neck and i also use it under my eyes. This along with the rest of the skin recovery system has been the best stuff I have ever tried. I am a truly in love with all the PC products Ive tried so far. Paula and your team keep up the good work! Thank you Brett

  18. Nic
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great SPF moisturiser
    • I love this moisturiser. My skin is really dry, from 14 years of accutane use. Until I found this, I always had to use a thick paraffin emollient to keep my skin from flaking off, and then if I was lucky I would remember to put sunscreen on afterwards. This cream does go on with a white cast, but I don't have to rub it in. I find that if I apply it gently like any other moisturiser, it will soak in within 10 minutes. I would not recommend this to anyone without very dry skin, as it is thick and leaves the skin dewy. However, if you've been searching for something thick and soothing, that you can pile on without irritating your skin, and all with a mineral-based barrier SPF, this is it. And so affordable!

  19. purpldy
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 17, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    White cast
    • Ordered a sample of this but unfortunately it is not for me. Even though it only has an SPF15 it was just too white to blend in without a lot of rubbing. I have sensitive skin, and it would just make it worse to have to rub this in every day. I've used other all mineral SPF with higher SPF ratings that work much better for me and it was not as moisturizing as I needed either so I needed another cream to go with it. I'm going to try the RESIST next, hoping I like that one better.

  20. LH
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • I really love this SPF cream. I am very dry and it goes on like a very emollient lotion. I let it sit a while, before I put on foundation. Like all mineral SPFs it goes on white, but it does blend in. I am pale skinned and it's not a problem. In fact it seems to add luminosity to my foundation. I could look a bit greasy when it goes on. That fades, but it does leave a dewy look, a bit like some of Paula's photos. It feels great and leaves my skin hydrated all day. This is very very dry skin and might be too creamy for some. I am not sure why it has less SPF than the resist. Both are very good, but have very different textures. The resist is dryer paste like texture. This is creamy. It's thicker then the moisture boost, so you might want to try it out first and get some samples of that and the resist as they feel different. I do notice this has an SPF rating of 15, whereas some of the others have higher SPFs. They all use different combinations of sunscreens too. This has zinc and titanium dioxide.

  21. Marielle
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fabulous moisturizer and sunscreen in one
    • For some reason when the weather gets cooler I need to completely change my skin care routine and include very emolient products. I have been searching for a good daytime sunscreen that provides great moisture and UV protection. This lotion is just great! You can put a lot of it on and it will get absorbed without leaving a white cast or sticky film on the skin. It doesn't have any fragrance. It is great under any kind of makeup as well. The skin feels supple throughout the day. I am extremely diligent about sun protection because my skin is very fair and my cousin died of melanoma at the age of 32. Actually, I am obsessed with sunscreen, so I have tried everything on the market from Burt's Bees to La Mer, but there is nothing like this one!!! However, this product truly is for very dry skin. I would never be able to wear it in the humid summer weather, as it would be too stickly and emolient and I think it would probably make me break out.

  22. Jon
    Reviewed on Friday, August 31, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Remedies dry skin on hairline!
    • The only place I really have dry flaky skin is occasionally the hairline area. It can be stubborn, but one use of this literally in ONE DAY takes it away!! Another stellar product!

  23. Willa
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 26, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Thick
    • I love Paula's products, have used them for many years. Ordered 3 packets of moisturizer with SPF 15. Didn't glide on my face, was too thick and had a hard time smoothing it over my face. I've been using a Neutrogena ( spf) product but wanted to switch over to Paula but it didn't work, darn it! I'll use the remaining packets on my neck area. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. Your feedback will definitely be passed along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. In the meantime Please contact customer care to discuss your skin type and what other options would work better for you. We are happy to help!

  24. Kimberly
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Won't be without
    • This is a great all around moisturizer. It's very moisturizing and sinks in well. AND, did I mention it has great skin care ingredients. The mineral sunscreen is a definite plus, and I find it works great as a sort of primer for your makeup. Keep making it please!

  25. Aloha
    Reviewed on Friday, June 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail!!!
    • I have eczema, seborreic dermatitis, and allergic to chemical sunscreen. I really have no choices. An entire tube was sent to me as a sample and I have not stopped using it since! I have purchased at least 4 tubes. It wears perfectly under make up. As far as shine, that is remedied by powder. This is perfect for my skin type. I couldn't ask for more! Thank you Paula for making such beautiful products at an affordable price.

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 goes above and beyond most moisturizers with sunscreen. It replenishes dry, sensitive skin and ensures a healthy barrier function while protecting from daily sun damage (the cause of wrinkles and brown spots) with gentle mineral sunscreens. Loaded with potent antioxidants, skin-identical ceramides and cell-communicating peptides to restore and help maintain healthy, radiant skin that looks and acts younger. Ideal for those with rosacea and specially designed to be worn under makeup.

This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 is specially formulated for normal to very dry skin. Suitable for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin and ideal for use around the eyes (no need for a separate eye cream).

For use on children less than six months of age, consult a physician.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion with SPF 30

Future Oncology, December 2008, pages 841–856; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 136–149; Pharmazie, January 2008, pages 58–60; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology, and Leprology, March-April 2007, pages 80–85; Journal of Pathology, January 2007, 241–251; Journal of Dermatological Science, September 2006, pages 159–169; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, June 2005, pages 215–223; Journal of Postgraduate Medicine, July 2004, pages 131–139; International Journal of Dermatology, July 2003, page 505; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, January 2002, pages 117–125; and Clinical Experimental Dermatology, October 2001, pages 573–577.

Key Ingredients: zinc oxide, vitamin C, ubiquinone, palmitoyl oligopeptide, superoxide dismutase, hydrogenated lecithin, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, coenzyme Q10, vitamin E, apricot kernel oil, sodium hyaluronate, ceramide 2, Glycine soja sterols, caprylic/capric triglyceride, glycerin, Avena sativa, titanium dioxide, cucumber extract

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 3.85%, Zinc Oxide 3.12% (mineral sunscreens). Other Ingredients: Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener), Isononyl Isononanoate (skin conditioning agent), Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil (non-fragrant emollient plant oil), Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (emollient thickeners), Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol (slip agents), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickening agent), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sterols (antioxidant fatty acid), VP/Eicosene Copolymer (film-forming agent), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Ubiquinone (coenzyme Q10/antioxidant), Ceramide 2, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Allantoin, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritants), PEG-10 Dimethicone (silicone thickener), ), Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredient), Tribehenin (skin conditioning agent), Hydrogenated Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Polysorbate-20 (emulsifier), Glycerin (skin-identical/repairing ingredient), PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol (skin conditioning agent), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient/skin-repairing ingredient), Methicone (silicone slip agent), Cucumis Sativa (Cucumber) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), Alumina, Aluminum Stearate (thickening/opacifying agents), Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Xanthan Gum (thickeners), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Sorbitan Stearate (emulsifier), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally 15 minutes before sun exposure as the last step of your morning skincare routine. Use a water-resistant sunscreen if swimming or sweating. Reapply at least every 2 hours if skin is exposed to sun.

Sun Protection Measures: Spending time in the sun increases your risk of skin cancer and early signs of skin aging. To decrease this risk, regularly use a sunscreen with broad spectrum SPF 15 or higher and other sun protection measures including: limit time in the sun, especially from 10 a.m.–2 p.m.; wear long sleeve shirts, pants, hats, and sunglasses. Children under 6 months: ask a doctor.

Detailed instructions on how and when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

The Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15 is now an SPF 30! Did you change the formula?

No to worry, the formula hasn't changed at all (not even a little bit)! We rested the Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion to comply with the latest FDA regulations. We were thrilled to find out that not only does this sunscreen meet the FDA's new rigorous broad-spectrum protection standards, but also that its mineral-based SPF rating is higher than previous testing revealed. It's the same gentle, daytime moisturizer with sunscreen you've always loved—only now you're getting a greater amount of critical sun protection!

Should I reapply Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than two hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, it should be reapplied. You may also touch up your sun protection by applying a pressed powder with sunscreen, such as Paula's Choice Healthy Finish Pressed Powder SPF 15.

How is Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 different from Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30?

Although both products provide reliable broad-spectrum sun protection, they do so using completely different active ingredients. Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 contains mineral actives (titanium dioxide and zinc oxide) while Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 contains synthetic active ingredients such as avobenzone. Because of this, Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 is preferred for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin. The other notable difference is that Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion with SPF 30 is a more sophisticated formula designed to be used as part of the comprehensive Skin Recovery routine. Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 is a very good daytime moisturizer for those seeking a simpler routine that covers the basics.

How is Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 different from Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25?

Although both products provide reliable broad-spectrum sun protection, the Resist formula contains titanium dioxide as its active ingredient while Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion contains a blend of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. Both formulas contain antioxidants to help defend skin against signs of aging, but each has its own blend. Texture-wise, these two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen are quite similar. Both provide hydration and a silky, radiant finish those with normal to dry or very dry skin will appreciate best.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.330
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.