Items you may also like

Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol

Wrinkles and dry skin, we're through. Wear this silky moisturizing serum morning and evening for younger looking, radiant skin. Taking charge looks great on you.
Item #: 325
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Protects skin from environmental damage

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 177 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 8 Next »
  1. LEH
    Reviewed on Friday, May 03, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Causes bumps for me too
    • I wanted this to work! I've tried it off and on several times. Usually the first time is okay, then the next usage produces bumps on the forehead and chin. I'm 62, so I don't break out normally. I'll try it elsewhere, i.e. neck, etc. .

  2. Adrianne M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    it's fabulous, but not for sensitive skin
    • I finally used a sample of this I had for quite some time. I previously used the Resist Antioxidant Serum. The sample made my skin feel so much better than the Resist, that I had to get the full sized product. Unfortunately, my skin turns red easily and after a few weeks of using this serum, my cheeks would get red and stay red for quite some time. I guess the retinol is too much for my skin. It is very sad because my skin had never felt so fantastic in my life!!

  3. Shelly W
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    And older formula - but still a wonderful formula
    • One of the original formulas for PC on serums - this remains my favorite serum she has. Still a great blend of antioxidents but very moisturizing - you can use this over the top of one the deep exfoliants - before the Skin Recovery Moisturizer OR underneath the Skin Lightening Lotion...it's a great compliment, day or night. The retinol is not too much - even with my rosacea skin - although when I first started using it years ago - it did tingle. One of the PC products goes everywhere with me

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, April 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Wonderful, but not for me alas
    • Lovely, but broke me out, which many things do. There is nothing wrong with the product, but I am the wrong skin type. Too bad. It was lovely to use (honey like texture) and is very moisturizing, where most retinol products are drying. Really helps with fine lines, dry patches and dark spots and brightness and amped up the effects of the Resist AHA combo, which I love. Perfect for those with dry skin that want retinol that won't make them flake.

  5. JAR
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love this serum!
    • i love this serum. i am in my late 20s and wanted to get started on a retinol now to get ahead of the game. this serum feels really really rich. right now i use it just at night and it does the trick.

  6. daniela
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    a must
    • never a problem w this product. i have acne prone, sensitive skin but i can use this all over my face. i was using it only in the eye area for the first few years but now i use it all over the face as well. it absorbs after a few minutes.

  7. Andrea M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Elated!!
    • I can't say enough good things about this product!!

  8. Cailey A.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Nice texture, but not right for my skin
    • I loved this serum's silky texture and its effect on my dry skin, but it definitely was not what I needed in my acne-prone areas. It made my driest areas--cheeks, nose, skin around and between eyebrows--very smooth. But after just one application of a very small amount of product, my forehead, chin, and jawline all broke out. It's almost worth it for the softer skin elsewhere, but not quite. Thankfully, I just had the sample size. I recommend this for anyone with normal/dry, acne-resistant skin

  9. Ingrid K.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very rich and moisturizing
    • I am new to PC products and so far satisfied with the results. I have very dry and dehydrated skin, but this product is so rich that it took me couple of times to figure out the amount needed. I accustomed to more liquid silicon based serums,so this oil rich product is new version of serum for me. If too much is applied it gives a greasy sticky feel. Little goes long way,so just couple of dots needed to cover full face,but once is fully set it gives amazing smooth base for makeup.

  10. AMANDA S.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 11, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not great
    • I have normal to dry skin and decided to try this serum because I was looking for an antioxidant product to add to my routine. As soon as I apply this serum my face feels hot and gets slightly red. I figured it was no big deal since it calmed after a bit and so I kept using it. Unfortunately, since incorporating this serum, I wake up with an "irritated" face, redness, and small bumps everywhere. Mostly on my cheeks and jawline. I have sensitive skin so I guess this is just too much for me.

  11. MINDY M
    Reviewed on Friday, March 01, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    A bit too rich for my Normal Skin
    • It took me a while to start using this product after ordering. I wanted to use up my other products - A separate vit. c serum and retinol pads. Now that I've been using for a few weeks I've found the only area I can use is around the eyes, which I guess is OK but I wanted for my face too- but simply too much for normal skin.. I'm getting small bumps. I can't give this a bad rating- good for very dry skin I bet. I need to look into a lighter formula. I LOVE Paula's AHA though. None better!

  12. LISA M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My skin has never felt or looked better!
    • Love this! Since turning 40, this was the first time I started seeing fine wrinkles and dry skin... winter has been a killer. But after sampling this, then purchasing... I can honestly say after 2 weeks my skin has improved and wrinkles are less noticable - I am happy to say I have been using Paula's brand for nine years now... and will never use anything else! Thanks again - great team and effort!

  13. butterfingers
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    my skin has never felt this soft!
    • I only got this as a sample but OH. MY. GOD. Soooooo amazing on my skin. It felt soft instantly and just touching it makes me tingly. It's that soft. I woke up glowing. Might be from happiness of touching such soft skin. I'm getting a full size as soon as this goes on sale!

  14. Naapio
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My skin loves this
    • My skin loves this serum. It has a slightly slimy gel-like, silky texture that is a breeze to apply and does not irritate my skin at all. I'm going through my second tube and will have to order a new one soon because I started using it twice a day recently. My skin tone has evened out, dry patches bother me much less than before and the few lines I had are less noticeable. I think it helps my moisturizers work better too, because I've avoided most of the usual dryness issues I have especialy during winter time after I started applying the serum under my day moisturizer as well. Thanks Paula :)

  15. LYNETTE M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite
    • I like this serum lots. I will be turning 62 this year & I believe it helps my skin stay nice. Of course there are wrinkles, but not over powering. I love the texture of the serum & is not harsh on my sensitive skin. And I also use Paula's SPF moisturizer for protection.

  16. JUDY P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    The only one
    • Let me start by saying that I have used many of Paula's products in the last year or so and have loved every one of them! I am now awaiting my (I believe) 4th order. I like to use different products depending on how my skin feels on any given day. So far I have had no problem with this and in fact at almost 60 my skin has never looked better.. Unfortunately this serum is the only one my skin does react to. After using it and it doesn't matter matter whether I use it at night or in the morning within about 8 hours my skin is red and splotchy. I use the other products in this line successfully ..sadly I have to give this product 1 star but the rest absolutely deserve 5!! If you guys have any suggestion how I might try this again be sure and let me know. Thanks for making amazing products !

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, January 28, 2013
    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. If you would like to discuss other serum options that may be better suited for your particular skin, we are more than happy to help and can arrange to have samples right away.
    —-Customer Care
  17. McKat
    Reviewed on Friday, January 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great results!
    • Into my thirties I had more combination skin, fair with occasional breakouts and sensitivity. I had great success with Paula's Choice products geared to those issues. Now in my mid forties, I am beginning to have some areas of dry skin, so I decided to try the skin recovery serum. While this serum seems slightly heavier in texture than the others from Paula's Choice, I find that it absorbs well and fairly quickly. A better word for the texture may be rich. After months of use I have not noticed more breakouts or skin sensitivity, something that has occurred when I have tried products from other brands. I notice improved skin texture, brightening, and lightening of hyperpigmentation when I use it regularly. I would recommend it for anyone who needs a step us from lighter serums--I am glad I tried it!

  18. Jenny H.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 31, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for My Cranky Skin
    • I’ve tried all of Paula’s antioxidant formulas (except for the newest Resist water-based), and this one works perfectly on the non-oily portions of my easily irritated, sensitive face. I’ve used it twice/day all year round for several years now. I am thrilled that my skin will tolerate the retinol in it and reap its benefits. The texture is oily, but it absorbs quickly at night, and never breaks me out. In the AM, my sunscreen blends well with it, and the combo is a smooth base for my foundation. I look forward to trying the new water-based formula for my oilier areas but will continue using this one as long as it’s available. Thank you, Paula, for your hard work! This one's a winner!

  19. Mandie R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 29, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for me!
    • I love this product super smooth my make up goes on like a dream. Tube lasts while, it will forever be part of my routine

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 27, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    finally!
    • This is the first time I have ever submitted a review for anything, but that's how much I love this serum. I have eczema around my eyes and it has plagued me for years. I have tried everything! I saw all sorts of medical doctors and even alternative medicine specialists. I have tried every possible prescription and over the counter option, including some wacky ones I found on the internet. Then a friend (who's also a licensed esthetician) recommended this product. I use it morning and night fairly religiously and it has kept my eczema at bay for well over a year. If I get lazy and go a few days without it, I can tell and it just reinforces my appreciation for finally finding something that works. Thank you, Paula!

  21. Emily
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 13, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Breaks Me Out
    • I know this was supposed to be more moisturizing than the others, but I was concerned about some of the other ingredients in the other serums aggravating my eczema. Bottom line, I can't put this anywhere on my face besides my eye area. And when I use it for longer than a few days in a row, it breaks me out there as well. I really want to find a Paula's Choice routine that entirely works for my acne-prone skin, and also addresses anti-aging, but sadly I haven't found it. I've been using PC for over ten years, mostly just basic cleansers, BHA gel (which I love), and the Non-Greasy sunscreen. But I'm starting to see signs of aging and want to do a little more. Not sure how to proceed and the RESIST line confuses me! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. If you would like to contact customer care we would be happy to discuss your routine, make some product suggestions and have samples sent out for you to try. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions, we are always happy to help.

  22. Heidi H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good under the eyes
    • I like this product for under my eyes, but when I use it anywhere else, it causes me bad break outs. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. A lighter serum would be the best option for you. Please contact customer care so that we may discuss your skin type and suggest the best products for you to try.

  23. Nicola
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    2 years on, we're still inseparable
    • I just realised, as I placed my latest PC order, that I've been using this serum for two years now. In fact, it was this little tube of magic that started my love affair with PC products. This stuff works. I can tell, because every morning, I dispense a little bit of this serum (and then my PC Skin recovery SPF 15) onto the back of my left hand, before applying. I can hold my hands up now and see the difference. Smooth, firm, young-looking skin. But I could care less about my hands. The real proof is the reduction I've seen in the creases on my forehead and around my mouth. I might not be able to rewind years of sun damage, but at least this serum hits the pause button! I no longer have to put up with dull, rough, scaly patches, creases in my foundation, broken capillaries, or bags under my eyes.

  24. M
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 11, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    skin prone to breakouts? def. not this one
    • For dryness it works wonderfully, but for people with skin prone to breakouts? I would never recommend this one. At first I read all the reviews here and thought I would be different lol well I was not. plus, I only get mild breakouts so this WILL cause you breakouts. I have been looking for a product that does not cause me any breakouts anymore AT ALL(bcuz i only get few) but this is def not the one. I will return. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. This serum does have a more moisturizing texture as it is designed for dry to very dry skin. It can be difficult to determine why your skin responded negatively to this product, even a well formulated product could cause someone to have a slight reaction. Depending on your skin type, it may be best to try something lighter such as the Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum or the Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. We are happy to send you samples of these to try. In the meantime we encourage you to contact customer care so we can discuss your routine and how the product was being used.

  25. Karla
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 18, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Packaging
    • Love the product so far. Won't know how good it works until I've used it for a year. Only problem is that, because the tube is opaque, I can't see how much product I have used so I can reorder early enough. Can't always order two at once. Would be nice if it came in a clearer tube. Also love the fact that PC products are not tested on animals. Thanks. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. The ingredients in all the products especially these potent serums are very sensitive to the light and air and lose their potency when repeatedly being exposed which is why we do have to use opaque packaging in order to ensure the stability of the ingredients. With the serums if you use a pea-sized amount it will generally last 2-3 months and you can sometimes get a better idea by the weight of the product, once it starts to feel lighter it may be time to replenish your stock. We will certainly pass along your feedback and comments to Paula and her Packaging Manager. In the meantime feel free to contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help!

« Prev Page of 8 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with retinol is salvation for dry, dehydrated skin. It contains a potent blend of antioxidants, cell-communicating ingredients, plant oils and anti-irritants. Each of these works quickly to revitalize lackluster skin so it can look and act healthier and younger. This elegant formula provides a barrier to help protect skin from everyday environmental damage. Your skin will be looking and feeling more radiant than you ever thought possible!

This serum is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is formulated for normal to very dry/dehydrated skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; and Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprolology, January-February 2010, pages 20-26; Talanta, December 2009, pages 924-934; Toxicology Mechanisms and Methods, September 2009, pages 447–460; International Journal for Vitamin and Nutrition Research, May 2009, pages 152–165; Journal of Medicinal Food, April 2009, pages 429-434; Archives of Dermatological Research, August 2009, pages 487–495; Cell Biology and Toxicology, March 2009, Epublication; Molecules, January 2009, pages 540–554; Archives of Physiology and Biochemistry, April 2008, pages 127–149; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; General Physiology and Biophysics, June 2007, pages 97-103; Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606-612; International Journal of Toxicology, Volume 24, supplement 2, 2005, pages 51-111; Experimental Dermatology, September 2005, pages 684-691; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 799-804; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156-1162; Cosmetic Dermatology, supplement, Revisiting Retinol, January 2005, pages 1-20; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, November-December 2004, pages 298-303; BMC Dermatology, September 2004, page 13; and International Journal of Dermatology, August 2004, pages 604-607.

Key Ingredients: skin-repairing ingredients, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, adenosine , tocotrienols, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, bisabolol, vitamin C, vitamin E, tocopherol, soy oil, retinol, Rubus idaeus, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, curcumin, cell-communicating ingredients, chamomile, olive oil/olive fruit oil, grape seed extract, evening primrose oil, green tea, antioxidant, Arctostaphylos uva ursi leaf

Product Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (plant oil/antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Retinol (antioxidant/cell-communicating ingredient), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Astaxanthin (Haematococcus Pluvialis) Extract, Tocotrienols (antioxidants),  Adenosine(cell-communicating ingredient), Tetrahydromethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane (curcumin-derived antioxidants), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed  Extract (antioxidants/anti-irritants), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Arctostaphylos Uva-Ursi Leaf Extract (non-volatile plant extract), Stearyl Dimethicone (silicone skin-conditioning agent), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Seed Oil, Vaccinium Myrtillus (Bilberry) Seed Oil, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil (plant oils/antioxidants), SD-Alcohol 40 (solvent). 

DIRECTIONS: Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum can be used once or twice daily, as desired. It functions beautifully as a foundation primer. After cleansing, toning, and exfoliating, smooth a few drops onto face, neck, and eye area before moisturizing (or use alone). For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Which Paula's Choice serum should I use?

All skin types can use any of our serum and each provides multiple anti-aging benefits, but there are some formulary distinctions that make certain Paula's Choice serums preferred for specific skin types. Here's how they break down:
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum can be used by all skin types, including sensitive skin. The Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Serum contains the highest amount of retinol.
  • Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin because it contains plant oils.
  • Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for normal to oily or combination or breakout-prone skin because it has the lightest texture and weightless finish.
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is one of two Paula’s Choice serums that does not contain retinol. It’s the natural choice for anyone whose skin cannot tolerate retinol.
  • Resist Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum has the lightest texture of all the Resist serums and is our only water-based (rather than silicone-based) serum. It does not contain retinol, so is recommended for those whose skin cannot tolerate this ingredient (or it may be used with one of our retinol serums).

How does the Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum differ from the other retinol products Paula’s Choice offers?

Formulated especially for dry, sensitive skin, Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is loaded with skin-defending antioxidants, reparative plant oils, anti-irritants, retinol. Those with dry, sensitive skin should always begin with lower levels of retinol and see how their skin responds before moving to higher amounts.

The percentage of retinol needed for efficacy is generally between 0.01% and 1%, which is quite a range, but further proof of just how powerful retinol is! For more on percentages of retinol in Paula’s Choice products, see our article Which Strength of Retinol Do I Need?

All of these products may be used with Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum or on their own, as each treats skin to a beneficial range of anti-aging ingredients.

What does this product do?

The primary purpose of Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate is to supply the skin with a selection of effective and potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. It has a silky silicone base that efficiently delivers the antioxidants into the top layers of skin and helps enhance the product's stability.

I use a prescription product with tretinoin (i.e. Retina-A, Renova, Tazorac). Since Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate Serum contain retinol, is it OK to combine them?

We are not aware of any contraindications surrounding the use of tretinoin and retinol and believe this combination is beneficial to skin. Because this question concerns a prescription drug, we recommend consulting your physician and following his or her advice.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my serum again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a serum, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your serum again as soon as possible. All of our serums contain skin-repairing, anti-inflammatory, and replenishing ingredients that calm reddened skin and help enhance the healing process. Make sure you're also protecting your "new" skin every day with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Is Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this serum will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.351 11/21/2014 10:44:04 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.