Smooth Finish Conditioner

Smooth Finish Conditioner

Frizz and gnarly tangles, you’re under control. Ease this lightweight, creamy formula into wet hair. Presto! Smooth, shiny hair.
Item #: 520
  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin
  • For All Skin Types
  • Doubles as a shaving cream
  • Great for sensitive skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Smooth Finish Conditioner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 86 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. ES
    Reviewed on Friday, January 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    If you like this conditioner...
    • FYI, Paula's FACIAL pump works with this bottle.

  2. Anna
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My long hair feels amazing!
    • I love this!! I only have to use a very small amount, and my hair is so soft. I love trying lots of different types of shampoos and conditioners, even the expensive salon brands. I have been astounded, My hair is silky smooth, with no usual flyaways or my usual slight waves. My hair looks like I got it straightened, but it's not weighed down! I don't mind that it doesn't have a fragrance, now my perfume doesn't have to compete with another smell. It is pricier than grocery store brands, but not as expensive as salon brands. So I will definitely be buying again! I wish Paula would come out with a hair mask, for added shine or moisturization though.

  3. Lori
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 13, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love it too!
    • this makes my hair look & feel so healthy. I have thin, poker-straight fine hair. lightweight, rinses nicely. not heavy. my hair even looked great the next day. perfect! didn't even miss that it wasn't fragranced.

  4. Francie
    Reviewed on Monday, September 12, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    tres bon
    • Very luxurious! Conditioner is conditioner, to be sure, but I enjoy supporting Paula's business. Give it a try!

  5. Melissa
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 23, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE
    • This is the best conditioner I have ever used! My hair is shoulder length, fine and oily and this product is absolutely perfect for me. It never weighs my hair down, rinses off easily, and leaves my hair silky all day. I just wish it had some fragrance. The bottle lasts forever too.

  6. ash
    Reviewed on Monday, August 08, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Interesting
    • As a conditioner this does not work on my coarse thick hair - it even makes it feel more dry. However, as a cleansing conditioner this works really well. I skip shampooing and just use a handful of this to wash my hair and end up with clean moisturized shiny hair. I recently watched a commercial for wen and thought hmmmmm let me see if i could do the same thing with paula's conditioner. I don't know but its been working and my scalp feels clean and not greasy at all.

  7. Claire
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 31, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Steadily Improving the Texture of My Hair
    • This is as great a hair conditioner as it is a shaving cream! I have very brittle hair due to a medication I am on and my hair is very damaged, dry, and steel wool feeling. I am impressed with its ability to soften my hair without leaving it greasy. Tip: if your hair is very damaged or brittle, you have to use quite a bit to see a difference. I use a half-dollar sized amount and leave it on my entire shower. I also don't rinse it out all the way. This is the only conditioner that hasn't given me bacne.

  8. SBA
    Reviewed on Friday, March 18, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Just what I've ALWAYS needed!
    • I'd been searching for a conditioner that works well with my hair for over 20 years.I have no scalp sensitivities, dandruff, etc. but I use this conditioner because it is the best for my hair. I've tried been torturing my fine, wavy/curly, dry, hair since I was 13 years old (and I'm now 45), always loving to change hair colors, even getting my naturally brown-black hair blonde a couple of times...Before I found this conditioner often my hair kind of looked like a strange steel wool hat. I don't want to wear it short, but I was beginning to think I'd have to chop it off. This conditioner greatly improves the look and feel of my hair by adding silkiness, shine, and body. The shine is unbelievable, and people always compliment its radiance. I share this conditioner with my 3 year old daughter and she has the shiniest, softest, bouncy curls I've ever seen.

  9. Johnny
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 21, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A Must!
    • Gotta have this too! I use it as a leave in conditioner after I color my hair...I just love how it is not greasy at all. My hair always feels like silk.

  10. Melissa
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 29, 2010
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good conditioner
    • I had a hard time finding hair products after I developed my frangrance allergy and the shampoo was a life-saver, but I'm not crazy about this conditioner. It's a little lighter than I like. I have pretty oily hair, but the ends sometimes get a little dry. This conditioner doesn't really seem heavy enough for me to feel like it's protecting my hair from split ends. On the other hand it's by far the best I've found without fragrance.

  11. Wilson
    Reviewed on Friday, August 27, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very Good Shaving Cream
    • I really recommend this product for shaving! It makes your razor glide freely and conditions the skin at the same time. I like this much better than the gel.

  12. Mary-Ellin
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 22, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!
    • Love this product. It's a little on the expensive side (I usually use conditioners from Pantene), but I'll likely order it again because it's so effective. I use a small amount on my toddler's hair, since it gets so tangled otherwise. I've also used it as a shaving cream. Well done!

  13. Lorie B.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 07, 2010
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Lorie Borges
    • I really hoped that I had found a good unscented conditioner. But this made my hair feel more dry and damaged each time I used it. Should have ordered the sample size. My bad.Customer Care Response: We are sorry to hear about your experience with this item. Please contact our Customer Service team for further return or exchange assistance.

  14. jacqui
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 10, 2010
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Does nothing for me
    • I usually love your products Paula, but this conditioner does nothing for my hair. I preserved thinking it would work better after a few weeks and I even had 3 inches cut off my hair in that time thinking maybe my hair just needed a good trim. But this conditioner leaves my hair feeling so porous, I can barely get a brush/comb through it. I guess I'll give it to hubby to use as shaving gelCustomer Care Response: We are sorry to hear about your experience with this product. While we do not have another conditioner option to offer Paula recommends many on beautypedia.com.

  15. Leeanne M.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 26, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great conditioner!
    • The other day I was in the shower and realized I was completely out of my regular hair conditioner. Luckily I remembered I had an unopened sample of Paula's conditioner from a previous order I had placed. I was so pleased with the results after just one use! For some reason my hair styled much more nicer than usual (I have long thick layered hair) and when I got to school people in my class noticed the difference in my hair and I got some nice compliments. I will be ordering this conditioner on my next order. Can't wait to try more of Paula's products!

  16. Lori
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 15, 2009
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Seborrheic Dermatitis is gone!
    • Having tried every smelly, harsh, medicine-like shampoo on the market for my seborrheic dermatitis, I was VERY skeptical about this working when I read other reviews about how it helped their SD. So I bought a few samples and was absolutely amazed at how it was simply gone after ONE time of using the shampoo and conditioner! ONCE! That's it! I ordered my full bottles the next day and have thrown away my T-Gel, H&S and Selsun Blue - which was drying my hair out SO badly! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for saving my hair. xoxoxox

  17. Jamie H.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 23, 2009
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Outstanding Multitasking Product
    • WOW!!! Excellent fragrance free conditioner that leaves hair soft. It also doubles as a shave cream. Two great products for the price of one!

  18. Elizabeth
    Reviewed on Friday, July 17, 2009
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good conditioner
    • I am not sure why some reviewers found this conditioner thin. I think it's medium-thick, personally. Similar to Finesse, which is very good, but PC's is fragrance-free, which I need. I was very impressed. It left my hair silky-soft. I have thick, blonde, highlighted wavy hair. It might be too heavy for people with fine and/or thin hair. I found it took quite a bit of rinsing to get this out. But it is the best of fragrance-free conditioners on the market, IMO.

  19. donna p.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 11, 2009
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    condtioner
    • your conditioner is superb, I have thickishcoarse, colour tortured hair, wavey..conditioner is amazing, I use a lot but very worth it, the shine is amazing,I leave in always after showering as a finishing product. Thank you

  20. Alison
    Reviewed on Friday, April 24, 2009
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Geat Conditioner for Course, Curly Hair.
    • I normally use Bumble and Bumble Creme De Coco. It really stands up to my hair and I love the smell but your product is a great alternative. It's actually the best I've used that wasn't a 'salon' only brand. I do agree that maybe it could be a bit thicker, but it is wonderful and doesn't have a really perfume-y smell that many drugstore brands have. I love that it is essentially half the price of my B&B and you get almost twice as much. I have noticed though that it is so smooth and sleek that I have almost slipped in the shower after conditioning my hair!

  21. TR
    Reviewed on Monday, April 13, 2009
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good but not ideal for all hair types
    • I am a big fan of Paula's Choice products, but I have to agree that this conditioner is not ideal for all hair types. I have thick, coarse, dry hair that needs a lot of moisture. I would love to see a thicker and richer formula added to this line. I would also love to see a leave-in product that detangles and protects against heat.

  22. Robin H.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 06, 2009
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good but not ideal for all hair types
    • I'll admit, I just reordered this product for the third or fourth time. I really like it. The only issue for me is that I have extremely thick, semi-coarse, curly, dryish hair, and I have to handfuls of this in order for it to work for me. I know that the instructions say to use more for my hair type, but it doesn't seem fair that I have to go through a bottle 5 times as fast just because of my hair type. I would really love to see a second formula that is thicker and richer (even a bit of oil would be welcome). It seems the current product really caters to normal to fine hair. It's not an ideal one-size-fits-all option.

  23. Donna P.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 15, 2009
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love Smooth Finish Conditioner
    • I've got to say that I love this conditoner. It really leaves my hair feeling really smooth and silky. My hair responds very well to this product. Doesn't weigh it down at all. I color my hair and both products All Over Body Shampoo and Smooth Finish Conditioner are my one and only choice for me.

  24. Amy
    Reviewed on Friday, February 13, 2009
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amy
    • This is the only conditioner I use. It does double duty on vacation when I also use it as a shaving cream to shave my legs.

  25. Cecily
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 23, 2008
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    One of a kind conditioner
    • My scalp is itchy when i use other hair products in the market, except this one. I use it with Paula's Choice Body and Hair shampoo, and it's wonderful. I use it to condition the dry skin area on my body during shower too. It is lovely. Thanks.

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Precious few truly fragrance-free conditioners exist, so this one-of-a-kind, state-of-the-art conditioner works brilliantly for any hair type but is especially helpful for those with sensitivity to fragrance. Our savvy formula puts Smooth Finish Conditioner in a league of its own. The non-irritating base works as a daily moisturizing and detangling conditioner that leaves even highly-textured, coarse hair looking soft, shiny, and manageable. The silky texture makes it easy to apply and distribute through wet hair and rinses easily so hair never feels limp or greasy. Ideal for those with sensitive, itchy scalps.

This product is 100% fragrance-and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Smooth Finish Conditioner is recommended for all hair types.

Sources to support the claims made for Smooth Finish Conditioner

Journal of Cosmetic Science, Volume 55, Supplement, 2004, pages S133–S141; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, December 1999, page 1020;  Encyclopedia of Conditioning Rinse  Ingredients, Hunting, Anthony, Micelle Press, 1987, pages 147–148 and 400–401; and Conditioning Agents for Hair and Skin, Schueller, Randy and Romanowski, Perry, Volume 21, 1999, pages 281–288.

Key Ingredients: cyclopentasiloxane, hydrolyzed wheat protein, cetyl alcohol, panthenol, phenyl trimethicone

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cetyl Alcohol (non-drying, fatty alcohol/moisturizing agent), Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone conditioning agent), Behentrimonium Chloride (anti-static hair conditioning agent), Stearyl Alcohol (non-drying, fatty alcohol/thickener), Phenyl Trimethicone (silicone smoothing agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent/water-binding agent), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein (water-binding/conditioning agent), Glycol Stearate (thickener), Polyquaternium-10 (thickener), Sorbic Acid, Citric Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (all preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: After shampooing, apply conditioner, focusing on the dry parts of your scalp and hair. Leave on for 1-2 minutes, then rinse well. For dry, coarse hair that needs deeper conditioning, leave on hair for as long as possible. May be used as a leave-in conditioner.

How much Smooth Finish Conditioner should I use per application?

That all depends on your hair length and texture. If you have short hair that is fine or thin, use less and avoid the root areas. If you have normal hair (not fine or thin but not thick or coarse) use slightly more. Thick, coarse, or curly hair can use a generous amount. Experimentation will tell you which amount is best for your hair's texture and condition.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.