Hair & Body Shampoo

All Over Hair & Body Shampoo

I love double-duty beauty. Shampoo that works for your hair and as an all-over body wash. You can even use the rich lather on kids and babies.
Item #: 500
  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Keratosis Pilaris
  • For All Skin Types
  • Great for color-treated hair and extra-sensitive skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

All Over Hair & Body Shampoo

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 218 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. MARILYN
    Reviewed on Friday, March 29, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    product great, packaging not so much
    • Took off a star for the packaging. I've been using this product for years, but with the new bottle, the hole is a little too big. If I'm awake and thinking about it, no problem, but every once in a while I forget and I get a an ounce of shampoo in my hand. There isn't any way to remove the lid, so if I have a travel size container handy I'll try to put some of the excess in there to save it.

  2. MICHAL S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Bigger bottle please!
    • This is the best everyday shampoo out there. There are so few products that are unscented and do such a good job on skin and hair. It is the only one I've found that doesn't irritate any part of my body. I really really want it to come in a large bottle with a big pump (in addition to the regular size).

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, March 22, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not as good as the old formula
    • I LOVED the old formula for the shampoo and conditioner. And I very much like other PC products. I was so disappointed to try out the new shampoo and conditioner and find that I couldn't even get the comb through my hair after washing/conditioning. And, it left my hair feeling/looking like straw. The other shampoo.conditioner was great. Wish it hadn't changed. It's very difficult to find fragrance free products that are good. I'd be quite happy if you brought the old product back.

  4. Carolyn W.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 18, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It does clean
    • It does clean. Not much lather, but does clean the hair..]

  5. Tara
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love Love Love
    • I will be the first to admit that the negative reviews worried me when I placed my order. I also have very fine, long, color treated hair. This product is better than the old version. My scalp doesn't itch (seborrheic dermatitis) and my skin doesn't itch either. I kept my old bottle just in case but was able to trash it because it came out of the bottle fine... Absolutely love it!! The ONLY complaint would be the smaller bottle.... Oh yeah, it lathers great if you put it on a pouffie doo.. lol

  6. Susie C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A Shower Essential
    • Sometimes I get breakouts on my upper back, chest, and shoulders. I had been using this shampoo for my hair on and off and finally made the connection that the breakouts are in the areas that the shampoo lather dripped onto because I don't get them if I use this shampoo. That's the main reason I use it, but I really like what it does for my hair, too.

  7. Rebecca
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great!
    • I love this! Cleans well, rinses easily, no sticky-sweet smell. It cleans so well without drying that this is an ideal clarifying shampoo. It's pricey for me (which is why I don't use it all over my body), but it does work great as a body wash too. It's also gentle enough to use as a facial cleanser in shower, if you're a little lazy in morning like me. It doesn't sting your eyes at all, so I'd suggest it to parents as a baby shampoo as well, since most of them are so highly fragranced!

  8. Kimberly K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm not itchy anymore!
    • I have had chronic eczema for most of my adult life and it's especially bad in the winter. Since I started using Paula's Hair and Body Shampoo my eczema has completely cleared up--not a bit anywhere-- and I am no longer itchy and uncomfortable! I rarely even need to use moisturizer (although when I do Paula's Slip Into Silk is wonderful and non-irritating). I am so glad I found this--I don't think I will ever use anything else!

  9. lisa p.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love this as a body wash!
    • I love this product! I don't use at as a shampoo because my hair is extremely short and I use Pantene with no issues. BUT it is a wonderful body wash! It leaves my skin moisturized and non-itchy; I don't even need to aply lotion after using this! So far I've tried almost all of the Resist line and with this product I am thrilled to be using Paula's Choice!

  10. SARAH P.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 04, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not so pleased with the new formula...
    • I hate to leave a negative review, and in fact it took me a long time to figure out why my hair was so dull, flat, and dry because I never changed my shampoo, believe there was NO way it could be attributed to a Paula product... however, I recently got a sample of a new type of shampoo from my salon and when I started using it, I immediately noticed an improvement in my hair: in the volume, the shine, and the softness, and now I'm afraid that Paula's shampoo was the culprit. I still think it's a decent option for most, but my hair is fine and dry and it just doesn't seem to be working for me... Also, I don't love the packaging---sometimes I use it to wash my bangs and just want a small amount, but it oozes or spurts out of the bottle very easily, dispensing a huge amount of product. I've washed so much down the drain because of this. This is one PC product that just may not be for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Sunday, February 10, 2013
    Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback regarding the formula and packaging with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. If you have any further questions or concerns please contact customer care and we are more than happy to assist you.
    —-Customer Care
  11. Susan
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Prefer previous packaging
    • The reformulated body wash/shampoo works well for me. What I don't like is the new bottle. It is hard to dispense the product without spearing it around on the lid. I really wish you would consider going back to the old bottle design.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to share your comments with Paula and her Product Development Manager. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact customer care. We are always happy to help!
    —-Customer Care
  12. JENNIFER
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    The flip side
    • While I have full confidence in the formula for this product (as I do with all PC products), I have to say I was disappointed. I had tried it before many years ago and didn't like it, but wanted to try it again since being reformulated. Unlike the many others who have clearly had a great experience with this product, it just doesn't work well for me. I'm suffering from serious dry scalp at the moment due to winter conditions and switching to this shampoo brought back the flakes with avengence! I had to switch back to my Neutrogena T-gel within days. I figured I'd just use it as a body wash but the product is so difficult to spread (doesn't lather enough) that I end up using way too much for a single use. I love that its unscented, but so is my standby Dove unscented body wash. Too bad. I'm still a fan for life though! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. We do wish this could have been a better fit for you, however we understand that this product may not work the same for everyone. If you have any questions or need assistance please feel free to contact customer care, we are always happy to help!

  13. LORRAINE k.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for keeping my hair color
    • I've been using this as a shampoo for over a decade. It's the only thing that doesn't strip the dye from my hair. Happily, the new formula seems to work just as well as the old. It also works great as a body gel. My yougest child and I have extremely sensitive skin. We're always trying something new, mainly for the enticing scents, but we end up back with this wonderful product. I would not trade this for anything.

  14. Sara
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good for you body, but harsh for thin, fine hair
    • I have sensitive skin, and the formula is still fine for my skin. While I am not crazy about how quickly it runs out of the bottle and it is a bit messy, it feels fine. The old formula was perfect for my hair. I never had to use a separate shampoo. Unfortunately, when I used the new formula, my hair felt very dry, and I had to leave conditioner in for a while. This is the first time in years that I bought shampoo from my salon after I got my hair colored. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback. We do wish the new formula was a better fit for your hair and will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. We would like to mention that we have recently added some tips and information on Hair Care to our website, under the Expert Advice tab. While we do not have specific hair care reviews, we do hope this will prove helpful to you. If you have any questions or concerns please contact customer care. We are always happy to help!

  15. Nati
    Reviewed on Monday, December 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great shampoo
    • I have been using this shampoo for years to wash my hair. I really think the reformulation is better. Thanks Paula!

  16. JUDI H.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Old formula better
    • I prefer the old formula. The new formula leaves my hair stiff and dry feeling. It may be the protein in this formula and the absence of some of the conditioning agents that were in the old one. How nice it would be to have the option of both formulas to choose from!

  17. Susan P.
    Reviewed on Friday, December 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    New formula has won me over
    • I left a review for the old formula back in March of this year, saying that it didn't work out for me because it didn't seem to rinse very well and gave me a rash, but that I would continue to buy it for my daughter, who has no problems with it and loves it. Well, when I purchased another bottle for her recently, I noticed that the formula had changed and decided to give it another try. The new formula seems to rinse much more easily and, so far, no rashes! Better yet, this may be the best facial cleanser for my winter-dry skin. Usually, I love the PC Skin Balancing Cleanser, but every winter it makes my skin too dry and tight. I've tried 2 other PC cleansers, Moisture Boost was too rich and caused break outs, and Hydralight wasn't cleansing enough. This cleanser, even though it's supposed to be a hair & body shampoo, seems to be the perfect balance of being cleansing enough but not too drying for my "winter face." My only complaint is with the new packaging. The wider cap tends to pour out too much and is difficult to keep clean, so I've been transferring the product to a different bottle. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear the new formula works better for you! We will certainly note and pass along your feedback about the cap to our Packaging Manager. Please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  18. ash
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Interesting....
    • OK, at first even before I tried the new formula I judged it as being a FAIL just based on the ingredients they took out of the original. I have been using the new formula now for a week and well I should have just trusted Paula's Choice. This new formula actually leaves my coarse, thick, long hair in better condition than the original did, and it really does leave my skin and hair feeling like silk! Also, for some reason I realized that I must have been allergic to something in the original formula because my scalp would get a little itchy with it, but with the new formula my scalp doesn't itch at ALL. I do still however think the packaging color needs to be more neutral, and the bottle cap could use a little work to help dispense it better. I really wish Paula's Choice would create an entire hair care line!!! I have mentioned this for the last decade, and while they state they would like to focus on skin care, hair care is also skin care as evident by the reviews below. People suffer with dry scalp, dandruff, seborrheic dermatitis, etc and need specific hair care products to suit those needs. Please consider adding some more shampoos and at least another conditioner (more emollient one please) to the line! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will certainly pass your feedback and suggestions along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact customer care anytime. We are always happy to help!

  19. Margaret
    Reviewed on Friday, November 23, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not impressed with formula change
    • When I first tried the new formula I noticed the difference immediately. I have very fine hair and assumed a lighter formula would certainly suit my hair type. NOT SO. The old formula left my fine hair feeling soft, thick and bouncy. The new formula leaves it dry, dull and no volume to it whatsoever. If I have fine hair and I don't care for the results, I am wondering what hair type the new formula was made for? Not only do I have fine hair, but I have suffered extreme hair loss due to surgery and the original formula left my hair full enough to hardly notice - even the doctors did not notice. I don't care for the new packaging, but then again I never bought Paula's products for pretty packaging, I was buying what was in the bottle(or what wasn't in the bottle ie. fragrance, etc.) I really wish Paula would reconsider and bring back the old formula for all of the abandoned customers who were so happy with a product that was TRULY an all hair and body type product. Interestingly, I also have noticed some itchy skin also as a result of the change, particularly on my neck with a return to eczema patches that haven't been there for years. Please bring back the original! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you are not thrilled with the new formula. We value all comments, positive or negative, regarding our products and it was customers like you that gave us the feedback which resulted in the new version of the shampoo and conditioner. Paula's Choice will always use ingredients proven exceptionally beneficial for the skin, and the former emollients were removed due to the significant number of requests we received for a lighter formula. The new emollients we have selected are different, and allow for a silkier feel on the hair. We realize any change to a formula will invariably disappoint some, and we are sorry this was not a fit for you. For that reason, we stand behind our money back guarantee. We applied an in-house credit to your account. This credit can be applied to a future order by contacting customer care. In the meantime consider checking out Paula's radio show and signing up for the free emails for information regarding other hair care products to consider trying. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  20. L
    Reviewed on Monday, November 19, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Still a 5 star formula, 1 star packaging.
    • The formula still works great, but I am also disappointed by the packaging. The problem I have is that the dispensing hole is WAY too large; I get too much product out no matter what I do.Still a 5 star formula, 1 star packaging. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback. The new design was created to be easier to use, as well as having a clear color distinction between the shampoo and conditioner. These changes were due to many factors, including customer feedback from alternate packaging we considered. We will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. If you have any questions or concerns please contact customer care, we are happy to help.

  21. Ariell
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • I made a review not too long ago about how much I disliked the old version. It left my scalp burning and itchy. This one does not do that at all. It lathers very well and gets the hair clean without leaving that stripped feeling. I'm pleased with the changes.

  22. Leslie
    Reviewed on Monday, November 12, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great for sensitive skin
    • I bought this for my daughter whose skin reacts to everything. She was using Cetaphil as a body wash. It worked but wasn't exactly great for a luxurious shower. I thought we'd give Paula's body wash a try and she loves it. I gave it a 4 because she hasn't tried it as a shampoo. She has a lot of hair and this would be too costly for that.

  23. Janie
    Reviewed on Monday, November 12, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    The change was not good
    • I have used the hair and body shampoo for years and it was the only thing that cleared up a long standing flaky, itchy scalp. I have very fine hair and it made my hair have body and shine. I get many compliments on it. My last purchase was the new bottle. I noticed right away in the shower that there was a difference. First I wasn't expecting it to be so runny and lost quiet a bit down the drain. The biggest difference was that my hair did not feel silky while washing it, which it always did before. My hair is now dry and dull. My scalp is starting to get flaky and itchy again. My body is also becoming itchy. I looked at my old bottle and the new one and I see the ingredients used have 3 different butters including shea and they are missing from the new formula along with some other ingredients. Such a shame because obviously they made the difference. I have never understood why a company reformulates something that has had very good reviews. Don't mess with success is a good statement. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback. We do wish the new formula could have worked better for you and will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. The formula was updated based on feedback from customers like you. You'll find it has a lighter, silkier formula while retaining the gentleness and effectiveness you've come to expect (both are still excellent for color-treated hair and sensitive skin.) We have issued you an in-house credit which can be used on any future phone order with us. If you have any additional questions or concerns please let us know, we are always happy to help.

  24. Lisa
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 01, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very, very good, but not for me
    • I had tried samples of this product in the past and again after it was reformulated. Both were very good, non irritating and did a good job of cleaning. I like that the newer formula produces a bit more lather. Even though the presence of lathering agent does not affect the product's cleaning ability, it separates the hair strands by tiny bubbles, making it easier to move fingers through it without. My interest in this product was mainly because if it worked , I could carry just one bottle in the gym or travel bag. I found that like the previous formula, this one is a bit too runny for a body/hair wash. It is hard to control the ammt that comes out. A little more thickness would have been great. I so liked the formula otherwise and this 2 in 1 product would be so convenient to use either at home or at the gym, but I'm not sure if I would buy the full size product. :(

  25. S G.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Also disappointed in new container
    • I agree with disappointment in new, smaller container. I prefer the round, and 16 oz. However, I do still LOVE the product! Thank you for being true to skin care and concerns.Customer Care Response: Thank you for submitting your review. We are thrilled to hear the formula of this product has been working for you. Regarding the packaging, it was updated based on customer feedback for more ease of use, and the minor change in size was the best option for this concern out of alternatives considered. We understand the change may not appeal to everyone. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her team. If you have any questions please contact us anytime. We're always happy to help!

« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
All Over Hair & Body Shampoo is a versatile product that works beautifully as a shampoo and body wash, making it extremely convenient for everyday use. The rich, cushiony formula can be used on any hair type, cleans hair in one application, and rinses easily with no build-up or even a hint of dryness! All Over Hair & Body Shampoo's fragrance-free formula is gentle enough for color-treated hair, sensitive scalp, and can be used on babies and children. It doesn't get much better than that!

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
The All Over Hair & Body Shampoo works great for all skin types and all ages.

Sources to support the claims made for All Over Hair & Body Shampoo

Cosmetics & Toiletries, September 2007, pages 49–54; Contact Dermatitis, January 2003, pages 26–32; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, December 1999, page 1,020; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, December 1999, pages 371–382 and October 1997, pages 215–226; Encyclopedia of Shampoo Ingredients, Hunting, Anthony, Micelle Press, 1998, pages 184–185 and 359–360; and www.cosmeticsinfo.org.

Key Ingredients: cocamidopropyl betaine, laurdimonium hydroxypropyl hydrolyzed soy protein, sodium laureth sulfate, panthenol

Product Ingredients:

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate (mild cleansing agent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Panthenol (vitamin B5/conditioning agent), Hydrolyzed Soy Protein (conditioning agent), Polyquaternium-10 (conditioning/detangling agent), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride (stabilizer), Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate (cleansing agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Sorbic Acid (preservative).

DIRECTIONS as a shampoo: Apply to wet hair and gently massage into scalp. Lather, then rinse thoroughly. Repeat if necessary and follow with Paula's Choice Smooth Finish Conditioner.

DIRECTIONS as a body wash: Smooth over wet skin to create a lather, then rinse thoroughly. Optional: use with a wet washcloth for gentle exfoliation.

Is All Over Hair & Body Shampoo safe for color- or chemically-treated hair?

Yes. If your hair is color-treated, permed, straightened, or relaxed we highly recommend following with Paula's Choice Smooth Finish Conditioner.

I have acne on my chest/back. Will the ingredients in All Over Hair & Body Shampoo clog pores or make acne worse?

In all likelihood, no. Although we refrain from making non-comedogenic claims for our products (because there are no standards in place to regulate that claim), All Over Hair & Body Shampoo does not contain heavy, thick, or oily conditioning agents and doesn't leave a film on skin. The water-soluble formula is gentle and rinses cleanly, prepping breakout-prone skin for subsequent anti-acne treatments.

May I use All Over Hair & Body Shampoo to wash my infant and/or child?

Yes, although as a general rule we always recommend asking your pediatrician before using any new product on an infant or child's skin. Paula's Choice All Over Hair & Body Shampoo is very gentle, and the fact that it is fragrance-free makes it a safer bet than most baby shampoos.

Does All Over Hair & Body Shampoo work better as a shampoo or body wash?

Both! We designed this product to be equally effective for shampooing hair and cleansing skin from the neck down.

Is it OK to use All Over Hair & Body Shampoo to wash my face?

Most likely, yes—especially if you have normal to oily skin. Generally speaking, our facial cleansers are the better options because we offer specific formulas to address the needs of various skin types. However, if you're pressed for time or want to multi-task as much as possible, give it a try and see how your skin responds!

May I use All Over Hair & Body Shampoo to wash my dog?

Yes. Always be sure to rinse thoroughly with warm water to remove all traces of shampoo from your dog's coat.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.