Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30

Bye, bye dry. Hello cushiony layer of moisture that protects your skin from wrinkles and brown spots. Now that’s a welcome change.
Item #: 162
  • Brown Spots
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Shields skin from the #1 cause of signs of aging

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 124 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. Karen M
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 25, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    A bit drying
    • I received a sample and on first try found it too drying and pasty. I'm on my second tube of RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25 which works for my normal skin type. I will continue with this product.

  2. Kristen F
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Bad for my combo skin
    • This was a bad product for my acne-prone combination skin. I wanted more moisture than the Skin Balancing lotion, and the description for this product indicates that it is appropriate for combination skin that is prone to breakouts, but iafter a few days I found that it caused acne, particularly on my drier spots where I don't ordinarily break out. Also, I did not like the texture--it didn't absorb well and felt more like a 1970s drugstore sunscreen than a modern skin care product.

  3. WILLA
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Thick
    • I ordered three packets of mositurizer with SPF, two packets had only about 1/4 t. which only covered half my face. I found this moisturizer too thick, didn't glide on my face as I'd hoped. I've been using Netrogena oil free moisturizer SPF which Paula gives a thumbs down rating, I like it because it glides on my face very nicely, however since I use Paula's products I am trying to find a suitable moisturizer with SPF with Paula.

  4. POPPY C.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great moisturizer
    • I have used this product for years, and while it is a tiny bit thick for slightly oily skin like mine, it does absorb quickly and leaves a soft and smooth finish. I have acne-prone skin but this has never caused breakouts for me. I use the BHA gel every morning then top with this and it's the perfect combination. Love Paula's stuff, so glad I discovered her years ago. I'm sure my skin is 10 times better for it!

  5. ROBERTA s.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 20, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    second try
    • I had bought this a couple years ago and it was like putting on paste. I have dry skin and this should have absorbed nicely. I recently purchased this again hoping the ingredients had changed a bit. Again, just like paste. every other purchase I make from Paula's is excellent.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, May 10, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry your experience wasn't what you had hoped! We would recommend contacting our Customer Care Department via phone or email. They will be happy to discuss your routine and the possible reasons for your experience. They can assist with a credit or exchange, too!
    —Admin
  6. AMANDA D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 18, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It does the job
    • I've been using this moisturizer for about 6 months. It's a good value- still on the same tube. It does what it claims- provides moisture and sun protection, and also doesn't break out my blemish-prone skin. However I feel like it could be better. Maybe it's just on me, but it makes my skin look super shiny and almost plastic-like, but not in a good way. Even underneath foundation and loads of powder, it still comes through. I would have rated this product 5 stars if it wasn't for this flaw.

  7. d.r
    Reviewed on Monday, April 15, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Perfect winter susnscreen
    • I've been using this for over a month. I have combo acne prone skin that can get both very oily/dry. So far this has not caused any breakouts and has done an excellent job of hydrating the dry parts, while not overly exasperating the oily parts. This does take a bit to soak in for me, but once it does, it leaves a nice dewy finish. Perfect for winter, but I suspect the 'Skin Balancing SPF 30' will be better for the the humid summer, when my skin is extra oily. I'm going to give that a try too!

  8. Betsie
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Mositurizer!
    • I have dry to very dry skin. This is the best daytime moisturizer I have ever tried (and I"ve tried several). It looks great under makeup and alone. Love the higher spf! It does go on more like a sunscreen. Kind of white and thick. And it smells a little sun screeny, even my husband notices. However, it only takes 2 minutes max to soak into my skin. And it keeps it hydrated and protected. And no problems applying makeup after 2 minutes. Love it!

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for dry skin that breaks out!
    • I have dry skin that breakouts. When the SR spf gave me breakouts, customer service sent me this. They are so helpful when you problem and will find you something that does work. This is creamy and leaves your skin very soft and hydrated all day. This is great for older skin that still breaks out. It is quite gentle and caused no irritation. It feels like I am wearing lovely cream, not a ss. It is not sticky or pasty. Goes on easily and wears well under mu and has 30 SPF. On 2nd tube.

  10. Varvara S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    well done
    • Very good formula, not too thick, not too watery. Works great for acne prone, combination, dry skin.

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    for dry skin
    • This moisturizer wasn't for me, but it might work for someone with drier skin. I've been searching for a daytime moisturizer for a long time and was really hoping this would be it, but it's too rich and feels and smells very much like "sunscreen". I had hoped for something that would sink into the skin more. I actually consulted with the Paula's Choice reps prior to ordering this but it feels too heavy for me. It only works if I wear a matte foundation over it. too shiny otherwise.

  12. ANETA D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful
    • This is my favorite PC sunscreen. It goes on quite thick and opaque initially, but if you give it a few seconds it gets absorbed nicely and leaves the skin hydrated and protected, but not greasy or shiny. It works well under all kinds of make-up. I have tried it with liquid foundations or just powders and never had any issues. I wish it came in a larger tube, so I could use it on my neck, chest and arms daily. At $20.95 for 2 oz it's too expensive to do it -I would use it up within about 10 days

  13. ELIZABETH F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It works on my very sensitive skin!
    • I am really surprised that I like this so much since normally chemical sunscreens give me a rash and make my eyes burn. However, after using samples for a whole week, this product gives me almost no irritation, which is a god send since my former favorite was discontinued, and my skin peels from zinc and breaks out from high titanium dioxide. This moisturizer also works wonderfully like a primer under both my Bobbi Brown Mineral makeup and Oil Free Tinted moisturizer. Definitely a win for me!

  14. JAR
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    good spf but irritates my skin a little
    • i decided on this moisturizer instead of the skin recovery moisturizer due to the SPF level. i definitely cannot use it around my eyes. other than that, it has good coverage, but i will probably get the skin recovery moisturizer next go around so that i don't have that irritation on my skin.

  15. Lewis
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this sunscreen! :D
    • I love this sunscreen very much! Although I have slightly oily skin, it doesn't make me break out nor worsen my Seborrheic Dermatitis. Also its antioxidant-rich formula makes my skin better. :D I wonder it is suitable for someone with silghtly oily skin in summer.

  16. Pam D
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this
    • I love this moisturizer. It feels great going on and is not sticky or greasy.

  17. kathy k
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    finally found my miracle spf moisturizer!
    • I was using a spf 30 moisturizer from a high end brand that was $75 for 1 oz. It provided great sun protection however was not moisturizing my dry skin enough. After much experimenting with other PC samples Im beyond thrilled with this moisture boost spf moisturizer! It provides excellent sun protection, no white cast and is giving me relief to my dry skin condition plus its a fraction of the cost! Finally found an amazing daytime moisturizer, all thanks to PC phenomenal customer service!

  18. MM
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great!
    • This product is great! I have had no problems with it be greasy or too heavy on my skin(skin is on the dry side). It absorbs fairly quickly compared with the resist SPF 25 (which I also loved, but found it to be to heavy for my skin, and takes longer to obsorb it seemed). I will continue to purchase this product. I am glad I gave it a shot. I usually stick with the resist line, and never thought to mix it up, but I 'm glad I did. The moisture boost cream is great too!

  19. Pauline S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 09, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Lovely moisturizer, lovely sunscreen
    • This product seems very "sunscreeny" at first, very thick and white, but then it quickly sinks into the skin and turns beautiful! Definitely the nicest sunscreen I've ever used, and also one of the nicest moisturizers. I used to think all sunscreens were greasy and unappealling... This one has changed my mind! My only complaint is that I have to rinse out the plastic cap occasionally, it gets kind of gummed up with dried product. Why not use the same tubes as the PM moisturizers?

  20. JEAN o.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best ever!
    • I have been using this as my daily moisturiser with spf for years. Every now and then I will try something new but always seem to go back to this. It moisturises without feeling greasy; just sinks into the skin. I wait a few minutes after applying then add foundation with sunscreen or a powder with spf. My foundation applies smoothly over this. On weekends I apply this and then a little blusher and I am set for the day. Love this moisturiser; don't ever discontinue!!!

  21. Catherine B
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect Daily Moisturizer
    • I have used this moisturizer every day for 10 years and it has really paid off - my skin looks great! For anyone concerned with the "white effect" of the spf ingredient (zinc oxide?), a little patience while blending takes care of that issue. I use Resist serum underneath and my makeup (Resist anti-aging Smoothing foundation) on top and it all blends beautifully.

  22. Vitmain E
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best hand lotion!!!
    • I use this as my daily hand lotion! Just LOVE it. I keep one in my purse and one at my desk at work.

  23. Natalie D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for winter
    • I usually use the Resist line as I am coming into my 40s and noticing the fine lines and sun spots now appearing. But, now for the winter, the Resist moisturizer and line wasn't enough. I had gotten a sample of the moisture boost daily restoring complex in my last order and love it. It has saved my face from the dry, flakiness it was experiencing during these winter months. Great product, light weight, good moisture. Also, great online support. Extremely pleased with product quality.

  24. shirin n
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    love her products but not this one
    • I love her products and completely support her views on cruelty free makeup. I received this as a gift from my mother inlaw who also loves Paulas products. I also received the skin recovery antioxidant serum which I love, and the resist brightening cream both those products are amazing. But this felt so thick and greasy and well cheap. I always use products with spf, but this felt like just sunscreen with a little moisturizer. I never break out ever and started to get small pimples on my chin.

  25. Elisabeth D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 17, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    No-Go
    • I am sorry, but as I sit here, I am nursing a horrible, sore rash and zits on my face after using this stuff for over a week straight. The only other PC product I ever had difficulty with was the Retinol Serum, with similar results, so it must be some ingredient they have in common? I don't know, but I was very careful to totally eliminate the Retinol, and use nothing new or different, before retrying this sunscreen - again. I just can't tolerate it. Sorry. My search goes on.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 18, 2013
    Thank you for your review and we're sorry to learn the Moisture Boost SPF 30 didn't work out for you! Unfortunately, it's not possible to know which ingredient may have been the culprit, as other variables such as products combined with, environmental and lifestyle factors all play a role in how we respond to skin care. We would recommend you contact our Customer Care team for help in processing a return, finding alternatives and/or samples of which you may experiment with.
    —Admin
« Prev Page of 5 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 is an amazingly light yet substantially moisturizing daytime product that provides broad-spectrum sun protection with stabilized avobenzone to shield skin from wrinkles. It glides on weightlessly, providing a cushiony layer of moisture that leaves your skin satin-smooth and perfectly prepped for makeup. A blend of potent antioxidants boosts your skin's defenses and helps protect it from collagen depletion.

This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen is safe for use around your eyes and is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Moisture Boost SPF 30 is formulated for anyone with normal to dry skin (even if it's prone to breaking out). Its lightweight, creamy texture also makes it a great option for those with combination skin with stubborn dry areas.

Expiration Date 8/2016

Sources to support the claims made for Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30

Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Skin Research and Technology, August 2009, pages 338–345; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,057–1,065; Experimental Dermatology, June 2009, pages 522–526; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12;Food and Chemical Toxicology, April 2008, pages 1,298–1,307; Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health, Volume 72, pages 796–806; Future Oncology, December 2008, pages 841–856; Journal of Pathology, January 2007, 241–251; Journal of Radiation Research, December 2004, pages 491–495; British Journal of Dermatology, October 2003, page 681; and Journal of Dermatological Science, volume 31, 2003, pages 193–201; and Journal of Investigative Dermatology, November 2003, pages 1,163­1,167; and January 2002, pages 117–125.

Key Ingredients: vitamin C, vitamin E, aloe extract, avobenzone, tocopheryl acetate, tocopherol, retinyl palmitate, sodium ascorbyl phosphate, vitamin A

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Homosalate 4%; Octisalate 4%; Oxybenzone 3%; Avobenzone 3%; Octocrylene 2%. Other Ingredients: Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (emollient thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), VP/Eicosene Copolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Sodium Cetearyl Sulfate (emulsifier), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin A/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Picea Abies (Spruce) Wood Extract (antioxidant), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol (emollient thickeners), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Titanium Dioxide (opacifying agent), Bentonite (absorbent thickener), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming agent), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally every morning after using Paula's Choice Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser and Moisture Boost Hydrating Toner. May also be applied over any Paula's Choice exfoliant or serum. Reapply as needed after swimming or excessive perspiration.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Should I reapply Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, it should be reapplied.

How is Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 different from Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30?

Although both products provide reliable broad-spectrum sun protection and have the same SPF rating, they do so using completely different active ingredients. Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 contains mineral actives (titanium dioxide and zinc oxide) while Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 contains synthetic active ingredients such as avobenzone. Because of this, Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 is preferred for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin.

The other notable difference is that Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 is designed to be used as part of the comprehensive Skin Recovery routine. Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 is designed to be used with our Moisture Boost Kit for those seeking a simpler skincare routine.

The other notable difference is that Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 is designed to be used as part of the comprehensive Skin Recovery routine. Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 is designed to be used with our Moisture Boost System for those seeking a less complicated skincare routine.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.379 3/29/2015 1:08:00 AM
Skip to Top of Page

Free Email Sign-Up

- Expert Skin Care & Makeup News & Advice (twice a month)
- New product reviews on Beautypedia (twice a month)

Enter Your Contact Information

Birthday (Optional)

 
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging | FREE Shipping on $50+