Items you may also like

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Wave goodbye, wrinkles. This light moisturizer with retinol smoothes out skin, reduces fine lines and leaves skin looking and acting younger.
Item #: 761
  • Anti-Aging, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Retinol makes skin look younger
  • Antioxidants stimulate collagen production

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 308 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 13 Next »
  1. Caitlin A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product for my combo skin!
    • Been using as part of my nighttime routine and love it! I have severe combo skin and my chin was a red, itchy, blotchy, dry mess from winter. Putting this on at night and in the morning with my day time moisturizer helped clear it up within a week! My only issue with the product so far has been the pump. It has been tending to get clogged and customer service helped get it working, but it still tends to clog.

  2. MEREDITH A.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    OMG!
    • I just got this product the other day, and used it for the first time last night. When I went in the bathroom this morning, I glanced in the mirror to see how my face looked. OMG! It looked so much better! I couldn't believe it. I have been feeling sad about getting crow's feet , and they have practically disappeared . My skin also looks smoother and more radiant, too! Thank you, Paula!

  3. Hadassah G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Worth a try, even for sensitive skin
    • I was really worried my skin would react badly to the retinol in this. I have sensitive skin with rosacea. However,y skin looks and feels great after using this for a few weeks. I can even use it over my 8?AHA gel, which sometimes leaves me a bit red.

  4. Jennifer B.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 14, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not for everyone
    • The texture and slip of this product is wonderful! That being said, I believe I have come to the conclusion that retinol, no matter how "gentle" the formula is claimed, is just simply not for everyone. I apply it in the evening, immediately turn red and a bit itchy exactly where applied and wake with tightness/itchiness no moisturizer relieves. Back to my CeraVe and BHA9 for the time being I guess!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 14, 2014

    Hi Jennifer! We're sorry the RESIST Barrier Repair wasn't a fit for you! It is true that no product will work for everyone, but we're glad you have an alternative that you're happy with.  Please contact Customer Care for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  5. Mindy
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome product!
    • The RESIST Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol is absolutely awesome! I had been using the RESIST anti-oxidant serum faithfully and decided to see if I could kick it up a notch. This product did not disappoint. Here's the key: use it consistently twice a day. Once you've used it for a couple of weeks, you'll truly see the results and be hooked!

  6. Stephanie
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Retinol Product
    • Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is a very smooth, silky feeling creamy/lotion. It is scentless and glides on with good coverage, then penetrates into skin leaving a moist but not greasy finish on your face. The retinol does not sting my skin and I definitely notice that my skin is more smooth and clear in the morning. Overall the best retinol product I have used so far.

  7. LESLIE
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Sticking With It
    • While the retinol in this product initially irritated the more sensitive areas around my eyes, I decided to stick with it and am glad I did. My skin is adjusting, and benefitting. I have rosacea, and tend to break out on my chin and cheeks, and get in-grown hairs on my cheeks (ahhh: the joys of aging..), but this product seems to be helping. My skin tone looks more even, and firm. I use this with a hydrating toner, which helped with the initial irritation.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 07, 2014

    Hi there! We're glad that the RESIST Barrier Repair is working well for you! However, be sure to monitor your skin's response, and let us know if we may be of assistance (just email our Customer Care Team with any questions). 

    —Admin
  8. ELIZABETH T.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    A rare PC product that didn't work for me
    • I LOVE Paula Choice products and have never, until now, run across one that didn't agree with me. However, after using this moisturizer for just 2-3 days my face became very red and itchy. I'm sure it's a great product. It just didn't work for me. Paula's Choice customer service was great and immediately send me the Skin Recovery Moisturizer that I typically use (and love) at no charge. I'm a lifelong Paula's Choice fan!

  9. Gen
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I've finally found the perfect moisturiser
    • I have tried many, many moisturisers in my 40 years and this is by far the best I've ever used. It glides on easily and absorbs beautifully, leaving my skin feeling so soft and smooth. It seems to really suit my combo skin and provides the right amount of hydration - no dry patches and no breakouts! It even performs better than the really expensive, quality brands that I've tried. Fantastic product and great value for money.

  10. PEGGY W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    New pump- yay!!!
    • Thanks you, thank you, thank you for changing the pump on this one!!! Ive been using this moisturizer for years and I love it but didn't love the old pump. Keep up the good work PC!!!

  11. Habiba
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Yes!
    • At 57, this is one of the rare products resulting in change so positive that people have commented on my beautiful skin. I've a lifetime of combination skin with large pores, a tendency to redness and irritation, and seasonal dryness resulting in flaking. Finally, its all under control! A few people have even accused me of having had a surgery or 'something done'. I use the Resist line with Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid and an occasional Skin Recovery Hydrating Mask. Thank you!

  12. Margaret S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Early Review
    • I have been using this moisturizer for 2 weeks now. So far, it is doing a great job. It is moisturizing without being greasy. The pump does not seem to be an issue so far as others have mentioned but this is my early stage review. Its hard to say if this is making a big difference but I believe it is supporting the research in my opinion based on the combined usage of the other PC products I have been using for much longer. This includes the Retinol Serum and Vitamin C booster.

  13. Victoria G
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Product
    • This product gives me very noticeable results. Others have noticed the difference in my skin as well. Finally, skin care products that live up to the claims!

  14. Lillian C
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not for me
    • This dried out my face. I don't know if it's because it's winter or what. I even used PC lotion for extremely dry skin on top of it. Will look for something else.

  15. LeeAnne N
    Reviewed on Friday, December 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great moisturizer
    • This is by far the best moisturizer I've ever used!

  16. DONNA A.
    Reviewed on Friday, November 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pump Review
    • I have nothing good to say about the new pump on this moisturizer. You have to shake it alot to get the pump to work. There's no way to tell when it's empty, as the pump continuously had to be pushed and pushed. Please, please, please, improve this. I LOVE the moisturizer, but would love it even more if "pump issue" were addressed.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, December 04, 2013

    Fear not, the pump issue has been addressed. Please contact us for details!

    —Admin
  17. Yvette D.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I have been using this product for just over a week now and I love it. The moisturizer is light and non-greasy. So far....can't complain.

  18. JENNIFER L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Superb Night-time Moisturizer
    • This is a superb nightime moisturizer. Beautifully formulated with a great texture. Moisturizing but not greasy. I love it! The sad thing is, my skin does react to anything with retinol in it. I wake up in the morning with tiny red dots everywhere. This product was, sadly, no exception - thus I had to stop using it. I would highly recommend it to anyone that doesn't react to the retinol. In the meantime, I've gone back to the skin recovery mask for my winter, night-time moisturizer. Thanks PC!

  19. H. R.
    Reviewed on Friday, November 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Don't wait to use this!
    • I'm only 23 and really can't complain about wrinkles yet, but I am so excited to use this moisturizer for the rest of my life! I love it as my night cream because it's thick and creamy but doesn't leave a greasy feeling at all. In the morning my skin looks plumped and refreshed, and I see a huge difference in those tiny little lines around the eyes that usually show my lack of sleep. I didn't have any problem with the retinol, I was nervous about it at first but it's been a dream!

  20. Angela L.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally found what works for me!
    • I have been using PC products for a little over a year now and can say that I have finally found a skin care line of products that work for my 50 something aging, sensitive, combination skin that is now going through the changes of menopause and one of the PC products that has been important is this Resist Barrier Repair Moisterizer in combo with other Resist products including the Super Antioxidant Serum as well as Aha products. Everyones skin is different, This works wonders for me!

  21. Cindy M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 02, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Hasn't done a thing for me
    • I've been using this product along with a few others recommended to me by a PC rep for a month now & I don't see any difference in my skin. My wrinkles & crows feet haven't changed, my blackheads haven't changed & my large pores are still very evident. I'll keep using this & the other products until they run out, but I definitely will not be purchasing any PC products again. Very disappointing.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, October 03, 2013

    We're sorry your current routine hasn't been working to your satisfaction. Please feel free to contact us so we can help you determine what's going on and perhaps recommend alternative products that may be better suited to your skin type and concerns.

    —Admin
  22. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 28, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    light texture but moisturizing
    • PROS: No sticky/greasy feeling after applying. Feels heavenly and light going on, but it moisturizes my dry skin. My sensitive skin soaks it up and feels calm and nourished. Can easily wear this under makeup. NO fragrance. CONS: For those who want a LOT of moisture, this may not be for you.

  23. Green V
    Reviewed on Friday, September 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great texture
    • really like the texture. It makes my skin very silky too. it gives matte finish which is great for my oily/combo skin.

  24. Ber H.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    In love with it
    • This moisturizer is light, non-greasy. Most importantly, it is the very product that actually does something good for your skin. I use it over night and find my skin becomes visibly smoother and brighter in the next morning. Paula's Choice has become my favorite skincare supplier now. It is not only because of their effective products, but also because their company spirit and exceptional customer service.

  25. MARY C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    A pleasant surprise!
    • After 1 night with this lotion, my skin felt utterly amazing. Actually supple! That's not something I ever thought I would experience as someone with flaky, rosacea-prone skin. I can't live without this stuff. Reason I didn't give 5 stars is that when it arrived the topmost piece of the pump mechanism was loose. I actually had to press it into place just to make it work and I find it does dispense unevenly on occasion. It's not a big deal, but I'm hoping it's just a lemon this time.

« Prev Page of 13 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains a unique complex of ingredients proven to remodel your skin by building and preserving collagen, firming skin and protecting against moisture loss. The feather-light, silky texture provides substantial hydration. The active ingredients in the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer are proven to make a visible difference in the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, skin tone, and skin firmness.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is best for those with normal to dry skin. However, because the lightweight, cream texture sets to a satiny finish that won't make skin look or feel greasy, it is also an option for slightly oily or combination skin. All skin types will benefit from the key ingredients that help skin to look its best while Resisting signs of aging.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; and Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Biochemical Pharmacology, December 2008, pages 1,590-1,611 and February 2008, pages 787-809; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Archives of Dermatology, May 2008, pages 666-672; Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, 2007, pages 343-357;Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, February 2005, pages 287–295; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; Cosmetics & Toiletries, March 2003, pages 43–52; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73; Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2001, pages 37–40; and The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, March 2000, pages 480-486.

Key Ingredients: licorice extract, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, palmitoyl oligopeptide, vitamin E, Glycine soja seed extract, Punica granatum extract, chamomile, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, antioxidant, skin-repairing ingredients, soy oil, retinol, Camellia oleifera, cell-communicating ingredients, adenosine , pomegranate extract, ceramide 3, licorice root, squalane, glycerin, green tea, Glycine soja oil, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, soy extract, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, shea butter

Product Ingredients:

Water, Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Ethylhexyl Stearate (thickener), Cocoglycerides (emollient), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (antioxidant emollient), Squalane (emollient), Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming agent), Lecithin, Adenosine, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredients), Ceramide 3 (skin-identical ingredient), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tocopheryl Acetate (antioxidants), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Oil (antioxidants), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, (film-forming agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer should be used as part of your daily skincare routine including cleansing, toning, using an AHA or BHA exfoliant, and Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. During the daytime, be sure to follow with a foundation rated with an SPF 15 or greater or follow with a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater. Works beautifully as your eye or neck cream.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How is the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer different from the other Paula's Choice facial moisturizers?

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is a state-of-the-art formula specifically designed to address the advanced needs of those concerned with wrinkles and signs of aging. Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer has more antioxidants, a greater range of emollients (including several ingredients that mimic the structure and function of healthy skin) and higher levels of proven cell-communicating ingredients that work to boost collagen production. Its silky texture provides the moisture normal to dry skin needs without feeling thick, heavy, or occlusive. Despite the advanced nature of this formula, it bears the formulary hallmarks of every Paula's Choice facial moisturizer. All of them are designed to supply skin with what it needs to look and feel its best.

My skin is dry. Which moisturizer do you recommend?

Several Paula's Choice moisturizers would work well for you. Choosing the perfect moisturizer has a lot to do with personal preference and trying a product to determine which one works best on your skin. A good place to start, especially if signs of aging are a concern, is with our Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer. If you want a richer texture, try our Moisture Boost Hydrating Treatment Cream or Skin Recovery Moisturizer. It is also helpful to use our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum or Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum in combination with (on top of or underneath) any moisturizer you apply. You may also wish to treat your dry skin to frequent applications of our Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask.

Do I need to use a serum with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Ideally, yes. Although Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains an excellent blend of antioxidants, it is a good idea to pair it with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum for enhanced results. When it comes to antioxidant and topical application to skin, more is generally better! By combining Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum, you're treating skin to an even more extraordinary combination of ingredients that help you look younger and Resist signs of aging.

Which Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for use with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Generally, we recommend pairing Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. However, our Skin Recovery or Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrates are also options. Those with normal to very dry skin may want to consider our Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. If you have normal to oily/combination skin, consider our Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate Serum. All skin types can use Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. This serum is the one to choose if you only want one of your antiaging skincare products to supply retinol (Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum does not contain retinol). It is also an option to use one Antioxidant Concentrate as part of your morning routine and another version for evening. Samples are available so you can experiment and see which formula works best with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer and your skin.

Is Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this moisturizer will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.