RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25

Protect your skin from the telltale signs of sun damage like brown spots and wrinkles. Go ahead, smooth and brighten while you're at it.
Item #: 768
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Ideal for very sensitive or rosacea-affected skin

Expiration Date 9/2015

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

75 out of 100
(Based on 270 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 11 Next »
  1. TANIA B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Too heavy for combination skin
    • I chose neutral as my rating as I'm wondering if I simply chose the wrong product for my combination skin. I do have combo in the true sense, though perhaps not dry enough. The lotion was VERY moisturizing but too much so for me. It is a very thick lotion, leaving a white cast, and it stayed greasy on my face all day, so makeup was a no-go until the next morning. I've also started breaking out which is not of the norm for my skin.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    Thank you for your review and we are sorry that this product wasn't the best fit for you. This formula was not designed for combination skin and we agree that because of this it is not the best option for you. If you are seeking a moisturizer with SPF that is appropriate for combination skin types we recommend the Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense SPF 30 or the Moisture Boost SPF 30. Another option would be our Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 that will debut on our web site next month!
    —Admin
  2. Sonya S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 23, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • Didn't like it! Left a white mess on my face and felt very greasy on my combination skin. May be good for areas other than the face. Even with my pale skin the white residue was very noticeable.

  3. WILLA
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I received three Resist Moisturizer sample packets today and just tried one..goes on nice and smooth, my face feels supple, so far I love it! I've tried all the other moisturizers with SPF and they were too thick, think I've finally found one for my dry skin.

  4. LORENA R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 18, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Good protection but dewey feeling all day
    • I love Paula's products and I tried this product instead of the +50 SPF sunscreen for face and body (I have dry to sensitive skin). I find it applies very nicely, and it is absorbed into the skin, but the dewey feel doesn't go away. I didn't have the same problem with the sunscreen. I won't use it anymore.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for neck and chest
    • While this moisturizer/sunscreen turns my face into a white, greasy mess, I love it for my neck and chest!! It gives a nice glow and definitely reduces the look of fine lines and wrinkles. Have bought several!!

  6. Wendy
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great for my mostly dry combination skin!
    • I have sensitive skin that does not react well to any chemical sunscreens, whether on my face or body. I usually purchase children's products as they normally use titanium dioxide vs. chemicals. The Resist product is the first sunscreen I've tried that doesn't burn or cause redness. Yes, it is a little thicker, as most mineral-based suncreens are, but it does absorb quickly. I'm just happy this product exists, because without it I'd be skipping sunscreen on my face as I did for years.

  7. Susie
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Too thick
    • I purchased the Resist Collection and this moisturizer was part of the collection. I love the fact that it contains SPF 25 however this is not lightweight nor does it work great under makeup as noted in the description. It is so thick and white and just sits on top of the skin. It makes my foundation look horrible and I even tried a bit of primer. I can feel the heaviness all day.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, May 13, 2013
    Hi there! We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you!The RESIST SPF 25 was designed for drier skin types, which may have been more than your skin could tolerate. However, aesthetics are tricky (we all have our favorite textures). We would recommend contacting our Customer Care Department, as they can absolutely help with a few alternative suggestions, and a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  8. Kelly M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Did not work for me
    • I found this to be a great moisturizer and with my fair skin I was happy it has sunscreen and was hoping that this moisturizer with sunscreen would not bother me. However, apparently it does not matter which product I use on my face if it has sunscreen in it my eyes water and itch and my skin itches terribly. I guess it just does not agree with me, so unfortunately I could not use it. I did give it a good trial of two weeks before I put it away and just use the Resist Barrier Repair instead.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, May 03, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Bad, really bad
    • This is the worst product I've used in Paula's Choice. And I've tried a lot. It leaves a white streak on my face, even if I've already applied it really thinly. And then, after a couple of hours, I'd feel as if my face has a thick greasy mask and I would wash it off immediately. This is a really really bad product.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 09, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! Be sure to contact our Customer Care Department via phone or email. They would be happy to assist with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  10. Anne
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Absolutely Love!
    • My skin has never felt so comfortable during the day! As long as I use the Resist Antioxidant Serum underneath and not a retinol serum (Skin Recovery) , this works beautifully (Paula's retinal serum works beautifully at night) It is a great eye cream, also. I remove the cap to get the exact amount needed and it just melts into my skin, giving it a smooth finish. With eczema I'm normally aware of my skin - but not with this product. Thank you Paula and Team for another wonderful product.

  11. MERIDITH
    Reviewed on Friday, April 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for dry sensitive skin!
    • I like the texture-not too thick- it applies & absorbs well. I use this in conjunction with an antioxidant serum and over the 2% BHA lotion or 8% AHA gel- I'm a PC girl all the way! The sunscreen whiteness goes away in 2 min or so. I have fair dry sensitive skin (40s), and this is my fave moisturizer, and that's after trying at least 4 other moisturizers from PC. Give this moisturizer a try.

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AGING REDHEAD
    • This is the ONLY facial sunscreen that doesn't break me out, end of story !! Thank-you Paula and team for your commitment to sensitive skin types. My dermatologist has no clue.

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another great product....
    • I love this sunscreen, I don't find it to oily or thick at all (although I do have dry/combo skin), and I find that it has a brightening effect which makes my skin look really healthy. I also love that it is an SPF 25. Another awesome Paula's Choice product!

  14. Linda
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    beautiful skin protectant
    • I'm 50 yrs. old and still struggle with extremely oily skin on my face that breaks out occasionally. I've NEVER been comfortable with moisturizer on my face. My neck, however, has been dry and starting to sag and wrinkle. I wanted a combination sunscreen/moisturizer and this fits the bill. It IS very thick. It does have a slight white cast but it fades. I use it on my neck, chest, and arms. It goes on best after a shower. I love it!

  15. Linda J
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    horselover
    • Love it! plain and simple! I have normal, sensitive skin and this does not make me breakout. I am in the sun a lot riding horses, etc. and this helps keep my skin moisturized, protected, & nourished. I use it underneath my Resist makeup w/PC powder. What a great pairing team! don't let the shine keep you from trying this awesome product. Powder is your best friend to combat that problem. Thank you Paula! If you find you are more acne prone, use Paula's Choice BHA 2% like I do!

  16. Linda J
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    horselover
    • Love it! plain and simple! I have normal, sensitive skin and this does not make me breakout. I am in the sun a lot riding horses, etc. and this helps keep my skin moisturized, protected, & nourished. I use it underneath my Resist makeup w/PC powder. What a great pairing team! don't let the shine keep you from trying this awesome product. Powder is your best friend to combat that problem. Thank you Paula! If you find you are more acne prone, use Paula's Choice BHA 2% like I do!

  17. BARBARA C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • I LOVE this sunscreen!!!. I have very dry , sensitive skin with psoriaisis. This product gives my skin a healthy glow without irritating it This sunscreen actually calms my skin. :)

  18. Ann
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    TOO THICK
    • The ingredients are great but I found it too thick for my skin. It felt and looked like toothpaste on my face. This should be advertised for really dry skin. Fortunately Customer Service was great and refunded my money.

  19. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Five Stars!!
    • I am 21 and have oily, acne prone skin, and I love this! I wash my face and use the resist toner, followed by the resist 5% aha, super light antioxidant serum and this moisturizer. I let it soak in and then apply a thin layer of foundation (which makes my skin look amazing now that it actually mostly IS amazing). If I have a pimple which is inflamed, I put on a dab of 10% benzoyl peroxide medication on the spot before foundation and then cover with concealer. It's a really lovely product!

  20. Amy
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for me
    • I really wanted to like this product. I love the Resist line and use many of the products! However, this lotion is just to thick. It makes my face very oily and it makes me breakout. Another thing I don't care for, is the packaging. I wish it came in a pump form. I do love the fact that it's 25 spf! I think this lotion would be great if you have REALLY dry skin. It's just not for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 15, 2013
    Hi there! We're sorry the RESIST Cellular Defense SPF 25 didn't work out for you.The RESIST SPF 25 was designed for those with dry to very dry skin types, which may have been more than your skin could tolerate. We would recommend contacting our Customer Care Department, as they can absolutely help with a few alternative suggestions, and a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  21. RHIANNON
    Reviewed on Friday, April 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for Sensitive/Acne
    • Although this says it's for dry skin, my combination/acne-prone skin had no problem with this product. In fact, it is the ONLY moisturizer with sunscreen I've found that doesn't sting on my sensitive skin. All the anti-aging benefits are just a wonderful bonus! (Note to the acne prone: Of course I am following a acne treatment regimen prior to applying this product)

  22. CHRISTOPHER
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 31, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Luxury in a bottle
    • Beautiful, luxurious cream that softens the face and makes love to your face :-) To those with oily skin who decide to use this - read the label before writing a hokum review. One star off for two reasons: sometimes, the cream flakes and leaves little white specks on the face; I also question the usefulness of the packaging despite that it keeps all the lovely ingredients in tact and air tight - i hear this is changing soon, though. All in all, I'll be using this for years to come.

  23. SANDRA W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice product but ..
    • This moisturizes nicely, not greasy, adequate (but just) SPF My one complaint is the whiteness the sunscreen leaves behind. I've been able to make it a little lighter by warming between my fingers before applying. It does settle after about 30 minutes but I do have to wait before applying makeup which is not always practical. My previous go to sunscreen is sheer, unscented & has higher SPF and I will probably return to it. I'd keep on with this one if it was a little higher SPF and more sheer.

  24. Diana
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    This either works or it doesn't
    • I am a big fan and user of PC products,and use all of the Resist line, but this one, which I had to return. The texture is heavy and thick. It It goes on white although it fades, yet not all the white seemed to go away It was hard to continue applying the other products after using this one If you need a heavier moisturizer that also has sunscreen, then this may be your product. Else, look elsewhere on BEST in Beautypedia. And, I agree the cap design is odd at best and wasteful.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 29, 2013
    Thank you for sharing your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! It is important to note that the RESIST SPF 25 is designed for dry to very dry skin types. Consider our lighter formulas in Skin Balancing or our upcoming Hydralight SPF 25 (this summer). Please contact our Customer Care Team and they will be happy to help arrange a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    JUST LIKE TOOTHPASTE
    • I purchased this thinking it would be lighterweight than the Moisture Boost SPF30. Unfortunately when I put it on it had the thick consistency like toothpaste and did not soak into my skin. It truly looked like I spread a tube of white toothpaste on my face. It does have very beneficial ingredients but be aware that this must be for someone who has extremely DRY skin. It is too thick for normal skin. I did call Customer Service and they were very nice and credited my account.

« Prev Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
This ultra-gentle yet effective formula has a lightweight, silky-cream texture that hydrates and enhances radiance while providing extremely effective mineral-based, broad-spectrum sun protection. It includes potent antioxidants to defend your skin from environmental stressors, allowing the skin to repair itself on a cellular level, and restoring skin's ability to resist further signs of aging. Used daily, this moisturizer will help reduce wrinkles and brown spots, while rebuilding collagen and improving skin tone.

Fragrance-free, colorant-free, and formulated to work beautifully under makeup. 100% Guaranteed.

Who is this product for?
RESIST Cellular Defense SPF 25 is specially formulated for normal to dry or very dry skin skin. It is a gentle mineral sunscreen that is also excellent for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin. The creamy texture is not ideal for oily or oily areas of combination skin.

Sources to support the claims made for RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer with SPF 25

Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, January 2011, pages 193–199; Collegium Anthropologicum, September 2010, pages 1,145–1,153; Planta Medica, June 2010, pages 869–875; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, 2009 Supplement, pages 19–24; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2008, pages S149–S154; Pharmazie, January 2008, pages 58-60; International Journal of Pharmaceutics, August 2010, pages 78–83; and October 2007, pages 181–189; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, November-December 2005, pages 253–262; Cutis, September 2004, pages 32–34; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: tocopheryl acetate, squalane, Leontopodium alpinum extract, soy extract, coenzyme Q10, Buddleja davidii extract, sodium hyaluronate, aloe juice, tocopherol, Aloe barbadensis, Thymus vulgaris, Glycine soja seed extract, titanium dioxide, thyme extract, ubiquinone, vitamin E, antioxidant, glycerin, oryzanol

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 8%; Other Ingredients: Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 8%; Other Ingredients: Water, Tribehenin PEG-20 Esters (skin conditioning agent/thickener), Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate (silicone slip agents), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Caprylyl Methicone (skin conditioning agent), Stearic Acid, Squalane (emollients), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredient), Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ubiquinone, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Oryzanol, Leontopodium Alpinum Flower/Leaf Extract, Buddleja Davidii Extract (antioxidants), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Diisopropyl Dimer Dilinoleate (emollient), Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer (silicone film-forming agent), Cetyl Alcohol, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickeners), Polyacrylamide (film-forming agent), Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickener), Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate/Triethoxycaprylylsilane Crosspolymer (polymer-based texture enhancer), Triethoxycaprylylsilane Crosspolymer (binding agent), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Thymus Vulgaris Extract (antioxidant), C13-14 Isoparaffin, Alumina (thickeners), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Dehydroacetic Acid, Benzyl Alcohol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally every day before sun exposure as the last step of your morning RESIST skin-care routine. Do not apply any other skin-care product over this sunscreen. Once absorbed, proceed with your normal makeup application.

More detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

Should I reapply RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply this moisturizer with sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, it should be reapplied every few hours to maintain the stated level of protection.

How is RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25 different from Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15?

Although both products provide reliable broad-spectrum sun protection, RESIST Cellular Defense SPF 25 offers a greater amount of sun protection. The RESIST formula contains titanium dioxide as its active ingredient while Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15 contains a blend of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. Both formulas contain antioxidants to help defend skin against signs of aging, but each has its own blend.

Texture-wise, these two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen are quite similar. Both provide hydration and a silky, radiant finish those with normal to dry skin will appreciate best. RESIST Cellular Defense SPF 25 leaves less sheen on skin when compared to Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15.

Is RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25 the only Paula's Choice moisturizer with sunscreen that provides antiaging benefits?

Definitely not! Every Paula's Choice daytime moisturizer with sunscreens as well as our "body" sunscreens (which can also be applied to the face) provide broad-spectrum sun protection and contain antioxidants for enhanced defense and antiaging benefits. RESIST Cellular Defense SPF 25 contains an antioxidant blend that complements the other RESIST products from Paula's Choice, including the Daily Smoothing Treatment and Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum.

I notice I get a white cast after applying RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer. Anything I can do to minimize this?

Some people, typically those with medium to tan or olive skin tones, will notice a bit of a white to pale violet cast after applying RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25. This is due to the amount of mineral active (titanium dioxide) this moisturizer with sunscreen contains. If this happens to you, here's what you can do to eliminate the white cast:

Experiment by applying a drop or two of a sheer bronzing gel (Clinique makes a good one) over RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer. You can also mix a drop or two of the bronzing gel with this daytime moisturizer before applying. The bronze will offset the white cast and should make your skin tone look more natural without losing the anti-aging sun protection this provides. Of course you can also apply a Paula's Choice foundation with sunscreen over RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer, too.

432586-PCWEB-WW v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.