Hydralight Shine-Free SPF 30

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Back off sunshine, I’ve got back-up. Protect your skin from the #1 cause of wrinkles and brown spots, and hydrate while you’re at it.
Item #: 172
  • Acne Breakouts, Brown Spots, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea

Expiration Date 8/2015

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 136 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Allison B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love at First Application
    • I ordered this sunscreen because I needed one that used the mineral sunscreens (chemical ones make my skin burn!). This performs beautifully! It is moisturizing without being heavy. I put on my foundation right after and am left with a beautiful finish. My skin is actually on the drier side, but sometimes combination and no matter how it is this has worked. Thank you Paula's Choice!

  2. KarolinaQ
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent!
    • I live in Florida. I ordered the Resist Super Light Wrinkle Defense and really loved it but now that it is winter time I needed something more emollient. The Hydralight SPF 30 is great - not only does it have the SPF I need, it moisturizes without being greasy, leaves no white cast, and does not sting. It does appear white when you first put it on but it quickly disappears - I use SPF 20 powder and some concealer and I'm good to go. I stayed outdoors for five hours yesterday and no burn :)

  3. Maria
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!
    • Does exactly what it claims, keeps my skin moisturized, protected, and not greasy. Will definitely be using this for as long as I can.

  4. Maria K.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite PC Sunscreen
    • Despite being almost 55, my skin remains combination. I use PC's Skin Recovery moisturizer underneath it on my skin's drier areas when needed. Love the relative matt finish and the way it doesn't clog the pores on my nose, chin, and forehead. Non-irritating, non-drying. Great stuff. Please never discontinue this!

  5. Charlotte W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Husband really likes!
    • I bought this to try and it just didn't work for me - dried my skin out. But...my husband's face is an oilwell. He's in the sun all day and has never used anything on his face or SPF. I got him to try it and he loves it! He's not oily anymore and he likes the fact that he doesn't have to wipe his face down several times a day. It's just the right product for him!

  6. Kelly
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best sunscreen/daily moisturizer ever
    • I have ultra sensitive, dehydrated, acne prone skin. I am currently on 2 prescription topical medications to combat acne that make my skin flaky and irritated. I have never been able to use a sunscreen (physical or chemical) because they always caused extreme irritation. I am so happy to have found this one! Not only is is nonirritating, but it is actually soothing. It does leave a slight white cast, but I actually like that as it seems to somewhat mask acne scars.

  7. A M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Versatile, Comfortable Product
    • There IS a little "white cast" to this product. I tint it with PC's Barely There SPF 30 and love the results. I get sheer, moist, generous SPF protection with a healthy, satiny finish. Very nice for casual makeup look. It would probably work well to dilute fuller coverage foundation products, but that might affect the SPF. Originally this was a hand cream and I wish it still was since the new SPF hand cream is greasy and glittery.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, October 22, 2013

    Thanks for your review! No reason this SPF product cannot be used on hands, too. Add a little extra each morning!

    —Admin
  8. DONNA H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love this product
    • This product works great for my 56 year old oily skin and I also have rosacea. It is one of the few things that doesn't aggravate my skin and leave it looking like an oil slick. It feels great and looks great by itself and also under foundation. Please keep making it!

  9. BRYAN G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfection
    • I love all of Paula's products. I have stubborn dry skin, prone to breakouts. Horrifyingly unfair. Anyways, I love the moisture boost, but didn't feel as though it provided enough moisture. The resist was too heavy on the mineral actives I felt and after a few days I was left with breakouts...minor but annoying. I gave this a shot and have found my holy grail of facial sunscreens. It's wonderfully light, yet provides moisture. No breakouts and no flakes. Best of both worlds. Perfection.

  10. Lauren F.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    I really wanted to like this...
    • I initially liked this product but it just doesn't work for me. I feel like its thick and makes my face shiny, but then in an hour my face feels dry and tight in the cheeks, almost like I put nothing on. I really wanted to like this SPF, but unfortunately its too thick with not enough moisture for me

  11. Carrie B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So far, really good!
    • My skin can be so tricky. What seems like it should be gentle and non-irritating for the skin can cause it to break out, flare up my rosacea and/or make it even oilier. After using this for over a month, I can say it's done none of those things. It actually seems to soothe my rosacea, moisturize without becoming greasy or heavy and makes my makeup go on so much more smoothly. I've tried a bunch of other moisturizers in search of a really good one, I'm really pleased with this so far!

  12. Mary J
    Reviewed on Friday, October 04, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Too heavy
    • I wanted a higher SPF product for my face, but this product (like many others I have tried from other brands) is just too heavy and white to wear under makeup. I have very oily skin, and it didn't reduce shine for me all. I also didn't care for the scent. I am mixing it with an SPF 15 product right now to use it up, but I won't reorder.

  13. Cindy M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 02, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Made me break out
    • I bought this because it specifically said it was for sensitive skin. Well it wasn't for MY sensitive skin. When I talked to a rep about returning it I was told that this product NEVER causes a reaction and the problem must be something else I was using. Well I stopped using everything but this & it turned out that this was the problem. I finally was able to speak to a different rep who was very kind & helpful. I wanted to love this but I can't.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, October 03, 2013

    Thanks for your review! The Hydralight formula is great for sensitive, breakout-prone skin but no product can be 100% perfect for everyone with those issues. It may not have been the product itself, it may have been the result of combining it with other products in your routine. That's a big part of why determining what caused the problem can be tricky.

    —Admin
  14. francie
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    what I've been looking for
    • I've been using this for two months, and I'm in love with the results. I have difficult skin- combination w/ rosacea, but unfortch mineral 'screens have always caused breakouts for me. So I've just suffered the irritation of chemical 'screens to avoid the acne, which felt like substituting one problem for another. Since I started using the Hydralight, my skin has looked GREAT. No acne (except hormonal, which I guess can't be helped) no redness. Love the smooth application and brightening finish!

  15. DEIDRE C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 19, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Didn't Work For Me
    • This just didn't work for me. I love PC products and they've totally transformed my skin, but this was a disappointment. My skin is oily and I found myself having to apply powder throughout the day to combat the shine. The texture was good and it wasn't white, but it created more shine and oil. The Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30 worked much better, as did the RESIST Super-Light Wrinkle Defense SPF 30.

  16. Michelle K
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    BEST SUNSCREEN EVER!!!
    • I am so happy to have finally found the perfect sunscreen for my face/neck. I have fair, normal/sensitive skin with a slightly oily T-zone. I love the fact that it's not heavy and greasy. It works beautifully under my makeup/foundation. It causes no irritation or breakouts. I feel as though my skin looks better when I have this on. It's a beautiful sunscreen that is a pleasure to wear everyday. I never thought I'd say that about a sunscreen, but it's true. Give this one a try.

  17. Illovo
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I have an oily skin with regular breakouts on my forehead and chin area. Unfortunately, this lotion didn't do it for me. I started breaking out on my cheeks. May be I am allergic to mineral sunscreen. It does give you a matt finish which can last half a day. However every evening I saw you breakouts coming out. I threw it away.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, September 19, 2013
    Hi there! We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you. Rather than tossing your product, you may certainly contact Customer Care for assistance with a return or exchange (never a need to feel "stuck" with a product that isn't working for you!).
    —Admin
  18. LAURA M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    shiny skin
    • I love almost all of Paula's products I've used, but not this one. Although it does feel good on my skin, it is not a matte finish....it leaves me very shiny, and it even shines through under her powder and foundation, and I'm only oily around my nose, and only in hot weather. If it was a matte finish, I'd give it 5 stars...

  19. Alessandra B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Awesome!
    • I think this cream is fantastic! I've been using it for a few months now and I really like it. It hydrates my skin nicely, absorbs into my skin well and quickly, no stickiness at all. It does not cause shine, as it states. However, the only thing that I don't like is that when I sweat heavily (in the summer time) the spf part of the scream moves into my eyes and causes burning, basically for the rest of the day. Now that the temps are not as high, the cream doesn't move and my eyes are fine!

  20. AG
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Messy and comes off
    • Was ordering Skin Mattifying SPF 15 combo skin & I wish it was still around. I decided to try this along w/ the new Skin Balancing SPF30 & the RESIST SPF 30 for combo skin b/c the reviews are so mixed for all of the new products. This product is heavy & feels greasy. It doesn't really absorb & I thought it really was terrible considering I don't always wear make-up and it was smearing all over my cell phone. Also after a sweating during exercise, my skin was itchy. Sent it back for $.

  21. KRISTEN M.
    Reviewed on Friday, September 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for Combination Skin - Shrinks Pores
    • I have tried all of Paula's sunscreens trying to find the one right for my combination skin, oily in the t-zone/center of my face, dry around the outside of face and cheeks. I used to use the Resist Cellular Defense Moisturizer, but it was too greasy and started to enlarge my pores. After trying all of her sunscreens several times, this one did the best job! It actually shrunk my pores back done and my face looks dewy and flawless, never oily. I'm 30 and a fair skinned redhead. Highly recommend!

  22. Tracy M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Make up stays on longer in oily areas
    • I like this product for helping enhance the lasting power of my make up and having a superb spf, mineral nonetheless.

  23. LEAH S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome stuff.
    • This is fantastic for those of us who normally break out from daily moisturizers with SPF 30 or higher. Been using it for about a month now with no breakouts. Also, it is almost like a primer. It has a really nice texture and visibly improves my skin tone before I put my makeup on. It's a keeper!

  24. April F.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Ah-mazing!
    • Paula my routine consists of all your products. I currently use 6 of them everyday and this is one of my favorites! It is smooth as silk and not greasy like a dimethicone primer. I say primer because this works beautifully under foundation and my skin drinks it up and makes it smooth and supple! Not to mention the SPF!! A+++ Paula!

  25. TARA H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 20, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for Me
    • I wanted to love this sunscreen--it isn't runny which makes putting it on easy without wasting any product and it truly does leave your skin looking matte, which is so unusual for sunscreen (hence the two stars)! However, for some reason it stings when I put it on and generally hurts rather than feeling pleasant. I am SO bummed! I think I'll have to go back to the Skin Balancing SPF Moisturizer, as that did not sting and burn the way this one does.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex with SPF 30 with Antioxidants provides gentle, broad-spectrum mineral-based sun protection in a lightweight lotion that leaves a soft, powder-like, practically imperceptible finish. Its smooth texture applies easily and works beautifully around the eyes and under makeup. Soothing anti-irritants and antioxidants work to repair and strengthen skin so it looks and acts younger. With daily use, skin will resist and repair multiple signs of aging, while maintaining a shine-free appearance.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex is ideal for those with normal to oily or combination skin, who want light hydration with a soft matte finish and gentle, but extremely effective, broad-spectrum sun protection. Also excellent for those with oily yet sensitive skin and those struggling with rosacea or reactive skin.

Sources to Support the Claims Made for Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30

Experimental Dermatology, June 2011, pages 477–482; Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, March 2011, pages 178–187; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, August 2009, pages 56–59; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23–34; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2008, pages S139–S148; Acta-Dermatovenereologica Croatia, Volume 15, Issue 2, 2007, pages 92-95; and Volume 11, Issue 3, 2003, pages 158–162; and Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2007, pages 1–4.

Key Ingredients: dimethicone, zinc oxide, glycerin, panthenol, titanium dioxide, Camellia sinensis, cyclomethicone, Glycyrrhiza glabra, algae extract, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, allantoin

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 6%; Titanium Dioxide 2.32% (sunscreens).

Other Ingredients: Water, Ethylhexyl Palmitate (thickener),Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents and skin protectants), Polysorbate 80 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Methicone (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (emollient thickeners), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (emollient), Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (film-forming agent), Isohexadecane (dry-finish solvent), Cetyl Alcohol (emollient), Propylene Glycol (moisture-binding agent), Polyglyceryl-6 Isostearate (emollient), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant),Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (antioxidant), Algae Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agents), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin, Panthenol (skin-repairing ingredients), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Alumina, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone (skin-conditioning agent), Diethylhexyl Carbonate (emollient), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone slip agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally before sun exposure and after using Paula's Choice Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser and Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner. May be applied over any Paula's Choice exfoliant or serum. Reapply as needed after swimming, toweling off, or excessive perspiration.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

How does Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 differ from Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30?

These two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen have different active ingredients. Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 contains titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, while Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30 contains a blend of avobenzone with other non-mineral sunscreen actives. The Hydralight SPF 30 is a light cream with sheer moisture, whereas the Skin Balancing SPF 30 is more like a liquid/fluid lotion. BOTH of these daytime moisturizers provide excellent broad-spectrum sun protection and treat skin to the beneficial antioxidants it needs to look and act younger. Also, both formulas were designed to work well under makeup (they won’t cause it to slip off or make oily areas look shiny).

Should I reapply Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, this daytime moisturizer with sunscreen should be reapplied. You also have the option of touching up with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater, such as Healthy Finish Pressed Powder SPF 15.

432586-PCWEB-WW v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.