Items you may also like

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Back off sunshine, I’ve got back-up. Protect your skin from the #1 cause of wrinkles and brown spots, and hydrate while you’re at it.
Item #: 172
  • Acne Breakouts, Brown Spots, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination , Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea

Expiration Date 1/2016

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 195 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 8 Next »
  1. Marshal
    Reviewed on Friday, July 18, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Was not shine-free
    • After several people praised about PC online, I was very much looking forward to her products. However, after using her Hydralight Shine-Free SPF 30 for a few days, I was rather disappointed. This moisturizer was in fact not shine-free. It made my dry skin look shiny right away and very shiny over the next few hours. I have dry skin with small pores and this product made them look darker and larger. I will not be ordering this product in the future.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, July 18, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We encourage you to try one of our other SPF-rated products, and are happy to help you pick the right one for you (this formula is not for dry skin). For reasons we cannot explain, your experience with this product was the opposite of what the ingredients it contains do in terms of not looking shiny. Please contact us to arrange for a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  2. Stan
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm in love with this natural sunscreen
    • 0 white cast, hydrating, healthy glow as soon as it's applied, not greasy or overly dewy, very natural fresh face with amazing ingredients and SPF ingredients like zinc and titanium dioxides. Nothing else I can say it's amazing. The hydra light lotion without SPF is great too

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this stuff!
    • I am so glad I discovered this Hydralight spf 30! I don't have particularly oily skin, in fact my skin is dry to very dry. But it is also ultra sensitive. I have tried all kinds of moisturizers with spf over the years and if they didn't irritate, I settled for the inevitable sticky, tacky feeling. This leaves my skin feeling soft and moisturized and looking much better in the mirror! My skin can breathe again and I am honestly unaware of having an spf 30 on my face, which is a miracle.

  4. Anita H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    not shine free!!
    • I usually love Paulas Choice products but this is an exception. I have found this to be EXTREMELY greasy with a shine and I usually need make up just to combat this which I want to avoid due to breakouts. Disappointed.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, July 14, 2014

    Thanks for your review! Your experience isn't typical for this product, as most find it to be quite matte. It may be due to the combination of products you're using, but in either case, we'd be happy to provide a refund or exchange, so please contact us to initiate this process.

    —Admin
  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    best so far
    • This is my favourite sunscreen so far. It does leave a slight white cast if I apply it thinly, or a distinct white cast if I apply a lot (as you're supposed to with sunscreen). That's okay. The main con is that, while it looks smooth immediately after application, by the end of the day it appears dry somehow and makes my skin look much older. I prefer the glowy look of the Skin Balancing sunscreen, but not the burning sensation. As I want a mineral sunscreen, this is my choice for now.

  6. Suzanne L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Finnicky Formula
    • This sunscreen worked great for me until my dermatitis spread to the rest of my face. Before my flare up this product didn't give me a single issue, but now if I apply it it makes my skin tighten up, flake, and just overall get irritated and red and pissed off. I'm currently hiding from the sun until I find a sunscreen that doesn't make me want to attack my skin. Awesome for sensitive skin, but if you get a bad flare up of any type of dermatitis/psoriasis, I would steer clear of it.

  7. Zee
    Reviewed on Monday, July 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • After trying some supposedly gentle sunscreens that burned around my eyes -- where I definitely need sunscreen -- I tried this. This is perfect for my combination to dry skin, even in 90-degree NYC weather, which involves walking a lot and commuting on packed/hot trains. It's not heavy and doesn't leave a white cast on my skin. FYI, I'm a light-skinned African-American so this was very important to me.

  8. Florence C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 05, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Probably going to buy this forever
    • This sunscreen DOES go on with a white cast, and it DOES go on shiny, but after about 5-10 minutes, the shininess goes away and the white cast fades and you're left with something that's pretty matte for a sunscreen. I haven't had any breakouts or issues caused by this. 4 Stars because it doesn't improve on my skin, but is still a really a good product and sun protection will help my skin lots long term anyway. I think this will be my go-to sunscreen for years to come!

  9. S.H.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Sunscreen
    • Love this product...no shine, no white or grey cast & not drying. One can lather it on & make-up does not slide off.

  10. Angela
    Reviewed on Friday, July 04, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Oily finish
    • No matter how much or little I put on, there is always this oily and shiny finish :( Plus, it leaves a white cast on my face. Has tried it for weeks and never once has it been shine-free for me.

  11. Stan
    Reviewed on Friday, June 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Reordering this for the rest of my life
    • This is my most favorite mineral sunscreen of all time. It's hydrating and no matter how much I pile on, there's no white cast at all and dries to a natural finish. Super hydrating soothing on my break outs. No complaints at all.

  12. TRACY
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pat it on
    • I didn't like this at first because it looked white and balled up when I rubbed it on. I used Resist mineral sunscreen instead. The I read on a blog you're supposed to warm up mineral sunscreen between your hands then PAT it on not rub. Now I love it. I use this method for all my mineral sunscreens, tinted moisturizers, etc. no balls, no white cast. Since using PC skin care and only mineral sunscreens my rosacea is gone.

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • I love this product. There aren't enough words for how much I love it. When my skin starts acting weird, gets extra sensitive and my eczema flairs up, it doesn't sting or irritate it more. It also doesn't break me out or make my face extra oily through out the day, which is a huge plus. I use it everyday and think it's one of the best sunscreens I have ever used.

  14. Daniela C.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Thank You So Much!
    • I am so grateful for this sunscreen. Mineral sunscreen actives only, no greesy feeling, no white cast, no breakouts, no stinging in the eyes, no funny smell, no tint (I don't like tinted creams), protects well, hydrates well. I love it and will reorder again and again. Thank you, Mrs. Paula and the Team!

  15. Mini
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I've never had a moisturizer that I've loved. Anything I've tried has left my skin feeling greasy or broke me out. I LOVE this moisturizer. It doesn't feel greasy, hasn't made my skin break out, and has built-in sun protection. I've since re-ordered it!

  16. Andrew L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great stuff
    • I ordered this and tried it out, seems to be quite amazing. It doesnt burn my eye area or freshly shaven face, and dried to a nice finish. The finish isnt completely matte, but it looks perfectly fine to me. I liked the Skin Balancing SS too, but my skin is a bit sensitive to chemical actives. Sometimes people complain about a white cast with mineral sunscreens, but i found with this one its good to apply generously, gently work it in, let it sit and soak it for a bit, then work it in more.

  17. Vikky
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best. Ever.
    • Perfect product for me. Pretty matte, doesn't burn my extra sensitive eyes unless I accidentaly get lotion on my eye. It's lightweight and I can wear a mineral-based SPF foundation or a water based foundation with this pretty seamlessly. I'm not sure how it would work with an oil based foundation. It does have a bit of a white cast due to it's mineral sunscreen, so darker skin tones might not like that. You can off set this with a bit of foundation. BEST SUNSCRREN EVER!

  18. AMANDA
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best sunscreen for frequent use on hands.
    • This hydralight moisturizing sunscreen has been perfect for me to apply to my hands frequently during the day. It does not stay greasy and is not shiny on my hands. This product has been working really great!

  19. Carla R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A larger size, please
    • I use this on my body rather than my face. (I switched to the Resist Light sunscreen for my face.) I much prefer physical sunscreens so I only choose those. I also have acne and oily skin, so this is ideal except for one thing: I want it in a larger size! I go through this way too fast.

  20. RD
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good sunscreen
    • I have acne prone combination skin. When I apply this sunscreen, it feels lightweight and hasn't caused any breakouts. Great on eyelids, too. But there's only one problem. When you apply it liberally, it sometimes leaves a slight subtle white cast on random areas, and it won't always be apparent under any light. I'm surprised that not a lot of people have pointed this out in their reviews, so I'm not even sure if I received a faulty one. I have not yet found the perfect sunscreen for my skin.

  21. Jasmine
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 08, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product but tricky to work with
    • As a sunscreen this is my all time fave. It leaves my combination/oily skin with a smooth, truly 'soft matte' finish (I don't like to be 100% matte). I am dark skinned so it does leave a violet/white cast. My solution: apply and let set 5-10 mins then really work it into skin and the white cast goes away. The con is that I can't just slap it on and go but I'm willing to sacrifice the extra time for superior protection. Another con is the price and small amount in the tube

  22. Linda F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome stuff!
    • I used this on my kids and I while on a Spring Break trip to AZ. NONE of us burned, tanned, or showed any sign of sun exposure! The best thing is that there's no smell. We now use it as our #1 sunscreen. We don't limit its use to our faces — this is our all over sunscreen. It doesn't aggravate my teenage son's acne at all. I'm back to order more! As with many of PC's products, we wish it were in a bigger bottle.

  23. Marissa C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    almost shine free
    • I've learned you can't be too picky about non-chemical sunscreens You're either white, shiny or both. This is a really fantastic product. Doesn't leave a white cast and is even a bit moisturising so with really oily skin you could maybe skip moisturiser. It's not entirely shine free but I had some samples of the skin balancing gel and tried that in my t-zone which helped. There's always Paula's shine stopper as a finishing step. I only wish it came in a bigger bottle!

  24. Julia E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Spoke too soon
    • I loved this for a whole week...longer than I've loved most sunscreens. It was mostly matte, physical, and hydrating at the same time. My skin is very reactive these days, and after a week of adding this into my routine I got 1 giant zit and 4-5 smaller inflamed pimples on my forehead, cheeks, and chin. Not the usually time of month for such a breakout and this is the only thing I changed. Luckily, I have PC BHA and BP, so the zits are disappearing fairly quickly, but sad.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 29, 2014

    Hi Julia! We're sorry to hear the Hydralight SPF 30 wasn't a fit for you! Please contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  25. Vanessa P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    love it!!
    • It is very gentle with my skin which tends to be very sensitive to most products. It is white when applied but the white color disappears. It says shine free which is true but my nose is this shiny because it can be very oily (but not as much).

« Prev Page of 8 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex with SPF 30 with Antioxidants provides gentle, broad-spectrum mineral-based sun protection in a lightweight lotion that leaves a soft, powder-like, practically imperceptible finish. Its smooth texture applies easily and works beautifully around the eyes and under makeup. Soothing anti-irritants and antioxidants work to repair and strengthen skin so it looks and acts younger. With daily use, skin will resist and repair multiple signs of aging, while maintaining a shine-free appearance.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex is ideal for those with normal to oily or combination skin, who want light hydration with a soft matte finish and gentle, but extremely effective, broad-spectrum sun protection. Also excellent for those with oily yet sensitive skin and those struggling with rosacea or reactive skin.

Sources to Support the Claims Made for Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30

Experimental Dermatology, June 2011, pages 477–482; Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, March 2011, pages 178–187; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, August 2009, pages 56–59; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23–34; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2008, pages S139–S148; Acta-Dermatovenereologica Croatia, Volume 15, Issue 2, 2007, pages 92-95; and Volume 11, Issue 3, 2003, pages 158–162; and Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2007, pages 1–4.

Key Ingredients: dimethicone, zinc oxide, glycerin, panthenol, titanium dioxide, Camellia sinensis, cyclomethicone, Glycyrrhiza glabra, algae extract, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, allantoin

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 6%; Titanium Dioxide 2.32% (sunscreens).

Other Ingredients: Water, Ethylhexyl Palmitate (thickener),Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents and skin protectants), Polysorbate 80 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Methicone (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (emollient thickeners), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (emollient), Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (film-forming agent), Isohexadecane (dry-finish solvent), Cetyl Alcohol (emollient), Propylene Glycol (moisture-binding agent), Polyglyceryl-6 Isostearate (emollient), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant),Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (antioxidant), Algae Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agents), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin, Panthenol (skin-repairing ingredients), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Alumina, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone (skin-conditioning agent), Diethylhexyl Carbonate (emollient), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone slip agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally before sun exposure and after using Paula's Choice Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser and Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner. May be applied over any Paula's Choice exfoliant or serum. Reapply as needed after swimming, toweling off, or excessive perspiration.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 differ from Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30?

These two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen have different active ingredients. Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 contains titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, while Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30 contains a blend of avobenzone with other non-mineral sunscreen actives. The Hydralight SPF 30 is a light cream with sheer moisture, whereas the Skin Balancing SPF 30 is more like a liquid/fluid lotion. BOTH of these daytime moisturizers provide excellent broad-spectrum sun protection and treat skin to the beneficial antioxidants it needs to look and act younger. Also, both formulas were designed to work well under makeup (they won’t cause it to slip off or make oily areas look shiny).

Should I reapply Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, this daytime moisturizer with sunscreen should be reapplied. You also have the option of touching up with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater, such as Healthy Finish Pressed Powder SPF 15.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.351 11/23/2014 4:16:36 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.