Items you may also like

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Turn down the shine. A pea-sized amount of this oil control primer gives you a silky, powder-like finish that lasts 6 hours. It controls oil, minimizes pores.
Item #: 360
  • Enlarged Pores
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Unique MICROSPONGE® Technology controls shine

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 270 Reviews)
Page of 11 Next »
  1. julie m
    Reviewed on Monday, September 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lifesaver!
    • This stuff is great! Before using this my makeup used to slide off my t zone within a couple hours. Now, I dab this OVER my foundation and then apply powder on top, and my face is oil free for the whole day! I recommend applying it this way because it didn't work when I applied it under my foundation. Anyways, I love this stuff and the tube seems like it will last for years!

  2. Lori Z
    Reviewed on Friday, September 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Holy Grail for oily skin!
    • I have had oily skin all my life (I'm 53) and nothing has ever controlled my oily skin. This stuff is awesome! If it's really hot and humid, I may need to re-apply late afternoon, but otherwise I am oil free all day AND it doesn't dry out my skin either in my less oily zone or look chalky like some powders. I even use it on my eyelids to keep my eye makeup from sliding off. I highly recommend.

  3. Kelly
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Absolutley works!!
    • I have very oily skin and often throughout the day need to blot my skin and reapply powder. I took a chance on ordering this product and I'm glad I did. Each morning I apply my makeup at around 7am. Once finished, I use Shine Stopper over areas of my face that are oily...forehead and cheeks. Immediately, I feel a soft, powder like texture on my skin and this application lasts me up until about 4pm each day. It's great!!

  4. Sabrina W.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm disappointed that I didn't find this sooner than I did!!!!
    • I have extremely oily skin. I used to have the urge to wash my face halfway through the day just to feel clean. Using this in combination with Paula's Resist Super-Light Wrinkle Defense (which is surprisingly mattifying), I can easily go 12 hours and only look slightly shiny. I no longer need to excuse myself to go and blot in the bathroom. CONS: It can be over-drying. You have to make sure you exfoliate & moisturize so it doesn't magnify dry skin. Also, my nose still does get a little oily.

  5. David B.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This product saved my life!
    • I've struggled with oily/acne prone skin all my adult life. I work at a very hot and humid workplace at times and find that with two applications of the Shine Stopper, my skin will stay matte all night long. I've even gotten compliments on how good my skin looks, which is a first! I do have to reapply in the middle of the day but it usually keeps oil away for about 6 hours. I've been searching for a product like this and would recommend it to anyone!

  6. Amy R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Use sparingly
    • As long as I use Shine Stopper sparingly, it works well for me to reduce the appearance of my pores through foundation. Without SS, my cheeks look like orange peel. With a small amount, and smaller than the pea size amount specified in its use instructions, it works well as a sort of spackle, which really evens out my foundation. If I use too much, my skin will break out by the end of the day in tiny whiteheads. I also use it under powder only, on days I will be out in humidity.

  7. theyhaveways
    Reviewed on Friday, August 15, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good, but Very Temperamental
    • Controls oil as advertised, but this product has a learning curve to use effectively. Letting it dry down is important. Depending on what you put on top of it you'll discover that you could get dryness or subpar oil control. It may also change the texture of some make up products. I've learned how to use it effectively to where I'm happy with the result, but understand this product isn't very user friendly, and the learning curve can become frustrating. Definitely try this out as a sample first.

  8. Anna B
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 03, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Pretty good
    • My skin is super duper oily, like after 30 minutes of washing my face. This stuff is pretty good and helps to keep my face matte for about three hours, which is the most of any other product, I have to say. However, when applying it over foundation it seriously disrupts my makeup which is super disappointing. I pat it down and everything, but man, is it a pain to constantly have to reapply, and then the concealer balls up over it. I like it and will use until I find something better.

  9. Cristina C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    nose problems
    • I first bought a sample of this, I have a very oily t-zone and have tried every product imaginable. This work great I was so happy so I bought the full product, it doesn't work anymore. My face still gets oily mid day. I was wondering if I'm not applying correctly, I've done slow days or quick ones still doesn't help! Anyone else can reply with anything else they have used. My nose has very large pores as well that nothing I use seems to minimize them either. I'm 28 and nose area bothers me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, July 30, 2014

    It can depend on what else you're using on your nose and when in your routine you apply Shine Stopper. You may need to apply it to your nose before and after applying your SPF product, sort of a "sandwich" effect to really keep this shine-prone area tempered.

    —Admin
  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, July 28, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    T-e-r-r-i-b-l-e!
    • Having tried dozens and dozens of mattifiers and primers for my oily T-zone, I thought for sure Paula's Choice would come through with "the one." (I truly love some of the other PC products!) Sadly - no, nope, not at all. In fact, in using Shine Stopper, I was oilier and shinier by mid-day than I was using anything else. It was almost embarrassing. I used it according to the directions too by dabbing it on. Oh well - on to something different.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, July 29, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry this didn't work for you. Shine Stopper tends to be a polarizing product; some customers love it and find it works better than anything else they''ve tried, and others have an experience similiar to yours. We wish we had a rational explanation for why this happens!

    —Admin
  11. Paul T
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Controls Oil, but only for 1 hour
    • I've been a huge sufferer of oily skin for many years and i recently tried Paula's Choice products in hopes it would help. I do love the BHA liquid exfoliater, however this product does nothing for me. When i apply it, it does absorb oil on my face that's already there, however the product doesn't have long lasting absorbing abilities. I tried one day applying it multiple times but the oil just kept coming back. I'll have to return it unfortunately. Perhaps make it stronger?

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Incredible
    • I used to have to use blotting sheets on my face multiple times a day in an unsuccessful attempt to tame the oil slick on my face -- I had also tried many other oil control products with no success. Now, thanks to Shine Stopper, I can get through an entire work day without my face getting oily. The product can be a little tricky to apply in conjunction with makeup, but the trick is to use a very light touch.

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LIFESAVER, customer for life!
    • This product LITERALLY is a life saver, I've hated my skin for over a decade and this is the only product that actually controls oil and makes me feel human again. I used to never be able to touch my face without my fingers being covered in grease, now I can actually touch my skin and it feels like normal human skin - I never thought a product would be able to do that, and this product has actually made a dramatic change in my quality of life , thank you so much, I refer everyone I know to PC!

  14. Nathan T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Does This Even Work? Yes!
    • Yes, it does!! I put some on at 11am and spent the day running errands in the humid NYC summer weather. When I got back at 8pm..my face was still matte! No shiny, oily face! This was what I have been waiting for since junior high! I'm in my 20s and wish I had known about this...thinking back to all the times I snuck away to blot my face or put more baby powder (!) on my T-zone, only to have the oil resurface minutes later. If you have a teen w/oily skin, GET THIS. IT WORKS! Thank you, Paula!!!

  15. Ashley W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    works great
    • soooooo great. it felt matte when i put it on, i put a pea sized amount over each section of my face and it was super smooth. i didn't get oily til much after 6 hours it seems. my t-zone did get a bit shiny, but less than it normally would. definitely a must have for me now!

  16. Tina
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Always In My Purse!
    • As someone with very oily skin, I make it a habit to always have this in my purse. During the day, I blot first and follow up with this shine stopper and finalize with a pressed powder. Controls the oil for sure!

  17. Christina
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Didn't work for me
    • I use a lot of Paula's Choice products and I really wanted something like this, but it just didn't do anything for me. It feels great when you first put it on, but my skin is oily very soon after application. I tried putting it on before and after my make-up. I brought it to work to apply after my commute in case my time outside was just too much for the product. But sadly, my face still got oily in my air conditioned office. It became a waste of time trying to make it work.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, July 02, 2014

    Hi Christina! We're sorry to hear the Shine Stopper didn't work out for you! However, we can help with a refund or exchange. Please contact our Customer Care Team and they will help.

    —Admin
  18. Lillian S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow!
    • This stuff really works! My forehead and nose are prone to getting greasy by the afternoon usually and this has kept my face totally matte. If you follow the instructions (dab some on after applying makeup), it absorbs right in and stays grease-free! I love it!

  19. T
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It WORKS!!!
    • I only need this for my t-zone. Like other have said, you kind of pat it on. It is weightless. I use it under my makeup. It keeps me shine free all day - even in humidity. My makeup also lasts longer. No break-outs. I like how it feels like nothing - some primers feel so heavy. This one is great and it WORKS. Price point is good on this too!

  20. Mini
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I thought this would be a gimmick for sure, so I only bought a sample of this. I have yet to find a primer or setting spray which can keep the mid-day greasies at bay. The application seems a bit weird - you have to pat it on your face AFTER putting on all your makeup. And lo and behold - no need for blotting papers!!! It even kept my makeup looking decent in crazy heat and humidity. Needless to say, I re-ordered a full size!

  21. Whitney M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My must-have!
    • Of all my Paula's Choice products, this is the one that surprised me the most. I was looking for an oil controlling base/primer for my wedding, and now I can't live without it! The trick is to pat the product into skin, not rub or smooth as you would a usual lotion. I use this on my oily t-zone and it leaves me matte all day, even in the hot and humid summer months. I even use this on my eyelids (very carefully) as an eye primer. I will definitely continue to repurchase!

  22. Robyn T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works incredibly well!
    • This product is amazing, and works wonders. I have oily-combination, blackhead and acne-prone skin, and I live in a hot, humid climate. It really soaks up the oil, no doubt! It leaves my nose so matte, I just can't believe it. The results are truly incredible.

  23. Jassica S.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 06, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Does not work for me (Humid country)
    • I bought Clear Regular Strength Acne, Earth Sourced Toner, Resist C15, Redness Relief, Hydralight lotion, Hydralight Shine-Free SPF30, Shine Stopper together. Maybe because my country is really really humid and hot, this product does not work for me at all. My face becomes oily very quickly and especially around the T-zones even with this product on.

  24. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Remarkable Product
    • I just love this product and now that I've found it I won't ever be without it; thanks so much Paula for making this remarkable product!!! At first I used it as the last step in my skincare routine by itself, but now that summer is here and I am very fair skinned I wanted a little glow so I don't look so pale! I mix a couple of drops of the NEW Sun 365 Self-tanning concentrate and in a couple of hours or in the morning if I apply at night, I have a nice glow with a matte finish! LOVE IT!

  25. Kate
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works like a charm!
    • I LOVE this product... It really does work like magic! I have an oily T zone and I used to have to dab my face a few times a day at least due to the shiny, oily look. Since using this product, I haven't had to dab my face at all! It lasts ALL day... the only thing i'd say is follow the instructions - don't rub on face, gently dab. Rubbing makes the product go flaky. Thank you for the wonderful product, Paula!!

Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is clinically proven to keep skin perfectly matte for at least 6 hours. Its unique MICROSPONGE® Technology works invisibly to keep oily shine in check while minimizing the appearance of pores. The luxurious formula dries to a silky-soft, powder-like finish that smoothes out minor skin imperfections—your makeup will look better and last longer than ever!

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Anyone with oily skin (or oily areas) who wants to maintain a fresh, matte complexion. Shine Stopper is perfect for blackhead- and blemish-prone skin; ideal for combination skin with an oily t-zone (forehead, nose, chin).

Sources to support the claims made for Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with Microsponge® Technology

International Journal of Cosmetic Science, Epublication, July 2010; Molecular Pharmaceutics, September–October 2009, pages 1,441–1,448; British Journal of Dermatology, November 2006, pages 890–894; and www.microsponge.com.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, silicone

Product Ingredients:

Water, Methyl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent/absorbent polymer), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (thickener), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-100 Stearate (thickener), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (absorbent), Glyceryl Stearate, Myristyl Myristate, Ceteareth-20, Xanthan Gum (thickeners), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Dispense a pea-sized amount and using clean fingers or a foundation sponge, dab (do not rub) lightly over oily areas as the last step of your skincare routine or over your foundation. If you wish to apply powder or blush over Shine Stopper, let Shine Stopper set completely first. Reapply as needed.

Additional Application Options and Tips

  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish works best when used with a lightweight liquid or powder foundation that also has a matte finish.
  • Those with oily skin should use a mattifying daytime moisturizer with SPF or a foundation with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater.
  • Don't wear makeup? No problem! If you have oily skin or oily areas, Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish may be used alone. The finish is invisible.
  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is excellent for men struggling with shiny areas, including on the scalp.
  • For best results, wait for your exfoliant and/or toner to set/absorb before applying Shine Stopper.
  • If using with one of Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrates, apply Shine Stopper after the serum.

Is Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish a primer?

Yes, in the sense that it helps those with oily skin maintain control over excess surface oil while smoothing skin's texture. These features help enhance makeup application and wear, so you'll see longer-lasting results and won't have to touch up frequently. For best results, make sure your foundation has a matte finish.

What exactly is Microsponge® Technology?

This proprietary technology works instantly and over time to help absorb and trap excess oil as it reaches your skin's surface. Much like a sponge absorbs moisture, Microsponge uses special porous polymers that not only absorb excess oil but also leave your skin feeling powdery smooth and fresh. Think of this technology as millions of spherical sponges working to keep your oily skin looking beautifully refined and perfectly matte without dryness or dullness.

Where does all of the excess oil go?

Once absorbed via the Microsponge® Technology, the excess oil remains trapped inside the unique polymers until they've reached their capacity to trap oil. Once this happens, you'll begin seeing excess shine on your skin; however, most will find that the technology built into Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish keeps excess oil (shine) in check for several hours. When you cleanse your face, the polymers holding the excess oil are simply washed away!

Does Microsponge® Technology involve the use of nanoparticles?

No, this technology was made possible without the use of nanoparticles.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.338 10/1/2014 5:43:03 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.