Items you may also like

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Turn down the shine. A pea-sized amount of this oil control primer gives you a silky, powder-like finish that lasts 6 hours. It controls oil, minimizes pores.
Item #: 360
  • Enlarged Pores
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Unique MICROSPONGE® Technology controls shine

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 271 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 11 Next »
  1. D
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really works
    • I'm in my 40's, and I've always had a shiny nose. Usually my nose produces more oil in response to anything meant to create a matte look. This is the first product I've ever used that works.

  2. Susan D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE!
    • I absolutely love this product. Has considerably cut down the oil and has even helped with black heads! At first I was rubbing the product into my skin, so because I wasn't using it right I didn't know if I liked it. After reading the directions again and seeing that you need to dab, NOT rub the product into skin I've fallen in love with it. I use it morning and night after cleaning and moisturizing. I would recommend anyone who has trouble controlling their oily skin try this product!

  3. Ree A
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My refuge
    • Shine Stopper is my only refuge since they reformulated Antishine from Smashbox. I am still in mourning over that particular loss, but Shine Stopper is a good successor. :)

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, December 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This is the first oil-control product I've tried that actually works. Oil is my biggest skin problem, and I always thought it seemed like my face was exceptionally bad. Typically, I would wash my face in the morning, and use 4-5 oil blotting sheets throughout the day. Each sheet would be completely clear each time. Now, I put this on in the morning after I wash my face and I don't even think about blotting--it works SO well and the "instant matte" definitely lives up to its name. It lasts too!

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very pleased with the lovely result
    • I have moderately oily t-zone, don't wear foundation, and only use concealer to cover up blemishes. Primer is such a foreign concept. As shine's become more noticeable in photos these days, I finally tried this(free w/purchase) after it'd been sitting around for a while. Had to practise for an even application though. It didn't leave my skin parched, just a matt beginning and a glow by the end of 5-6 hours. That's 1 extra step I can add to my lazy person routine to look polished and feel pretty.

  6. VANESSA S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love It
    • I have quite an oily T zone, made worse by the fact I insist on wearing 'dewy' foundations. This product has solved my dilemma. It really controls the oil without your face looking too matt. I put it on before work and can go until after lunch without having to even worry about checking for a shiny face. Just a tip, and it does say it on the packaging - let your makeup set before you put this on. I have put it on straight after putting my foundation on when in a rush and it didn't work for me.

  7. LeeAnne N
    Reviewed on Friday, December 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • My skin isn't the oiliest, but I wear a medical mask and take it off and on all day, which tends to make my face shiny by the end of a work day. When I use this product, there's no shine at the end of the day

  8. Sofia, R.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is unbelievable.. won't go anywhere without it
    • This is by far my favorite Paula's Choice product. It really is amazing and you can see results immediately. I apply literally a tear drop size amount onto my finger, rub together and pat onto my shiny areas & I am not shiny all day. Now I will still be a little oily, but if anything I look dewy and refreshed. I can see the difference in my skin when I don't use it. I literally won't go anywhere without this and an SPF color chap-stick. I share this will all my friends & they love it too

  9. Kristina K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Combats Oil All Day
    • I don't have particularly oily skin, but it's very red, and I do use sea buckthorn oil to calm the flushing. The down side of using an oil directly on your face is that it gets very oily very quickly throughout the day. This shine stopper stuff is the only thing that stops my face from getting oily throughout the day! And it's great, because it creates a barrier between my skin and the air, so my skin isn't getting dried out at all.

  10. Ann G.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing miracle product! Thank you!
    • I have literally battled EXTREMELY oily skin my entire life. I always thought that I would outgrow it eventually. I am still waiting. My skin is as oily today in my 50's as it was at 15. Within 1 hour I had an oily shine and within 2 hours my face was a greasy mess. Gross. I have spent a lot of money on dozens of products over my lifetime. Some helped a little, some not at all. I can honestly say this product is AMAZING! It completely controls the oil for 6-7 hours! The holy grail for oily skin!

  11. Rachael M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good product if your extremely oily
    • I bought this along with several other Paula's Choice products. After using Paula's products my skin is no longer oily to the point of needing this product. I should have returned it. Free shipping was great enticement to try Paula products. This one does exactly as it claims and is great in itself. If however, you use other Paula products in the Clear line you may not need this one at all!

  12. Andrea M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Never stop producing this one, please!
    • I ordered a sample of this and just used it. My skin is so oily -specially on my forehead , that not even my MAC studio fix powder stays on for more than 3-4 hours. I need to reapply it often. I used this shine stopper and my makeup stayed on all day!! Will order the full size soon. Good job for this amazing product!!

  13. Grace
    Reviewed on Friday, October 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    must be from heaven
    • A lot of people think their skin is oily, but rarely does anyone have skin oilier than mine. When I leave it alone and not fight it, its so bad that I can literally scrape drops of oil off my face. It's gross. I have tried it all.. mattefying powders, mattefying creams, oil blotting paper, just washing face more often, using a oil absorbing cleanser, but this product by FAR has had the greatest (and the only satisfying) results on the oiliness of my skin! amazing!

  14. DSP
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Unbelievable oil control
    • I admit, I was skeptical about this product - but when applied CORRECTLY it has performed extremely well. I don't have to blot until about 4-5 hrs after applying, which is some kind of miracle. And when I do, the amount of oil is much less than usual. There's no scent, and this hasn't irritated my sensitive skin at all. There is no way I would leave the house now without applying this product. I did try an expensive similar product from P...y, and it could not match what PC's could do.

  15. Marcia A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    INCREDIBLE STUFF!
    • This stuff is great!! I have extremely oily skin and no matter how good of a foundation I use, I would still have shine within an hour or two. Not now! I get a nice finish all day long, even in the hot summer! Thank you Paula for your awesome products!

  16. GAYLE L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Ever
    • I have tried several oil absorbers/matte finish products and used them in many locations. I live in a hot and very humid summer climate and do not tolerate it very well. This product keeps me looking cool and oil free. Also took it on a tour of the Hawaii, South Pacific, New Zealand and Australia....it never failed me. It's perfect used with a BB cream.

  17. Beatrice C
    Reviewed on Monday, August 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    It works in Niue - a tiny, HOT, island in the pacific!!
    • I live in New Zealand and bought this product to take to Niue over Christmas - the hottest time of the year for the South Pacific and for Niue. We had Christmas lunch with the ex-Prime Minister of Niue and it was 100 degrees and 99% humidity - at least. I managed to look almost matte the whole three hours!! Great product and very, very useful.

  18. PN
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best product!
    • I'm glad Paula makes this product. I used different types of skin care and makeup all labelled 'oil free' and suitable for oily skin but nothing worked. I had to keep checking my face every few hours to wipe the oily areas. After using this one I don't need to be concerned about my oiliness anymore because my face looks matte for hours. If I leave it on for about more than 6 hours the oil starts to emerge but it's minimal and can only be seen up close. Please do not discontinue this product!

  19. Jessica P
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Better then makeup!
    • I'm one of those women that doesn't like or where makeup. reason is I don't like the way it looks and it just make my face feel dirty. But I do have shiny skin after I wash my face (PAULA CHOICE) . So I got myself some of this shine stopper. it last me a full year. I love it! women you don't need makeup to look beautiful... it works!

  20. CAROL O.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fabulous product
    • As other reviewers have noted, it is VERY important to apply this product as directed - I put a pea-sized drop on my finger tip, spread it on my other fingers, then pat it on my T-zone over my sunscreen. It works extremely well, for hours and hours. I am a big fan of PC products in general, and this is one of the best.

  21. Maggie L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miracle product
    • I used Shine Stopper on my wedding day and my face was beautifully matte all night without blotting once, despite humid 95 degree weather! I have combination skin and I get very oily in the T-zone. I used to rely on blotting papers to get through the day. Now, I apply Shine Stopper in the morning and I'm still not shiny when I get home from a long day! It also makes my large pores dramatically less visible. It's wonderful! Maybe the best thing Paula's Choice has ever come up with.

  22. Jennifer H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • This is the BEST for oil control. My skin is extremely oily and usually gets oily about an hour after I leave the house. When I use this, I usually won't have to powder or blot for about 4 hours. However, I've discovered the key to this working is the way you apply it. When I first bought it I used too much, and would rub it in. This just made it ball up. Now I apply it after my foundation, only use a pea size amount,and dab/pat it in my t-zone. This gives me perfect results.Def recommend!

  23. MICHAEL D.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    It Works!
    • I got this as one of the three free samples with a purchase. I was skeptical, but......it works! During the Summer months, controlling oil is difficult for me. No sooner than I've applied a tinted moisturizer added a dash of color to my lips, I'm shiny. I couldn't wait to try this. I was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked. The directions do indicate that the product may need to be applied more than once a day. Also, it's important to follow directions and dab as opposed to rub.

  24. Kate
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 14, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Waste of money
    • I commute 2 hours to work and in this heat have been sweating in my t-zone, which I usually don't do. I tried this and it didn't help at all - not for 3 hours, not at all. Also it made my foundation ball up and look terrible after about an hour. Complete waste of money. I tried a similar mattifying lotion by Murad which works much better and also has SPF.

  25. ELIZABETH K.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • My skin gets pretty oily in the summer, dry in winter. I mix Shine Stopper in with my foundation and primer, and it works great to give my skin a smooth, matte finish. It doesn't last 6 hrs., and I still have to use blotting papers after it has been on for 6 or more hours, but it looks great all morning.

« Prev Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is clinically proven to keep skin perfectly matte for at least 6 hours. Its unique MICROSPONGE® Technology works invisibly to keep oily shine in check while minimizing the appearance of pores. The luxurious formula dries to a silky-soft, powder-like finish that smoothes out minor skin imperfections—your makeup will look better and last longer than ever!

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Anyone with oily skin (or oily areas) who wants to maintain a fresh, matte complexion. Shine Stopper is perfect for blackhead- and blemish-prone skin; ideal for combination skin with an oily t-zone (forehead, nose, chin).

Sources to support the claims made for Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with Microsponge® Technology

International Journal of Cosmetic Science, Epublication, July 2010; Molecular Pharmaceutics, September–October 2009, pages 1,441–1,448; British Journal of Dermatology, November 2006, pages 890–894; and www.microsponge.com.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, silicone

Product Ingredients:

Water, Methyl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent/absorbent polymer), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (thickener), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-100 Stearate (thickener), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (absorbent), Glyceryl Stearate, Myristyl Myristate, Ceteareth-20, Xanthan Gum (thickeners), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Dispense a pea-sized amount and using clean fingers or a foundation sponge, dab (do not rub) lightly over oily areas as the last step of your skincare routine or over your foundation. If you wish to apply powder or blush over Shine Stopper, let Shine Stopper set completely first. Reapply as needed.

Additional Application Options and Tips

  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish works best when used with a lightweight liquid or powder foundation that also has a matte finish.
  • Those with oily skin should use a mattifying daytime moisturizer with SPF or a foundation with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater.
  • Don't wear makeup? No problem! If you have oily skin or oily areas, Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish may be used alone. The finish is invisible.
  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is excellent for men struggling with shiny areas, including on the scalp.
  • For best results, wait for your exfoliant and/or toner to set/absorb before applying Shine Stopper.
  • If using with one of Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrates, apply Shine Stopper after the serum.

Is Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish a primer?

Yes, in the sense that it helps those with oily skin maintain control over excess surface oil while smoothing skin's texture. These features help enhance makeup application and wear, so you'll see longer-lasting results and won't have to touch up frequently. For best results, make sure your foundation has a matte finish.

What exactly is Microsponge® Technology?

This proprietary technology works instantly and over time to help absorb and trap excess oil as it reaches your skin's surface. Much like a sponge absorbs moisture, Microsponge uses special porous polymers that not only absorb excess oil but also leave your skin feeling powdery smooth and fresh. Think of this technology as millions of spherical sponges working to keep your oily skin looking beautifully refined and perfectly matte without dryness or dullness.

Where does all of the excess oil go?

Once absorbed via the Microsponge® Technology, the excess oil remains trapped inside the unique polymers until they've reached their capacity to trap oil. Once this happens, you'll begin seeing excess shine on your skin; however, most will find that the technology built into Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish keeps excess oil (shine) in check for several hours. When you cleanse your face, the polymers holding the excess oil are simply washed away!

Does Microsponge® Technology involve the use of nanoparticles?

No, this technology was made possible without the use of nanoparticles.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.344 10/21/2014 12:34:56 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.