Items you may also like

Skin Balancing Kit

Just looking for some balance, here. Even out skin that's oily here, dry there with a complete skincare routine that comes in one handy kit.
Item #: 460
  • Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Wrinkles
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • 7 products: cleanser, toner, exfoliant, day moisturizer with SPF, night moisturizer, treatment, treatment mask

Please Note: Do not use the 2% BHA Liquid if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Kit

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 107 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. Jennifer M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Amazing products!
    • I have suffered from acne since I was 11 years old. These products have made a dramatic difference in my skin. I actually feel confident on weekends not wearing any make up. I am finishing up my first kit which is about 3+months worth. My pores are smaller. I no longer have little breakouts on my forehead. Please note that it does take time to heal your skin. They told me to not give up and at least wait the 6-8 weeks. They by far have the best customer service EVER!

  2. April
    Reviewed on Monday, December 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Quick Results!
    • Been using for a week and already impressed with the results! I'm using this line along with samples of BHA 9 and C15 booster. Friends and family have already noticed a difference in my skin tone. The ruddy red patches on my cheeks are greatly diminished. I've struggled for years with blackheads/clogged pores on my nose. I've already noticed a dramatic difference in this as well. My skin feels much smoother, and the flaky skin I used to get around my nostrils is gone. Will re-purchase!

  3. P.Kay
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Life changing
    • The products feel great on my sensitive skin and within a few weeks I was seeing much improvement to fine lines, dark spots, and occasional breakouts and I was able to let go of all other brand treatment products. Over a year of use now and other people are starting to notice the improvements. I do wish you'd make some smaller sizes for a week of use like your CLEAR products trial set. For a longer trip all those samples are just too much packaging and the regular sizes are just a little too big

  4. Christopher S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Daily Skin Care System
    • I've used many different skin care lines like Obagi, SkinMedica, SkinCeuticals, Jan Marini and Origins but without a doubt Paula's Choice is the best. It feels better going on, never produces redness or irritation and within two weeks I noticed a difference in pore appearance, wrinkle appearance, redness, texture and oil production.

  5. a a.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    BEST THING TO HAPPEN TO MY FACE
    • a little background on my skin: Acne (my face was never clear not even for a week) + HOLLY OILINESSSS!!!! I hated wearing any makeup because why bother when it all slides off within a few hours (2ish and on my luckiest days 4) + Large pores + Hyper pigmentation galore. Now, I'M ACNE-FREE (except for the once-a-month zit), CONTROLLED-OILINESS, WEAR MY MAKEUP FOR 9+HRS, CAN EVEN GO OUT WITH NO MAKEUP ON!!! I've been using Paula's balancing system for 6 months now and I am very happy with skin!

  6. Courtney L.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The only skin system that works!!!
    • I'll try and make this short. I have been struggling with acne since I was 12 (I'm 27 now). I tried everything under the sun from department stores, to Proactiv, to Murad, to the pill. NOTHING worked. It either made me break out more or made my skin dry. I found Paula through my local bookstore and started using this system. Within 2 weeks my skin finally calmed down, my dry areas were soft and my oily T-zone had smaller pores and hardly any black heads. If you have combo skin PLEASE try this!!!

  7. Travina J
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 24, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    was hopeful but not much success
    • I have been using the full system for about 2 months now and was hoping to see a difference by now, unfortunately i haven't. i am still breaking out and i haven't seen a difference in my pore size. the system has made my skin incredibly dry and tight. the positive side is it looks brighter. the cleanser/toner are light and refreshing. the serum is ok, comes out of the tube runny. i really love the moisture gel, the texture is great and goes on well. not sure if i will repurchase the system.

  8. LENA J.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    So happy with my purchase
    • I had been suffering from pregnancy/breast feeding acne for about 10 months before ordering PC. I had acne as a teenager, which seemed to clear up around my early twenties and was now back with a vengeance at 29 because of the hormones. I have been using the system for a few weeks and I am VERY impressed with the results. Bumps that have been under my skin for months are clearing up and after a little bit of "purging" in the first few days I haven't had any new breakouts. Very happy!

  9. Aimee
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful, wonderful, yes, yes, yes
    • This system is just amazing. I have extremely oily skin and this has literally balanced my skin just as it said it would. The serum is like the most perfect makeup primer I have ever encountered. I'm still very moisturized but the oil production has just miraculously decreased...such that my makeup stays on for hours at a time without sliding off. It's a whole new world out there. I also use the Resist BHA 9 treatment every night with this.

  10. Kari D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Impressed with some but not impressed with others
    • I have been using this system for a month and feel that my face has been clearer and my pores are looking better as well. However, the serum tends to separate and come out runny unless I remember to shake the tube a lot before use. I was also disappointed with the daily moisturizer with sunscreen comes out as almost a liquid and never seems to absorb well. The rest of the system is good but those two items are not ones I would purchase again.

  11. laurie g.
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow.......46 yrs old and finally pimple free
    • I waited one month before writing this review. I suffer hormonal acne so I wanted to make it through a cycle to really put the products to the test. My skin condition: Oily, clogged pores on forehead, chin and around the nose. Breakouts of anywhere between 2-3 new pimples/day. 20+ small clogged pores monthly. Sometimes my entire forehead would breakout in small blackheads/whiteheads/under the skin bumps. My skin is absolutely 100% clear. I added the Paula's 2.5% BP to my regimen.

  12. FWarren
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product
    • The Skin Balancing System does what it says it will do. I am 66 years old, have very oily skin, blackheads and whiteheads. I also work out side and my skin gets very dirty by the end of the day. I have used many products to control the oil and the breakouts but nothing has ever work. I used many OTC products plus have ordered many products off of the web. Those products made my problem worse. In 3 short weeks the breakouts have stopped, and the blackheads/whiteheads have disappeared.

  13. AMY N.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Will only use Paula's from now on...
    • I have been using Paul's Choice products for about a year now. I have fairly oily skin and am prone to blackheads. I ran out of product in early August and told myself that it was no big deal, I would just buy some cleanser/ toner from the drug store. Since running out, my skin has progressively become worse. I bit the bullet yesterday and re-ordered my Paula's product. The price has gone up considerably since the last time I ordered but TOTALLY worth it, even for a poor university student!

  14. Adrian Z.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful
    • First, thank you very much :! Not only very good products but the fact that sombody like these team from Paula's choice comes in the package with these medicine world for your skin MAKES THE BEST CHOICE that you can imagine! You are an example from the quality to the profesional asistance. Thank you again

  15. Jodi
    Reviewed on Monday, August 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Where have you been all my life!!
    • I can't believe I have only just discovered this now! Having just hit 40 I have spent an absolute fortune over the years getting sucked in to products I didn't need. After 25 years my milia and blackheads are gone after 3 weeks of using these products, and my skin is the best it has ever been. I am on a crusade to spread the word and the bonus of your products being cruelty free ticks all my boxes. Good on you Paula!!

  16. Nicola W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 24, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    just finished a full week
    • My skin looks great! Definitely ordering everything except for the moist+sunscreen. Disappointed because I thought it was FABULOUS, but I am currently using benzoyl peroxide 5% for some breakouts and it didn`t seem to interact well with that - made my skin red, inflammed and sensitive especially round the eyes. So I had to switch to a different sunscreen but when I no longer need the benzoyl peroxide won`t hesitate to get the sunscreen too because I loved the way it controlled oil all day long.

  17. Nicola W
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Blown away
    • I can`t believe this stuff! I have a jumbo combo of acne scars, mild-moderate acne breakouts, oil, blackheads, thread veins, wrinkles and to top it all off a generous sprinkling of melasma :( I was sent some samples to try and I only started them last night. When I woke up this morning the difference was amazing. Skin was less inflammed, smoother, more even toned and the sunscreen is incredible - haven`t needed powder all day today! Can`t wait to see the results after one week! THANK YOU!!!

  18. Natalie A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product!
    • The Skin Balancing system is an absolute miracle for my skin. I wish I could give this 100 stars. The BHA is amazing on blackheads. The ones around my nose literally disappear overnight. The oil reducing mask is great too! The moisture gel is amazing; the texture of it is so silky smooth.

  19. Chris L.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    excellent system will be a life long purchaser of this system.
    • This will definitely be staple skin system routine for me I'm a 25 yr old male, combination skin. I have always struggled with moderate acne and I must admit did not at all have a skin routine. I decided recently to change that, and stumbled on to P.C. glad I did after hearing tons of great reviews I can now see why. My face is clear, smooth, and even toned and it even seems like my wrinkles are deminishing. I didnt think my results would get this good and so quick. Buy this system its the truth

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, June 07, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Stacy-Ann
    • I received my products two days ago. First night I used the products as recommended except for the mask. I woke up the next day and my face looked fresh and relaxed. Then I used the products the same morning before work, I m not sure if I applied too much product but I looked quite oily especially after applying th SPF moisturizer. I decided to ad on a lil press power to calm the shine...but though out the day I was glowing quite heavily. Not sure whyy... giving it more time.

  21. Eric
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic!
    • I've had bad skin since my teens. I'm 53, don't look my age, but other cosmetic lines with their harsh Ingredients, worthless moisturizers and serums have caused more trouble than help. Paula's products have healed and transformed my skin by giving it what skin need to be healthy.. I'm a customer for life.

  22. Ania K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This stuff is amazing, I use it everyday twice a day. It leaves my skin so soft and hydrated. I use the mask once a week and it is wonderful. I am def going to purchase more of the cleanser, toner, and exfoliant. Since I still have a lot of lotions, mask, and serum left. A little goes a very long way. I haven't had any breakouts since I start using skin balancing system. I can see my pores def got smaller. I don't need to use foundation anymore, tinted moisturizer from PC is enough! I Love it!!

  23. Sarah
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Incredible!
    • I am 38 and I have been fighting with acne over the last several years. I used aveda products for years, but have always suffered with large pores, black heads, and slight acne. I started using this product a week ago and my skin has NEVER looked this great! My pores are significantly smaller and my blackheads are almost nonexistent now! I do not look over 30! All I can say is thank you! I love this product and I'm so happy I found it!

  24. Suzanne Y.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing Product
    • My facialist recommended that I purchased a Clarisonic Pro. I use this twice-daily with the Paula's Choice for oily skin. My skin has transformed. It has never looked better. I will be turning 40 this year and I don't look any older than 30/31. I've been fighting with adult onset acne since I turn 30, including a cyst on my left cheek that literally was there for three years. The dermatologist injected it with medication and on more than one occasion but this private actually made it go away.

  25. Britney T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Hopeful turned disappointed
    • I truly was excited to try these products. I am 23 and Black. I have struggled with slight to moderate acne recently. I've tried drugstore, department store and have been to a dermatologist. I heard of paula's choice through a friend. So far I've been using it for three months and nothing has helped. Now I have small pimples all over my forehead and LARGE ones on my cheeks, nose, and chin. This has never been this bad. I will not buy again. Textures feel great but does not work

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 15, 2013
    Thank you for your review. We're sorry the Skin Balancing System didn't work out for you! While we can't say for certain why your experience wasn't the same as others, we can certainly make sure you aren't stuck with products that don't work for you. Please contact our Customer Care and they will be happy to discuss alternatives, or arrange for a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
« Prev Page of 5 Next »

Products in the Skin Balancing Kit Include:
 

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Refresh your normal to oily or combination skin with this light, cushiony cleanser that effectively removes all makeup (including eye makeup).

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Restore skin's healthy balance and reduce enlarged pores with this lightly hydrating, weightless solution.

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
A silky, toner-like consistency enhances penetration to maximize exfoliation.

Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
This weightless combination of potent bioactive ingredients (including retinol) forms a breathable barrier to protect and normalize skin.

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Rejuvenate your skin and restore healthy cell function with this weightless, mattifying moisturizer.

Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
This weightless gel contains antioxidants and niacinamide, in a shine-free gel that generates healthy, younger skin cells.

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
This unique mask absorbs excess oil and help dislodge blackheads.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Experimental  Biology and Medicine, November 2008, pages 1,469–1,477; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9;  International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, volume 124, issue 4, April 2005, pages 756–763; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, March–April 2004, pages 90–96; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; and Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73.

Sources to support the claims made for SKIN PERFECTING 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant

International Immunopharmacology, August 2009, pages 1,126–1,130; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, February 2006, pages 416–421; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November-December 2004, pages 519-531; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82; Preservatives for Cosmetics, 2006, by David Steinberg, Allured Publishing, pages 39-40; Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; and Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum

Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprolology, January-February 2010, pages 20-26; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Skin Research and Technology, August 2009, pages 338–345; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,057–1,065; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; General Physiology and Biophysics, June 2007, pages 97-103;Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606-612; Cosmetic Dermatology, supplement, Revisiting Retinol, January 2005, pages 1-20; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 799-804; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Experimental Dermatology, September 2005, pages 684-691; International Journal of Biological Macromolecules, July 2005, pages 116-119; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, January-February 2005, pages 20-26; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156-1162; Mechanisms of Ageing Development, July 2004, pages 465-473; and Journal of Dermatology, November 2001, pages 595-598; European Journal of Medical Research, September 2001, pages 391–398; Journal of Controlled Release, January 2000, pages 7–17 and Journal of Investigative Dermatology, September 1997, pages 301–305.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Daily Defense SPF 30

Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Skin Research and Technology, August 2009, pages 338–345; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,057–1,065; Experimental Dermatology, June 2009, pages 522–526; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Food and Chemical Toxicology, April 2008, pages 1,298–1,307; Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health, Volume 72, pages 796–806; Future Oncology, December 2008, pages 841–856; Journal of Pathology, January 2007, 241–251; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, January 2002, pages 117–125; Clinical Experimental Dermatology, October 2001, pages 573–577; and Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications, September 1999, pages 661–665.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing INVISIBLE FINISH Moisture Gel

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23-34; Journal of Radiation; Journal of Molecular Medicine, February 2008, pages 221-231; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2007, pages 295–300; Experimental Dermatology, July 2005, pages 498–508; International Journal of Dermatology, March 2005, pages 197–202; Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, February 2005, pages 287–295; Journal of Dermatological Science, volume 31, 2003, pages 193–201; and Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2001, pages 37–40.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask

British Journal of Dermatology, August 2007, pages 295–300; Clinical Experiments in Dermatology, January 2007, pages 88-90; Journal of Agricultural Food Chemistry, February 2002, pages 840–845; Journal of Cosmetic Science, January-February 2002, pages 1–9; Journal of Natural Products, January 2001, pages 100–102; and Life Sciences, May 22, 1998, pages 401–407.

Key Ingredients: sodium cocoyl isethionate, skin-repairing ingredients, adenosine triphosphate, grape seed extract, cranberry seed extract, sea whip extract, ceramides, sunflower seed oil, Arctium lappa, Camellia sinensis, sodium PCA, methylpropanediol, panthenol, colloidal oatmeal, tocopherol, avobenzone, retinol, glycerin, vitamin A, phospholipid, salicylic acid, astaxanthin extract, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, homosalate, ascorbyl palmitate, antioxidant, Ginkgo biloba leaf extract, sodium hyaluronate, Laminaria saccharine, BHA (beta hydroxy acid), Salix alba extract, Vitis vinifera, Rubus idaeus, adenosine , cholesterol, bisabolol, Aloe barbadensis, octocrylene, niacinamide, cell-communicating ingredients, superoxide dismutase, licorice extract, bentonite, Boerhavia diffusa root extract, green tea, caprylic/capric triglyceride, vitamin C, kaolin, Glycine soja oil, oxybenzone, silica, vitamin E, chamomile

Product Ingredients:

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser:
Water, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium Lauroamphoacetate (gentle cleansing agent), Stearic Acid (fatty acid thickener), Hexylene Glycol (slip agent), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (non-volatile plant oil), Glycol Stearate (thickener), Sodium Trideceth Sulfate (emulsifier), Acrylates Copolymer (film-forming agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride (stabilizer and Ph-adjusting agent), Potassium Sorbate (stabilizer), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative)

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner:
Water, Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communcating ingredient), Adenosine Triphosphate (cell-communicating ingredient/skin conditioning agent), Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Arctium Lappa (Burdock) Root Extract (antioxidant), Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (skin conditioning agents), Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate (skin conditioning agent), Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol (lipid-based skin-repairing ingredients), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Oleth-10, DEA-Oleth-10 Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate (emulsifiers), Polysorbate-20 (skin conditioning agent), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Trisodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant:
Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (anti-irritant/antioxidant), Polysorbate-20 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol:
Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Isododecane (matte finish solvent), Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Dimethicone Crosspolymer (silicone suspending agent), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (non-aqueous thickener), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A/antioxidant), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (thickener), Retinol (antioxidant/cell-communicating ingredient), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Haematococcus Pluvialis (Astaxanthin) Extract (antioxidant pigment), Bisabolol, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants/anti-irritants), Salix Alba (Willow) Leaf Extract (anti-irritant), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Ginkgo Biloba (Ginkgo) Leaf Extract, Calluna Vulgaris (Heather) Flower Extract, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Fruit Extract, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Betula Alba (White Birch) Bark Extract (antioxidants), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (antioxidant plant oil), Silica (absorbent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30:
Active Ingredients: Oxybenzone 4%; Avobenzone 3%; Homosalate 7%; and Octocrylene 2%; (sunscreen agents).
Other Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Silica (absorbent), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder (water-binding agent), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Phospholipids (cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant enzyme), Adenosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant/anti-irritant plant extract), Colloidal Oatmeal (plant-based anti-irritant), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract (anti-irritant), Cetyl Dimethicone (silicone-based emollient), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (absorbent/thickener), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Titanium Dioxide (opacifying agent), Sorbic Acid (preservative), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Steareth-21, Steareth-2, Polysorbate-20 (emulsifiers), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel:
Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin, (skin-identical ingredient) Laminaria Saccharina (Seaweed) Extract (water-binding agent), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidants), Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil (emollient plant oil/lubricant), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E/antioxidant), Niacinamide (Vitamin B3/cell-communicating ingredient), Phenyl Trimethicone, Dimethicone, Bis-Phenylpropyl Dimethicone (silicones/slip agents), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate (licorice/anti-irritant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (Vitamin C/antioxidant), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), Phospholipids (cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Isohexadecane (emulsifier), Panthenol (Vitamin B5/water-binding agent), Propylene Glycol (slip agent), Sodium Carbomer (gel-based thickener), Sodium Acrylate/Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (film-forming/water-binding agent), Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer (silicone film-forming agent), Polysorbate 80 (thickener), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives)

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask:
Water, Kaolin (clay/absorbent), Bentonite (white clay/absorbent), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract (anti-inflammatory), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder (water-binding/soothing agent), Sea Whip Extract (anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial agent), Colloidal Oatmeal, Bisabolol (anti-irritants), Phospholipids (skin-repairing ingredient), Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin A/antioxidant), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Stearic Acid (thickener), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser:
DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous yet gentle circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup. Follow with the appropriate Paula’s Choice toner to give your skin a generous amount of potent antioxidants and skin-renewing ingredients. Next, apply your Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and/or moisturizer.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner:
DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant:
DIRECTIONS: Dispense approximately a dime-sized amount onto a cotton ball or pad and stroke over clean skin, including around the eyes (do not apply to eyelids or along the lower lash line). This product may also be applied with your fingers. Do not rinse off. Follow with Paula's Choice Clear Acne Fighting Treatment (if needed), moisturizer, and/or specialty product. For daytime, wear under a product rated SPF 15 or higher.

Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol:
DIRECTIONS: Apply morning and evening after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. Smooth a few drops onto face, neck, and eye area before moisturizing (or use alone). For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater. Works beautifully under makeup (as foundation primer) and is suitable for use around the eyes.

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30:
DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally before sun exposure as the last step in your morning skincare routine. Allow a moment to dry before applying makeup. For extra sun protection and to create a flawless finish, follow with a Paula’s Choice foundation and pressed powder with sunscreen.

Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel:
DIRECTIONS: Apply morning and/or evening after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. Ideal for treating face, neck, and eye area. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask:
DIRECTIONS: Use on cleansed skin. Apply a thin layer all over the face and (if needed) neck and let dry for 10–15 minutes. Rinse thoroughly with tepid to warm water. Follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant, Clear Acne-Fighting Treatment, moisturizer, and/or specialty product. May be used as often as needed. Those with oily to very oily skin can use this mask several times per week, while those with normal to slightly oily skin can use it less frequently (once or twice per week, for example).

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser:

How is Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser different from the One Step Face Cleansers?

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser cleanses skin every bit as well as both Hydralight and Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleansers, but uses a different ingredient composition to do so. The One Step cleansers do not foam or lather, but Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser does, albeit mildly. Many customers prefer this type of lathering cleanser, even though the lather itself has no effect on cleansing ability.

I have oily skin. Which cleanser should I use?

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser would be great, or, if you prefer a gel texture, Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is the way to go. If you have oily skin and breakouts, go for Clear Pore Normalzing Cleanser.

Will Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser leave my skin feeling dry & taut?

No. Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser was carefully formulated to cleanse the skin thoroughly and remove makeup plus excess oil without stripping or drying the skin.

Do I still need to use an eye makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or long-wearing lip color or stains. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of face and eye makeup.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner:

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients.

What are the main differences between the five Paula's Choice toners and how do I know which one is best for me?
Every Paula's Choice toner repairs skin, provides antioxidants, and anti-aging ingredients plus helps remove last traces of makeup. They do not contain alcohol, fragrance, or unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. Below you'll find a brief description for each distinct toner.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains a broad range of ingredients that aid skin's barrier repair process so those with normal to dry skin will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or treatment product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage, redness, or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a rich, milky liquid texture and contains more plant oils and other emollients for intense hydration. Excellent for rosacea!

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent to help normalize skin and reduce signs of extreme combination skin (oily and dry areas). Its cell-communicating ingredients help balance skin and reduce enlarged pores.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant:

What's the difference between AHA and BHA exfoliants? Do I need both?

When properly formulated, both AHAs and BHA are brilliant options for exfoliating the surface of skin. Both AHA and BHA work to reduce wrinkles, stimulate collagen, and firm skin but each has its special qualities you'll want to consider when deciding which one to use:

  • AHAs are preferred for sun-damaged and dry skin because they exfoliate on the surface of skin and have the added benefit of also improving moisture content.
  • BHA is preferred for oily, acne-prone skin and for treating blackheads and white bumps because BHA can get through the oil that's clogging your pores, normalizing the lining of the misshapen pore that contributes to acne.
  • BHA has anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Those are two more reasons to use a BHA exfoliant if you have acne or sensitive, reddened skin.
  • BHA is preferred for those struggling with rosacea. Not everyone with rosacea can tolerate an exfoliant, but it is wise to experiment with a BHA product to see how your rosacea responds.

If your skin is sun-damaged and you're also struggling with acne or clogged pores, add a BHA product to your routine.

If you'd like to use an AHA and BHA at the same time, that is an option, though not really necessary. Some people find they work well when they're applied at the same time, but if you want to give this a try it is best to apply them separately, one during the day and one in the evening.

How do I use an AHA or BHA exfoliant?

  • You can apply an AHA or BHA product once or twice a day.
  • You can also apply either of these around the eye area but not on the eyelid or directly under the eye.
  • Apply the AHA or BHA product after your face is cleansed and after your toner has dried.
  • Once the AHA or BHA has been absorbed, you can apply any other product in your routine, such as moisturizer, serum, eye cream, sunscreen, and/or foundation.
  • If you're using a topical prescription product such as Renova, other retinoids, or any of the topical prescription products for rosacea, apply the BHA or AHA first.

Your AHA (glycolic acid) products have a higher percentage than your BHA (salicylic acid) products. Does this mean AHA is a stronger exfoliant?

AHA products are most effective at a 5% to 10% concentration and BHA at 1% to 2% concentration. Think about it like making bread, the amount of yeast you need is tiny in comparison to the amount of flour you use but equally important to get the results you want. The percentage of effectiveness varies depending on the ingredient. Rest assured that the BHA products are not any less effective due to lower concentrations of the exfoliant.

The Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant feels sticky and kind of greasy on my face! Why is that?

If the BHA is feeling sticky, you are probably using too much product. The average amount necessary for facial application of the 2% BHA is less than the size of a dime. The product is best applied in a thin layer, and has great spreading properties. The "greasy" feel can be attributed to the high levels of glycol in this product (glycol helps the BHA penetrate the surface layers of skin and also works as a water-binding agent). If you live in a humid, moist climate, this effect will be more pronounced and, if too much product is used, can create a "greasy" feel on the skin. Many customers have remarked how silky-soft their skin is as a result of using the 2% BHA Liquid, and that is the result of the humectants working with the BHA to exfoliate and hydrate the skin.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol:

Which Paula’s Choice serum should I use?

All skin types can use any of our serum and each provides multiple anti-aging benefits, but there are some formulary distinctions that make certain Paula’s Choice serums preferred for specific skin types. Here’s how they break down:

  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum can be used by all skin types, including sensitive skin. The Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Serum contains the highest amount of retinol.
  • Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin because it contains plant oils.
  • Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to oily or combination or breakout-prone skin because it has the lightest texture and weightless finish.
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is the only Paula’s Choice serum that does not contain retinol. Therefore, it’s the natural choice for anyone whose skin cannot tolerate this ingredient.

Is the texture of Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate similar to Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel?

No. Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel is a silicone-in-water emulsion and has a light, water-based gel texture while the Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is a non-aqueous serum that has a completely different feel. They're designed to work beautifully together, or you may use the Skin Balancing serum with any of our other moisturizers.

Does Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum decrease the appearance of pores?

The silicone polymers in this product float over skin and minimally "fill in" pores, creating a smoother surface. The effect (as with all such products) is temporary and how long it lasts depends on your pore size and skin's oil output, as well as other products used at the same time. Overall, this product is not capable of reducing pore size, but it's conceivable this effect will be noticed and can be prolonged by pairing it with a matte finish foundation and powder.You can reduce enlarged pores by not using heavy, greasy products and using a well formulated BHA exfoliant along with other key ingredients found in our Skin Balancing line.

I use a prescription product with tretinoin (i.e. Retina-A, Renova, Tazorac). Since Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum contain retinol, is it OK to combine them?

We are not aware of any contraindications surrounding the use of tretinoin and retinol and believe this combination is beneficial to skin. Because this question concerns a prescription drug, we recommend consulting your physician and following his or her advice. Alternately, you can apply the serum in the morning and the prescription retinoid product at night.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my serum again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided and follow those guidelines. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a serum, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your serum again as soon as possible. All of our serums contain skin-repairing, anti-inflammatory, and replenishing ingredients that calm reddened skin and help enhance the healing process. Make sure you're also protecting your "new" skin every day with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30:

Should I reapply Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense during the day?

As with any SPF-rated product, you'll need to reapply every 2 hours if you've been perspiring or have engaged in activities that may cause the sunscreen to become diluted or wear off, such as going for a swim. For casual, limited sun exposure on a daily basis when you're not perspiring, reapplication isn't necessary. For long days outdoors, most experts recommend reapplying at regular intervals, as well as seeking shade, wearing protective clothing, and limiting your time in direct sunlight during peak hours (typically between 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.).

How does Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense SPF 30 differ from your former Skin Balancing Daily Mattifying Lotion SPF 15?

The major difference is the significant increase in SPF ratings. Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense also contains a higher amount of avobenzone and no longer contains octinoxate as an active ingredient, as some people find that sensitizing when used around the eyes, and we wanted to avoid that potential issue.

One other difference is that Skin Balancing Daily Mattifying Lotion SPF 15 contained the cell-communicating ingredient niacinamide, whereas the updated Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense SPF 30 does not. Instead, the current formula contains a different mix of cell-communicating ingredients. Also, the latest version contains a broader range of antioxidants, including stabilized vitamin C and pure vitamin E—both known to boost skin's environmental defenses and help prevent collagen breakdown.

Is Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense SPF 30 suitable for breakout-prone skin?

Yes. Its lightweight, fluid texture and soft matte finish are ideal for breakout-prone skin. This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen also works beautifully under makeup or applied over any Paula's Choice serum.

Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel:

Should I consider this product if I currently use Paula's Choice Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion?

This is a matter of preference. If you prefer your moisturizer to feel weightless while keeping skin smooth and soft, then Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel is for you. Either formula will take care of dry (but not very dry) skin without feeling heavy or occlusive, and both leave skin matte.

Should I consider this moisturizer or Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator if my concerns are wrinkles and breakouts?

Either moisturizer contains anti-aging ingredients that help your skin look and act younger. Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator was specially formulated for those struggling with wrinkles and breakouts, particularly if your breakouts leave red marks that you'd like to fade. If that describes your skin, go for the Resist option. If not, enjoy the weightless smoothing and anti-aging benefits provided by Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel. Or, you can alternate between the two, applying one in the morning (under your SPF-rated product) and the other at night.

My skin is normal, without any really oily or dry areas. Do I need a moisturizer?

Your skin needs the beneficial ingredients found in our formulations. Our state-of-the-art toners can suffice if you don't want to use moisturizer every day. Our Skin Balancing Moisture Gel and Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion are weightless moisturizers that can make you feel like you aren't wearing anything on your face at all, but your skin is improving from the state-of-the-art ingredients these products supply.

I thought Paula didn't like clay masks or, at best, finds them unnecessary skincare products. Did she change her mind?

Paula is not a big fan of most masks and she doesn't believe most facial masks are an essential step in a person's skincare routine. However, for women who want to incorporate them into their routines Paula developed masks that meet her standard of excellence. Many of our customers report excellent results form regular use of Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask.

Is Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask OK for those with rosacea and oily skin?

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask should be effective and suitable for someone with rosacea. However, those with rosacea always need to be careful about any skincare product they use because even the gentlest formulas may cause a reaction. Paula's Choice products are guaranteed to be effective or we will refund your money.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.