Shine Stopper

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Turn down the shine. A pea-sized amount gives you a silky, powder-like finish that lasts 6 hours. It controls oil, minimizes pores.
Item #: 360
  • Enlarged Pores
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Unique MICROSPONGE® Technology controls shine

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 233 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 10 Next »
  1. DSP
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Unbelievable oil control
    • I admit, I was skeptical about this product - but when applied CORRECTLY it has performed extremely well. I don't have to blot until about 4-5 hrs after applying, which is some kind of miracle. And when I do, the amount of oil is much less than usual. There's no scent, and this hasn't irritated my sensitive skin at all. There is no way I would leave the house now without applying this product. I did try an expensive similar product from P...y, and it could not match what PC's could do.

  2. Marcia A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    INCREDIBLE STUFF!
    • This stuff is great!! I have extremely oily skin and no matter how good of a foundation I use, I would still have shine within an hour or two. Not now! I get a nice finish all day long, even in the hot summer! Thank you Paula for your awesome products!

  3. GAYLE L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Ever
    • I have tried several oil absorbers/matte finish products and used them in many locations. I live in a hot and very humid summer climate and do not tolerate it very well. This product keeps me looking cool and oil free. Also took it on a tour of the Hawaii, South Pacific, New Zealand and Australia....it never failed me. It's perfect used with a BB cream.

  4. Beatrice C
    Reviewed on Monday, August 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    It works in Niue - a tiny, HOT, island in the pacific!!
    • I live in New Zealand and bought this product to take to Niue over Christmas - the hottest time of the year for the South Pacific and for Niue. We had Christmas lunch with the ex-Prime Minister of Niue and it was 100 degrees and 99% humidity - at least. I managed to look almost matte the whole three hours!! Great product and very, very useful.

  5. PN
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best product!
    • I'm glad Paula makes this product. I used different types of skin care and makeup all labelled 'oil free' and suitable for oily skin but nothing worked. I had to keep checking my face every few hours to wipe the oily areas. After using this one I don't need to be concerned about my oiliness anymore because my face looks matte for hours. If I leave it on for about more than 6 hours the oil starts to emerge but it's minimal and can only be seen up close. Please do not discontinue this product!

  6. Jessica P
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Better then makeup!
    • I'm one of those women that doesn't like or where makeup. reason is I don't like the way it looks and it just make my face feel dirty. But I do have shiny skin after I wash my face (PAULA CHOICE) . So I got myself some of this shine stopper. it last me a full year. I love it! women you don't need makeup to look beautiful... it works!

  7. CAROL O.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fabulous product
    • As other reviewers have noted, it is VERY important to apply this product as directed - I put a pea-sized drop on my finger tip, spread it on my other fingers, then pat it on my T-zone over my sunscreen. It works extremely well, for hours and hours. I am a big fan of PC products in general, and this is one of the best.

  8. Maggie L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miracle product
    • I used Shine Stopper on my wedding day and my face was beautifully matte all night without blotting once, despite humid 95 degree weather! I have combination skin and I get very oily in the T-zone. I used to rely on blotting papers to get through the day. Now, I apply Shine Stopper in the morning and I'm still not shiny when I get home from a long day! It also makes my large pores dramatically less visible. It's wonderful! Maybe the best thing Paula's Choice has ever come up with.

  9. Jennifer H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • This is the BEST for oil control. My skin is extremely oily and usually gets oily about an hour after I leave the house. When I use this, I usually won't have to powder or blot for about 4 hours. However, I've discovered the key to this working is the way you apply it. When I first bought it I used too much, and would rub it in. This just made it ball up. Now I apply it after my foundation, only use a pea size amount,and dab/pat it in my t-zone. This gives me perfect results.Def recommend!

  10. MICHAEL D.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    It Works!
    • I got this as one of the three free samples with a purchase. I was skeptical, but......it works! During the Summer months, controlling oil is difficult for me. No sooner than I've applied a tinted moisturizer added a dash of color to my lips, I'm shiny. I couldn't wait to try this. I was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked. The directions do indicate that the product may need to be applied more than once a day. Also, it's important to follow directions and dab as opposed to rub.

  11. Kate
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 14, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Waste of money
    • I commute 2 hours to work and in this heat have been sweating in my t-zone, which I usually don't do. I tried this and it didn't help at all - not for 3 hours, not at all. Also it made my foundation ball up and look terrible after about an hour. Complete waste of money. I tried a similar mattifying lotion by Murad which works much better and also has SPF.

  12. ELIZABETH K.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • My skin gets pretty oily in the summer, dry in winter. I mix Shine Stopper in with my foundation and primer, and it works great to give my skin a smooth, matte finish. It doesn't last 6 hrs., and I still have to use blotting papers after it has been on for 6 or more hours, but it looks great all morning.

  13. LAWRENCE G.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic!!
    • I am a convert!!! This product is totally amazing. I use it after the Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense, which I found to be just a bit too shiny when applied, yet with the Shine Stopper on top.....it's a dream come true. My face stays balanced, matte and relatively shine free until evening. I highly recommend this product, as well as the combination of the two. Paula is a genius!!

  14. Jocelyn H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miracle in a bottle!!!!!!
    • I naturally have a very shiny nose. It's not super oily, but is just really shiny. I tried using blotting paper, but to no avail. I saw this stuff online and thought I would try some. It instantly made my nose matte even though I only used a little. I don't even have to wear makeup and powder on my nose anymore. My nose even stayed matte through my workout, and I sweat A LOT. I recommend this product to anyone that has any shine problems. IT WORKS!!!!!

  15. SARAH B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointing
    • I really wanted this to work. But it does absolutely nothing for my oiliness or the appearance of my pores. I think it might even make my skin oilier. I'm going to try it for another few days, but so far I'm totally disappointed.

  16. Kris W
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 18, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    still not the perfect solution for me
    • Maybe I just have incredibly oily skin, but I have tried so many oil-control products, including this one, other Paula's choice formulas, and other companies' products. I have yet to find anything that keeps the oil at bay for more than an hour. The search continues...

  17. DIANA V.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works Pretty Well
    • Works well and I have very oily skin but I think the six hour claim is a bit far fetched. However, it is the best of its kind that i have tried.

  18. FREDERIK T.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Magic in a tube
    • It's pretty amazing to see this in action when you first use it. When applied, it instantly makes the skin matte. My nose gets very shiny and after applying this, it looks like I used a light powder that perfectly matched my skin tone. It last pretty well, but I always carry it with me just in case. If you feel conscious about shiny areas on your face, get this immediately or at least get a sample. It's an amazing product.

  19. Ann H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Walks the walk
    • I received this product free with an order, and what a bonus it is! I apply this to my t-zone mostly, especially in hot weather, and it really does control oil breakthrough effectively and long-term. Of course, no product could completely block my oil production(seriously), so you will notice a little oil, but it does an amazing job of stopping the tide of oil I usually have a couple of hours(if I am lucky) after cleansing and treating my skin. The amount of product is generous for the price.

  20. Maian
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works for me
    • It lasts 3 hours for me, otherwise, I'm happy with this product. I have an oily X zone, not just T zone area with large pores up to my cheeks and this product works great.

  21. Ree
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lovely stuff
    • I should have left a review on this a long time ago, but this stuff is LOVELY. I just gently rub a pea (or smaller) sized amount between my hands and pat it onto my t-zone and I do not need to use an extra cosmetic product like foundation or powder, both of which I try to avoid if I can, ESPECIALLY in the summer. Never noticed a chalky look or a white cast if I apply it this way, and I have darker skin (too dark for all of PC's face makeup options). Great job! :)

  22. Maura
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    the best "anti-oily" treatment
    • this is just the best product to reduce oiliness! just make sure you apply AFTER you're done your whole face routine and applied all of your make-up! it works wonders and it works for HOURS. I've even used this in Mexico, when i thought it'd be fun to wear make-up :P Its a great product; way better than any powders out there!

  23. Joseph C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Actually Works!
    • I have been on the hunt for a oil control lotion that actually works for quite some time now. This is the best cosmetic product I have ever used. I am a 25 year old male that has an extremely oily T-zone and oily skin everywhere else. This product dries instantly to a perfect matte finish without making my skin look dull. The best part is that this actually lasts throughout the entire day! Please never stop making this product!!

  24. Joseph C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Actually Works!
    • I have been on the hunt for a oil control lotion that actually works for quite some time now. This is the best cosmetic product I have ever used. I am a 25 year old male that has an extremely oily T-zone and oily skin everywhere else. This product dries instantly to a perfect matte finish without making my skin look dull. The best part is that this actually lasts throughout the entire day! Please never stop making this product!!

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A miracle!
    • This product is amazing. I used to be so shiny by the end of the day, and blotting papers only helped so much. If I apply this in the morning, my skin stays matte all day and I don't even need the blotting paper! I love it. I don't really notice a difference when I use it before or after my foundation or powder. It works great either way.

« Prev Page of 10 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is clinically proven to keep skin perfectly matte for at least 6 hours. Its unique MICROSPONGE® Technology works invisibly to keep oily shine in check while minimizing the appearance of pores. The luxurious formula dries to a silky-soft, powder-like finish that smoothes out minor skin imperfections—your makeup will look better and last longer than ever!

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Anyone with oily skin (or oily areas) who wants to maintain a fresh, matte complexion. Shine Stopper is perfect for blackhead- and blemish-prone skin; ideal for combination skin with an oily t-zone (forehead, nose, chin).

Sources to support the claims made for Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with Microsponge® Technology

International Journal of Cosmetic Science, Epublication, July 2010; Molecular Pharmaceutics, September–October 2009, pages 1,441–1,448; British Journal of Dermatology, November 2006, pages 890–894; and www.microsponge.com.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, silicone

Product Ingredients:

Water, Methyl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent/absorbent polymer), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (thickener), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-100 Stearate (thickener), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (absorbent), Glyceryl Stearate, Myristyl Myristate, Ceteareth-20, Xanthan Gum (thickeners), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Dispense a pea-sized amount and using clean fingers or a foundation sponge, dab (do not rub) lightly over oily areas as the last step of your skin-care routine or over your foundation. If you wish to apply powder or blush over Shine Stopper, let Shine Stopper set completely first. Reapply as needed.

Additional Application Options and Tips

  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish works best when used with a lightweight liquid or powder foundation that also has a matte finish.
  • Those with oily skin should use a mattifying daytime moisturizer with SPF or a foundation with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater.
  • Don't wear makeup? No problem! If you have oily skin or oily areas, Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish may be used alone. The finish is invisible.
  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is excellent for men struggling with shiny areas, including on the scalp.
  • For best results, wait for your exfoliant and/or toner to set/absorb before applying Shine Stopper.
  • If using with one of Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrates, apply Shine Stopper after the serum.

Is Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish a primer?

Yes, in the sense that it helps those with oily skin maintain control over excess surface oil while smoothing skin's texture. These features help enhance makeup application and wear, so you'll see longer-lasting results and won't have to touch up frequently. For best results, make sure your foundation has a matte finish.

What exactly is Microsponge® Technology?

This proprietary technology works instantly and over time to help absorb and trap excess oil as it reaches your skin's surface. Much like a sponge absorbs moisture, Microsponge uses special porous polymers that not only absorb excess oil but also leave your skin feeling powdery smooth and fresh. Think of this technology as millions of spherical sponges working to keep your oily skin looking beautifully refined and perfectly matte without dryness or dullness.

Where does all of the excess oil go?

Once absorbed via the Microsponge® Technology, the excess oil remains trapped inside the unique polymers until they've reached their capacity to trap oil. Once this happens, you'll begin seeing excess shine on your skin; however, most will find that the technology built into Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish keeps excess oil (shine) in check for several hours. When you cleanse your face, the polymers holding the excess oil are simply washed away!

Does Microsponge® Technology involve the use of nanoparticles?

No, this technology was made possible without the use of nanoparticles.

432586-PCWEB-WW v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.