Items you may also like

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Laughing. Squinting. Living. It all leaves its mark. This retinol-rich serum increases collagen, smooths wrinkles, and softens fine lines.
Item #: 771
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Supercharged blend of retinol and antioxidants repairs wrinkles and sun damage

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 400 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 16 Next »
  1. K G
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Hesitant
    • I have used the product for a solid 8 weeks. Initially, I had some difficulty with acne, which is very unusual for me. I was hesitant to continue using it for fear this would be ongoing. Instead I have used this around my eyes and for frown lines on my forehead. I have seen noticeable improvement. I received a sample of an antioxidant serum that my entire face loves and will order that next.

  2. DONNA C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!
    • Amazing product! Been using it for over 6 months now on my 64 y/o face and the sun brown spots have faded significantly and a few are just about gone! And, my face is soo smooth and healthy looking! Noticed it was "Out of Stock" at the moment! Need to order A SPARE! Best investment ever for an anti-aging product!

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fights redness - be patient
    • When I first used this, I was a bit stressed out because it made my natural redness even worse. Actually, it was a good metric - if your skin is redder in the morning, try using a bit less the next night. Gradually my skin accepted it more, and now I use a full dose every day. About 3 months in, my natural redness has faded significantly. The only downside is that my broken capillaries are now more visible - because they aren't "hidden" in the general redness anymore. Fantastic product.

  4. Andrea K
    Reviewed on Friday, May 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this!!
    • This is hands down my favorite product! I have oily, acne prone skin and mild rosacea and my prescription was only drying my skin. I bought this and have had such amazing results! Clearer skin and decreased redness without any drying. I also mix it with the Resist C15.

  5. TARA S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Brilliant Package Design
    • 1. I concurr with the awesome product reviews on here :-) 2. The package / container design is truly awesome. You twist to expose the pump, then twist to put it back down. No more lids to lose! :-)

  6. Mae
    Reviewed on Friday, May 09, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Caused me to break out!
    • I liked the texture and silkiness of this product but unfortunately it caused me to breakout. I tried not using it for awhile to test to see if it was causing my breakouts and as soon as I tried it again, I broke out with red pimples on my chin and nose. I wish it could have worked because it sounds amazing for others!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 13, 2014

    Hi Mae! We're sorry the RESIST Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol wasn't a fit for you! Please contact our Customer Care Team, as they would be happy to help with a refund or exchange. :)

    —Admin
  7. Janelle F
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Saved my skin!!
    • I received a free sample of this product, but was leary because of my rosacea and didn't use it for a few months. Then I read where she recommended it for rosacea. WOW! It literally cleared up my skin in several days. My nose and cheeks cleared up and even cleared up my blackheads that I have had forever. It has been a miracle for my skin. Please make this forever! I need a vat of it! I love Paula's Choice!!!

  8. valerie t.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very good
    • It didn't sink into my skin for the whole night my skin looks fresher the next morning . spreadability is good. Will continue using this.

  9. Angela
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    MY SKIN LOOKS AMAZING!
    • I cannot believe how this product has radically changed the feel and look of my skin in just over a week. I keep looking at my face in the mirror shocked. It has evened out my skin tone, smoothed harsh areas, toned down redness, all the good stuff. I use this with the PC repairing lotion (pink and white tube) and I love it. This is a new must have product for me. Thank you PC for this formula! It's worth its weight in gold for me.

  10. Alessandro A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Buy!
    • With both quality and price in mind, this Retinol serum is an excellent option for those with anti-aging concerns! I surely will buy this again once my first bottle runs out.

  11. CHRISTINE M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Sticking with it
    • I used this nightly for a month and saw no change in my almost-50, dry but breakout-prone skin. Paula's tips inspired me to layer it with the 5% AHA. I put that on first, then cocktailed one pump of retinol with a drop of C booster. After a few weeks, my face started looking smoother, more polished . Not a `wow ' but I'm sticking with it. The combo is potent, so I do it every other night. Layering sounds like overkill, but it was the key for me.

  12. Jenna B.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 21, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love this nighttime serum
    • It took me almost a year to finish with using one pump almost every night. I like to mix this with PC Vitamin C serum, but often wear it solo. I only wear this at night since it makes my face oily, at first. I have dry/normal skin & after about 10 minutes- it soaks into my skin. I rub leftovers onto the back of my hands. I didn't notice a huge wrinkle reduction on my face, but I definitely LOVE this product & the way it has made my skin look. The only bad thing is the packaging.

  13. MARY K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Everyday Requirement
    • I use this every morning and mix it with my C15 Super Booster. I have used this for the past two months. My skin is glowing. I have the most even, clear, acne free skin ever. The bottle design ensures stability. It’s a great price. I have had no adverse reactions to my skin. I highly recommend this product.

  14. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Your advice for combating sebaceous hyperplasia is excellent!
    • First of all, you are the only skin care company I have found that even addresses this concern. Second, what you recommend works even better than the skin care protocol that my dermatologist suggested. Over the years, I have spent hundreds of dollars on lotions and potions that claim to help improve skin texture and wrinkles.They have all proved disappointing until now. The triple combination of the Resist BHA 9, the Resist Retinol Serum, and the Skin Balancing Pore Reducing Toner is amazing!

  15. Lynne M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed
    • I'm a fan of all PC products so I was excited to try this. It caused an breakout on both sides of my face and clogged my pores. So disappointed as my skin was looking fabulous with the Resist line and ended up with quite a setback.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, April 08, 2014

    Hi Lynne! Wow, we're sorry the RESIST Retinol Serum didn't work out for you! Please contact our Customer Care Team, as they would be happy to help with a refund/exchange, as well as tips to get your complexion back on track.

    —Admin
  16. Paula
    Reviewed on Friday, April 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this stuff!
    • I just started using this 3.5 weeks ago. I love it! PC's products are the only retinols that my skin has been able to tolerate. I am already seeing substantial improvement to my skin. I tried a sample first. That's how I found I could tolerate it. If you are unsure, I recommend you do that too. You will probably be pleasantly surprised like me. I am a PC newcomer but will be coming back for more. Thanks!

  17. Yanti
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best serum...EVER!
    • I got a deluxe sample of this end of 2013 from PC Singapore. First time I used it I was skeptical because to me it has "oily" texture. I used it at night and was expecting clogged pores when I wake up in the morning. The truth is, I woke up in the morning with brighter and dewy skin. Love it! Once I finished the deluxe sample bottle, I ordered the full size. Until now, I still use it nightly. Sometimes, when my forehead skin slightly dry, I'll add on Resist Ultra Light serum. Love! Love! Love

  18. lisa w.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Must have
    • I am not faithful to anything EXCEPT FOR THIS. My skin glows with this. I stockpile it

  19. Anna Z
    Reviewed on Monday, March 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Bye-Bye Breakouts, Blemishes and Hyperpigmentation
    • I started using this 7 weeks ago; 3 weeks ago, I started adding 3 drops of C15. Results are slow at first. I started breaking out less and less. It's been five days since I've had a new pimple (yay!). Last week, I noticed a dime-sized patch of post-acne hyperpigmentation had disappeared. I could swear a shallow scar on my cheek has reduced in depth. The mild crepe-iness on my neck is gone. Fwiw, I started using PC Resist 5% AHA 2x daily one week before I started using this serum.

  20. Nancy
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    ok
    • while it's ok, I can't say I'd recommend it. I've been using it at night and morning with C boost. Haven't noticed anything except break outs. In spite of that, I'll keep using it until it's empty.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, March 17, 2014

    Hi Nancy! Thank you for sharing your experience, but we're sorry to learn your RESIST Retinol isn't bringing you the results you had hoped.  Breakouts as you have described may indicate that you cannot tolerate the strength of the formula, and we would recommend contacting our Customer Care Team so that they can discuss your skin's response and help with a refund/credit and/or samples of alternative options.

    —Admin
  21. Lori M.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Surprisingly effective
    • I don't like the feeling of silicone on my skin, but this stuff is amazing. It sinks in quickly, doesn't feel greasy and is actually really effective in the eye area. If you're not a fan of silicones, don't be afraid to try this!

  22. Rebekah J.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful so far!
    • I always thought introducing retinol to my skincare would mean super dry skin and tons of heavy moisturizers, but not with this one! I have dry skin and just 1 week of use (combined w/C15 booster) I actually need LESS moisturizer than before! For the first time in years, I have a simple skincare regimen that is yielding results. No more spending thousands of $$ just to be disappointed...PC Resist line is holy grail material and the prices are amazing!

  23. Angie M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best ever!
    • I've tried everything. Have struggled with breakouts my whole life and at 35 I was getting very weary of it. It was even harder as I got older battling acne and wrinkles. This serum (along with the barrier repair moisturizer) have been the ONLY thing that has worked for me. My skin is clear and I only need powder and a touch of concealer here and there for my daily foundation routine. The reason it gets 5 stars is because it is amazing at reducing lines and promoting glowing youthful skin!

  24. Kristie o.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 14, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love the product
    • I and my mom really love this serum. It's perfect to use for overnight after using BHA liquid. Thanks again for PC staffs' work.

  25. Marina D
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Overall a great product
    • I didn't see the results until about a month after first use. I definitely smoothed out my fine lines and added "bounce" to my skin. It goes on very shiny so I was very worried about breaking out like crazy. However, it wasn't an issue (whew!). To make shine history, I applied PC Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel and voila, it's gone.

« Prev Page of 16 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum is an exclusive formula that utilizes a proprietary blend of highly stabilized retinol, potent antioxidants, and skin-repairing ingredients. Its soothing, silky texture goes to work immediately to help skin of any age look and act younger. Anti-irritants reduce redness and soothe sensitive skin, and the serum helps fade red marks from past breakouts. With ongoing use, you will see fewer wrinkles, smoother skin, and improved skin tone.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Anyone concerned with improving the appearance of aging skin and helping sun-damaged skin repair itself so it functions in a younger, healthier manner. Ideal for use with Paula's Choice Resist line of anti-aging products. May be alternated with our best-selling Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2011, ePublication; Experimental Dermatology, July 2011, pages 572–576; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Fitoterapia, March 2011, pages 208–211; Lipids, September 2010, pages 833–841; Oxidative Medicine and Cellular Longevity, January-February 2010, pages 35–43; The Journal of Dermatological Treatment, May 2009, pages 276–281; Journal of the Indian Medical Association, April 2009, pages 219–222; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, June 2008, pages 369–381; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, June 2008, pages 175–182; Journal of Dermatological Science, May 2008, pages 99–107; Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606–612; and Clinical Interventions in Aging, April 2006, pages 327-348.

Key Ingredients: retinol, caprylic/capric triglyceride, squalane, licorice extract, cell-communicating ingredients, Avena sativa, Laminaria ochroleuca extract, bisabolol, lecithin, palm oil, vitamin C, anti-irritant, antioxidant, vitamin E, kelp extract

Product Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/suspending agents), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (skin-conditioning agent), Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (skin-repairing ingredient), Phenyl Trimethicone (silicone slip agent), Squalane (emollient), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient/antioxidant), Tocotrienols (vitamin E-based antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Laminaria Ochroleuca (Kelp) Extract (anti-irritant), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Oil (anti-irritant), Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil (skin-repairing ingredient), Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate (licorice-derived anti-irritant), Hexylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply in the evening after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. Smooth a few drops onto skin before or after moisturizing. Perfect for use around the eyes. May be alternated with Paula’s Choice Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum differ from the other Antioxidant Concentrates that Paula's Choice offers?

The most notable difference is that Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum contains a higher amount of retinol than our Skin Recovery and Skin Balancing serums with retinol. The Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum does not contain retinol and as such is an excellent serum to alternate with the Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum. Both of the Resist serums were designed for all skin types, whereas Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin and Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate is best for normal to oily or combination skin.

Every Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is silicone-based and contains an effective blend of antioxidants, skin-repairing ingredients, and cell-communicating ingredients to restore skin and significantly reduce wrinkles, increase collagen production, and improve skin color.

Which Paula's Choice serum should I use?

All skin types can use any of our serums, but there are some formulary distinctions that make certain Paula's Choice serums preferred for specific skin types. Here's how they break down:

  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum can be used by all skin types, including sensitive skin.
  • Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin because it contains plant oils.
  • Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for normal to oily or combination skin because it has the lightest texture and weightless finish.
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is one of two Paula’s Choice serums that does not contain retinol. It’s the natural choice for anyone whose skin cannot tolerate retinol.
  • Resist Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum has the lightest texture of all the Resist serums and is our only water-based (rather than silicone-based) serum. It does not contain retinol, so is recommended for those whose skin cannot tolerate this ingredient (or it may be used with one of our retinol serums).

Is Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum better than the other Paula's Choice serums?

Not better, just different. Think of it like broccoli and carrots: both are good for you but provide different nutritional benefits your body needs to be healthy. Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum was formulated with a greater amount of retinol to provide a higher degree of wrinkle repair—but all Paula's Choice serums contain an array of ingredients proven to help repair wrinkles and other signs of aging.

Can I use two Paula's Choice products with retinol, such as Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum?

Yes, this is fine; however, if you noticed that applying such products at the same time causes signs of irritation (such as redness or flaking) it would be best to apply one in the morning and the other at night, or consider switching to Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum, which is retinol-free.

Can I use Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum with my prescription retinoid product (examples: Renova, Retin-A, generic tretinoin).

Yes, but generally speaking, you don't necessarily need to use retinol and a prescription retinoid. Many will do fine with one or the other, or you can apply the prescription retinoid at night and apply the retinol product during the day, always being sure to protect your skin with a product rated SPF 15 or greater. Keep in mind that using multiple retinoid products increases the risk of irritation, which is never the goal. With retinoids, more is not automatically better!

Can I apply Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum with a product medicated with benzoyl peroxide?

Yes. For best results, apply the benzoyl peroxide product to breakout-prone areas, allow to dry, then follow with Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum. Note that benzoyl peroxide should not be applied at the same time as the prescription retinoid tretinoin, as it renders this active ingredient ineffective. It does not appear to have this same effect on retinol.

What is the percentage of retinol in Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum?

Paula's Choice does not reveal the exact percentage of ingredients in any of our products except in the case of over-the-counter drug ingredients such as sunscreen actives and for our exfoliants. In these instances, knowing the exact percentage (or range) is critical as it impacts efficacy.

With retinol, amounts from 0.01–1% have proven to be effective, though higher amounts are known to increase the risk of side effects such as redness, sensitivity, and flaking. Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum contains an amount of retinol that's greater than our other serums with retinol. All Paula's Choice serums with retinol are formulated with stabilized retinol within the range of what research has shown to be effective for reducing wrinkles, improving skin tone, and building collagen.

Can I layer Paula's Choice serums? Do I need to do this?

Yes, you can and it does not matter which serum is applied first. Experiment to see which order of serum application works best for you. Although it's fine to layer our serums, ultimately you do not need to do this because every Paula's Choice serum treats skin to an array of brilliant ingredients. Because layering two serums plus your daytime moisturizer may feel too heavy under makeup, we recommend those who wish to layer our serums do so at night.

What makes Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum better than other retinol treatments?

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum holds several advantages over other serums with retinol:

  • In addition to its targeted retinol formula, this serum also treats skin to a range of antioxidants, repairing ingredients, and anti-irritants. Each of these ingredients has published research showing how they improve aging skin.
  • The amount of retinol in this serum was expertly calibrated to ensure maximum efficacy without irritation. You're getting all of the benefits of retinol without bothersome side effects such as redness or flaking.
  • The chemist Paula chose to formulate this serum is a retinol expert who made sure every element of this targeted treatment was designed to improve wrinkles and signs of aging without tipping the scale toward irritation.
  • This retinol serum is packaged to ensure the efficacy and stability of the formula. The retinol itself is carefully handled and never exposed to degrading light or oxygen at any time during manufacturing. The Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum requires specially designed packaging to keep this amount of retinol stable (droppers, pads or tubes would compromise the retinol's effectiveness). That means the serum you receive can deliver the full, pure potency of retinol.
  • You can rely on Paula and her Product Development team to provide the most advanced formulas at reasonable prices!

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my serum again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a serum, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your serum again as soon as possible. All of our serums contain skin-repairing, anti-inflammatory, and replenishing ingredients that calm reddened skin and help enhance the healing process. Make sure you're also protecting your "new" skin every day with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Is Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this serum will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 11:38:40 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.