Items you may also like

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Laughing. Squinting. Living. It all leaves its mark. This retinol-rich serum increases collagen, smooths wrinkles, and softens fine lines.
Item #: 771
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Supercharged blend of retinol and antioxidants repairs wrinkles and sun damage

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 383 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 16 Next »
  1. Margaret
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 15, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I can confirm a few...
    • I have only been using this for about 3 weeks now. I have rosacea and I can say that this does not irritate. In fact, it seems to calm my skin and my skin feels firmer. I would guess it is also helping lighten some fairly light sun spots but I can't say for sure just yet. If you are looking for a serum and your skin is sensitive and you are concerned, from my perspective and use, this is a product worth trying because I feel it is making a difference.

  2. Oriana, P
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Remarkable
    • This serum is remarkable. I have only been using it for a week and I can already see dark spots fading. I still have some flaking, so I am waiting for that to go away to see the full results. So far, I am really impressed. Even my husband wants to try it now. Will have to buy more :).

  3. RACHEL
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for acne prone sensitive skin
    • I have been using this product for several months now, alternating every other night with the super light antioxidant serum and I have noticed a major difference in my skin. I have fair, sensitive skin prone to horrible hormonal breakouts and redness and have experienced no negative reaction to this product. It is quite oily but I follow with the anti-aging clear skin moisturizer which seems to help it sink in quicker. Since using this product, my skin is noticeably clearer, smooth and glowing!

  4. Abby V
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT!!!
    • I LOVE this serum! I've been using PC's antioxidant serum for years and decided to try this on a whim and a sale. Fantastic! It's thick and soothing--perfect for my dry skin and, best of all, does not irritate it in the least! (Besides being dry, I have rosacea and eczema. Finding ANYTHING that doesn't irritate my skin is a challenge.). This is a soothing layer between my metronidazole and sunscreen. I saw the poor reviews on the pump, but have experienced no difficulties myself. Excellent!!!

  5. Ann
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • This is a great product, especially when mixed with the new Vitamin C potency serum. This makes it very easy to blend. Another winner from Paulas Choice!

  6. Max B
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    OMG
    • WOW!! Fine lines on forehead and around eyes almost completely gone after 3 weeks but my favorite: my skin has become so much more elastic especially when I smile, no more smile lines left. Use it nightly with zero irritation. My skin is so SMOOTH: pores shrinking, fine lines nearly gone, utterly plumped, hydrated, and skin tone evening rapidly. So pleased with this product. Will DEFINITELY repurchase because of the superb formulation, efficacy, packaging, and tolerance. Get this NOW!!!!!!

  7. Jean L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I was afraid that my sensitive skin would react to retinol but it didn't at all! After just one use, it left my skin looking a little more vibrant and it felt much softer!

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is great and gentle
    • I was sent a promo canister of this and have grown to love it. At first it seemed too harsh for me. I had to build up with the resist moisturizer with retinol. When my skin is clogged or breaking out I use this 2 a month. My skin glows and is hydrated the next day. It's is a lovely product, and feels like oil. Too bad my skin is too delicate to use it regularly. I wish you'd make a travel sizes. Packets are great, but messy. There is a real need for that size. The pump works fine.

  9. L McC
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Must Have
    • I use this approximately 2 - 3 nights per week, alternating with an AHA product on the other nights. I notice a difference in the way my skin looks, especially the morning after sleeping with this on my face. I have very sensitive skin, and a history of using Retin A products for 15 years, prior to switching to this retinol serum. I've chosen to skip Retin A going forward, in favor of this RESIST product, simply because it's not drying or irritating, and I can see a difference in my skin.

  10. Debbie N.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A Little Goes A Long Way
    • From day one, my dry, flaking, itching, blotchy, roscea, sensitive skin felt soothed and hydrated. No problem with the packaging, A little goes a long way. Use extra on hands and body. (How about 4 piece kit?) Stress caused pronounced wrinkles on forehead. Took a pic. I'll see if there is any improvement. I also use the product around the eyes. The dark spots are fading. I switch between the bha and the 10% AHA on my face. Mix w/a vit c serum. First time my skin and face stay moisturized.

  11. Toni
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 17, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very Happy
    • I've only been using this product for about a month now but have already notice a big difference in the fines lines around my mouth, I am a 60 year old x smoker, I've tried a lot of products but this one is the bomb and the price is right, I will re-order again. As far as the package, I'm not having a problem with it I hpoe that doesn't change, maybe it has been improved sincd some of the other reviews, thanks Paula.

  12. H C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    good product
    • The dermatologist recommends my mom to use retinoic acid as one of anti-aging skin care product. So I am quite convinced that it is of advantage for long-term use of retinoic acid. I chose retinol simply because I can buy it without doctors' prescription. The texture of this product is very very moisturizing, a bit oil, I have to say. But it did not lead to any breakout or irritant. So I would recommend it to friends unless they prefer more weightless texture.

  13. Julia L
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for Oily Skin
    • This product has huge potential and I am sure would do wonders for someone with normal to dry skin. I, however, have combination/oily skin and feel the product is too heavy for me. The consistency is thick and felt very oily/greasy on my face. My skin did absorb it within a few minutes, but given my oily nature, I am not comfortable with this at all. After using the product for about a week, I had several large breakouts on my face.

  14. Katie S.
    Reviewed on Friday, November 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    RESIST Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum
    • Pros: - fades acne scars - evens skin tone - smooths skin Cons: - drying if used frequently (3x week +) Overall I am happy with this product. It's not overpriced compared to some retinol serums and it's formulated properly. I will most likely purchase again when my bottle runs out.

  15. Abigail N
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Retinol Serum EVER
    • I have the .7 oz PC Resist Retiol Serum and I've been using it for a few weeks now and the result are amazing. I have fine wrinkles under my eyes and they seem to be just disappearing like nothing was ever there. I am extremely happy with the results. Thank you Paula for creating sure a great and wonderful product.

  16. DEBRA K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is a great retinol product
    • I started with Paula's retinal moisturizer and worked up to this product. I've never been able to use a retinal serum before due to sensitivity but this is formulated with silicones to buffer and anti-irritants to soothe. I currently use it every other night with the vitamin c serum cocktailed in. My skin is much smoother, more pigmentation has faded, and I'm healing old bumps and scars. This is the real deal and so worth the price. I'm so glad I've tried Paula's new products!!

  17. Brion
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 29, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    bump flattener
    • I use this only on less sensitive areas. If other serums or product causes facial bumps this will help really well. Doesn't remedy red skin issues for me but I do not have rosacea. Makes skin look less crepey around the cheek area

  18. Edith T
    Reviewed on Monday, October 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I received a .7 ounce sample to try, from the first time I used it I feel in love!!! I have PTR's retinol infusion I use it first then this product and WOW they work together fantastically!!! I will absolutely be buying more of this product!!!

  19. Carolyn P
    Reviewed on Monday, October 21, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love Love Love!
    • I love this product. It absorbs super fast and I saw noticeable results after just one use!. My skin is absolutely glowing and soft. It evened out my skin tone beautifully. It is my go to night serum. I love waking up to see its magical effects every morning. I have had a ton of compliments on my skin and people are always asking what I use on my face. My only complaint is the packaging. My pump has broken and I still have at least half a bottle left. If not for that, I'd give it 5 stars.

  20. theyhaveways
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 17, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great for Fine Lines
    • This product helped diminish my subtle smoker lines. I'd be better off to quit smoking but this products helps remove those mouth wrinkles sometimes called smoker lines. My wrinkles were very subtle, and I imagine that any retinol product, no matter the formula can only help so much with fine lines. Besides that, It's an oily texture that kinda smells like honey, and it depends on your skin regime/type on how fast it absorbs, the only negative. I usually wait a couple of minutes and it sets in.

  21. Green V.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 06, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Give it time
    • With almost every PC's products I have used, they all kind of stung/burnt at the start. But Once my skin is used to the products, they feel great on my skin. This serum is stickier and heavier than other PC's serums I have tried. I mixed the serum with C15 booster which makes my skin feel really good after my skin has aborted it. (it was quite rich,oily when I first applied). I only used it at night , and use RESIST Ultra-Light Antioxidant Serum during the day since it is much lighter.

  22. Cindy
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 02, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good skin day, everyday
    • I love the way this product makes my skin look (and feel!). I'd actually like to use it more often, what takes me to my only complaint and the reason why I give it so few stars: the packaging is lousy. Two times I bought it, it broke in my suitcase (I travel a lot, too often to buy little sample packs) and nowadays skincare must be checked in), good stuff all over my toiletry bag. Expensive accident :( Of course if it's gonna stay in your bathroom cabinet I can really recommend!

  23. Robin L.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miracle-worker
    • I tried a sample of this serum, not expecting to see much of a difference in my dry, sensitive and rosacea-prone skin. I'm delighted to say that I couldn't have been more wrong! I noticed a change in the first week, and after just four months of use, the transformation has been dramatic. There's hardly any redness, marks from past flare-ups are diminished, and my skin's overall condition is 110% better. A friend recently commented that my skin looked young and "juicy." Pretty good for 51!

  24. Oksana
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    excellent
    • It is a pity that in Russia you can not buy your products. But I would gladly recommend it to my clients who are just like me, have only positive emotions. Thank you so much for such an amazing product! If you have an online store that will make delivery of your products in Russia, I would be very grateful to you for the link! I'd like to try other drugs.

  25. Colleen
    Reviewed on Monday, September 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING!!!
    • I have been using this for over a year and my skin has never looked better!!! I get compliments all the time on how good my skin looks. No one ever believes my real age (47). I constantly have people tell me I look like I'm in my 30's. I have tried so many products in the past with just so so results. This stuff works!! And thank god it is affordable! Love it!

« Prev Page of 16 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum is an exclusive formula that utilizes a proprietary blend of highly stabilized retinol, potent antioxidants, and skin-repairing ingredients. Its soothing, silky texture goes to work immediately to help skin of any age look and act younger. Anti-irritants reduce redness and soothe sensitive skin, and the serum helps fade red marks from past breakouts. With ongoing use, you will see fewer wrinkles, smoother skin, and improved skin tone.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Anyone concerned with improving the appearance of aging skin and helping sun-damaged skin repair itself so it functions in a younger, healthier manner. Ideal for use with Paula's Choice Resist line of anti-aging products. May be alternated with our best-selling Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2011, ePublication; Experimental Dermatology, July 2011, pages 572–576; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Fitoterapia, March 2011, pages 208–211; Lipids, September 2010, pages 833–841; Oxidative Medicine and Cellular Longevity, January-February 2010, pages 35–43; The Journal of Dermatological Treatment, May 2009, pages 276–281; Journal of the Indian Medical Association, April 2009, pages 219–222; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, June 2008, pages 369–381; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, June 2008, pages 175–182; Journal of Dermatological Science, May 2008, pages 99–107; Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606–612; and Clinical Interventions in Aging, April 2006, pages 327-348.

Key Ingredients: retinol, caprylic/capric triglyceride, squalane, licorice extract, cell-communicating ingredients, Avena sativa, Laminaria ochroleuca extract, bisabolol, lecithin, palm oil, vitamin C, anti-irritant, antioxidant, vitamin E, kelp extract

Product Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/suspending agents), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (skin-conditioning agent), Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (skin-repairing ingredient), Phenyl Trimethicone (silicone slip agent), Squalane (emollient), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient/antioxidant), Tocotrienols (vitamin E-based antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Laminaria Ochroleuca (Kelp) Extract (anti-irritant), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Oil (anti-irritant), Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil (skin-repairing ingredient), Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate (licorice-derived anti-irritant), Hexylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply in the evening after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. Smooth a few drops onto skin before or after moisturizing. Perfect for use around the eyes. May be alternated with Paula’s Choice Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum differ from the other Antioxidant Concentrates that Paula's Choice offers?

The most notable difference is that Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum contains a higher amount of retinol than our Skin Recovery and Skin Balancing serums with retinol. The Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum does not contain retinol and as such is an excellent serum to alternate with the Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum. Both of the Resist serums were designed for all skin types, whereas Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin and Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate is best for normal to oily or combination skin.

Every Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is silicone-based and contains an effective blend of antioxidants, skin-repairing ingredients, and cell-communicating ingredients to restore skin and significantly reduce wrinkles, increase collagen production, and improve skin color.

Which Paula's Choice serum should I use?

All skin types can use any of our serums, but there are some formulary distinctions that make certain Paula's Choice serums preferred for specific skin types. Here's how they break down:

  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum can be used by all skin types, including sensitive skin.
  • Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin because it contains plant oils.
  • Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for normal to oily or combination skin because it has the lightest texture and weightless finish.
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is one of two Paula’s Choice serums that does not contain retinol. It’s the natural choice for anyone whose skin cannot tolerate retinol.
  • Resist Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum has the lightest texture of all the Resist serums and is our only water-based (rather than silicone-based) serum. It does not contain retinol, so is recommended for those whose skin cannot tolerate this ingredient (or it may be used with one of our retinol serums).

Is Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum better than the other Paula's Choice serums?

Not better, just different. Think of it like broccoli and carrots: both are good for you but provide different nutritional benefits your body needs to be healthy. Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum was formulated with a greater amount of retinol to provide a higher degree of wrinkle repair—but all Paula's Choice serums contain an array of ingredients proven to help repair wrinkles and other signs of aging.

Can I use two Paula's Choice products with retinol, such as Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum?

Yes, this is fine; however, if you noticed that applying such products at the same time causes signs of irritation (such as redness or flaking) it would be best to apply one in the morning and the other at night, or consider switching to Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum, which is retinol-free.

Can I use Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum with my prescription retinoid product (examples: Renova, Retin-A, generic tretinoin).

Yes, but generally speaking, you don't necessarily need to use retinol and a prescription retinoid. Many will do fine with one or the other, or you can apply the prescription retinoid at night and apply the retinol product during the day, always being sure to protect your skin with a product rated SPF 15 or greater. Keep in mind that using multiple retinoid products increases the risk of irritation, which is never the goal. With retinoids, more is not automatically better!

Can I apply Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum with a product medicated with benzoyl peroxide?

Yes. For best results, apply the benzoyl peroxide product to breakout-prone areas, allow to dry, then follow with Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum. Note that benzoyl peroxide should not be applied at the same time as the prescription retinoid tretinoin, as it renders this active ingredient ineffective. It does not appear to have this same effect on retinol.

What is the percentage of retinol in Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum?

Paula's Choice does not reveal the exact percentage of ingredients in any of our products except in the case of over-the-counter drug ingredients such as sunscreen actives and for our exfoliants. In these instances, knowing the exact percentage (or range) is critical as it impacts efficacy.

With retinol, amounts from 0.01–1% have proven to be effective, though higher amounts are known to increase the risk of side effects such as redness, sensitivity, and flaking. Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum contains an amount of retinol that's greater than our other serums with retinol. All Paula's Choice serums with retinol are formulated with stabilized retinol within the range of what research has shown to be effective for reducing wrinkles, improving skin tone, and building collagen.

Can I layer Paula's Choice serums? Do I need to do this?

Yes, you can and it does not matter which serum is applied first. Experiment to see which order of serum application works best for you. Although it's fine to layer our serums, ultimately you do not need to do this because every Paula's Choice serum treats skin to an array of brilliant ingredients. Because layering two serums plus your daytime moisturizer may feel too heavy under makeup, we recommend those who wish to layer our serums do so at night.

What makes Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum better than other retinol treatments?

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum holds several advantages over other serums with retinol:

  • In addition to its targeted retinol formula, this serum also treats skin to a range of antioxidants, repairing ingredients, and anti-irritants. Each of these ingredients has published research showing how they improve aging skin.
  • The amount of retinol in this serum was expertly calibrated to ensure maximum efficacy without irritation. You're getting all of the benefits of retinol without bothersome side effects such as redness or flaking.
  • The chemist Paula chose to formulate this serum is a retinol expert who made sure every element of this targeted treatment was designed to improve wrinkles and signs of aging without tipping the scale toward irritation.
  • This retinol serum is packaged to ensure the efficacy and stability of the formula. The retinol itself is carefully handled and never exposed to degrading light or oxygen at any time during manufacturing. The Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum requires specially designed packaging to keep this amount of retinol stable (droppers, pads or tubes would compromise the retinol's effectiveness). That means the serum you receive can deliver the full, pure potency of retinol.
  • You can rely on Paula and her Product Development team to provide the most advanced formulas at reasonable prices!

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my serum again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a serum, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your serum again as soon as possible. All of our serums contain skin-repairing, anti-inflammatory, and replenishing ingredients that calm reddened skin and help enhance the healing process. Make sure you're also protecting your "new" skin every day with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Is Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this serum will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.