Items you may also like

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Laughing. Squinting. Living. It all leaves its mark. This retinol-rich serum increases collagen, smooths wrinkles, and softens fine lines.
Item #: 771
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Supercharged blend of retinol and antioxidants repairs wrinkles and sun damage

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 400 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 16 Next »
  1. KELLY Z.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Not an overnight miracle but...
    • Other reviews state they see a difference overnight which, I'm here to say, isn't true for me (sadly.) But, consistently apply over 4-6 weeks, and you will likely be blown away. Not only does it decrease fine lines, it adds a bounce to skin and evens the tone. It makes it easier to apply makeup, makes your skin have a glow (especially when paired with C15) and smoothes it. My 2014 resolution was to get better skin, and I'm so happy to say I'm on my way with PC products like this one (and BHAs!)

  2. Yanely M
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Wanted to Love it
    • I figured if I bought this retinol serum the vit-c booster, it would go on smoother and plus the retinol would be a plus. But, unfortunately, all I've noticed are breakouts, and since I use this on my neck, I've had breakouts on my neck area, which is very very rare. Now, I'm seeing dry patchy areas, which is also very very rare. The only thing i have changed in my routine is adding this retinol. So, sad to say, it's a no go for me. :(:(

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, February 06, 2014

    Hi there! We're sorry to learn this wasn't a fit for you, and that your experience didn't match those of others.  It is true that not everyone will be able to tolerate potent treatments like the RESIST Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol. Please contact our Customer Care for assistance in a return or exchange. 

    —Admin
  3. Barbara R.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product!
    • I have really noticed an improvement on my skin. Fine lines and spots are disappearing. My friend also uses this and her skin is looking beautiful!!

  4. Alicia M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A great daytime Retinol
    • I use Retin-A at night, and due to some changes in my skin (long story), I was looking to add a daytime Retinol product to my routine. I started ROC products during the day, and they did okay, but I felt like there had to be something better out there. I was right! Paula's Retinol serum saved the day! Adding this product to my daytime routine singlehandedly made the difference to bring back my skin health and glow. Thank you Paula!

  5. Mary Lynn
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Smooths and no bad reaction
    • I've tried for years to use prescription retinol but I always look like my face has dandruff regardless of the strength This Retinol just makes my skin smooth, less creased and thicker. It feels great and is much smoother; not too much makeup needed. I'm 64 and this has made my skin nicer than it has been in years. (Added the C-15 and it's even better.).

  6. marcia s.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product!
    • I have been using this product around my eyes for the last 2 weeks. I have one eye that has more lines under it than the other. This is the first product that really seems to be making a difference in the appearance of those lines. I have tried a multitude of other "eye creams" and had little success with the outcome, especially given the price of some of those products. I have only been using Paula's Choice Resist skin products for a few months, and am extremely happy with the look of my skin.

  7. CT
    Reviewed on Monday, January 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Feels great on your skin
    • I just bought this product, so it's too soon to see any results. BUT, I absolutely LOVE the way this serum feels on my face..silkly texture and it dries fast! I prefer to put on my moisturizer first, then top with this serum and allow it to dry. So far so good!!

  8. Meahlyn D.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pleasantly surprised
    • I received a generous deluxe sized sample from a contest and used it for at least two months. After the first month, I didn't notice much of a difference in my dark post acne scars and blemishes. However, by the second month and a little after, the darks spots were significantly reduced. With continued use, I believe this product has and will change my life. Thanks Paula's Choice!

  9. nancy
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Jury still out.
    • I've been using it for a few weeks now. I know that I like the way it feels going on. I use it with the C Boost. I'm going to keep using and report back in a month.

  10. Jackie B
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Never without it...
    • Used this daily for maybe 2 years & wouldn't let my 62 year skin go without it . Truly makes a difference so I'm seldom without a spare watching always for Paula's specials. Is their shipping warp speed or what?!

  11. Kristy
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not quite what I expected....
    • I ordered based on the good reviews as some people that I know absolutely swear by Paula's Choice products. I ordered this along with the vit-c serum and not sure if this blend is too harsh or what, but I had a breakout which is extremely rare. This was the only thing I changed in my current skincare routine. I have since been ordering samples of everything trying to see what works and what doesn't. Dissapointed as this was my very first order and an expensive one at that.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, January 17, 2014

    Thank you for sharing your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! Be sure to contact our Customer Care for assistance with a refund or exchange, custserv@paulaschoice.com.

    —Admin
  12. Anna F.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Great product
    • Love this! Since I started using this a couple of weeks ago I have noticed a big improvement, so much so that I ordered another bottle. Unfortunately, the first bottle stopped working, I just started the 2nd one and hope it continues to work because i find it was really expensive and I can't afford to reorder a 3rd time if it doesn't work.

  13. Boomerant
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    lovely product
    • This is a lovely product- it surprised me with the rich emollient feel that absorbed to not leave a greasy feeling. I logged on to comment on what a small amount of product the bottle contains in comparison to the other PC serums sold in a tube...... and note that others are attributing this to a faulty pump. My pump performs the pump action but after five uses there appears to be no product-- add my voice to those noting this problem. With that problem resolved this is 5* product.

  14. Lalie
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow!
    • I can't believe how this product has made my skin glow, become clearer, and just look overall totally radiant. I went for my bimonthly facial and I had very few extractions. She even asked me about what I had been doing. In the past, I had been using RX Retin-A Micro, but my skin couldn't handle it anymore. It just was way too strong. This retinol is even better because it's more gentle and has the added bonus of the antioxidants, unlike the RX one.

  15. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, January 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A Winner for Retinol
    • I've been a loyal PC customer for years now (most of my skincare routine consists of Paula's products). I was waiting for them to create a serum with retinol in it. This was the first one, and I fell in love because I hated having to find another retinol product to use in addition to everything else I use after cleansing. She has since come out with other serums with retinol which I plan to use. Thank you, Paula!

  16. Tom M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome for Rosacea!
    • After about a month of using this retinol serum I noticed a reduction in the amount and severity of my Rosacea breakouts. My skin has been a lot better, less redness and less burning and itching. In fact I have not had a real Rosacea breakout in a few months! I stopped using the expensive cream that the doctor prescribed as it did not work nearly as good as the Resist Retinol Serum...this stuff works great.

  17. Franca D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Please try this skin care line
    • I have used Clinique, Clarins, Kate Somerville, Olay, Perricone, Dr. Gross, Dr. Brandt, Serious Skin Care, Philosophy, and so many more. PAULA'S CHOICE IS THE BEST SKIN CARE I HAVE EVER USED. I am 45 years old and NOW I have acne. Lately every other brand irritates my skin. After carefully reviewing and sampling Paula's products, (thank GOD for the sample sizes and free shipping) my skin is finally calming down and looks and feels amazing. With these products I see results immediately.

  18. Margaret
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 15, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I can confirm a few...
    • I have only been using this for about 3 weeks now. I have rosacea and I can say that this does not irritate. In fact, it seems to calm my skin and my skin feels firmer. I would guess it is also helping lighten some fairly light sun spots but I can't say for sure just yet. If you are looking for a serum and your skin is sensitive and you are concerned, from my perspective and use, this is a product worth trying because I feel it is making a difference.

  19. Oriana, P
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Remarkable
    • This serum is remarkable. I have only been using it for a week and I can already see dark spots fading. I still have some flaking, so I am waiting for that to go away to see the full results. So far, I am really impressed. Even my husband wants to try it now. Will have to buy more :).

  20. RACHEL
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for acne prone sensitive skin
    • I have been using this product for several months now, alternating every other night with the super light antioxidant serum and I have noticed a major difference in my skin. I have fair, sensitive skin prone to horrible hormonal breakouts and redness and have experienced no negative reaction to this product. It is quite oily but I follow with the anti-aging clear skin moisturizer which seems to help it sink in quicker. Since using this product, my skin is noticeably clearer, smooth and glowing!

  21. Abby V
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT!!!
    • I LOVE this serum! I've been using PC's antioxidant serum for years and decided to try this on a whim and a sale. Fantastic! It's thick and soothing--perfect for my dry skin and, best of all, does not irritate it in the least! (Besides being dry, I have rosacea and eczema. Finding ANYTHING that doesn't irritate my skin is a challenge.). This is a soothing layer between my metronidazole and sunscreen. I saw the poor reviews on the pump, but have experienced no difficulties myself. Excellent!!!

  22. Ann
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • This is a great product, especially when mixed with the new Vitamin C potency serum. This makes it very easy to blend. Another winner from Paulas Choice!

  23. Max B
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    OMG
    • WOW!! Fine lines on forehead and around eyes almost completely gone after 3 weeks but my favorite: my skin has become so much more elastic especially when I smile, no more smile lines left. Use it nightly with zero irritation. My skin is so SMOOTH: pores shrinking, fine lines nearly gone, utterly plumped, hydrated, and skin tone evening rapidly. So pleased with this product. Will DEFINITELY repurchase because of the superb formulation, efficacy, packaging, and tolerance. Get this NOW!!!!!!

  24. Jean L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I was afraid that my sensitive skin would react to retinol but it didn't at all! After just one use, it left my skin looking a little more vibrant and it felt much softer!

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is great and gentle
    • I was sent a promo canister of this and have grown to love it. At first it seemed too harsh for me. I had to build up with the resist moisturizer with retinol. When my skin is clogged or breaking out I use this 2 a month. My skin glows and is hydrated the next day. It's is a lovely product, and feels like oil. Too bad my skin is too delicate to use it regularly. I wish you'd make a travel sizes. Packets are great, but messy. There is a real need for that size. The pump works fine.

« Prev Page of 16 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum is an exclusive formula that utilizes a proprietary blend of highly stabilized retinol, potent antioxidants, and skin-repairing ingredients. Its soothing, silky texture goes to work immediately to help skin of any age look and act younger. Anti-irritants reduce redness and soothe sensitive skin, and the serum helps fade red marks from past breakouts. With ongoing use, you will see fewer wrinkles, smoother skin, and improved skin tone.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Anyone concerned with improving the appearance of aging skin and helping sun-damaged skin repair itself so it functions in a younger, healthier manner. Ideal for use with Paula's Choice Resist line of anti-aging products. May be alternated with our best-selling Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2011, ePublication; Experimental Dermatology, July 2011, pages 572–576; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Fitoterapia, March 2011, pages 208–211; Lipids, September 2010, pages 833–841; Oxidative Medicine and Cellular Longevity, January-February 2010, pages 35–43; The Journal of Dermatological Treatment, May 2009, pages 276–281; Journal of the Indian Medical Association, April 2009, pages 219–222; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, June 2008, pages 369–381; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, June 2008, pages 175–182; Journal of Dermatological Science, May 2008, pages 99–107; Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606–612; and Clinical Interventions in Aging, April 2006, pages 327-348.

Key Ingredients: retinol, caprylic/capric triglyceride, squalane, licorice extract, cell-communicating ingredients, Avena sativa, Laminaria ochroleuca extract, bisabolol, lecithin, palm oil, vitamin C, anti-irritant, antioxidant, vitamin E, kelp extract

Product Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/suspending agents), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (skin-conditioning agent), Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (skin-repairing ingredient), Phenyl Trimethicone (silicone slip agent), Squalane (emollient), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient/antioxidant), Tocotrienols (vitamin E-based antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Laminaria Ochroleuca (Kelp) Extract (anti-irritant), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Oil (anti-irritant), Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil (skin-repairing ingredient), Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate (licorice-derived anti-irritant), Hexylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply in the evening after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. Smooth a few drops onto skin before or after moisturizing. Perfect for use around the eyes. May be alternated with Paula’s Choice Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum differ from the other Antioxidant Concentrates that Paula's Choice offers?

The most notable difference is that Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum contains a higher amount of retinol than our Skin Recovery and Skin Balancing serums with retinol. The Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum does not contain retinol and as such is an excellent serum to alternate with the Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum. Both of the Resist serums were designed for all skin types, whereas Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin and Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate is best for normal to oily or combination skin.

Every Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is silicone-based and contains an effective blend of antioxidants, skin-repairing ingredients, and cell-communicating ingredients to restore skin and significantly reduce wrinkles, increase collagen production, and improve skin color.

Which Paula's Choice serum should I use?

All skin types can use any of our serums, but there are some formulary distinctions that make certain Paula's Choice serums preferred for specific skin types. Here's how they break down:

  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum can be used by all skin types, including sensitive skin.
  • Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin because it contains plant oils.
  • Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for normal to oily or combination skin because it has the lightest texture and weightless finish.
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is one of two Paula’s Choice serums that does not contain retinol. It’s the natural choice for anyone whose skin cannot tolerate retinol.
  • Resist Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum has the lightest texture of all the Resist serums and is our only water-based (rather than silicone-based) serum. It does not contain retinol, so is recommended for those whose skin cannot tolerate this ingredient (or it may be used with one of our retinol serums).

Is Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum better than the other Paula's Choice serums?

Not better, just different. Think of it like broccoli and carrots: both are good for you but provide different nutritional benefits your body needs to be healthy. Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum was formulated with a greater amount of retinol to provide a higher degree of wrinkle repair—but all Paula's Choice serums contain an array of ingredients proven to help repair wrinkles and other signs of aging.

Can I use two Paula's Choice products with retinol, such as Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum?

Yes, this is fine; however, if you noticed that applying such products at the same time causes signs of irritation (such as redness or flaking) it would be best to apply one in the morning and the other at night, or consider switching to Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum, which is retinol-free.

Can I use Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum with my prescription retinoid product (examples: Renova, Retin-A, generic tretinoin).

Yes, but generally speaking, you don't necessarily need to use retinol and a prescription retinoid. Many will do fine with one or the other, or you can apply the prescription retinoid at night and apply the retinol product during the day, always being sure to protect your skin with a product rated SPF 15 or greater. Keep in mind that using multiple retinoid products increases the risk of irritation, which is never the goal. With retinoids, more is not automatically better!

Can I apply Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum with a product medicated with benzoyl peroxide?

Yes. For best results, apply the benzoyl peroxide product to breakout-prone areas, allow to dry, then follow with Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum. Note that benzoyl peroxide should not be applied at the same time as the prescription retinoid tretinoin, as it renders this active ingredient ineffective. It does not appear to have this same effect on retinol.

What is the percentage of retinol in Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum?

Paula's Choice does not reveal the exact percentage of ingredients in any of our products except in the case of over-the-counter drug ingredients such as sunscreen actives and for our exfoliants. In these instances, knowing the exact percentage (or range) is critical as it impacts efficacy.

With retinol, amounts from 0.01–1% have proven to be effective, though higher amounts are known to increase the risk of side effects such as redness, sensitivity, and flaking. Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum contains an amount of retinol that's greater than our other serums with retinol. All Paula's Choice serums with retinol are formulated with stabilized retinol within the range of what research has shown to be effective for reducing wrinkles, improving skin tone, and building collagen.

Can I layer Paula's Choice serums? Do I need to do this?

Yes, you can and it does not matter which serum is applied first. Experiment to see which order of serum application works best for you. Although it's fine to layer our serums, ultimately you do not need to do this because every Paula's Choice serum treats skin to an array of brilliant ingredients. Because layering two serums plus your daytime moisturizer may feel too heavy under makeup, we recommend those who wish to layer our serums do so at night.

What makes Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum better than other retinol treatments?

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum holds several advantages over other serums with retinol:

  • In addition to its targeted retinol formula, this serum also treats skin to a range of antioxidants, repairing ingredients, and anti-irritants. Each of these ingredients has published research showing how they improve aging skin.
  • The amount of retinol in this serum was expertly calibrated to ensure maximum efficacy without irritation. You're getting all of the benefits of retinol without bothersome side effects such as redness or flaking.
  • The chemist Paula chose to formulate this serum is a retinol expert who made sure every element of this targeted treatment was designed to improve wrinkles and signs of aging without tipping the scale toward irritation.
  • This retinol serum is packaged to ensure the efficacy and stability of the formula. The retinol itself is carefully handled and never exposed to degrading light or oxygen at any time during manufacturing. The Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum requires specially designed packaging to keep this amount of retinol stable (droppers, pads or tubes would compromise the retinol's effectiveness). That means the serum you receive can deliver the full, pure potency of retinol.
  • You can rely on Paula and her Product Development team to provide the most advanced formulas at reasonable prices!

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my serum again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a serum, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your serum again as soon as possible. All of our serums contain skin-repairing, anti-inflammatory, and replenishing ingredients that calm reddened skin and help enhance the healing process. Make sure you're also protecting your "new" skin every day with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Is Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this serum will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 9:03:40 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.