Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion

Lighten up, already. Correct dark spots, even out skin tone, and refine your skin's texture. This silky lotion reveals younger-looking skin. Things are looking up.
Item #: 762
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots
  • For All Skin Types
  • Contains the gold standard skin-lightening ingredient, hydroquinone

Why is this full-size product out of stock?
We had an unforeseen issue occur concerning this product's formula not being ideally compatible with its packaging. As a result, we are sourcing a new component and expect to have this skin-lightening lotion back in stock within 3-6 months. We sincerely appreciate your patience as we work to resolve this issue.

View more product details

1 oz size is Out of Stock – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Consider one of these alternatives to the out of stock product:

Customer Ratings:

75 out of 100
(Based on 150 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Catherine D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent product
    • I use this to exfoliate at night. It does tingle my skin, but I have seen the spots fade. Slow process, yes, but very good product. :) I like it.

  2. bornabeautyaddict
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very effective product
    • I purchased this to get rid of brown spots on one side of my face (the result of driving to work and not religiously using sunscreen daily ALL YEAR ROUND). I used as directed - 2x per day for eight weeks & sunscreen on top, and the brown spots have definitely faded almost completely. I did not have any issues using this product - no irritation, no breakouts. This does not work overnight - you definitely have to use for at least eight weeks as directed - but I would recommend it.

  3. MARY LYNN H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This works
    • This stuff does what it says. I have a spot on my cheek that wouldn't even fade with Rx hydroquinone but this stuff is fading it fast. It's even fading the acne scar on my nose. This is a keeper for me. It does take time. I guess it was two weeks (2 times a day) before I noticed I didn't need concealer. Whoopee! It's a large tube which will probably last at 4-6 months.

  4. LORENE S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 05, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Didn't work as I had hoped.
    • I have some hyperpigmentation and red acne marks that I wanted to lighten and selected this lotion because it also includes AHA, and I would not need an additional AHA product. I had been using, and was happy with, the Skin Perfecting 8% AHA gel for exfoliation to help with acne and old sun damage. It's been about five months, and while there has been a tiny bit of lightening, the brown and red marks are still very apparent. It's disappointing because I'm continuing to have very good results with other Paula's products (Clear Daily Skin Clearing Treatment 5%, Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel, and Resist BHA 9), and was hoping to have a similar experience with this product. I'm going try the RESIST Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment, and see if that is a better match for my skin. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear results are coming along slowly. You may consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of hydroquinone would work faster for you. We do suggest trying the brightening treatment to see how this works for you. Please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  5. Denise
    Reviewed on Monday, November 26, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Denise
    • This a great product. Have used it to completely erase sun spots on my face. My only criticism is that I would like you to sell this product at about half it's original size. A little of this product goes a long way and it only takes a few ounces to get rid of a sun spot. Since I use sun screen daily, dark spots don't pop up that often, but when they do a few months later, I go back to my tube only to find it has oxidized and turned the lotion brown. I have never been able to use more than half a tube before it oxidizes. A smaller size tube or even some sort of small individual use packets would be great, then this product would get 5 stars! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We are glad this product has worked so well for you. We do want to mention that result times vary for everyone and typically take 8-12 weeks, or more depending on the person's skin type and concerns. This product should be used daily, even once the dark spots have faded to prevent them from returning as well as preventing future discolorations. We will be sure to pass your feedback along. If you have any questions please contact customer care, we are happy to help!

  6. Grace
    Reviewed on Monday, November 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Exceptional Product!
    • I am a Samoan and have had a very dark spot on my face for over 15 years. I have tried various creams but this one is the only one that has faded the spot significantly. I am aiming to have the spot disappear completely. Thank you for a product that does work!

  7. Jane
    Reviewed on Monday, October 29, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Patience is a virtue!
    • It took awhile, as you say, but indeed with patience this product helped fade spots on my face. I use it every single day, even if I am too tired to apply any other product. My husband tried it but it made his skin flaky - too bad! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review! If your husband would like to contact us we are happy to make some recommendations for him! If you have any questions please let us know and we are happy to help.

  8. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Outstanding for hyperpigmentation/acne
    • My daughter has been battling acne for the last two years. We have spent a fortune of skin care products to help lessen the effects of the acne on her face. Out of sheer desperation I had her try this product because I use it for hyperpigmentation. The results were remarkable. Within a week it had diminished much of the red marks that are left behind. She has been using this product for six months now and her face has never looked better. She no longer uses any of her topical acne medication. For anyone who's child has acne issues, this product is worth a try. It's considerably less than most prescription creams and produced much better results.

  9. Andre
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 06, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    #TOTESAMAZE
    • Indian skin. Any acne spot leaves hyper-pigmentation. This product cleared spots in a week. Stubborn spot wouldn't fade for two months prior. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Great price too!

  10. Amy G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    It Works!
    • Being Asian, I have spots of hyperpigmentaion on my face, so about six months ago I bought this product. While it has lightened my spots somewhat, they are still pretty visible. That said, my hubby who is Caucasian, had a dark spot on his cheek and he began to use this product. Within about 5-6 weeks, it lightened significantly! He is really amazed at how much it's worked for him!

  11. Laura
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product!
    • This skin lightner is incredible! It lightens dark spots but also does an amazing job at keeping my complexion smooth and clear. Love this product!

  12. G
    Reviewed on Friday, August 10, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Resisr Skin Lightening GeLl Doesn't work
    • Good to know that others haven't had this product work and not just me. When I read the reviews before buying,they were almost all positive, so decided to give a try. I have been using over a year and just not fading my spots. Considered trying the lotion, but sounds like that is hit and miss also and don't want to waste my money again. I Do like the other products I have gotten though. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear results are coming along slowly. You may consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of hydroquinone would work faster for you. In the meantime we will pass along your comments and feedback to Paula and leave an in house credit for this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order but are not able to locate this product on your account, please contact customer care so that we may locate the product on your account.

  13. Jeree
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Clearly Remarkable!
    • I'm wearing nail polish again and not afraid to show my hands anymore thanks to this wonderful product. I've only used it for a month and the change is truly remarkable thanks to a twice-a-day application and sunscreen. I've since learned my lesson about being diligent with sunscreen re-application on my hands and switched my hand lotion to a Paula's Choice moisturizer with spf, too. I'm very, very happy with the results in just a month! the exfoliation and lightening have easily taken 10 years off my hands. What a relief that is! Thank you, Paula. I'm so glad I found you!

  14. Kathy
    Reviewed on Friday, July 13, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    kcquazzy
    • I have been using the skin lightening products for about a year now, both the gel and the cream. Although the spots seemed to have lightened a bit, they have not faded completely. I have been using Paula's products for about 4 years now and have loved everything else. I will have to search for another product for this concern. Thanks Paula for everything else . Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not noticed better results. The amount of time it will take to see improvement really can vary from person to person and ultimately depends on the extent of the condition or concern they are trying to address as well has how they are using the products. Some consumers will notice results promptly while others will notice results over the course of a few weeks or months. For some discoloration will lighten but not completely go away. You may want to consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of the hydroquinone would offer better results for you and continue applying your sunscreen everyday. We have left an in house credit for the product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  15. Trudy
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It's Working!
    • I live in Florida and am in my 60s. I spent a lot of time in the sun before we all knew we had to use sun screen, so I have a lot of brown spots due to sun exposure. I've been using this product for several months on my face and it is slowly fading my facial brown spots so there're hardly noticeable and they were big and dark. I apply it every day. I'm using it on my arms as well, but have not been as dedicated because I bought it for my face and didn't want to potentially waste it. Even so, there's been some improvement there as well. The only thing that has worked on my spots.

  16. Sherry
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works really well
    • I don't use it in my oily T-zone, and use the BHA gel in that area. However, this product works great on my cheeks. I also use it on spots on my hands. It doesn't get rid of the spots completely, but it does make them lighter.

  17. Diana
    Reviewed on Monday, July 09, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    really bad breakouts
    • abs luv the 2% BHA lightening gel and decided to try the 7% and started to see a dramatically different skin tone, clarity, and smoothness. I could not believe it was the new product but sure enough after stopping use my face cleared up and began using the 2% BHA with the wonderful results I was accustomed to. Was very embarassed by my skin appearance after having so many compliments while using the 2% product. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. It is hard to know exactly which ingredient, combination of ingredients, or outside factors contributed to your skin responding negatively to this product. It can be difficult to identify which ingredient in any formula, even a well-formulated one, which could be causing this reaction. Based on what you have described, it would be best to discontinue use. We will issue an in-house credit for the product which you can use anytime for future orders. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  18. Miriam
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good stuff!
    • I live in the tropics and sun damage is most visible of my underarms, hands, and face. This lightening gel works. Most of my spots and patches are fading. My only concern is that it seems to spoil and turn brown, I've probably been using it too frugally. Is it still effective when turned brown? Customer Care Response: Thank you for taking the time to review this product. The Skin Lightening products do have expiration dates, it is possible that yours is expired. Some browning of the product can also happen from exposure to air. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact customer care. We are always happy to help!

  19. Laurel
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Highly recommended!
    • Yes, it has an industrial smell, but it only lasts a minute. I have come to like the smell because I know it is going to work. Excellent results on hands, forearms and chest. good results on face. Because it doesn't have a girly smell, my husband will allow me to put it on his face, where it has worked very well to eliminate brown spots.

  20. Jintana
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 24, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Ouch!
    • I love all of Paula's products and have many of them that I couldn't live without but this one isn't going to work for me because it stings! I've tried adjusting the amount I apply, the frequency in which I apply it, and even foregoing some of the other products in my regimen to see if maybe that was the culprit. I really want this product to work but worried about what will happen to my skin while waiting for it to adjust. I do have to say that the texture is better than the gel counterpart - I stopped using the gel because of that. I love Paula and will continue to use her products but I'm just disappointed that this probably won't be one of them. Customer Care Response: Thank you for taking the time to review this product. We are sorry to hear the Skin Lightening Lotion did not produce more favorable results for you personally. While our lighteners do work for many consumers, we understand that each person will respond differently to products and ingredients. In terms of what you experienced, our lighteners do contain an exfoliating component that may or may not work for all consumers. If you would like to discuss how you were using the product, as well as what other options you have we are more than happy to help you! Regarding your purchase with us, we will be sure to issue you a credit promptly. Additionally, remember that we not only offer products, we also offer thousands of product recommendations in case ours don't meet your needs. These can be viewed on www.Beautypedia.com. If you have any other concerns, please contact us anytime. We are happy to help.

  21. donna
    Reviewed on Friday, June 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    STILL FADING
    • Ok - i am back for my update on my sun spots. i bought the product in february, i think i may have written a review in april or may and here it is coming close to the end of june. i had several sun spots when i started using this lotion. they gradually started fading, and now i am down to three and they are slowing fading away. i am not kidding. i had two really dark ones on my left jaw line and they are gone. disappeared. i looked this morning in the mirror when i was cleansing my face and i even put my glasses on and i really could not tell where they had been. i know that some of the reviews indicate that after months of use, they have seen nothing, but, there must be some ingredient in this line that loves my skin. if you are reading reviews and thinking of possibly purchasing the product, please do. you have nothing to lose. absolutely nothing. i have never, ever seen a custome service like this company. i could write a page full of good things about this company, about paula and how her products are top of the line, well-priced, deliver as she says,and for those that the products do not help, well, there is a money-back guarantee for sixty-days use. if you cannot tell a difference in your skin in sixty days, i will be astonished. it is very different than going to a department store and they give you a three or four-day use and you are always hoping you can see a difference in your skin, but let's be honest, you will not. sixty-days is a very fair time for paula to give us to try her products. i am not a paid blogger, but just a 56-year old woman who would be devastated if paula ever quit making her products. or, if she ever got rid of her customer service team. i just cannot say enough good things about all of her products and her team. enough said - THANK YOU PAULA. MAY YOU LIVE FOREVER. donna

  22. Carrie
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really works
    • I am 31 and was not smart about the sun and tanning beds in my 20's.I had some brownish patches on my face that had gotten pretty noticeable. This product really worked for me. They are practically gone now. Thank you!

  23. Nicole
    Reviewed on Monday, May 28, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    This works!
    • It takes dedication to apply this every day every morning and night and apply sunscreen over it but it works! My brown sunspots they are fading! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

  24. Shae
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 26, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Sadly, Not For Me
    • I usually have nothing but wonderful things to say about Paula's products but unfortunately this one was a miss for me. I actually purchased this skin lightener a few months ago (it was on sale) but left it unopened so that I could use up the remaining skin lightener that I was using from Alpha Hydrox. I finally began using the RESIST lightener several weeks ago. The smell of this product is pretty overwhelming but I could look past that because it eventually dissipates. The texture of this product is also very nice upon initial application. However, I find that it is impossible to use a serum or sunscreen after using this product because it balls up terribly, a problem I never encountered with my previous lightener. I tried changing my routine around and even using less product to see if it would help but it still balled up. I'm not sure about its lightening capabilities because it rolls off my skin once I apply a serum or moisturizer. It has been more than 60 days since I purchased it so I can't return it. I really wanted this product to work because I love most of Paula's products and the 2oz. quantity you get is very generous, but I guess I will go back to using the Alpha Hydrox instead. Sorry Paula. Customer Care Response: Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry that the RESIST Skin Lightening Lotion 7% AHA wasn't a fit for you! Contact us at custserv@paulaschoice.com, and we can arrange a refund for you!

  25. dawn
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 17, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    effective for UV related dark spots
    • i've used this cream for about 2 months. it has effectively lightened the small dark spots on my face caused by UV exposure. they are still there but they are lighter. i expect they will lighten further with continued use and daily application of a good sunscreen. it is interesting to note that this cream has not lightened any of my hormonally induced(pregnancy/birth control) melasma. i'd still recommend this an effective lightening cream.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion is a specialized anti-aging product that works in three ways to improve the appearance of skin: hydroquinone fades dark spots and discolorations, glycolic acid exfoliates to smooth skin texture, and antioxidants help repair sun damage for younger-looking, radiant skin. Special packaging keeps key sensitive ingredients stable and prevents product discoloration.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.1-4.1.

Who is this product for?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion is formulated for anyone struggling with skin discolorations, uneven skin tone from sun damage, and rough skin texture. It is best suited for normal dry skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion

Cutis, April 2008, pages 356–371 and August 2006, pages S6–S19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, pages S272–S281; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, September–October 2005, pages 592–597; Experimental Dermatology, January 2005, pages 34–40; April 2003, Supplemental, pages 57–63; and January 2003, pages S43–S50; Cancer Letters, December 2002, pages 125–135; Journal of Dermatological Science, August, 2001, Supplemental, pages 68–75; Molecular Carcinogenesis, July 2001, pages 152–160; and Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001, page 429; and Cosmetic Dermatology Principles and Practice 2nd Edition, McGraw Hill Medical Publishing, Leslie Baumann MD, 2009, pages 149–150.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, sodium PCA, allantoin, vitamin B5, lactic acid, AHA, squalane, hydroquinone, Rosa canina, bisabolol, hydrogenated lecithin, rose hip oil, panthenol, vitamin E, glycolic acid, tocopheryl acetate

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Hydroquinone 2% (melanin inhibitor)
Other Ingredients: Water, Glycolic Acid (alpha-hydroxy acid/exfoliant) Dicaprylyl Maleate (thickener/emollient), Glyceryl Stearate (thickener), Ethoxydiglycol (solvent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Lactic Acid (water binding agent), Cyclopentasiloxane (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Stearic Acid, Isostearic Acid (thickeners), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (thickener), Cyclohexasiloxane (skin-conditioning agent), Rosa Canina (Rose Hips) Fruit Oil (plant oil/emollient), Squalane (emollient), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E/antioxidant), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Hydrogenated Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Kojic Dipalmitate (emollient), PEG-100 Stearate (thickener), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Sodium Bisulfite, Sodium Sulfite (stabilizers), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Sorbic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (all preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily to cleansed, toned skin. Spread a thin layer over areas where discolorations and breakouts are a concern. During the day, follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice sunscreen (essential to prevent discolorations from recurring). At night, follow with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer and/or Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. Results for discolorations should appear after 8–12 weeks of consistent use.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Sunburn Alert: This product contains an alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) that may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun and particularly the possibility of sunburn. Use a sunscreen, wear protective clothing, and limit sun exposure while using this product and for a week afterwards.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the difference between the Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion and Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel?

The main differences are texture (gel vs. lotion) and the type of exfoliant included in the formula. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel was designed with normal to oily skin in mind, so it contains salicylic acid (BHA) which is preferred over AHAs for that skin type. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion contains glycolic acid and is ideal for someone with normal to dry skin. Both work to provide smoother, younger-looking skin.

Can I use an AHA or BHA in combination with either one of the skin lighteners?

Using an additional exfoliant may not be necessary with either skin lightening product, because both already contain them. However, if you prefer, you can alternate use of one of our AHA or BHA products with either skin lightener. If you're spot-applying one of our skin lighteners, then you can apply your regular AHA or BHA exfoliant to the rest of your face.

At what point in my routine do I apply the skin-lightening product?

Whether you're using our Resist Triple-Action Lotion or Gel, either product should be applied to dark spots or uneven areas twice daily after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. In the morning, follow with serum and moisturizer with sunscreen. At night, follow with serum and moisturizer.

If you're using a prescription retinoid product at night, apply that first, then follow with the Dark Spot Eraser.

I have heard/read from sources that hydroquinone is carcinogenic (cancer-causing) and the FDA wants to ban it. What does Paula think of that?

Paula has written about this topic on her Web site and in her books, but the summation is that the negative research about hydroquinone and the frightening assertions being levied in the media are not related to how this effective ingredient is used in skincare products sold in the United States. It has been, and still is, the most effective topical agent for fading and/or eliminating sun- or hormone-induced brown skin discolorations and there is copious research to support this conclusion (Sources: Cutis, August 2006, Supplemental pages 6–19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, Supplemental, pages 272–281).

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.351 11/22/2014 7:26:53 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.