Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion

Lighten up, already. Correct dark spots, even out skin tone, and refine your skin's texture. This silky lotion reveals younger-looking skin. Things are looking up.
Item #: 762
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots
  • For All Skin Types
  • Contains the gold standard skin-lightening ingredient, hydroquinone

Why is this full-size product out of stock?
We had an unforeseen issue occur concerning this product's formula not being ideally compatible with its packaging. As a result, we are sourcing a new component and expect to have this skin-lightening lotion back in stock within 3-6 months. We sincerely appreciate your patience as we work to resolve this issue.

View more product details

1 oz size is Out of Stock – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Consider one of these alternatives to the out of stock product:

Customer Ratings:

75 out of 100
(Based on 152 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Brooklyn Mermaid
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    WOW! "What a difference a month makes"
    • I have been using the product for about a month after experimenting with so many products that did not work. I use the product at night before bed with the C12 and Skin Recovery Antioxidant serum. I cannot believe the different! Amazing! I have had serious sun damage and discoloration due to menopause. Now my skin color is uniformed and even. I can't say enough about how this product as well as the PC line has improved my skin. I had considered going to the derma. to have my skin resurfaced.

  2. Suzanne F
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    I didn't like it
    • I am bummed this did not work for me. I bought the Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum and Paula's Choice Skin Recovery. I think I have narrowed it down to this product that is making my skin look horrible. I have always only used a gentle soap and a moisturizer on my face. As I'm getting older (49) decided maybe I need to do more. After 2 weeks of using this product My pores look huge ( I have never had noticeable pores before.) My skin just looks BAD. I will be returning this.

  3. Magaly C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'M IN LOVE WITH THIS!!!
    • I have being battling with post acne marks for a little over one year now. I finally decided to give this a try with no hope that it would work. Well I was proved wrong! In less than a month I have seen results! My marks are slowly disappearing, the texture of my skin is soft and looks a lot more healthy, and I feel once again so much more confident without makeup. Even my boyfriend noticed that my skin was starting to look more even and healthier. I would totally recommend this to anyone!

  4. Neo S
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Ineffective product
    • Purchased it mid October and used it religiously as instructed. (twice daily and applied sunscreen). The affected areas where I applied it turned red initially, then extremely dry and returned to their former state. After nearly two months of use, I discontinued use and sought help from a dermtologist.

  5. SALLY M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    back for more
    • Thought it didn't work that well. Then I ran out. Spots are more prominent now.While it did not eradicate my spots it certainly faded them.I'm giving 5 stars because it does what it says:fades dark spots.And I only used a few times per week. This time will use daily.Can't afford laser treatment.This must be the next best thing.I won't be without it now. Dark spots are so aging.Will keep this site updated after using every day.

  6. Kristen P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works
    • I had patches of melasma all over my face (caused by pregnancy). After two months using this, my melasma is barely visible. My husband even noticed. I think I look so much younger now! I used this in conjunction with a retinal product and I think that boosted its effectiveness.

  7. DEB S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 10, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love the Product, Hate the packaging
    • This is one of my favorite PC products but I hate the packaging. Hard to control it out of the tube and it usually oozes out too much product no matter how timidly I try to dispense it. I would really appreciate this being in an airless pump so it wouldn't be such a mess.

  8. Kaysha
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works, but irritates my skin
    • I was afraid this would irritate my rosacea prone sensitive skin. I have been using this product for about one week and have decided to return it and purchase the BHA lightening product instead. This product has been irritating my skin enough to not only make it red, but also to make my usually flaky dry skin rather oily(I actually had to blot. Twice. That has never happened to me.) Hopefully the lighter gel with the less irritating BHA will be more suitable for my skin.

  9. Lori B.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 14, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Slight improvement
    • I was hopeful that this product would help with my freckles that have morphed into unattractive age spots over the last couple of years. I believe they may have faded 10% but I might be imagining even that. I am a fan of the other products I have been using over the last 4 months but this one, not so much.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, October 15, 2013

    Thanks for your feedback! Be sure you've given the product three months of once or twice-daily use before making a final decision. Also, be sure you protect your skin every day with a good sunscreen; skipping this step even once can undo weeks of progress! Any skin-lightening routine must include daily (rain or shine, clouds or not) sun protectoin, or you won't get the results you want.

    —Admin
  10. B
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It Worked for Me
    • Having tried numerous products and regular deep facials (including a horrible chemical peel) I am pleased to say that this product has made a huge difference in the dark spots I've battled for 8 yrs. Used as directed, twice daily. Yes, it has a smell but hey, it's small potatoes compared to the outcome. After about 5-6wks I've worked down to applying once a day and am using less foundation now. Feel confident enough to go outside "bare" again!. So glad I took a chance on this product!!

  11. Yvonne
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Strong stuff
    • As I get laser treatment for my brown spots I needed a daily treatment, so I purchased this product. The brown spots on the right side of my face have definitely faded within just a few weeks with the use of this product. I tried it on the brown spots of my chest but unfortunately it got pretty inflammed and red. My chest area seems to be very sensitive-not sure if it has anything to do with previous 20 years ago. Will try again but will apply every few days instead of daily.

  12. Sarah
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great during laser hair removal!
    • I know it may sound random, but I have been using this since I started getting laser hair removal done on my underarms. It helps heal and soothe my skin right after the procedure, helps the hair shed faster and leaves my underarms MUCH lighter than before. And it eliminates ingrown hairs. I used to have a dark brown cast and while some of it has improved due to less hair, a lot of the darkness is directly due to the aha skin lightening lotion. This is great stuff.

  13. ANETA D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works for melasma but not on its own.
    • My melasma showed up a few years ago after my pregnancy. I have been trying to get rid of it since then. The bottom line is that it is possible to control it, but there isn't one product that will do it. It takes a village!!! Every night I wash my face with Clarisonic then use this product and then prescription Tretinoin and a moisturizer last. During the day I put a thick layer of sunscreen, then use a foundation with sunscreen and then Paula's powder SPF 15. This lotion works great for me!!

  14. KatH
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works great, but use cautiously!
    • I took pictures of myself before starting to use this product, so I can say that it definitely fades brown spots! I have one that is completely gone...most others are very light at this point. My biggest issue with the product was that it irritated my skin. After about a week, I had red spots all over my cheeks and chin. I stopped using the spot eraser, and my skin returned to normal. I decided to try applying the lotion only to the dark spots using a Q-tip. This gave me excellent results!

  15. Ashley H.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best exfoliator/lightening product out there
    • After my first child I started to develop dark pigmentation under one eye, on my upper lip and chin area. I looked for and tried many products, almost everything with an acid in it made my sensitive face break out. After my second child I was desperate, the spot under my left eye was starting to circle and I even pursued a prescription cream. It really didn't do a thing. On the suggestion of a friend I purchased this product. It works brilliantly, I buy in bulk to share with others.

  16. AMY G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Skin reaction after 1-2 months of use
    • I used this for about a month before I noticed little bumps in some the places where it was applied (daily, sometimes twice a day). I went about a week without using the product and the bumps went away. I then started using it again and in some areas I had these hard little bumps, and in other places it caused my skin to redden. Not a rash, but like I had rubbed it into the skin too hard, but then it stayed red for days and was a little itchy. Not enough time to see any lightening.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, July 25, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We are so sorry to hear this product didn't work out for you. This product does not contain any commonly problematic ingredients but we understand that everyone's skin responds differently. That being said we want you to be 100% satisfied with your purchase so please feel free to contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a return or exchange. They are always happy to help!
    —Admin
  17. K M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for Dark Spots From Acne/Scars- THE BEST!!!
    • I have medium dark, combo-oily/dry, acne prone, East Indian (India) skin, think of similar coloring to Beyoncé and if you know East Indian actresses, like Rekha. but not lighter. This helped fade the brown/black marks that I got from acne. I applied it every evening at night after cleansing and toning (Resist) on my dry areas, use the 2% BHA dark spot eraser on my oily T-Zone, and followed it by the RESIST Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator all over. This totally faded the acne marks! It's amazing!

  18. catherine t.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    excuse the smell
    • I have been using this product now every night for a month. It has a chemical smell that isnt overpowering but noticeable. All of my discolorations are almost gone and in fact the small line I had between my eyes has also almost disappeared. I love this product and almost hate to see the discolorations go because then there will be no need to continue using it. My friend was using it every 2-3 nights and did not see as much lightening. It must be used every day.

  19. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, April 29, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for me
    • I have been using the lightener for 6 wks. I know that I cannot really expect to see any good results on my genetic dark spots. However, I decided to give it a try because I trust Paula. Unfortunately, your product makes my skin worse. The pores are enlarged and the skin has a coarse look. I am sure that it is caused by your product because others than your product I have not tried anything new. Also, it smells terrible. I am so disappointed with this lightener. I am so sorry for the low rating.

  20. KLN
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Life changing!
    • I have been taking birth controls for a long time and the cute little freckles that I liked gradually turned into huge brown spots on my forehead, cheeks and chin. Before looking into bleaching products from my dermatologist and expensive facial peels, I decided to give this product a try. I started using it in January and by April the marks were 80% gone. I am very impressed! Thank you!

  21. Shelly W
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I LOVE you 7% AHA lotion/lightener! LOVE U
    • I've used so many Paula's Choice products over the years - but sadly - the dark spots from not using sun screen in my teens and early 20's had started appearing in the last 2 years. Like everyone - the smell of the hydroquinone leaves much to be desired - but it drys and dissipates. And it *works.* Which is what matters. I'm using 2x a day - with the HandCream sunscreen and YAY! Spots fading! As a bonus - my fine crepey lines under the eyes are really diminishing quickly with this regimen.

  22. KATE T.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 25, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    AHA--Not For Me
    • I used the BHA version of this product and loved it after a winter Caribbean vacation brought out some dark spots in my usually relatively flawless skin. This year I thought I'd try the AHA version, hoping it would be a little hydrating. It unfortunately wreaked havoc with my skin. I've used Paula's BHAs for a while and my skin loves it, so I assumed I wouldn't have trouble with the AHA. Wrong! My skin started breaking out and flaking and getting red and sore. So it's back to the BHA for me.

  23. Mary L.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Excellent results on diffuse skin pigment!
    • I was amazed to find that this completely removed some diffuse brown blotches on my lower forearms after about a week of twice-daily applications. I truly thought it would take longer, if it worked at all. I've also tried it on a few age spots, and I can see a little improvement after several weeks, but those will be more difficult. Nonetheless, this is truly excellent for diffuse pigmentation. NOTE: I have very sensitive skin and rosacea. I would NEVER put this on my face.

  24. Catherine F
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic!
    • This product really works, within a week my freckles had faded substantially, I love it!

  25. Tara
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My skin is completely different
    • I am loyal PC user. I have VERY dry skin. I have a few sun spots near hairline and right under my eyes (probably due to careless sunscreen application). I have used the 2% BHA lotion for years. Maybe AHA is what I've needed all along. In just under 2 weeks my skin is TRANSFORMED!!! MUCH smoother, dewier. Complexion MUCH more even. Favorite PC product ever! I will update later re:spots but I feel it will since whole complexion already more even Only con: product SMELLS BAD when applied

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion is a specialized anti-aging product that works in three ways to improve the appearance of skin: hydroquinone fades dark spots and discolorations, glycolic acid exfoliates to smooth skin texture, and antioxidants help repair sun damage for younger-looking, radiant skin. Special packaging keeps key sensitive ingredients stable and prevents product discoloration.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.5-3.9.

Who is this product for?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion is formulated for anyone struggling with skin discolorations, uneven skin tone from sun damage, and rough skin texture. It is best suited for normal to dry skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion

Cutis, April 2008, pages 356–371 and August 2006, pages S6–S19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, pages S272–S281; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, September–October 2005, pages 592–597; Experimental Dermatology, January 2005, pages 34–40; April 2003, Supplemental, pages 57–63; and January 2003, pages S43–S50; Cancer Letters, December 2002, pages 125–135; Journal of Dermatological Science, August, 2001, Supplemental, pages 68–75; Molecular Carcinogenesis, July 2001, pages 152–160; and Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001, page 429; and Cosmetic Dermatology Principles and Practice 2nd Edition, McGraw Hill Medical Publishing, Leslie Baumann MD, 2009, pages 149–150.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, sodium PCA, allantoin, vitamin B5, lactic acid, AHA, squalane, hydroquinone, Rosa canina, bisabolol, hydrogenated lecithin, rose hip oil, panthenol, vitamin E, glycolic acid, tocopheryl acetate

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Hydroquinone 2% (melanin inhibitor)
Other Ingredients: Water, Glycolic Acid (alpha-hydroxy acid/exfoliant) Dicaprylyl Maleate (thickener/emollient), Glyceryl Stearate (thickener), Ethoxydiglycol (solvent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Lactic Acid (water binding agent), Cyclopentasiloxane (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Stearic Acid, Isostearic Acid (thickeners), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (thickener), Cyclohexasiloxane (skin-conditioning agent), Rosa Canina (Rose Hips) Fruit Oil (plant oil/emollient), Squalane (emollient), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E/antioxidant), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Hydrogenated Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Kojic Dipalmitate (emollient), PEG-100 Stearate (thickener), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Sodium Bisulfite, Sodium Sulfite (stabilizers), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Sorbic Acid, Benzoic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (all preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily to cleansed, toned skin. Spread a thin layer over areas where discolorations and breakouts are a concern. During the day, follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice sunscreen (essential to prevent discolorations from recurring). At night, follow with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer and/or Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. Results for discolorations should appear after 8–12 weeks of consistent use.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Sunburn Alert: This product contains an alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) that may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun and particularly the possibility of sunburn. Use a sunscreen, wear protective clothing, and limit sun exposure while using this product and for a week afterwards.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the difference between the Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion and Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel?

The main differences are texture (gel vs. lotion) and the type of exfoliant included in the formula. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel was designed with normal to oily skin in mind, so it contains salicylic acid (BHA) which is preferred over AHAs for that skin type. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion contains glycolic acid and is ideal for someone with normal to dry skin. Both work to provide smoother, younger-looking skin.

Can I use an AHA or BHA in combination with either one of the skin lighteners?

Using an additional exfoliant may not be necessary with either skin lightening product, because both already contain them. However, if you prefer, you can alternate use of one of our AHA or BHA products with either skin lightener. If you're spot-applying one of our skin lighteners, then you can apply your regular AHA or BHA exfoliant to the rest of your face.

At what point in my routine do I apply the skin-lightening product?

Whether you're using our Resist Triple-Action Lotion or Gel, either product should be applied to dark spots or uneven areas twice daily after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. In the morning, follow with serum and moisturizer with sunscreen. At night, follow with serum and moisturizer.

If you're using a prescription retinoid product at night, apply that first, then follow with the Dark Spot Eraser.

I have heard/read from sources that hydroquinone is carcinogenic (cancer-causing) and the FDA wants to ban it. What does Paula think of that?

Paula has written about this topic on her Web site and in her books, but the summation is that the negative research about hydroquinone and the frightening assertions being levied in the media are not related to how this effective ingredient is used in skincare products sold in the United States. It has been, and still is, the most effective topical agent for fading and/or eliminating sun- or hormone-induced brown skin discolorations and there is copious research to support this conclusion (Sources: Cutis, August 2006, Supplemental pages 6–19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, Supplemental, pages 272–281).

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.358 12/18/2014 10:03:54 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.