Resist Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA

Items you may also like

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Time to fade out, brown spots. Lighten discolorations and even out your skin tone with this silky gel. It improves texture and reveals younger-looking, clearer skin.
Item #: 763
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Contains the gold standard skin-lightening ingredient, hydroquinone
  • 2% BHA targets blackheads, exfoliates skin’s surface and inside pores

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

71 out of 100
(Based on 201 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. Courtney D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 07, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Sensitive Skin... BEWARE!!
    • So I started using Paula's products a few months ago with great success. I have struggled with hormonal acne for a long time and was looking for something that would help get rid of my hyperpigmentation/brown spots. I was very excited to try this product. I have used it twice and my skin has had a horrible reaction. I applied a small amount but still my face ended up looking sun burned. VERY dissapointed. Love her products, BUT NOT THIS ONE

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    We're sorry to hear about your experience! It sounds as if your skin may not tolerate hydroquinone, which is the active melanin-fading ingredient in the RESIST Skin Lighteners. Please contact our Customer Care Department and they will be happy to help suggest alternatives or to help with a credit/exchange.
    —Admin
  2. Zora J.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed
    • I am a big fan of Paula's effective, affordable products. Unfortunately, this lightening gel didn't work for me. I have generally clear skin, but a bout of hormonal acne left some discoloration on my jawline. I hoped this product would help even my skintone; sadly, it irritated my face and left me looking like a spotty teenager. This is the first time I've had an adverse reaction to a Paula's Choice product. This gel clearly benefits many people, and I'm sorry it does not agree with my skin.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this didn't meet your expectations. It is important to note that red marks following a breakout won't respond to hydroquinone that is used in the RESIST Skin Lighteners (they aren't melanin-based). However, you may be a great candidate for BHA 9! Contact our Customer Care department for help with a credit, exchange or additional recommendations.
    —Admin
  3. Rebecca B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It works!
    • I love this! Even though I am relatively young, I can tell exactly where my skin was exposed to the sun due to darkened and freckled areas. I began using this on my face twice daily to relieve the light freckling across my nose which looks mottled from a distance. I have now been using it where I obviously got burned in my vneck area. Wow! In a week, my skin is lighter and nearly back to its original pale but healthy, natural color. Thank you! Time to try those frecklely arms! So excited

  4. katdog75
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love it!
    • Love this product. People are always complimenting me on how fair and even-toned my complexion is. This got rid of my dry, flaky skin and lightened up my freckles and sun damage. I now need much less foundation as my skin tone is very even. I know it is often recommended to use aha for sun damaged skin but aha always causes me to flake. Even with continued use aha still causes flaking.. but the bha in this product does a great job and no flaking!! Highly recommended!

  5. Sue
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product
    • I've been using this product for years. I have normal to oily combination skin. I like that you get two in one with this treatment, BHA for exfoliating, and hydroquinone for lightening sun induced spots. I use it on my face all over and followed by a lightweight serum and then sunscreen. I have really good skin for my age (54) and this product is one of the reasons why. Do not use it on the skin around your eyes - the skin there is too delicate. I would never be without it.

  6. Tammy S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A great combination product!
    • I've been using this product for 4 months now. I have a patch of melasma on my face from preganancy and I have moderate to severe adult acne. I thought this would be a great combination product, and it has mostly lived up to my expectations. In the first few weeks, my melasma seemed to get darker rather than lighter, but I continued to use the product because the acne improvement was dramatic - best over the counter product I've ever used for acne. After a couple of months the melasma began to improve as well. It is not completely gone yet, but I think it will eventually be eliminated with the continued use of this product. However, I would continue to use this product on the acne results alone. Bottom Line: Dramatic acne improvement, along with much slower dark spot improvement.

  7. Patrick
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very pleased, great product!
    • I've been using this with the complete Resist Skin Care System, and am very pleased with the results. My pores are noticeably smaller and my skin is clearer. I haven't been using it long enough to have full effect on my few, small discolored spots, but I understand that can take some time. I wanted to address some concerns that have been noted in other reviews. The product does have a smell (from the raw ingredients) but it dissipates quickly and doesn't linger. Personally I don't find it problematic. Others have commented on the product's consistency being too runny or watery and difficult to control the volume when dispensing. To solve this issue I do not remove the foil safety seal, and instead poke a hole in it with a pin. That makes it much easier to control/dispense the amount you want to use. Thanks Paula for a great product!

  8. rowr
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Unfortunately, zero results
    • LOVE love love Paula's choice products. Very disappointed in this one, used for a bit less than a year, then switched to another product, hoping it will work better. If anything, my brown spots just got more pronounced, and I do make sure to wear sunscreen with this. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear results are coming along slowly. You may consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of hydroquinone would work faster for you. In the meantime we will pass along your comments and feedback to Paula. Please contact customer care with any questions and for help with your routine.

  9. ANASTASIYA B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Makes my skin look great!
    • I love waking up in the morning and seeing my skin look healthy and radiant. This product does a great job at reducing pore size and making the skin look youthful. I have only been using it for a week and already see the difference. I need more time to tell the difference in brown spots appearance but I don't have a serious discoloration problem so even a little help is help. I'm going to keep using the product till it's all gone. The two negative qualities: the product is too runny and it's annoying to put it on my fingers before putting it on my face and it smells bad. I know that Paula said that fragrance free products are better for the skin so I'll just suck it up. Another quick point. I have oily skin and use gentle cleanser and still feel skin get tight after using this product. So make sure you use a moisturizer. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. If you have any questions or concerns please contact customer care, we are always happy to help.

  10. JK
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT
    • LOVE paula's products and especially this one. Fades sun spots! I wish there was a larger bottle so I could use it on more of my body!

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    works then stops working
    • After about a week of using the product I did notice my marks to begin diminishing (only slightly). But after about a month of using the gel consistently it just did not improve my skin and my marks began to show again. After using this product for 3 months it is not as good as I hoped it would. Paula's Choice products work better than anything I have tried before but this BHA gel does not do what is advertised. Customer Care Response: Thank you for taking the time to review this product. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce more favorable results for you personally. While our lighteners do work for many consumers, we understand that each person will respond differently to products and ingredients. If you would like to contact customer care to discuss your skin type and how the product was being used, we are happy to assist you. Additionally, remember that we not only offer products, we also offer thousands of product recommendations in case ours don’t meet your needs. These can be viewed on www.Beautypedia.com. If you have any other concerns, please contact customer care, we are happy to help.

  12. Reg
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 04, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did not help with breakouts or marks
    • I have a mark on my back from a sunburn and this product did not help lighten it at all. It is exactly the same. I am truly disappointed. I'm a huge paula's choice products user and have been very happy with her products except this one. It didn't even help prevent back breakouts, I actually got a few more spots once I started using this. Wish it could've worked. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not noticed better results. The amount of time it will take to see improvement really can vary from person to person and ultimately depends on the extent of the condition or concerns they are trying to address. Some consumers will notice results promptly while others will notice results over a period of time such as months. If this mark is a scar then sadly only cosmetic lasers would provide a noticeable improvement but we may certainly help by analyzing how this product was being used as well as evaluating the rest of your routine to achieve the best results. Please contact customer care so that we may help.

  13. Rebecca
    Reviewed on Monday, November 12, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Loyal Paula's Customer!
    • This product is basically unusable. I can live with the smell (oh it's BAD) because it does pass eventually, but it's really runny and makes a mess. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. We have issued you an in-house credit for this product which can be used towards your next Paula's Choice phone order. In the meantime we encourage you to contact customer care so we can discuss your skin type and make other product recommendations.

  14. Erina
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Didn't work out
    • I am new to Paula's Choice and really love, love several of the products I have tried but this one did not work out for me. I've had it for a month now and tried using it on 2 consecutive occasions but within a few days my skin gets dry, flaky and feels irritated. The smell is not so great either. I'm going to keep using the 2% BHA lotion instead and I want to try the RESIST skin brightening treatment to see if that works better. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish this could have produced more favorable results for you. This product does contain an exfoliant, which in some cases when used to often may result in dryness and flaking. We encourage you to contact customer care so we can discuss your skin type, and send out samples for you to try of some other options. We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you further.

  15. Michelle
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I LOve THIS!!!
    • I love this product, it goes on so smooth without flaking.I noticed a difference after one use and a vast improvement in an akward skin condition I developed after a laser treatment. I developed cystic acne on my chin and it's almost completely disapeared. Also, this feels so comfortable on my face I don't need a moisturizer. I wear a PC sun block after applying a small amount and it's a great primer. I love this product and it has evened out my skin tone as well as remove whatever was in my chin.

  16. Gabrielle
    Reviewed on Friday, November 02, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good stuff
    • Been using this for a few weeks to a month. Was hoping for it to fade a few spots because I've seen this recommended for that by a couple different people. I have sun damage on the upper part of my cheeks, obviously where the sun hits. So I use this twice a day, concentrating on one area, and smoothing it down to the rest of my cheeks. I have noticed a slight fade in the brown spots. And over all, my skin looks brighter and more even across the board. So I will continue to use this until I run out. And after that, if my skin loses it's brightness, I will definitely be ordering more. I have young, pale, sensitive skin. I rarely go in the sun. It's more prone to being oily and prone to breaking out than anything else. But this stuff does not cause breakouts for me, so that's a huge reason for me to stick with it. My skin looks and feels great with this stuff, on top of the daily liquid 2% bha. I rarely use my concealer anymore. This stuff smells strong for the first few seconds you apply it, but that's fine with me since it doesn't irritate.Would definitely recommend this stuff.

  17. Judy
    Reviewed on Friday, October 26, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    didn't work for me :(
    • I have been a long-time Paula's Choice user, and most of her products have done an amazing job of keeping my skin looking healthy and young. However, I've used this product faithfully for over a year, and I have not seen any improvement on my age-related discolorations. I wonder if the formulation with the 7% AHA would work better...Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not noticed better results. The amount of time it will take to see improvement really can vary from person to person and ultimately depends on the extent of the condition or concern they are trying to address as well has how they are using the products. Some consumers will notice results promptly while others will notice results over the course of a few weeks or months. You may want to consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of the hydroquinone would offer better results for you. The lightening gel and lotion have the same amount of hydroquinone. We have left an in house credit for the product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  18. Jenny
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT!
    • This is the best of both worlds, IMO. I was using the BHA gel and switched to this, and I am thrilled! Yes, it does come out fast - I just store the tube upside down and manage the amount that way. Yes, whatever product you put on afterwards (in my case, the skin balancing antioxidant serum) balls up. I got around that my mixing my antioxidant serum in with my Resist Skin Brightening Serum in my palm and then applying that to my face. I follow with the Clear Skin Hydrator and have no trouble with balling up of any products applied thereafter. I have worked with several skin regimes over the years (philosophy, SkinCeuticals, Neutrogena, Aveeno, Dermalogica, etc) and have never seen such results - my skin is just divine. Considering the sun damage and acne scars I have, that is really saying something. I FINALLY have 'good skin'!!

  19. Cintia
    Reviewed on Friday, October 19, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great as a BHA but...
    • I've been using this for the past two months. I like the gel consistency and it did help me to control some stubborn blemishesthe BHA 1% wasn't being able to. But as a skin lighting product it did absolutely nothing for me, and I only have a few sun spots on the top of my check bones. :( Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear results are not visible. If after two months you still have not seen a difference and are applying it every day and sunscreen every day and re-applied during the day you may consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of hydroquinone would work faster for you. In the meantime we will leave the purchase price of this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. We will also send our newest RESIST Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment to try to see how it works for you. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help!

  20. Mia
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 14, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    it works..slowly but surely
    • I've used this product for about a year, however I apply it every other night instead of the 2x daily recommended on the packaging, since I rotate it with a nightly PC retinol treatment. I am in my late 20's, and I use this mostly for freckles and a few other subtle skin discolorations. My freckles were caused by copious amounts of sun exposure while growing up, and for most of my life I have never worn sunscreen because I didn't know any better. However, by using this product, my freckles have lightened by about 50%. When I wear makeup, you can hardly even see them anymore. Several moles on my face have lightened as well. You DO have to use a good SPF sunscreen daily to prevent dark spots from returning, which they will do if you are out in the sun all day and not careful. (I now use PC Extra Care Non-greasy SPF 45 and I love it.) The product itself is thin and sticky, so I apply it at night, let it dry, and then I apply another moisturizer over it. The trick to keeping the product from flowing too freely from the tube is to prick the foil seal with a pin, and not remove it from the tube (thanks to other reviewers for this tip!!)

  21. Kristi C.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 12, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Too sticky & messy
    • I was hoping for something that I could wear underneath my makeup to help diminish the darker sun spots and the redness I have in my cheeks. Unfortunately this stuff is way too sticky and messy. If I try to wear it underneath my makeup, it causes my foundation to ball up and rub off my face. I've also tried it at night and sometimes it causes my other products to do the same. Plus, the gel formula is really messy and comes out of the tube much too fast - so you end up getting way more than you need and it leaves gooey stuff around the cap. So far this is the only product I haven't had success with. I wish it came in a lotion formula because I really need the BHA. I'll be trying something else. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with the product. We will certainly note your experience and feedback with Paula. We do suggest trying our new RESIST Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment which is an alternative to our skin lightening gel/lotion. We do see you purchased this recently and hope you like it! In the meantime we have left the purchase price of this product on your account which may be used on a future phone purchase by calling: 1-800-831-4088. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  22. Becky
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    doesn't work for me
    • After 3 months of daily use with this product and consistent sunscreen, unfortunately I've seen no lightening of brown spots. Disappointed. Also feel that the product flows too freely from the tube. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear results are not noticeable. If after two months you still have not seen a difference and are applying it every day and sunscreen every day and re-applied during the day it would be best to consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of hydroquinone would work better for you. In the meantime we will pass along your comments and feedback to Paula about the packaging and leave the purchase price of this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Another option is trying our RESIST Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment which uses a different blend of ingredients to lighten discolorations. It must be used daily as well as sunscreen daily for the best results. We will send samples of it to try. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  23. Regina
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 06, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not Impressed
    • I've used this product morning & night for more than a month & didn't see any improvement. I'm glad it doesn't have fragrance, but it does smell bad. I've seen better results using the 2% BHA exfoliating gel from Paula's Choice. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear results were not apparent. If after two months you still have not seen a difference and are applying it every day and sunscreen every day and re-applied during the day you may consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of hydroquinone would work faster for you. In the meantime we will pass along your comments and feedback to Paula and leave an in house credit for this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  24. vanessa
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 03, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic Product
    • I have used wipes with 4% hydroquinone with great success before but it's hard to get to my Derm for the prescription. This product has worked amazingly for me. I apply it over my whole face, not just the pigmented areas (I have melasma around my chin/mouth). At week 2 my skin was noticeably brighter and at week 4 I can wear no makeup. I had a dark spot on my cheek, sort of a freckle i think and it has faded by about 80%. Even with the shipping costs to Australia, this product is so cost effective compared to what i have been paying. LOVE it!!! I have also used the Paula's Choice retinol serum and another AHA serum from my derm over the top to help with exfoliation. Thanks for making me feel comfortable in my own skin again!

  25. Mary
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Dashed my high hopes
    • I had so much hope for this product. My acne prone, oily skin luckily still isn't showing wrinkles, but I do have some spots and acne scar discolorations. I've tried numerous other products (some VERY expensive, some cheap)and had no luck with them. I was hoping PC's version would at least show SOME lightening. No luck. I tried it twice a day religiously for 3-4 months (and I always use sunscreen daily on my face). No difference whatsoever with this product. After spending a ridiculous amount of money on hydroquinone products, I've come to the conclusion that they unfortunately don't work for me. Hopefully one day I'll find an ingredient that does lighten my spots at least a little.Customer Care Response: Thank you so much for your feedback. You've been using this product a long time so it does seem it isn't working for your concerns. The truth is acne scars are not related to melanin (the skin's pigment) and that is what the active ingredient (hydroquinone) in this particular product acts upon. Acne scars (which are usually red marks) are a result of your skin's healing response to blemishes, and are called post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation. To help with the healing process there are ingredients that help speed the healing of red/brown post acne marks, which we may discuss further. We have applied a credit to your account for the product and would like for you to contact our Customer Care Team so we can review your skin care routine and provide product recommendations for you. If you have any questions please contact us anytime.

« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel is a unique treatment for those struggling with discolorations and breakouts. 2% hydroquinone lightens sun-damaged areas while 2% salicylic acid exfoliates to reduce blemishes. This anti-aging lightener restores an even skin tone by fading skin discolorations caused by the sun or hormones. The silky, breathable gel texture is ideal for normal to oily skin. The formula glides on easily and absorbs without feeling sticky or greasy. Special packaging keeps key sensitive ingredients stable and prevents product discoloration. You'll see improved skin texture and clarity.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.4-3.8.

Who is this product for?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel is formulated for anyone struggling with skin discolorations, uneven skin tone from sun damage, and breakouts. It is best suited for normal to oily or combination skin.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Cutis, April 2008, pages 356–371 and August 2006, pages S6–S19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, pages S272–S281; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, September–October 2005, pages 592–597; Experimental Dermatology, January 2005, pages 34–40; April 2003, Supplemental, pages 57–63; and January 2003, pages S43–S50; Cancer Letters, December 2002, pages 125–135; Journal of Dermatological Science, August, 2001, Supplemental, pages 68–75; Molecular Carcinogenesis, July 2001, pages 152–160; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001, page 429; and Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Cosmetic Dermatology Principles and Practice 2nd Edition, McGraw Hill Medical Publishing, Leslie Baumann MD, 2009, pages 150–151 and page 316.

Key Ingredients: Epilobium angustifolium extract, licorice extract, hydroquinone, superoxide dismutase, aloe juice, salicylic acid, Aloe barbadensis, allantoin, glycerin, anti-irritant, BHA (beta hydroxy acid), dipotassium glycyrrhizate

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Hydroquinone 2% (melanin inhibitor)
Other Ingredients: Water, Ethoxydiglycol (solvent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent/water-binding agent), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate (anti-irritants), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (skin-conditioning agents), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Sodium Metabisulfite, Sodium Sulfite (stabilizers), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Polyquaternium-10 (thickener), Phytic Acid (antioxidant), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily to cleansed, toned skin. Spread a thin layer over areas where discolorations and breakouts are a concern. During the day, follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice sunscreen (essential to prevent discolorations from recurring). At night, follow with Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator and/or Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. Results for discolorations should appear after 8–12 weeks of consistent use.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the difference between the Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel and Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion?

The main differences are texture (gel vs. lotion) and the type of exfoliant included in the formula. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel was designed with normal to oily skin in mind, so it contains salicylic acid (BHA) which is preferred over AHAs for that skin type. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion contains glycolic acid and is ideal for someone with normal to dry skin. Both work to provide smoother, younger-looking skin.

Can I use an AHA or BHA in combination with either one of the skin lighteners?

Using an additional exfoliant may not be necessary with either skin lightening product, because both already contain them. However, if you prefer, you can alternate use of one of our AHA or BHA products with either skin lightener. If you're spot-applying one of our skin lighteners, then you can apply your regular AHA or BHA exfoliant to the rest of your face.

At what point in my routine do I apply the skin-lightening product?

Whether you're using our Resist Triple-Action Lotion or Gel, either product should be applied to dark spots or uneven areas twice daily after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. In the morning, follow with serum and moisturizer with sunscreen. At night, follow with serum and moisturizer.

If you're using a prescription retinoid product at night, apply that first, then follow with the Dark Spot Eraser.

I have heard/read from sources that hydroquinone is carcinogenic (cancer-causing) and the FDA wants to ban it. What does Paula think of that?

Paula has written about this topic on her Web site and in her books, but the summation is that the negative research about hydroquinone and the frightening assertions being levied in the media are not related to how this effective ingredient is used in skincare products sold in the United States. It has been, and still is, the most effective topical agent for fading and/or eliminating sun- or hormone-induced brown skin discolorations and there is copious research to support this conclusion (Sources: Cutis, August 2006, Supplemental pages 6–19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, Supplemental, pages 272–281).

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.