Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Sunshine, something’s come between us. Smooth on this silky lotion that sets to a feather-light, matte finish, then get out in the sun and play. You’re covered.
Item #: 232
  • Broad-spectrum protection ideal for blemish-prone skin
  • Very water resistant; ideal for sports

Expiration Date 2/2016

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

81 out of 100
(Based on 199 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 8 Next »
  1. Delmar R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 08, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Loved it until....
    • This sunscreen caused me to have a reaction on my eyelids. It's fine on the rest of my face and body, and I loved it up until I realized it was the reason my eyelids became dry and itchy with scaly skin, that lasted over a week. Not fun.

  2. HJ
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    the best for me
    • l have tried every sun care lines of PC. And for me, this is the best sun screen! Please never discontinue this product. l love it!

  3. Janis
    Reviewed on Monday, August 05, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great addition to my routine
    • Living in South Florida, I constantly need sunscreen which is a constant struggle when trying to find the right one at a good price. My Lifecell anti-aging treatment doesn't include SPF so I had to find a product that would work well with it, and after some time, I did. This sunscreen not only made the perfect addition to my routine, but it does exactly what it says when it comes to greasiness. No residue, no uncomfortable smell or texture. I really think its worth it, I'm glad I found it.

  4. Janet R.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 29, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good but not great.
    • I use this on my face and i know its protecting it against the sun. The only problem is that I have oily skin and it still feels greasy even though it says that it supposed to provide a mate finished. I was using a neutrogena sun screen but I switched to this one because according to Paula's reviews that one contained irritating ingredients. I missed the non-greasy feeling of neutrogena though.

  5. JUDY F.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Suncare doesn't stain clothing
    • I ordered samples of Extra Care Sunscreen without reading any reviews and I really love it. I though it was for the body, since Paula has skin care products that have SPF. It's lightweight, protects my skin, and doesn't stain clothing or the leather in my auto.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    a lap swimmer's opinion
    • The liquid consistency of this product makes me feel like I'm not even wearing any sunscreen at all! I also love the fact that it doesn't leave a whitish cast like many other sunscreens. (i'm looking at you Solarex MD!) I put this on every morning this summer before I leave the house for my 10:30-11:45 swim class. I'm not sure how water resistant or effective it is, but I haven't noticed any major burns, yet so that's a good sign. I'm considering using this year round instead of a moisturizer.

  7. AMY
    Reviewed on Friday, July 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    my favorite sunscreen
    • This is the perfect sunscreen. Easy to put on and works great. With two little boys in Texas I am always putting sunscreen on them and this is the easiest to apply with minimal odor and it is NOT greasy. I don't use it on my face though, because I have sensitive skin and it tends to sting. I use a different paula product for my face. Thank you for a great product!

  8. Tasha P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    STINGS FACE AND EYES :'(
    • I need a water resistant SPF 50 or 30 for days at the beach but the chemical ingredients in this sunscreen stings my face and eyes. I really appreciate how Paula puts only the best ingredients in her products. I found exactly what I've been looking for in a sunscreen on Beautypedia's best rated products. It's Topix's Replenix Physical Sunscreen SPF 50 but it costs $38 for 4 oz! PAULA PLEASE make an affordable spray on sunscreen like this with a high % of zinc oxide as the only active ingredient!

  9. Pauline S.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm a big fan
    • I'm a big fan of this sunscreen! It's a super-light lotion that seems to disappear seconds after I apply it. I used to avoid sunscreen (before I read Paula's teachings!) because the last thing you want on a hot humid day is a thick layer of lotion - THIS one, however, is perfect for summer. Cons: slightly shiny when used on the face (which I don't mind, personally), and the plastic cap is not very durable, I dropped it once and it broke (luckily I bought two, so I was able to just swap caps).

  10. Amy H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Sensitive Skin: Beware
    • I was excited to try this product, as it's supposed to be good for blemish-prone skin and not tested on animals. I've always struggled to find sunscreen that doesn't leave my oily skin looking shiny and greasy. It was a nice texture. Unfortunately, it caused an unpleasant stinging on my skin when I applied it. I know my skin can be sensitive, so I'll have to keep looking for other options.

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing sunscreen
    • This is a great, non-greasy sunscreen that even my fiancé doesn't mind wearing. I love how quickly it absorbs and how weightless the finish is. The fact that it is water-resistant will make it perfect for my upcoming vacation.

  12. Monica S.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for the whole family! Especially kid!
    • I returned ALL the sunscreen we had purchased for the season from a very big box store (8 bottles). My daughter has NF1 and NEEDS serious sunscreen. I love that it's sweat and water proof for a LONG time. I buy the full bottles and the samples for when she goes to a friend's or camping. I love it too and truth be told, I have hated sunscreen and never wore it before (generation of let's put baby oil on and see how much we can fry!). I wear it now too! Yay. Now skin recovery...

  13. AMY D.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this sunscreen!
    • This works so well for me both on face and body. No heavy sunscreen feeling. The only improvement would be is to house it in a pump applicator as while most sunscreens are rather thick, this is more on the liquid side and application would be easier.

  14. Dora
    Reviewed on Monday, June 24, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    I wish that this worked for me.
    • I love the matte finish, it's weightless feel and the fact that it's a high SPF, but it broke me out like crazy on my face and chest. I've passed it on to my sun sensitive father who loves it and he's having no issues. In fact, I just bought 2 more tubes for him.

  15. LIV K.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    No sting!
    • This is by far THE BEST water and sweat-resistant sunscreen! It goes on easily w/o the usual slight burning I get when I first put on a chemically-based sun block. It lasts through 60+ minutes of heavy perspiration while exercising. It didn't feel tacky, but rather, my skin felt like it was actually being nourished! The biggest draw is that it doesn't sting or burn if it gets into my eyes!! I use it on my toddler w/o any worries that it is going to irritate her skin. Outstanding!

  16. DIANA V.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Sunscreen I Have Used
    • I tried this as a sample and I quickly ordered two bottles. Absolutely the best i have tried. Does not leave you greasy or chalky white like every other brand does. EXCELLENT

  17. Sarah B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best sunscreen for my face.
    • This is what I use every morning on my face. The moisture creems with sunsceen I've tried (moisture boost and skin balancing) don't fit my sensitive skin, but applied before a nice moisturiser (I use moisture boost night creem), this SPF 50 sunscreen is perfect. It's lightweight, goes on easy and leave no shine or tacky feeling. Also really nice under my makeup. Love it!!

  18. Ashley M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!!!
    • This is the only sunscreen I use, as it's lightweight enough to layer under my makeup and doesn't make me super shiny. I also love that it doesn't clog the pores on my upper back - I ran into this issue a lot with Neutrogena and other sunscreen. Well done PC!

  19. Carole N.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good but not Great
    • I was really excited about this sunscreen so I purchased it to try before I go to Belize. My fiance and I went to the beach this past weekend; he was using a different brand of SPF 50 sunscreen. We applied and re-applied 3 times in a 2.5 hour span and both got really (read: lobster) burned. I wish I could say that this sunscreen is better than all of the others out there, but it is just the same and comes in a smaller bottle. Thin, a little bit of fragrance and leaves skin shiny and sunburned.

  20. ELIZABETH F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    No rash, even for my sensitive skin!
    • Fantastic sunscreen, and no rash or redness even on my sensitive skin that typically breaks out from avobenzone, and doesn't like mineral sunscreens. I wore it on a 10 mile hike in 90 degrees, reapplying midway, and I got no color whatsoever! It also reapplied very nicely due to the slightly runny consistency, and the sheen does not bother me. If you really think it is shiny, I found a little face powder over it takes the shine away. My husband also really likes so I am buying more!

  21. Mexico City
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 25, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Un-a-peeling
    • Purchased SPF 45 edition as step 5 in regimen for combination skin in a sunny, mountain clime--Mexico City. Container. It did not stand up. Well, it does stand up on its cap in the medicine cabinet but when jostled the lotion drips out of the container. The cap latch gave out well before the contents. Contents. Undesirable. I felt stinging when used under some makeup. After purchase, I learned to look for a titanium-dioxide or zinc-oxide formula, or both.

  22. DLHC
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    So disappointed....
    • I'm so disappointed in this sunscreen. I bought it based on the glowing reviews and it did nothing but make my oily skin even more oily. I've had to use blotting papers like crazy since I started using this sunscreen. I finally gave up and went back to my old standby - Neutrogena Age Shield Face.

  23. Mira
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Great Product
    • I really like this sunscreen. It doesn't cause breakouts like everything else that I have tried. And so I don't want to give it up!

  24. J S C
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great Sunscreen
    • This is a fantastic, non irritating SPF. It does not burn when applied and has a very thin liquid texture. It does set to a mostly matte finish, however some shine is still noticeable, more so than when I am wearing my Ultra-Sheer Skin Balancing SPF 30. I use this when I will be spending all day outside gardening or swimming. It does have a sunscreen scent, but I find that it quickly disappears. I also love the fact that this SPF has the added benefit of antioxidants. Thanks Paula!

  25. STEPHANIE V.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I can see!!
    • I sweat buckets. And a majority of the "sports type" sunblocks just don't survive me. And worse, they STING! I got a sample of the Extra Care SPR 50+ with my recent order and decided to give it a go. Simply outstanding. It didn't feel greasy going on, absorbed quickly, and best of all my eyes weren't hurting like with other products I've tried. I'm hooked.

« Prev Page of 8 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 offers reliable broad-spectrum sun protection without feeling thick or oily. In fact, you may be surprised by it silky texture and smooth matte finish that's so unlike many high-SPF sunscreens. This antioxidant-rich sunscreen is suitable for the face and body; it may be worn under makeup. Its very water-resistant formula is ideal for outdoor activities.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 is recommended for normal to oily/combination skin. It is also suitable for blemish-prone skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Future Oncology, December 2008, pages 841–856; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; Journal of Pathology, January 2007, 241–251; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Experimental Dermatology, September 2005, pages 684-691; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, June 2005, pages 937–958; Photodermatology, Photoimmunology, and Photomedicine, August 2004, pages 200–204; Cutis, September 2003, pages 11–15; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, January 2002, pages 117–125; and Clinical Experimental Dermatology, October 2001, pages 573–577.

Key Ingredients: vitamin C, vitamin A, silica, bentonite, Aloe barbadensis, vitamin E, avobenzone

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Homosalate 10%, Oxybenzone 6%, Octisalate 5%, Avobenzone 3%, Octocrylene 2% (all FDA-approved sunscreen ingredients). Other Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol (slip agent), PEG-8, Polyethylene (thickeners), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Silica (dry finish slip agent), Picea Excelsa (Spruce) Wood Extract (anti-inflammatory agent), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin-based antioxidants),Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidants), Titanium Dioxide (thickener/opacifying agent), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Bentonite (absorbent), Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (emulsifier), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming/waterproofing agents), Kaolin (thickener/absorbent), Ethylhexylglycerin (water-binding agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally prior to sun or daylight and as needed after swimming and/or perspiring. Can be used over any Paula's Choice skincare product.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Is Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 suitable for blemish-prone skin?

Although it is impossible to state with certainty that someone will not break out from a sunscreen, the texture and finish of Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 is very unlikely to cause such problems. Oftentimes what causes breakouts from sunscreens are either the active ingredients or the ingredients used create the product's texture. Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 contains lightweight ingredients and its active ingredients are less likely to trigger or exacerbate blemishes.

I thought Paula said sunscreens rated above SPF 30 weren't needed—SPF 30 is enough, right?

For the most part, SPF 30 is sufficient. But there are two reasons why you may want to consider a higher SPF. Many dermatologists feel that a higher SPF is necessary because most people don't apply sunscreen liberally, and when there is a higher concentration of sunscreen active ingredients (as would be the case in a sunscreen with a higher SPF number) you would be getting better protection even if you didn't apply it liberally. The other reason to consider a higher SPF is if you want to stay in the sun for even longer periods of time and have very fair to light skin color.

Although Paula has spoken out against the fact that other companies offer sunscreens with oftentimes ridiculously high SPF ratings (such as SPF 70 or 100), the issue has always been that such products tend to give consumers a false sense of security. They erroneously believe that a higher SPF only needs to be applied once as they spend the day in the sun. That is not the case for any sunscreen number. A sunscreen rated SPF 30 or above provides longer but not better protection. That means you can stay in the sun longer before your skin shows signs of turning color, but does not negate the need to reapply every two hours after periods of swimming, perspiring, or toweling off. We suggest our Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 for those who will be spending several hours outdoors and/or engaging in water-based activities. Liberal application and routine re-application is necessary in order to maintain the high level of sun protection.

How come this sunscreen's SPF rating changed from SPF 45 to SPF 50? Did the formula change, too?

Rest assured, the formula for Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen remains the same. Its SPF rating was revealed to be higher than before due to more refined SPF testing. This recent SPF testing was done to comply with new FDA regulations on sunscreen products. We're thrilled that this sunscreen not only passed the rigorous testing but emerged with an even higher SPF rating.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.