Extra Care Non-Greasy SPF 50

Items you may also like

Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Sunshine, something’s come between us. Smooth on this silky lotion that sets to a feather-light, matte finish, then get out in the sun and play. You’re covered.
Item #: 232
  • Broad-spectrum protection ideal for blemish-prone skin
  • Very water resistant; ideal for sports

Expiration Date 2/2016

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 184 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 8 Next »
  1. DIANA V.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Sunscreen I Have Used
    • I tried this as a sample and I quickly ordered two bottles. Absolutely the best i have tried. Does not leave you greasy or chalky white like every other brand does. EXCELLENT

  2. Sarah B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best sunscreen for my face.
    • This is what I use every morning on my face. The moisture creems with sunsceen I've tried (moisture boost and skin balancing) don't fit my sensitive skin, but applied before a nice moisturiser (I use moisture boost night creem), this SPF 50 sunscreen is perfect. It's lightweight, goes on easy and leave no shine or tacky feeling. Also really nice under my makeup. Love it!!

  3. Ashley M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!!!
    • This is the only sunscreen I use, as it's lightweight enough to layer under my makeup and doesn't make me super shiny. I also love that it doesn't clog the pores on my upper back - I ran into this issue a lot with Neutrogena and other sunscreen. Well done PC!

  4. Carole N.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good but not Great
    • I was really excited about this sunscreen so I purchased it to try before I go to Belize. My fiance and I went to the beach this past weekend; he was using a different brand of SPF 50 sunscreen. We applied and re-applied 3 times in a 2.5 hour span and both got really (read: lobster) burned. I wish I could say that this sunscreen is better than all of the others out there, but it is just the same and comes in a smaller bottle. Thin, a little bit of fragrance and leaves skin shiny and sunburned.

  5. ELIZABETH F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    No rash, even for my sensitive skin!
    • Fantastic sunscreen, and no rash or redness even on my sensitive skin that typically breaks out from avobenzone, and doesn't like mineral sunscreens. I wore it on a 10 mile hike in 90 degrees, reapplying midway, and I got no color whatsoever! It also reapplied very nicely due to the slightly runny consistency, and the sheen does not bother me. If you really think it is shiny, I found a little face powder over it takes the shine away. My husband also really likes so I am buying more!

  6. Mexico City
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 25, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Un-a-peeling
    • Purchased SPF 45 edition as step 5 in regimen for combination skin in a sunny, mountain clime--Mexico City. Container. It did not stand up. Well, it does stand up on its cap in the medicine cabinet but when jostled the lotion drips out of the container. The cap latch gave out well before the contents. Contents. Undesirable. I felt stinging when used under some makeup. After purchase, I learned to look for a titanium-dioxide or zinc-oxide formula, or both.

  7. DLHC
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    So disappointed....
    • I'm so disappointed in this sunscreen. I bought it based on the glowing reviews and it did nothing but make my oily skin even more oily. I've had to use blotting papers like crazy since I started using this sunscreen. I finally gave up and went back to my old standby - Neutrogena Age Shield Face.

  8. Mira
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Great Product
    • I really like this sunscreen. It doesn't cause breakouts like everything else that I have tried. And so I don't want to give it up!

  9. J S C
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great Sunscreen
    • This is a fantastic, non irritating SPF. It does not burn when applied and has a very thin liquid texture. It does set to a mostly matte finish, however some shine is still noticeable, more so than when I am wearing my Ultra-Sheer Skin Balancing SPF 30. I use this when I will be spending all day outside gardening or swimming. It does have a sunscreen scent, but I find that it quickly disappears. I also love the fact that this SPF has the added benefit of antioxidants. Thanks Paula!

  10. STEPHANIE V.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I can see!!
    • I sweat buckets. And a majority of the "sports type" sunblocks just don't survive me. And worse, they STING! I got a sample of the Extra Care SPR 50+ with my recent order and decided to give it a go. Simply outstanding. It didn't feel greasy going on, absorbed quickly, and best of all my eyes weren't hurting like with other products I've tried. I'm hooked.

  11. CHERYL B.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 03, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Not quite perfect
    • I'm so disappointed that the Ultra-Light Weightless Finish SPF 30 was discontinued. It set to a truly dry feel--no smell, no shine, no tacky or greasy feel. I didn't care about the fact it was a spray; I just want a non-greasy, dry feeling sunscreen. Hoped this would be a good replacement. It's okay, but my arms had a slightly shiny, slightly tacky feel all day. I tried it via samples, but won't be buying. I gave it 4 stars as it's better than most, and would be fine for the beach or gardening.

  12. Jan J
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Garden Girl
    • First of all I have used this for a few years. Great product. My dermatologist said, "this is very good sunscreen." I golf and garden and never have a sunburn. I have combination skin. I apply makeup over the sunscreen.

  13. Diana m.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 01, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    First the SPF 30 spray now the SPF 45
    • First the SPF 30 spray is gone now the SPF 45 has been changed. The SPF 50 gave myself and my sister a very bad rash. Will return all 4 we bought. These very fair sensitive customers of 16 years will now have to find new SPF products. Huge inconvenience.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, April 05, 2013
    Thank you for your review. We're sorry if things got confused with the Extra Care SPF 45, but this was actually just a packaging change. In our recent testing for the new FDA guidelines, we found that this formula provided a higher SPF (thus, the packaging change reflects this new number). The ingredients haven't been changed at all, but it is true that for some, sensitivity can arise when using higher SPF formulas (or triggered by other environmental factors). Please contact our Customer Care, they would be happy to help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  14. Shanna
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great Light Weight Sunscreen
    • I've used this sunscreen for years and love it. It's lightweight, not heavy like a lot of sunscreens can be that have broad spectrum protection. I never have any burning. I've never noticed a scent and it does feel weightless on my face. I absolutely love it!!

  15. JAE YOON l.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    STILL TO SHINY!!!!
    • I had tried this hoping my search for the perfect high spf matte sunscreen was over...well im still searching. This left my face shiny and felt thick. over the day the shine just got worst. Its sad because i love ALMOST everything from pc but this one is not a winner! ***but the one that is spf 15 is a overall winner it has great shine-control, lightweight and easy to work with. The only downside is the spf is to low for me =( Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we encourage you to check out our review website at www.Beautypedia.com. You can search by product type or by brand name as well. If you have any further questions or concerns please contact customer care, we are always happy to help.

  16. Sunscreen Fan
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 20, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not My Favorite
    • I only bought this sunscreen because my favorite sunscreen, the Paula's Choice SPF 30 spray was discontinued. I dislike wearing this sunscreen for everyday use as I can feel the product on my body. This is uncomfortable when wearing jeans, stockings or trousers. The other sunscreen in the PC lineup for oily skin is better, but it is an incredibly small tube for the price. I am disappointed. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we encourage you to contact customer care to discuss your skin type and routine. We are happy to make other product suggestions and arrange for samples to be sent out!

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, December 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    More matte than others
    • I like this sunscreen for my oily skin. This one is more matte than the other one that is part of the oily skin treatment line. That one goes on too greasy for me, but this one works great.

  18. Krista
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good Stuff!
    • As a rosacea sufferer I'm limited in the sunscreens I can use. The only thing that was reliably non irritating were physical barrier sunscreens (Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide). I've always used this on my body, but had never tried it on my face until I forgot to bring my face sunscreen (RESIST Cellular Defense)when heading out for a hike. I figured a red, irritated face was better than a sunburn! Surprisingly, I had no irritation whatsoever. Of course I did experience the short period of tingling/burning ALL chemical sunscreens have when you first put them on, but zero irritation. And I love that it's highly water resistant. I felt like I was getting better protection and reapplying much less. I still use Resist Cellular Defense for basic everyday wear, but if I'm planning on being outdoors and active I use this.

  19. Stacey
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • I have a sun allergy & hated all the greasy sunscreens on the market. Decided to try this & love love it! Bought the spray as well and these products have answered my prayers. Use it on my kids as well. It literally soaks in.

  20. Jane
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 27, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    sunscreen stains my clothes
    • I have been very happy with the other products I have used but this sunscreen stains my clothes horribly. Not only that, the sunscreen smell was way too strong to wear on face. I have bought other unscented sunscreens that did not stain or stink so strongly.Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. Truthfully, the synthetic sunscreen actives used in this sunscreen, and in any sunscreen containing avobenzone can cause some degree of staining to white or lighter colored clothes. This is generally caused by the iron content of the water used when cleansing clothing. When washed, the iron has a reaction with the avobenzone and can turn yellow to orangish in color. We are sorry to hear the smell of this product is not to your liking. Because we don't use fragrances in any of our products, any smell is from one or a combination of raw ingredients used to make the products formula. We understand that for some the smell may be more noticeable than to others, and can also vary from batch to batch. We ask that you contact Customer Care to discuss your skin type and concerns, and we are happy to offer alternative options. Your account has been credited for this item, and is available to use by calling Customer Care at 1-800-831-4088.

  21. Hema
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Stings and causes breakouts
    • I really wanted this sunscreen to work as I am looking for higher SPF. I thought this would be just perfect. But unfortunately, no, it gave me breakouts and stings badly when I apply. Please help!Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product which may be used on a future phone order. Another option is the RESIST Ultimate Anti-Aging Hand Cream SPF 30+ which may be used on the face and is a mineral sunscreen so it is very soothing and anti-inflammatory and many customer have found it works very well for facial use. We will send you samples of it to try. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  22. Trish
    Reviewed on Friday, September 28, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic sunscreen
    • I love this stuff! I've gotten other family members and friends hooked on the stuff, too.I can't stand the greasy, heavy feel of most sunscreen lotions, and the sprays I've tried leave a stiff film on my skin. This sunscreen soaks in quickly and lightly moisturizers my skin. And I've never gotten sunburned while using it. This is literally the perfect sunscreen, and I've tried everything from cheap drugstore brands to Shiseido and Clarins. I'll never use anything else!

  23. Andrea
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Hands down, the best sunscreen I've ever used
    • I've always used oil-free sunscreens on my face, but still always had some minor breakouts during the summer. Not this year! For the first time ever, my skin was completely clear even though I used this product almost every day. It goes on easy and disappears, left no shine or tacky feeling - I just put it on and forgot about it. Absolutely fabulous!

  24. Pamela
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent!
    • I have a hard time finding sunscreens that don't leave a tacky film on my face, that don't leave my face all shiny, and that I can use under makeup without feeling like a greaseball. This sunscreen meets ALL my criteria and as a bonus it has more sun protection than I usually purchase. I'm delighted with the lightweight texture of the Extra Care 45 and with the way it sinks into your skin and dries to a nice finish. It isn't completely matte, but it's pretty darn close--close enough that my matte foundation applied over it does the rest. I also use this when I'm outdoors exercising and it holds up well and doesn't sting my eyes. Great product Paula! Thank you!!

  25. adibah
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 13, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    disappointed
    • I have oily skin and this broke me out :( Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce favorable results for you. This is designed for oily/combination skin types. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. We would like to know more about what other products you are using to better assist you. Please contact customer care via live chat, email, or over the phone so that we may make some suggestions and offer you a credit for the product.

« Prev Page of 8 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 offers reliable broad-spectrum sun protection without feeling thick or oily. In fact, you may be surprised by it silky texture and smooth matte finish that's so unlike many high-SPF sunscreens. This antioxidant-rich sunscreen is suitable for the face and body; it may be worn under makeup. Its very water-resistant formula is ideal for outdoor activities.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 is recommended for normal to oily/combination skin. It is also suitable for blemish-prone skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Future Oncology, December 2008, pages 841–856; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; Journal of Pathology, January 2007, 241–251; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Experimental Dermatology, September 2005, pages 684-691; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, June 2005, pages 937–958; Photodermatology, Photoimmunology, and Photomedicine, August 2004, pages 200–204; Cutis, September 2003, pages 11–15; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, January 2002, pages 117–125; and Clinical Experimental Dermatology, October 2001, pages 573–577.

Key Ingredients: vitamin C, vitamin A, silica, bentonite, Aloe barbadensis, vitamin E, avobenzone

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Homosalate 10%, Oxybenzone 6%, Octisalate 5%, Avobenzone 3%, Octocrylene 2% (all FDA-approved sunscreen ingredients). Other Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol (slip agent), PEG-8, Polyethylene (thickeners), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Silica (dry finish slip agent), Picea Excelsa (Spruce) Wood Extract (anti-inflammatory agent), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin-based antioxidants),Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidants), Titanium Dioxide (thickener/opacifying agent), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Bentonite (absorbent), Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (emulsifier), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming/waterproofing agents), Kaolin (thickener/absorbent), Ethylhexylglycerin (water-binding agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally prior to sun or daylight and as needed after swimming and/or perspiring. Can be used over any Paula's Choice skincare product.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Is Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 suitable for blemish-prone skin?

Although it is impossible to state with certainty that someone will not break out from a sunscreen, the texture and finish of Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 is very unlikely to cause such problems. Oftentimes what causes breakouts from sunscreens are either the active ingredients or the ingredients used create the product's texture. Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 contains lightweight ingredients and its active ingredients are less likely to trigger or exacerbate blemishes.

I thought Paula said sunscreens rated above SPF 30 weren't needed—SPF 30 is enough, right?

For the most part, SPF 30 is sufficient. But there are two reasons why you may want to consider a higher SPF. Many dermatologists feel that a higher SPF is necessary because most people don't apply sunscreen liberally, and when there is a higher concentration of sunscreen active ingredients (as would be the case in a sunscreen with a higher SPF number) you would be getting better protection even if you didn't apply it liberally. The other reason to consider a higher SPF is if you want to stay in the sun for even longer periods of time and have very fair to light skin color.

Although Paula has spoken out against the fact that other companies offer sunscreens with oftentimes ridiculously high SPF ratings (such as SPF 70 or 100), the issue has always been that such products tend to give consumers a false sense of security. They erroneously believe that a higher SPF only needs to be applied once as they spend the day in the sun. That is not the case for any sunscreen number. A sunscreen rated SPF 30 or above provides longer but not better protection. That means you can stay in the sun longer before your skin shows signs of turning color, but does not negate the need to reapply every two hours after periods of swimming, perspiring, or toweling off. We suggest our Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 for those who will be spending several hours outdoors and/or engaging in water-based activities. Liberal application and routine re-application is necessary in order to maintain the high level of sun protection.

How come this sunscreen's SPF rating changed from SPF 45 to SPF 50? Did the formula change, too?

Rest assured, the formula for Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen remains the same. Its SPF rating was revealed to be higher than before due to more refined SPF testing. This recent SPF testing was done to comply with new FDA regulations on sunscreen products. We're thrilled that this sunscreen not only passed the rigorous testing but emerged with an even higher SPF rating.

PCWEB-WWW4 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.