Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Sunshine, something’s come between us. Smooth on this silky lotion that sets to a feather-light, matte finish, then get out in the sun and play. You’re covered.
Item #: 232
  • Broad-spectrum protection ideal for blemish-prone skin
  • Very water resistant; ideal for sports

Expiration Date 2/2016

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 204 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. Heidi M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic!
    • This is a fantastic product. I put it on every morning right before dressing. I have also shared some samples with friends. I love that it is not greasy and so I am confident that it is not ruining my clothing. I am such a believer in Paula's Choice Products. I have not regretted any purchase that I have made. Thank you Paula!

  2. yazmin k
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    best sunscreen for breakout prone skin.
    • I have already written a review in the uk website, but thought I would share my thoughts on the us website, this is a excellent moisturiser that provides excellent sun protection and sets off to a semi matte finish, I have extremely clog prone skin so I have to be extra careful in what I put on my face, but this does not cause me to breakout! it doesent set to a super matte finish but it is not in any way greasy! A must have for combination to oily skin prone to acne.

  3. Kate
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great sunscreen - Nice matte finish
    • I am very pleased with this product, as it does not seem to be overly oily and it doesn't cause me to break out. Other sunscreens always caused breakouts when I applied them to my face. I am relieved knowing that I am being protected from the sun and I don't have to worry about breakouts!

  4. Janice
    Reviewed on Monday, June 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great sunscreen!
    • I tried a few samples of this, then ordered a full-size. I'm surprised at how much I like this, as I have really dry skin! This is really nice! No fragrance, spreads so easily, isn't too greasy that I have to worry about it staining my clothes. Now that it is summer, I must apply sunblock to the exposed areas of my body before I go out. This works extremely well for me. I use a heavier sunblock for my face. I will definately repurchase this. Love that it's SPF #50

  5. bimbola p.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My all time favorite
    • I'm African with very oily acne prone skin with adult acne. I've tried loads of sunscreen since starting retin a, ahas, chemical peels for the acne and acne spots. The zinc sunscreens all give me a white cast and the chemical ones leave me oily even the 'oil free' types till I found this. I love this. It's very light, in fact runny, spreads easy, dries fast and I love that it's spf 50. My 4yr old and I both use it. This is my best non zinc sunscreen and will be re ordering.

  6. Anna Z.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Safe for daily use on acne-prone skin
    • Best sunblock in the history of sunblock. I've been using this daily on my face and body for the past few weeks. Based on my non-existent tan, I'd say this stuff is pretty amazing. The formula is thin and easy to apply evenly. It goes on white, fades to invisible after a couple minutes and dries to a dewy satin finish. Even after a few re-applications, a lot of sweat, and 3+ hours in the sun, it doesn't gum up or become patchy. It also works well under makeup. Love.

  7. Vanessa P.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Skin wasn't a fan of this sunscreen
    • cons : I have sensitive combination skin on my face and normal skin for my body (but I have never had a sun burn with or with out sunscreen). I usually use the Coppertone brand sunscreen and ocean potion sunscreen (for my face ears and lips) and have never had problems with them. When I used ungreasy Spf 50 + sunscreen my oily parts of my face (t zone) turned red and I began to breakout and while on my arms my skin turned red in some area (which was itchy). pros: easily absorbed and not greasy

  8. CARRIE C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Our go-to, everyday sunscreen.
    • My whole family uses this! My husband and I both use it on our face and arms, and so do my kids (twins, age 4). They just learned how to apply it by themselves (and Mom is SO happy!) I agree -- a larger bottle, please!!

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, April 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Sunscreen and Moisturizer!
    • I was looking for a light weight sunscreen for my face, that was also good for my skin, this is it! Plus, there is a lot of product so it is a GREAT buy! I suffer from adult acne and sun spots...so far, no problems!

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    BIGGER SIZE PLEASE!
    • I have never wrote a review for any product before but I just had to say how much I love this product. It's everything you want in a sunscreen, great protection, lightweight, and non-greasy. The only problem I have is that I only get 5 fl. oz. Because it's for face & BODY and I share with my husband, it's not going to last me very long. Please Paula, please make a bigger size!

  11. Virginia S.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for face
    • I originally bought this for an upcoming trip to Florida, but I started using it on my face in the daytime over my Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel when my PC RESIST SPF ran out, and I really love it! I wasn't sure about putting this on my face because I have combination skin and thought it might make me break out, but it hasn't at all--sets to an amazing matte finish, and a little goes a long way on the face.

  12. natalia c.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I usually don't have time to write reviews, but this product really made me take the time and write one. This is the most amazing thing I've ever tried, for the past 2yrs I've been doing my research and trying all kind of things, and finally I found what I was looking for! My sking absolutely loves it! In general all PC products are amazing, everything I buy here is good quality product and leaves me very satisfied! Thank you Paula's Choice for making "us" ladies beautiful!

  13. Maureen B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I love this product
    • I have used sunscreen on my face for about 20 years, I love how Paula's suncare goes on and feels. Great stuff, Thanks

  14. Alex E
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    EXTREMELY LIGHT WEIGHT
    • Super duper light weight you can not feel this sunscreen and i definitely put a good coat on. I generally use this for the neck and chest area daily and wow its as if i didnt put anything on. seriously its fab no white cast at all due to this being a chem sunscreen. i wouldnt be apposed to put it on my face but currently im using the olay spf 50 and really liking that as well thanks to paulas review

  15. BRIANNA V.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Saved my skin!
    • Wow, PC, you made my trip to the Caribbean so easy! The sun, wind and water down there are really, really powerful, but I was well protected through all sorts of snorkeling, swimming and hiking adventures. Extra Care SPF 50 is phenomenally water-resistant! I backed it up with Clinical Redness Relief for a toner, Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate and C15, and came home with radiant, clear skin (love the humidity there) and not a hint of sunburn. I have a new-found love for this sunscreen!

  16. Ann
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product
    • Have used this forever, when I ran out I decided to try the other moisterizers for oily skin and they didnt work well at all. My face started flaking and I even noticed slight brown spots on my forehead. This product is awesome and it makes my skin feel silky but not greasy. I have oily combo skin that is sensitive, so its nice to find something that works well. I use under base and touch up with mineral powders that have spf as recommended.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, December 16, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Pros and Cons
    • Sadly this stung my face and made it red. Pros: It has a nice finish (not too dry/not oily/shiny), it does not have any tint, it is transparent, and it did not get in my eyes when I sweated it up in this lotion. Cons: it stung my face. So my search for a sport water resistant sunblock without tint continues. The tinted ones always feel and look like full on foundation to me and they get all over my clothing and sweat blotting towel. Not fun for workouts.

  18. Diana .
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Only Sunscreen Product We use
    • This is the only sunscreen product that both myself and my identical twin sister use. We use it year round as we are both very fair and have combo oily sensitve skin. We not only use it on our faces but our other exposed areas as well. We use it both with and without makeup and that works great too. A moisturizer with sunscreen is simply not enough for us and hope that you will continue to make this product as their is nothing else out there for us to use to properly protect our skin.

  19. Jen C.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Without peer...
    • I hope you make this forever. Its extreme water-resistance makes it ideal for those of us in hot climates. Thanks!!

  20. SHARON S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50
    • I love this stuff. I ran out while the sunscreen was on backorder and purchased some drugstore sunscreen and hated it. This sunscreen is lightweight but absorbs extremely well. The drugstore stuff sat on my skin, was shinny and smelled horrible. I need a high SPF and have found this product good value and it feels great on your skin. Does stain white T shirts over time but I think they all do.

  21. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best daily sunscreen.
    • I don't tan, I burn. And with an autoimmune disorder, I already have patches of skin with no melanin for protection and Sun exposure makes them worse, permanently. Most sunscreens feel too heavy and thick for daily use & don't moisturize but this is perfect layered over one of Paula's body treatments and doesn't smell like a day at the beach. Please get back in stock. I've been living off samples!

  22. Vanessa K
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 01, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not effective
    • This is the first PC product that did not work at all for me. I've tried it several times, in and out of water, hoping I just wasn't applying enough. Every time, I tanned, which I assume means I got sun-damage. Not only did I tan, but it was splotchy and uneven. Oddly enough, I've worn this while wearing the hydralight (mineral) sunscreen on my face, and my face did not tan at all. I would return this product if the return process were easier, but instead I think I'll just get rid of it.

  23. LAURA P.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 30, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not great for my needs
    • I wish this would work for me, because I use as many Paula's Choice products as possible. Unfortunately however this sunscreen leaves my fair, sensitive and somewhat oily skin with quite a greasy/shiny finish. Please Paula's Choice, I would love it if you would make a simple mineral sunscreen for those of us who need it and need a matte finish as well! Thank you

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, September 26, 2013
    Hi there! Thank you for your review! We're sorry the Extra Care SPF 50+ didn't work out, and would suggest you consider our two mineral formulas for oily to combination skin in the Hydralight SPF 30 or RESIST Super-Light SPF 30. Be sure to contact our Customer Care for help with a refund or exchange.
    —Admin
  24. MONICA J.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Beach Bunny Approved!
    • LOVE this product. It's not shiny, it's not oily, and it will protect you from burning. I've spent so many days at the beach here in San Diego and do get some color, but never a burn. I apply it every day to my chest and arms like a moisturizer. Product feels nice on my skin and I'm a huge fan. If you're wondering-I highly recommend!

  25. Dasom L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good for Normal/Dry Skin too
    • This stung a little when I first applied but I loved it because it blended in wonderfully and was practically invisible when on. I've tried a lot of sunscreens and even the chemical ones show white streaks or unsightly white patches sometimes. The fact that this applied without those was a huge plus in its favor. It worked surprisingly well for my normal/dry skin though it was a little greasy during the first hour (which makes me wonder if this is really the best choice for oily skinned people)

« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 offers reliable broad-spectrum sun protection without feeling thick or oily. In fact, you may be surprised by it silky texture and smooth matte finish that's so unlike many high-SPF sunscreens. This antioxidant-rich sunscreen is suitable for the face and body; it may be worn under makeup. Its very water-resistant formula is ideal for outdoor activities.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 is recommended for normal to oily/combination skin. It is also suitable for blemish-prone skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50

Future Oncology, December 2008, pages 841–856; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; Journal of Pathology, January 2007, 241–251; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Experimental Dermatology, September 2005, pages 684-691; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, June 2005, pages 937–958; Photodermatology, Photoimmunology, and Photomedicine, August 2004, pages 200–204; Cutis, September 2003, pages 11–15; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, January 2002, pages 117–125; and Clinical Experimental Dermatology, October 2001, pages 573–577.

Key Ingredients: vitamin C, vitamin A, silica, bentonite, Aloe barbadensis, vitamin E, avobenzone

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Homosalate 10%, Oxybenzone 6%, Octisalate 5%, Avobenzone 3%, Octocrylene 2% (all FDA-approved sunscreen ingredients). Other Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol (slip agent), PEG-8, Polyethylene (thickeners), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Silica (dry finish slip agent), Picea Excelsa (Spruce) Wood Extract (anti-inflammatory agent), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin-based antioxidants),Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidants), Titanium Dioxide (thickener/opacifying agent), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Bentonite (absorbent), Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (emulsifier), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming/waterproofing agents), Kaolin (thickener/absorbent), Ethylhexylglycerin (water-binding agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally prior to sun or daylight and as needed after swimming and/or perspiring. Can be used over any Paula's Choice skincare product.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Is Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 suitable for blemish-prone skin?

Although it is impossible to state with certainty that someone will not break out from a sunscreen, the texture and finish of Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 is very unlikely to cause such problems. Oftentimes what causes breakouts from sunscreens are either the active ingredients or the ingredients used create the product's texture. Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 contains lightweight ingredients and its active ingredients are less likely to trigger or exacerbate blemishes.

I thought Paula said sunscreens rated above SPF 30 weren't needed—SPF 30 is enough, right?

For the most part, SPF 30 is sufficient. But there are two reasons why you may want to consider a higher SPF. Many dermatologists feel that a higher SPF is necessary because most people don't apply sunscreen liberally, and when there is a higher concentration of sunscreen active ingredients (as would be the case in a sunscreen with a higher SPF number) you would be getting better protection even if you didn't apply it liberally. The other reason to consider a higher SPF is if you want to stay in the sun for even longer periods of time and have very fair to light skin color.

Although Paula has spoken out against the fact that other companies offer sunscreens with oftentimes ridiculously high SPF ratings (such as SPF 70 or 100), the issue has always been that such products tend to give consumers a false sense of security. They erroneously believe that a higher SPF only needs to be applied once as they spend the day in the sun. That is not the case for any sunscreen number. A sunscreen rated SPF 30 or above provides longer but not better protection. That means you can stay in the sun longer before your skin shows signs of turning color, but does not negate the need to reapply every two hours after periods of swimming, perspiring, or toweling off. We suggest our Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 50 for those who will be spending several hours outdoors and/or engaging in water-based activities. Liberal application and routine re-application is necessary in order to maintain the high level of sun protection.

How come this sunscreen's SPF rating changed from SPF 45 to SPF 50? Did the formula change, too?

Rest assured, the formula for Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen remains the same. Its SPF rating was revealed to be higher than before due to more refined SPF testing. This recent SPF testing was done to comply with new FDA regulations on sunscreen products. We're thrilled that this sunscreen not only passed the rigorous testing but emerged with an even higher SPF rating.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.344 10/21/2014 2:00:25 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.