Items you may also like

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Back off sunshine, I’ve got back-up. Protect your skin from the #1 cause of wrinkles and brown spots, and hydrate while you’re at it.
Item #: 172
  • Acne Breakouts, Brown Spots, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination , Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 210 Reviews)
Page of 9 Next »
  1. Meg
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 28, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    life changer
    • I'm not even exaggerating. This product has simplified my life and my routine SO MUCH. I have blemish-prone, semi-sensitive skin, and I used to own five different sunscreens that I would alternate based on what kind of day I was expecting. Now I just use this one. It works for ANY kind of day. It feels fresh and wonderful– never heavy or yuck. The best part: I can wear it EVERY DAY without ever breaking out. This is amazing.

  2. Sabine P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product
    • I had 3 samples and just ordered a full size. My skin is oily, but at the same time I feel always dehydrated. I also have mild rosacea on my T-zone. I live in a sunny, dry climate. I use this moisturizer as a "base" after splashing my face with water in the morning and toning with the Hydralight Toner. It provides me with just enough moisture to feel comfortable, not too shiny nor too dry. Then I follow with a mineral sunscreen stick SPF 50 just on my reddened areas, then BB-Cream. Perfect!

  3. casey f.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    lifesaver & mineral based
    • so glad that Paula's Choice has a non chemical facial sunscreen! this absorbs all the way and leaves my skin matte, and wears well under makeup. thank you for making this product!

  4. Loren
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good but not amazing
    • I've been looking for a moisturizer with sunscreen and I'm going to have to keep looking. It's not good, but it's not that bad. It feels heavy when putting it on but it dries to a matte finish. I don't bother putting on a primer after b/c it's winter where I live and it's cold and very drying on the skin already. I'm just going to use it for the sake of not wasting it but hopefully if I order again I can find products that cater to my asian, acne-prone, combo skin.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, February 10, 2015

    Hello, and thanks for sharing your experience with us - we encourage you to contact our Customer Care team, who are specially trained to help you find the best products for your skin type!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  5. kelly j.
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    lovely but gets in my "creases" ~ ~ ~
    • And by "gets in my creases" I mean makes my makeup gather there! Which is horrid, just in case you are young and haven't experienced this. (Kinda more shocking than HAVING wrinkles is the dread of the makeup that can gather in there -- actually highlighting your creases aka wrinkles.) Alas the only good sunscreen that doesn't do this (at least on my skin) so far is CeraVu AM spf which no longer gets Paula's BEST award. I guess there's just a lack of antioxidants. Sigh.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, January 12, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! We encourage you to reach out to a member of our Customer Care team, who can assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  6. viv d.
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    my new best friend
    • so light and nongreasy! I've never thought I would find a daily spf for my face that didn't make it greasy and shiny and clog my pores. This stuff is fabulous, doesn't feel like anything is there, and makes my skin feel great. Thank you!

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 06, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite Sunscreen
    • Hydralight SPF 30 is the best moisturizer with sunscreen I have used. And I have used other sunscreens from Clinique, Shiseido, Yes to Carrots, L'Occitane, and Paula's Choice. Those were decent to exceptional sunscreens, but Hydralight SPF 30 slightly edges out Yes to Carrots SPF 15 and Shiseido SPF 55, which were two of my favorites. The consistency is neither pasty nor thin, almost like a slightly thicker ranch salad dressing. Skin is matte and white streak-free.

  8. Hannah G.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 06, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite!
    • This is the best physical sunscreen I've ever used! As someone who can let chemical sunscreens near my face for fear of irritation and break outs, this moisturizer/sunscreen provides me with enough moisture while protecting me from the sun every day! It has a silky, creamy texture that sinks in well and doesn't leave me looking like an oil slick. It does leave a bit of a white cast, as most physical sunscreens do, but that doesn't make much of a difference for pale ol' me. Give this a try!

  9. Liz D.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 05, 2015
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Second ingredient: Ethylhexyl Palmitate!
    • My god, don't market this for those with acne-prone or oily skin! The SECOND ingredient is Ethylhexyl Palmitate! Super comedogenic!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, January 05, 2015

    Hello, and thanks for your comments! The answer isn't quite as simple as good or bad ingredients in regards to their ability to clog pores. Comedogenic is a marketing term that really took off in popularity—but it is meaningless as there are no standardized tests to determine the degree of “comedogenicity” of an ingredient.  Some ingredients are seemingly senselessly labeled “comedogenic,” as they are far too large (molecular weight, i.e. size standpoint) like the much maligned mineral oil, to fit into pores (like pushing a beach ball into a keyhole.)  

    However, the other side of this is the amount used of the ingredient in question. "Oil-free" or “non-comedogenic” has made many frightened of any ingredient that appears on a “comedogenic scale,” when in fact, how much is used is critical. If a product has a small amount of oil or an ingredient like ethylhexyl palmitate then there should be no concern, as the probability that this would "clog pores" would be very unlikely, like worrying about tripping over a blade of grass on the sidewalk.

    These types of websites also ignore that many ingredients have more than one use, depending on the amount used.  Ethylhexyl palmitate, when used in small amounts, is an excellent ingredient to improve aesthetics of a product.  It can get complicated, and it's not as clear-cut as "comedogenic or non-comedogenic," which is repeated endlessly on the internet. There are more variables, but these are too numerous to go into here. 

    Needless to say, Paula’s Choice, more than any skin care company, would never use an ingredient that was a problem for the very skin type for which we have designed a product!  Any skin care product you purchase from Paula’s Choice that is recommended for your skin, you can be assured we have thoroughly considered each single ingredient and its effect on your skin type. 

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  10. Lisa
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Holy Grail Sunscreen!
    • I've tried many sunscreens over the years, and overall, I have been very impressed with PC's sunscreens. I love how they offer all different types, because everyone has different skin types and preferences. This ended up being my HG sunscreen, because it is just perfect for my combination/ sensitive skin. It is not too matte for me, but also not too greasy. It offers a light amount of moisture, doesn't break me out or clog pores, and is soothing to my sensitive skin which is key for me. LOVE it!

  11. Victoria N.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    PERFECT sunscreen!
    • I was skeptical to buy this after reading reviews. I decided to try it because I disliked the feel of a matte finish PC sunscreen I bought. I was looking for a somewhat moisturizing sunscreen that would dry quickly but was not mattifying. I have dry, acne-prone skin so it is difficult to find products that feel confortable without exacerbating my acne. This is exactly that and I will never stop using this product!

  12. Scott B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A rare but perfect match!
    • For some reason my skin is extremely sensitive to the whole sunscreen market. I cannot use the multi-synth. types, as they burn my skin like lava. Even some of the titanium-zinc combo's can be a problem. Fortunately, this product is just about perfect: light, not think and gunky; goes on smoothly and vanishes right away. It never feels like I'm wearing a sunscreen and it doesn't irritate my semi-sensitive face, even the shaved areas or places subjected to high exfoliation. A winner in my book!

  13. Frosty
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    I had a reaction
    • I have tried this sunscreen before and it broke me out. But I was willing to give it another chance because I thought the other products in my routine were the culprit. Nope. I was wrong. It was this one. It gave me two large breakouts on my jawline and several much smaller ones on my forehead and cheek. Before I used this sunscreen my face was entirely clear from the Clear cleanser and bp. And nothing else changed. I was really hoping this one would work.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, December 04, 2014

    Hello, and thanks for your comments - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team for information about a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  14. Heather A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 02, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    acne prone skins shouldn't use this!
    • I was so excited to try this product and bring it with me on vacation. Oh my heavens what a mistake! I am so disappointed. It made me breakout everywhere from small pimples to the terrible cystic acne. I never get cystic acne but this did the trick with giving me it!! It's also pretty thick, so I can't imagine why it's even for acne prone skin. Futhermore my sister uses it and doesn't have sensitive/ acne prone skin and she does claim its on the thicker side... but she uses it anyway.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, December 02, 2014

    Hello and thank you for your comments - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team for information about a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  15. Aine M
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 23, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Pink color
    • This moisturizer immediately turns pink/red as I apply it to my face. The color stays for a few minutes, then fades. It also causes light tingling. Could the ingredients be irritating my skin? Is there a different moisturizer + SPF that would be better?

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, November 24, 2014

    Hello, and thank you for your comments! We invite you to contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can work with you to find the best moisturizer with SPF for your skin type!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  16. Eliza S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Didn't like it
    • Didn't really like this product. Made the mistake of taking this on a 6 week holiday without trying it first. Felt like i was just using a sunscreen. Didn't feel moisturising at all, and felt like it made my skin look pale - just like a sunscreen would.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, November 17, 2014

    Hello, and thanks for your comments - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team about a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  17. Melissa
    Reviewed on Monday, November 10, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for darker skin tones
    • I bought a couple of samples of this sunscreen and it left an awful white cast on my face that I had to wash off before leaving the house. I am African American and was looking for a mineral sunscreen that would leave a more matte finish than Paula’s chemical sunscreens that are available. I know this sunscreen advertises that it is for all skin tones, but I feel that darker ethnic skin tones may not be a good match for Paula’s mineral sunscreens. I'm very glad Paula offers samples of everything

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, November 10, 2014

    Thanks for your feedback! A tip to try in in the future, either with one of our mineral sunscreens or one from another brand, is to add a tiny amount of bronzing gel to the sunscreen, mix in the palm of your hands, then apply. The tiny bit of bronzer won't throw off the SPF rating, and you'll avoid any trace of a white cast!

    —Admin
  18. Briana C
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 06, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    The only one
    • i have oily, acne-prone sensitive skin. This is the ONE AND ONLY moisturizer I can use on my face. I have been experimenting with products since college. I am now 23 and have finally found a moisturizer that doesn't make me oily by 10 o'clock! highly recommend. So happy I found paula's choice! and just a quick note...i'm a huge fan of buying their samples to test what works with your skin. I love paula's choice but it's because I have tested products out and have found things that work!!

  19. karen G.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect moisturizer plus sunblock!
    • Love that this doesn't irritate my sensitive skin that breaks out on a dime. The best part is that it may be the only product without a bunch of chemicals that doesn't leave that white residue on your face from the sunblock. When you first see it you think it will but after you put it on, it completely disappears, not just leaves a light residue, disappears. Love it!

  20. Stephanie H.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A+++
    • I tried the Skin Balancing SPF lotion first and it was a bit too runny for me, so I ordered one sample of this product to see how I liked it. Well, I'm really regretting only getting one sample because I absolutely love it! It's got a smooth creamy consistency that's easy to blend and dries down to a nice powdery finish, perfect as a foundation primer. This is what I've always wanted in an SPF moisturizer. I ordered 2 tubes! I never wanna be without this stuff! A+++

  21. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, October 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good for oily t-zones
    • This stuff is nice! I have sensitive, pale, acne-prone combination skin, so I just used this on my forehead and my nose area (I used a heavier moisturizer on my cheeks and chin). It was indeed very light and it didn't seem to add more shine to my skin. I got a sample of this and I'm definitely considering purchasing the full size!

  22. Sheryl B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 01, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    not for me
    • I have dehydrated, oily, rosacea skin and this daytime moisturizer is not for me. While it was very good at controlling shine (kudos for that because by midday I am an oil slick) , it was not moisturizing enough for dehydrated skin. I believe this could be a great moisturizer for someone else, just not dehydrated oily skin, therefore this will remain in my cupboard.

  23. Tina S.
    Reviewed on Friday, September 26, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not Shine-free.
    • I wanted to love this sunscreen, but it made my combination skin extremely shiny. Tried to offset the shine with powder, but within half an hour the shine was back. I ended up using it on my neck and chest so as not to waste the product. The positives are that it is very light-weight, uses physical sun protection (zinc and titanium dioxide) and leaves no white cast to the skin once it's rubbed in. But sadly, the shine factor is a deal breaker for me.

  24. Gina K
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • Makes my oily acne prone skin soft and moisturized without breaking out! Love it!

  25. Christina M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 13, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Not for Dermatographic Urticaria
    • I like the texture of this sunscreen and it doesn't leave much of a white film. I found this product too moisturizing for the humid climate I live in. If I went outdoors, my face would quickly start to sweat and hold on to moisture from the air. It felt nice when I was indoors though. My face tingled slightly the entire time I was wearing this sunscreen. It triggered an acne breakout and inflamed my existing acne. This sunscreen did not work for my particular sensitive skin condition.

Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex with SPF 30 with Antioxidants provides gentle, broad-spectrum mineral-based sun protection in a lightweight lotion that leaves a soft, powder-like, practically imperceptible finish. Its smooth texture applies easily and works beautifully around the eyes and under makeup. Soothing anti-irritants and antioxidants work to repair and strengthen skin so it looks and acts younger. With daily use, skin will resist and repair multiple signs of aging, while maintaining a shine-free appearance.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex is ideal for those with normal to oily or combination skin, who want light hydration with a soft matte finish and gentle, but extremely effective, broad-spectrum sun protection. Also excellent for those with oily yet sensitive skin and those struggling with rosacea or reactive skin.

Expiration Date 1/2016

Sources to Support the Claims Made for Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30

Experimental Dermatology, June 2011, pages 477–482; Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, March 2011, pages 178–187; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, August 2009, pages 56–59; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23–34; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2008, pages S139–S148; Acta-Dermatovenereologica Croatia, Volume 15, Issue 2, 2007, pages 92-95; and Volume 11, Issue 3, 2003, pages 158–162; and Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2007, pages 1–4.

Key Ingredients: dimethicone, zinc oxide, glycerin, panthenol, titanium dioxide, Camellia sinensis, cyclomethicone, Glycyrrhiza glabra, algae extract, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, allantoin

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 6%; Titanium Dioxide 2.32% (sunscreens).

Other Ingredients: Water, Ethylhexyl Palmitate (thickener),Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents and skin protectants), Polysorbate 80 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Methicone (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (emollient thickeners), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (emollient), Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (film-forming agent), Isohexadecane (dry-finish solvent), Cetyl Alcohol (emollient), Propylene Glycol (moisture-binding agent), Polyglyceryl-6 Isostearate (emollient), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant),Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (antioxidant), Algae Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agents), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin, Panthenol (skin-repairing ingredients), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Alumina, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone (skin-conditioning agent), Diethylhexyl Carbonate (emollient), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone slip agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally before sun exposure and after using Paula's Choice Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser and Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner. May be applied over any Paula's Choice exfoliant or serum. Reapply as needed after swimming, toweling off, or excessive perspiration.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 differ from Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30?

These two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen have different active ingredients. Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 contains titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, while Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30 contains a blend of avobenzone with other non-mineral sunscreen actives. The Hydralight SPF 30 is a light cream with sheer moisture, whereas the Skin Balancing SPF 30 is more like a liquid/fluid lotion. BOTH of these daytime moisturizers provide excellent broad-spectrum sun protection and treat skin to the beneficial antioxidants it needs to look and act younger. Also, both formulas were designed to work well under makeup (they won’t cause it to slip off or make oily areas look shiny).

Should I reapply Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, this daytime moisturizer with sunscreen should be reapplied. You also have the option of touching up with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater, such as Healthy Finish Pressed Powder SPF 15.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.369 3/2/2015 9:24:17 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Ready For Retinol Trial Set on $65+