Hydralight Shine-Free SPF 30

Items you may also like

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Back off sunshine, I’ve got back-up. Protect your skin from the #1 cause of wrinkles and brown spots, and hydrate while you’re at it.
Item #: 172
  • Acne Breakouts, Brown Spots, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea

Expiration Date 8/2015

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 171 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. ERIK D.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally!
    • I have finally found a sunscreen that does not irritate my skin and make it red when applied,does not burn the eyes and goes on way more elegant than any other non tinted mineral sunscreen I have tried,plus so far from the samples I have tried it does not break me out.The only downside is that I must be clean shaven to apply this without the bearded area looking obviously white,grabs on to any stubble and impossible to blend in like the other parts of the face.Thank You for this!

  2. Lisa
    Reviewed on Friday, January 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I Absolutely love this stuff. I have acne prone, oily but dry, sensitive very difficult skin and it has taken me years to find a sunscreen for my face and neck that doesn't irritate my skin, doesn't break me out, doesn't make me oily, and is moisturizing enough that I am not flaking.Please don't ever change this, i absolutely love it!

  3. Eszter
    Reviewed on Friday, January 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great even for dry skin
    • I bought this as the name grabbed my attention: shine free mineral complex. I though it would be great for summer. I was a bit scared it might not be hydrating enough, but it is just fantastic. Love it.

  4. Kim B.
    Reviewed on Friday, December 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Nice sunscreen
    • I wear this every day. Rain or shine. I do like how it feels and it does not make my hair oily like most other sunscreens. I do not mind the white-ish finish it leaves on my face for two reasons, one being that it tones down my pink complexion and secondly, I dont mind if it is obvious that I am wearing sunscreen, it sets a good example for my family and friends. I sure hope that Paulas Choice keeps this product around for a nice long time.

  5. L
    Reviewed on Friday, December 27, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good for oily skin, but not dry skin
    • I liked this sunscreen because it was gentle, left a matte finish,&did not break me out. It did sting some areas of my face a little but those were problem areas that had active breakouts. Now what I didn't like about this sunscreen is that it was HARD to blend into my skin. I'm very pale/fair, so I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it, but it did leave a white cast that didn't go away. It was great when I had oily skin but now that I have dry skin it clings to ALL of my dry patches.

  6. CATHERINE P.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    As close to HG as I've found
    • I have very fair, combination normal to dry skin with rosacea. Even though this product is marketed for oily skin, I find it moisturizes very nicely and also makes my skin feel so incredibly soft. It's also uses all mineral sunscreen ingredients which I'm very happy about since I find that almost all chemical sunscreens are very irritating to my skin. My only complaint is that I find it hard to blend out the white cast. I wonder if I'm using too much? (a little larger then a peanut for my face)

  7. Naomi P.R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Best Mineral Suncreen on the Market!
    • Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Dioxide, beautiful formulation, hydrating yet non-greasy (after it's absorbed)... I love it! If you avoid mineral sunscreens because of the white cast, I use the Veronica Gorgeois (on YouTube) method to apply this -- Spread liberally over the face and neck, just to apply it. It doesn't need to be even at this point. Wait thirty seconds to let it absorb, then gently massage evenly into the skin. I then use a small eyebrow brush to remove it from my brows and hairline.

  8. Carla R.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    All over sunscreen
    • I like this for my body (I use the Resist tinted sunscreen for my face), so could you please offer this in a LARGER size -- maybe triple or quadruple the amount -- to make this more ideal and economical for all over use? Thank you.

  9. NATALIE S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Wanted to like this
    • I had really hoped this would be the matte sunscreen I needed but, it isn't. In fact, it made my already oily skin worse. I had to apply copious amounts of powder to counteract the oiliness this left behind. Smells 'off' as well. Definitely not what I expect from Paula.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, December 19, 2013

    Thanks for your review! Your experience with this product is atypical, as it's quite matte and absolutely shouldn't make oily skin look shiny. Please contact us for assistance in selecting another daytime moisturizer with sunscreen, or take a look at those we recommend from other brands in the Beautypedia Reviews Best Products section.

    —Admin
  10. Max B
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail
    • Best mineral sunscreen I have tried yet. It is moisturizing yet not overly emollient which is hard to find with mineral sunscreens. I have experienced no adverse side effects with this so far after 2 months of use. Because I apply sunscreen very liberally, to combat the very slight white cast it can leave, I apply it, let it air dry for about a minute and then rub in for about 15 seconds or so and it disappears! The finish is natural to semi-matte and takes about 10 minutes to set. Love it!!

  11. Allison B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love at First Application
    • I ordered this sunscreen because I needed one that used the mineral sunscreens (chemical ones make my skin burn!). This performs beautifully! It is moisturizing without being heavy. I put on my foundation right after and am left with a beautiful finish. My skin is actually on the drier side, but sometimes combination and no matter how it is this has worked. Thank you Paula's Choice!

  12. KarolinaQ
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent!
    • I live in Florida. I ordered the Resist Super Light Wrinkle Defense and really loved it but now that it is winter time I needed something more emollient. The Hydralight SPF 30 is great - not only does it have the SPF I need, it moisturizes without being greasy, leaves no white cast, and does not sting. It does appear white when you first put it on but it quickly disappears - I use SPF 20 powder and some concealer and I'm good to go. I stayed outdoors for five hours yesterday and no burn :)

  13. Maria
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!
    • Does exactly what it claims, keeps my skin moisturized, protected, and not greasy. Will definitely be using this for as long as I can.

  14. Maria K.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite PC Sunscreen
    • Despite being almost 55, my skin remains combination. I use PC's Skin Recovery moisturizer underneath it on my skin's drier areas when needed. Love the relative matt finish and the way it doesn't clog the pores on my nose, chin, and forehead. Non-irritating, non-drying. Great stuff. Please never discontinue this!

  15. Charlotte W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Husband really likes!
    • I bought this to try and it just didn't work for me - dried my skin out. But...my husband's face is an oilwell. He's in the sun all day and has never used anything on his face or SPF. I got him to try it and he loves it! He's not oily anymore and he likes the fact that he doesn't have to wipe his face down several times a day. It's just the right product for him!

  16. Kelly
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best sunscreen/daily moisturizer ever
    • I have ultra sensitive, dehydrated, acne prone skin. I am currently on 2 prescription topical medications to combat acne that make my skin flaky and irritated. I have never been able to use a sunscreen (physical or chemical) because they always caused extreme irritation. I am so happy to have found this one! Not only is is nonirritating, but it is actually soothing. It does leave a slight white cast, but I actually like that as it seems to somewhat mask acne scars.

  17. A M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Versatile, Comfortable Product
    • There IS a little "white cast" to this product. I tint it with PC's Barely There SPF 30 and love the results. I get sheer, moist, generous SPF protection with a healthy, satiny finish. Very nice for casual makeup look. It would probably work well to dilute fuller coverage foundation products, but that might affect the SPF. Originally this was a hand cream and I wish it still was since the new SPF hand cream is greasy and glittery.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, October 22, 2013

    Thanks for your review! No reason this SPF product cannot be used on hands, too. Add a little extra each morning!

    —Admin
  18. DONNA H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love this product
    • This product works great for my 56 year old oily skin and I also have rosacea. It is one of the few things that doesn't aggravate my skin and leave it looking like an oil slick. It feels great and looks great by itself and also under foundation. Please keep making it!

  19. BRYAN G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfection
    • I love all of Paula's products. I have stubborn dry skin, prone to breakouts. Horrifyingly unfair. Anyways, I love the moisture boost, but didn't feel as though it provided enough moisture. The resist was too heavy on the mineral actives I felt and after a few days I was left with breakouts...minor but annoying. I gave this a shot and have found my holy grail of facial sunscreens. It's wonderfully light, yet provides moisture. No breakouts and no flakes. Best of both worlds. Perfection.

  20. Lauren F.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    I really wanted to like this...
    • I initially liked this product but it just doesn't work for me. I feel like its thick and makes my face shiny, but then in an hour my face feels dry and tight in the cheeks, almost like I put nothing on. I really wanted to like this SPF, but unfortunately its too thick with not enough moisture for me

  21. Carrie B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So far, really good!
    • My skin can be so tricky. What seems like it should be gentle and non-irritating for the skin can cause it to break out, flare up my rosacea and/or make it even oilier. After using this for over a month, I can say it's done none of those things. It actually seems to soothe my rosacea, moisturize without becoming greasy or heavy and makes my makeup go on so much more smoothly. I've tried a bunch of other moisturizers in search of a really good one, I'm really pleased with this so far!

  22. Mary J
    Reviewed on Friday, October 04, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Too heavy
    • I wanted a higher SPF product for my face, but this product (like many others I have tried from other brands) is just too heavy and white to wear under makeup. I have very oily skin, and it didn't reduce shine for me all. I also didn't care for the scent. I am mixing it with an SPF 15 product right now to use it up, but I won't reorder.

  23. Cindy M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 02, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Made me break out
    • I bought this because it specifically said it was for sensitive skin. Well it wasn't for MY sensitive skin. When I talked to a rep about returning it I was told that this product NEVER causes a reaction and the problem must be something else I was using. Well I stopped using everything but this & it turned out that this was the problem. I finally was able to speak to a different rep who was very kind & helpful. I wanted to love this but I can't.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, October 03, 2013

    Thanks for your review! The Hydralight formula is great for sensitive, breakout-prone skin but no product can be 100% perfect for everyone with those issues. It may not have been the product itself, it may have been the result of combining it with other products in your routine. That's a big part of why determining what caused the problem can be tricky.

    —Admin
  24. francie
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    what I've been looking for
    • I've been using this for two months, and I'm in love with the results. I have difficult skin- combination w/ rosacea, but unfortch mineral 'screens have always caused breakouts for me. So I've just suffered the irritation of chemical 'screens to avoid the acne, which felt like substituting one problem for another. Since I started using the Hydralight, my skin has looked GREAT. No acne (except hormonal, which I guess can't be helped) no redness. Love the smooth application and brightening finish!

  25. DEIDRE C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 19, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Didn't Work For Me
    • This just didn't work for me. I love PC products and they've totally transformed my skin, but this was a disappointment. My skin is oily and I found myself having to apply powder throughout the day to combat the shine. The texture was good and it wasn't white, but it created more shine and oil. The Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30 worked much better, as did the RESIST Super-Light Wrinkle Defense SPF 30.

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex with SPF 30 with Antioxidants provides gentle, broad-spectrum mineral-based sun protection in a lightweight lotion that leaves a soft, powder-like, practically imperceptible finish. Its smooth texture applies easily and works beautifully around the eyes and under makeup. Soothing anti-irritants and antioxidants work to repair and strengthen skin so it looks and acts younger. With daily use, skin will resist and repair multiple signs of aging, while maintaining a shine-free appearance.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex is ideal for those with normal to oily or combination skin, who want light hydration with a soft matte finish and gentle, but extremely effective, broad-spectrum sun protection. Also excellent for those with oily yet sensitive skin and those struggling with rosacea or reactive skin.

Sources to Support the Claims Made for Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30

Experimental Dermatology, June 2011, pages 477–482; Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, March 2011, pages 178–187; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, August 2009, pages 56–59; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23–34; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2008, pages S139–S148; Acta-Dermatovenereologica Croatia, Volume 15, Issue 2, 2007, pages 92-95; and Volume 11, Issue 3, 2003, pages 158–162; and Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2007, pages 1–4.

Key Ingredients: dimethicone, zinc oxide, glycerin, panthenol, titanium dioxide, Camellia sinensis, cyclomethicone, Glycyrrhiza glabra, algae extract, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, allantoin

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 6%; Titanium Dioxide 2.32% (sunscreens).

Other Ingredients: Water, Ethylhexyl Palmitate (thickener),Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents and skin protectants), Polysorbate 80 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Methicone (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (emollient thickeners), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (emollient), Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (film-forming agent), Isohexadecane (dry-finish solvent), Cetyl Alcohol (emollient), Propylene Glycol (moisture-binding agent), Polyglyceryl-6 Isostearate (emollient), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant),Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (antioxidant), Algae Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agents), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin, Panthenol (skin-repairing ingredients), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Alumina, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone (skin-conditioning agent), Diethylhexyl Carbonate (emollient), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone slip agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally before sun exposure and after using Paula's Choice Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser and Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner. May be applied over any Paula's Choice exfoliant or serum. Reapply as needed after swimming, toweling off, or excessive perspiration.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 differ from Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30?

These two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen have different active ingredients. Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 contains titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, while Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30 contains a blend of avobenzone with other non-mineral sunscreen actives. The Hydralight SPF 30 is a light cream with sheer moisture, whereas the Skin Balancing SPF 30 is more like a liquid/fluid lotion. BOTH of these daytime moisturizers provide excellent broad-spectrum sun protection and treat skin to the beneficial antioxidants it needs to look and act younger. Also, both formulas were designed to work well under makeup (they won’t cause it to slip off or make oily areas look shiny).

Should I reapply Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, this daytime moisturizer with sunscreen should be reapplied. You also have the option of touching up with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater, such as Healthy Finish Pressed Powder SPF 15.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.