Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30

Bye, bye dry. Hello cushiony layer of moisture that protects your skin from wrinkles and brown spots. Now that’s a welcome change.
Item #: 162
  • Brown Spots
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Shields skin from the #1 cause of signs of aging

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 121 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. CAROL D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 04, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Greasiest non-greasy.
    • I already fell in love with the Earth Sourced System's moisturizer, but it doesn't offer sun protection. So I got this for the SPF value, and I was pretty disappointed. It felt alright at first, but my face looked and felt so oily afterward. It was probably my own fault for getting something meant for normal to dry skin, when I have combination skin. If there was an Earth Sourced Moisturizer with SPF 30+ I'd buy it in a heartbeat. For now I have settled on Extra Care Non-Greasy sunscreen SPF 45. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear this was too moisturizing for you. The SPF 45 or the Skin Balancing Daily Mattifying Lotion SPF 15 would be the best options to try as they are designed for your skin type and are lighter-weight. Please contact customer care so that we may help with your routine and offer you an in house credit for this product.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I am really liking this!
    • I have been trying to find a sunscreen moisturizer for my mildly sensitive dry skin. I tried Resist SPF, but wasn't sure it was moisturizing enough. So I got the Skin Recovery SP. At first, I loved it, for the texture and hydration and way it felt on my irritated face. But I broke out and I am in my 50's and never broke out before. Customer service suggested Moisture Boost and sent me samples. I was nervous about tolerating a chemical sunscreen, but didn't not get red and was very moisturizing. After 3 days broke out. I wrote back, that I was taking a break to get my skin to calm down and would then try it again. Meanwhile, I tried Cerave AM, but it was irritating, and Olay Complete SPF for sensitive skin, just felt weird on my skin and thick and was not very hydrating. The worst was the new not improved Clinique Repairwear with SPF (I tolerated that before), as they added retinol. It is too drying for me every day, even though the extra dry formula is super thick. Yuck! I was really at my wits end, only tolerating Supernatural Primer with SPF by Philosophy (but it's orange). Then customer service sent me a full tube of moisture boost for free! So nice! I felt I was ready to try it again, as it has felt so nice. Well, it's been a week and no breakouts and no redness. I think this might be love. I really think it will be great for summer, as it has 30 SPF. Feels moisturizing and smells a bit like coco butter. It has no fragrance but has ingredients that have smells. I like the smell. I love that it has 30 SPF. It's SPF, so I can't say it's as nice as just putting on a moisturizer under your make up. It sits on the skin a bit, which they all do, but less than other products I have tried. It is very moisturizing, but not so much that it causes breakouts or clogs. It is not irritating, though you do feel the anti oxidents some days. I think the texture is satiny. I am still interested in trying the Resist SPF,which I have a tube of. I am hoping it will not break me out. It's shinier and leaves a slight white cast, but not like most titanium based SPFs. I don't mind that, as I am very pale and red. I like the way titanium feels when my skin is irritated. I like this for the hydration. I feel it would last on a hot summer day. Both are great and different. All of the PC products do a bit more than other products, so I found it helpful to ease into using them. I slathered on the whole Skin Recovery products at once, which was over kill and confusing. The exfoliants are strong and can dry you out at first and then you may get flushed from the anti-oxidents, which does not mean you are getting irritated. Retinols can be drying. They work, so go slow. There are many products and many versions of each. It can be confusing, but write or talk to customer service and get the samples first. They really want to help you find the right products. How many companies send you first free samples and then a free tube of a product. I had spent quite a bit and was having problems and they helped me work it out.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 01, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Too thick
    • I've used Paula's products for many years and especially like the the Earth Source ones. Thought I'd try the moisture boost SPF30 instead of another brand I'd been using. I ordered sample packets and was disappointed in the consistency of the product, was thick and reminded me of white paste. I added a small amount of the product I'd been using ( Neutrogena ) along with the moisture boost so as to be thinner, that is the only way I could use it. I like the non shine effect of moisture boost but trying to spread it on the face is difficult. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. Consider trying a lighter daytime moisturizer such as the Skin Balancing Daily Mattifying Lotion SPF 15 which feels very light on the skin and provides just a hint of moisture. Please contact customer care for help with sampling this product or any questions.

  4. jk1006
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    non greasy moisturizer
    • Does what it says. Instantly gives moisture to skin and doesnt feel greasy. Skin feels comfortable yet little powdery as ready for makeup too. I have combination skin with oily patches on T zone but since it is dry winter I gave it a go and I am pleased.

  5. Pascale
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great!
    • This protects and nourishes my skin without leaving it greasy, plus has convenient packaging!

  6. Krista
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent!
    • I got this as part of the kit and wasn't sure I was going to use it as it is a chemical sunscreen and those types tend to make Rosacea flare. But, as fate would have it, I was out of my RESIST Cellular Defense and forgot to add it to my order! Being a bit of a cheapskate and having had positive results with the Extra Care Non Greasy Sunscreen, I decided to give it a shot. I was shocked to find that beyond the normal short tingling/burning you get when you initially apply ANY chemical sunscreen, I had zero redness and zero irritation. It's also worth mentioning the lovely mousse-like texture of the cream itself. Of course, one will be able to detect that chemical sunscreen smell, but I'd rather have that as opposed to fragrance! It also soaks into my combo skin nicely. Will it replace my RESIST? Probably not, but I will have no problems finishing the tube!

  7. Tea
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great moisturizer!
    • I have been using this moisturizer over a year and have been really happy about how well it moisturizes and at the same time protects my skin. Recently I switched to Mac product but I feel like I'mm missing this product, since it offers greater sun protection and my skin feel better after applying it. Pretty happy about the product!

  8. Cintia
    Reviewed on Monday, October 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Delicious
    • I love this moisturizer for daytime. It is very hydrating for my skin and it works great under make up. It's a make-you-feel-good creamy spf cream that's easy to rub in and soothing to skin. Which reminds me I'm almost running out :/

  9. Lisa
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 09, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    No longer working...
    • Love everything I've ever tried from Paula and was also loving this but it has started to burn, especially around my eyes. Not sure why this is, but was loving it until that :( Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. It is hard to know exactly which ingredient, combination of ingredients, or outside factors contributed to your skin responding negatively to this product. It can be difficult to identify which ingredient in any formula, even a well-formulated one, which could be causing irritation. This moisturizer contains a high amount of Antioxidants which for some, when used initially can cause slight tingling which is only temporary. We will issue you an in-house credit for the product and are happy to send you samples of other moisturizers to try. Please contact customer care to discuss your skin type and arrange for samples to be sent.

  10. souffle
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    very good, beautiful texture.
    • I want to EAT this cream!! I love to apply this thick, soft cheese cream all over my face every morning. It fully moisturizes my skin without oiliness.

  11. PCMB
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Satin-matte souffle-primer
    • This amazingly light yet substantially moisturizing complex provides broad-spectrum sun protection with stabilized avobenzone to shield skin from wrinkles. It glides on weightlessly, providing a cushiony layer of moisture that leaves my skin satin smooth and perfectly prepped for makeup. A blend of potent antioxidants boosts my skin's defenses and helps protect it from collagen depletion. If you loved the discontinued Paula's Choice Essential Moisturizing Sunscreen SPF 15, you will love this new option even more!

  12. Nantajit
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 17, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not really what I'm looking for
    • Let's start this way, I'm Paula's Choice customer for the last couple years and LOVE her stuffs. After trying this product for 3 weeks I only can say that I am not so in love with it. Why? First, I don't like the smell -- it has a strong sun screen smell even stronger that other of PC sun screen products. Second, I don't feel it absorbs well into my skin (I have a dry skin.) Third, the texture, it is very thick and hard to apply on the skin. So I stop using it now and just wait for the winter and will probably give myself another try. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear this product did not work for you. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we will issue you an in-house credit for this product. Please contact customer care if you would like to discuss other options for you, or with any questions or concerns.

  13. Anna
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 29, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    hello, shiny face!
    • I chose this sunscreen for the SPF 30 and was disappointed by its lack of absorption. It gets a 2 because I do think it contains healthy ingredients but I cannot get past the greasy face effect- even after powder! If you want to glow though, this may be a good one to try. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review! It sounds like the Moisture Boost SPF 30 isn't right for your skin type as a formula for dry skin (you shouldn't feel like it doesn't dry, which is usually an indicator of a product that is more emollient than necessary.) Consider our Skin Balancing Daily SPF 15, or the RESIST Anti-Aging Hand Cream SPF 30 (a fan rave for oily/combo skin due to its super sheer, dry finish.) Contact us at custserv@paulaschoice.com, and we will be happy to arrange a refund, exchange and/or samples for you to try! Email custserv@paulaschoice.com, we will take it from there!

  14. Lindsay
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 29, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Just ok.
    • I liked this product when I first tried it, but I think I've developed an irritation to chemical sunscreens? It stings and sometimes burns, especially around the eyes - I'm not usually even remotely sensitive. It's a nicer product for the winter, but I definitely prefer the skin recovery moisturizer spf 15, because I can't tolerate this one. Customer Care Response: Thank you for sharing your experience, Lindsay! It is possible that you may be sensitive to synthetic sunscreen actives, but this is also affected by other products in your routine, too. Either way, the Skin Recovery SPF 15 is a wonderful formula for dry to very dry skin types (and it's a mineral formula!) We would be happy to refund you for this product, just contact us at custserv@paulaschoice.com to get started!

  15. Pat
    Reviewed on Monday, May 21, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent for Several Skin Types!
    • This one is a real winner and probably my favourite sunscreen in the line. My skin ranges from dry to normal to slightly oily and this moisturiser never fails me. Total non irritating, feels light and doesn't leave me shiny. Excellent!

  16. Peggy
    Reviewed on Monday, May 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Should Say for All Skin Types
    • I was using the SPF15 for oily/combo skin but wanted more protection. This product went on sale so I bought it. WOW! It is not heavy, not greasey, not shiney even in my T-zone. Another great Paula product.

  17. Hannah
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 26, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Decent, but leaves my face feeling tight?
    • I've been using this for about a week - I had been using Cerave AM face lotion before this, and I do like this moisturizer better as it leaves my face much less red. I have sensitive combo skin, and it seems to be very difficult to find a moisturizer that is both SPF30+ (which I want because I have very fair skin) and that doesn't make my face red. I've read the advice to try mineral sunscreens for sensitive skin but it's nigh impossible to find a moisturizer with mineral sunscreens that is at least SPF30. This moisturizer is pretty good - it's nice and creamy going on and I love that it has antioxidants in it, and that it's SPF 30; but it still makes my face slightly red, and it also seems to almost mattify/become tight after about 30 mins or so after I put it on, which seems odd to me for a moisturizer designed for dry skin. Overall, this is a step up from my last moisturizer and still the best one I've tried to date, but I will be continuing the search for my AM moisturizer soulmate. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We understand how tricky it can be finding a mineral sunscreen with oily/combination skin. We suggest trying the RESIST Ultimate Anti-Aging Hand Cream SPF 30 + to see how it feels for you. It is not a very moisturizing formula so it is certainly a great option for you to try. We will send samples of it to try and credit you for this product. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  18. Lindsay
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 21, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Don't care for the scent.
    • This moisturizer is probably ok, but I can't really say because I don't use it much because of the strong SPF smell. It smells more like I am getting ready to spend a day at the beach than go to work. I use my PC non-SPF moisture boost treatment cream instead and just wear a foundation with SPF over it. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. Even though the smell of this BHA is not to your liking, we guarantee it is safe and free of contamination. Paula's Choice goes through significant lengths to ensure that the products are gentle, effective, and stable. One of the challenges of having a fragrance-free line is that we cannot use perfumes to keep consistency in scent from batch to batch. Even though we use identical ingredients in each product formula, the raw materials themselves may vary in odor. Sometimes these (particularly naturally-derived ingredients) may be stronger than expected depending on where the crops were harvested. We will send you the Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15 to try instead and hope you find it works better for you. In the meantime please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  19. Gail
    Reviewed on Friday, April 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!
    • I love this daytime moisturizer and use it year round. My skin is normal to dry. It dries down to a nice matte finish leaving my skin comfortable and protected. I use a light powder foundation over top and my skin looks flawless. This also doesn't irritate my skin like some other chemical sunscreens. The antioxidants are an added extra bonus!

  20. Michael H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 05, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Really seeing a difference!
    • I've been using your products for awhile now and can say my skin is wayyy better off for it. I used to use all the good peppermint and menthol stuff that men's skin care has but since switching to the 1%bha and superantioxidant serum it's amazing! One thing I noticed is that I've been using the moisture boost spf30 and I get a tight, dry feeling after applying that lasts all day..?? Anyone else have this issue? Otherwise, Paula's Choice is my stocking stuffer of choice for everyone I know! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. The Moisture Boost SPF 30 is designed for dry skin but if it is not moisturizing enough for you, you would want to try the Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15 which will provide your skin with more moisture. We will send you samples of it to try and hope it works better for you. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  21. Valerie
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for Combo Skin Too!
    • I ordered this after reading other reviews that it also is good for combo skin (I have normal/slightly oily t-zone combo skin). I love the texture and the fact that it is SPF 30! It is shiny on my skin at first but when it soaks in, I set it with some powder and I am good to go. Awesome product, thank you!!

  22. Carla
    Reviewed on Monday, April 02, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Disappointed
    • I was very disappointed with this product. It actually made my skin dry in areas, and I'm surprised because I have combination skin. I bought this because I wanted the SPF 30, but it did not deliver at all on the moisture. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We will credit you for the product. You would need to sample different daytime moisturizers to see how your skin will respond. We will send you samples of a few to try. Please contact customer care with any questions or concern.

  23. Mike
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great, even for somewhat oily skin!
    • I love this product! I have somewhat oily skin and am prone to breakouts so at first I was a little hesitant to order this product. However, it keeps my skin moist, protects from the sun, and no pimples in sight!

  24. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 25, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Causes breakouts
    • I really love the texture of this sunscreen, but alas, it makes my skin break out. Maybe I should have ordered the Resist sunscreen instead. I have sensitive skin and I noticed that the website recommends the Resist sunscreen for my skin type. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We will credit you for the product. You would need to sample different daytime moisturizers to see how your skin will respond and generally do want to stick with a mineral sunscreen. We will send you samples of a few to try. Please contact customer care with any questions or concern.

  25. A. I.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 22, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not as good as the hand cream sunscreen
    • I ordered two of these moisturizers (for 2 family members with sensitive skin) and a couple of weeks later, I ordered the hand cream for myself (as I realized it could be used on the face). My mom finds this moisturizer good, but she doesn't like the way it goes on and how it feels on her skin. My sibling has ultra sensitive skin (like me) and found that this caused breakouts. I feel guilty now because I am super happy with my hand cream SPF 30 but cannot say anything to either one until they have used up their moisturizers and I am ready to persuade them to try another PC product, one that is much better. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your family members experience with this product. We do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We will credit you for the product and suggest a mineral sunscreen such as the hand cream or foundation as these would be the best options for acne prone sensitive skin. Please contact customer care with any questions.

« Prev Page of 5 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 is an amazingly light yet substantially moisturizing daytime product that provides broad-spectrum sun protection with stabilized avobenzone to shield skin from wrinkles. It glides on weightlessly, providing a cushiony layer of moisture that leaves your skin satin-smooth and perfectly prepped for makeup. A blend of potent antioxidants boosts your skin's defenses and helps protect it from collagen depletion.

This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen is safe for use around your eyes and is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Moisture Boost SPF 30 is formulated for anyone with normal to dry skin (even if it's prone to breaking out). Its lightweight, creamy texture also makes it a great option for those with combination skin with stubborn dry areas.

Expiration Date 8/2016

Sources to support the claims made for Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30

Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Skin Research and Technology, August 2009, pages 338–345; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,057–1,065; Experimental Dermatology, June 2009, pages 522–526; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12;Food and Chemical Toxicology, April 2008, pages 1,298–1,307; Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health, Volume 72, pages 796–806; Future Oncology, December 2008, pages 841–856; Journal of Pathology, January 2007, 241–251; Journal of Radiation Research, December 2004, pages 491–495; British Journal of Dermatology, October 2003, page 681; and Journal of Dermatological Science, volume 31, 2003, pages 193–201; and Journal of Investigative Dermatology, November 2003, pages 1,163­1,167; and January 2002, pages 117–125.

Key Ingredients: vitamin C, vitamin E, aloe extract, avobenzone, tocopheryl acetate, tocopherol, retinyl palmitate, sodium ascorbyl phosphate, vitamin A

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Homosalate 4%; Octisalate 4%; Oxybenzone 3%; Avobenzone 3%; Octocrylene 2%. Other Ingredients: Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (emollient thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), VP/Eicosene Copolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Sodium Cetearyl Sulfate (emulsifier), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin A/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Picea Abies (Spruce) Wood Extract (antioxidant), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol (emollient thickeners), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Titanium Dioxide (opacifying agent), Bentonite (absorbent thickener), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming agent), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally every morning after using Paula's Choice Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser and Moisture Boost Hydrating Toner. May also be applied over any Paula's Choice exfoliant or serum. Reapply as needed after swimming or excessive perspiration.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Should I reapply Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, it should be reapplied.

How is Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 different from Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30?

Although both products provide reliable broad-spectrum sun protection and have the same SPF rating, they do so using completely different active ingredients. Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 contains mineral actives (titanium dioxide and zinc oxide) while Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 contains synthetic active ingredients such as avobenzone. Because of this, Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 is preferred for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin.

The other notable difference is that Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 is designed to be used as part of the comprehensive Skin Recovery routine. Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 is designed to be used with our Moisture Boost Kit for those seeking a simpler skincare routine.

The other notable difference is that Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 30 is designed to be used as part of the comprehensive Skin Recovery routine. Moisture Boost Daily Restoring Complex SPF 30 is designed to be used with our Moisture Boost System for those seeking a less complicated skincare routine.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.376 3/6/2015 8:29:05 AM
Skip to Top of Page

Free Email Sign-Up

- Expert Skin Care & Makeup News & Advice (twice a month)
- New product reviews on Beautypedia (twice a month)

Enter Your Contact Information

Birthday (Optional)

 
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging | FREE Shipping on $50+