Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum

Scars, you need to lighten up already. This serum restores normal skin color, smooths skin anywhere you've got a scar. Now you can move on with a scar treatment that works.
Item #: 800
  • Reduces formation of scars on newly healed wounds
  • Visible results after 8 weeks of use

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum

Enter your email address below and we will notify you when this product is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 76 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. K Kirk
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Worked Perfectly on New Injury
    • I've burned myself mildly on my chest in the past with hot tea (reclining carelessly), and the spots took FOREVER to disappear. They were in the most obvious place on my very pale skin. Most recently, I burnt myself very, very badly (and yes, I've since updated my tea-drinking process)--far worse than before and in a much larger area. After it healed, I used the serum twice a day, and the horrible mark has almost vanished. It's now as light as my naturally healed lesser ones from a year ago!

  2. adm
    Reviewed on Monday, May 13, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Disappointed
    • I have several scars on my legs from injuries. Most of these scars are several years old, and I never thought a product could help, but, as a devoted fan of Paula's, I was so excited when this product came out that I bought two right away and set to work. After a few months of dedicated treatment, I've seen no change in the visibility of my scars, and I've nearly used up the second .5 oz bottle.

  3. Nina r
    Reviewed on Monday, May 13, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works, breaks me out on my face
    • This absolutely works. I've been using pretty religiously twice a day for a month. It has faded discolorations and new scars on my chest, a red acne scar on my neck and it speeds up any scabs. I'm a skin picker, it's a huge problem. This stuff def helps heal the redness from picked blemishes and scratches and whatnot but I use it sparingly on my face. I also break out very easily but it's worth it sometimes.

  4. DM
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Keeps new scars from forming
    • I have sensitive skin and usually scar from scratches and breakouts. When I recently skinned my knee on a tree while horse riding, the scar reducing serum kept a scar from appearing afterward.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, May 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Well it's gone
    • The small scar I treated with it has mostly disappeared - I actually battle to even find it in the mirror any more. So, I guess this really does work!

  6. BARBARA D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    User Friendly Container
    • I have been using this for several weeks on some new wounds. I love the bottle that this serum comes in-it is so easy to use!. I wish the retinol serum could come in a a similar but larger bottle. I have had trouble closing that bottle.

  7. ALLISON C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good product, but...
    • I love Paula's Choice--every since I discovered Paula's products, I don't want to use anything else. This, like many of her products, seems to work beautifully, unlike so many of the more expensive brands out there.

  8. Anna B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Impressive product
    • I'm a breast cancer survivor who has undergone a double mastectomy and reconstruction. Needless to say, my scars are extensive. I have tried everything from coconut oil to very expensive topicals that claim to be clinically proven to minimize the appearance of scars, but none have worked as well as this product seems to. My only complaint is that the tiny amount in each bottle does not go very far, making it almost prohibitively expensive for larger surgical scars like mine.

  9. Jacqueline C
    Reviewed on Friday, April 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skeptical to Convert
    • I used on a biopised area on my cheek after a scab formed. It is looking good, and so I'm using it on some areas of my hands. Those areas look fainter and feel great. I was pretty worried the biopsied area would prove to be cancer, but no, after two labs looked at it my dermatologist's office told me earlier this week that it was a sunspot. Hooray for Paula's Choice! By the time I found Paula, I was a longtime sunscreen user, but her line is my go-to line to use, I have 60-yr-old sensitive skin.

  10. Giovanni
    Reviewed on Friday, April 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Bottle
    • I've only been using this for a few days now and so far I can say that I like it. The texture reminds me of the Super Antioxidant Serum w/Retinol; my skin just drinks it in and I can already see some minor improvement in the texture of my skin. However, I have a problem with the pump -it took several primes to get it going. I would not get an even flow of product coming out of the bottle. Hopefully this was simply an issue with the bottle I received.

  11. Ann
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice texture but I broke out badly!
    • I love almost all Paula Choice products & they really have changed my skin for the better. However, after trying this product 3X I really did find that my acne-prone skin broke out.... I will use it sparingly from now on.. Thanks

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, April 09, 2013
    Hi there! Thank you for sharing your experience and we're sorry it wasn't the result you expected! If you are treating post-breakout marks on the face, the CLINICAL Scar Serum isn't the best choice (as it is designed primarily for injury-related damage to skin). We would recommend our RESIST BHA 9, which pairs the potent exfoliation of a time-released 9% salicylic acid with its natural anti-inflammatory benefits. A double-duty spot treatment perfect for breakouts! Contact our Customer Care Department and they would be happy to assist with recommendations, samples and exchanges/credits.
    —Admin
  12. Linda F.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    JURY STILL OUT, BUT HOPEFUL
    • My issue may be too involved for this to perform a miracle, and that's not what I expect. If I get some results, I will be happy. I have a 4 inch scar from thyroid cancer surgery in 2000. I didn't use anything on it except vitamin E oil, I didn't know about Mederma then if it was even available. Part of my scar is kind of "ropey" and it was very red for months. I see some improvement with 2 weeks use but I don't anticipate that it will completely diminish. Worth a try, though.

  13. Mary
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Works but causes breakouts
    • I have been using this one month. It diminished the redness significantly in a week when I had a red spot on my chin from a popped pimple. This product might be causing new pimples, because a few new ones popped up right next to the one I was treating. The same thing happened in 2 other areas I treated with this product. I am going to be careful and apply it directly and only to the spot and avoid surrounding skin. It also works on existing scars, but I have only seen minor improvement there.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! It is important to note that the Scar Reducing Serum is primarily a product for treating scars resulting from injuries (ideally, below the neck). If you are treating post-acne red marks on the face, consider our RESIST BHA 9, which is often more successful for that concern for a wider range of customers. Contact our Customer Care Department and they would be happy to assist with recommendations, samples and exchanges/credits.
    —Admin
  14. Samantha, J
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    works
    • I only gave it a 4 b/c not much comes in the bottle. I wish it came with more product. I've gone through it pretty quick. It does work though. I had a very bad rash from a reaction to a medication. The rash was huge red nasty bumps that would scab over then leave a scar. It was up and down both my lower legs. The rash went away but left very red scars, some raised. I've not worn shorts in public in 3 years! I've been using this product 2x a day and I can't wait to show off my scar-free legs!!

  15. Nancy B
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Working Well
    • I had surgery on my thyroid 2 1/2 months before buying this product and had been covering the scar with silicone sheets per my surgeon's advice. The scar was gradually improving. Since I've been using the serum along with the silicone sheets for the past couple of weeks, my scar has improved dramatically. Now I can't say for sure that it was the combo of the two treatments and not a natural progression, but the change was so dramatic, I think adding the serum led to the improvement.

  16. Lacey L
    Reviewed on Friday, April 05, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not sure yet...
    • I have been using the product for almost 3 weeks and have not seen a noticeable difference in the hyperpigmentation along my jaw line. I am wondering if I will see results with a little more long term use? Was hoping for faster and more noticeable results. However, I bought some sample Resist Clear Skin Hydrator and the Skin Balancing Antioxidant Serum and was really impressed with those products!! Still love the brand. My skin woes may just be more than a product will fix.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, April 05, 2013
    Hi there! Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this wasn't the right product for your concerns. The CLINICAL Scar-Reducing Serum was developed to treat scarring resulting from an injury to skin, while hyperpigmentation is often related to melanin (and won't respond as well to such a formula). Please contact our Customer Care and they can help with a credit, exchange and recommendations for alternative products!
    —Admin
  17. LIZABETH F.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Old scars, new scars, sun scars fade
    • I have been using this for six days straight: a fresh tree limb scar across my temple from yard cleaning, an old scarring area on my cheek from picking at a pimple, and an old curling iron burn on my neck. Also using it on old sun scarring on my chest. Within six days of using the serum 2x daily + the 10% AHA 1x, the scars have faded dramatically, including my chest! This, in addition to my regular PC products: retinol serum/30 SPF extra moisturizing sunscreen. Will re-order!

  18. Heather W.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazingly Beautiful Texture
    • I should probably have waited to review this product after having used it at least for a few days, but I couldn't. This serum has the most velvety-perfect texture, and would work perfectly as a foundation primer. I am going to commit to using it on my face as well as on my arms, where I particularly have some terrific scars, and will update regarding the results in lessening the appearance of the scars. Great formula, Paula, bravo!

  19. Britt
    Reviewed on Monday, March 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • Sometimes I get a huge cluster of giant deep blackheads on my nose that refuse to go away. I shouldn't pick, but I gore them out and end up with a mess. Skin flakes/scabs where I picked, I peel the flakey skin off, and I'm left with a raw skinless chunk on my nose that scars nastily. It usually take a month+ for the gross scar to heal up but with this serum it was healed up within a week! I apply it several times a day and no product has EVER made me heal this fast and made my scar so SMOOTH!!!

  20. Bryan
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Improvement in one week!
    • had three moles removed from my right leg last November. The wounds closed up well, but the new skin has been very red for months. It just wasn’t showing further sign of improvement,. After applying the scar-reducing serum to these spots (each is a bit larger than the size of a pencil eraser) I have noticed the redness is becoming a soft pink and the texture has improved quite a bit! Very encouraging. Also, I’ve taken to apply the Scar-Reducing Serum around my eyes and love the results!

  21. CANDICE J.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I am using for hypertrophic scar
    • I have a sternotomy scar that is healing hypertrophically (less than keloid, lumpy and raised) and have purchased silicone sheeting and Mederma and not thrilled with results. I have recently begun using Paula's product and am hopeful from improvement I can already see in coloration. I hope that this will eventually be available in larger size for which I would gladly pay for convenience on not having to reorder so soon. My scar is 8" long so I need to apply more than for scars on face etc.

  22. Susan H
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fabulous
    • I have only been using this product for a few days, but I have already noticed some redness reduction in a recent surgical scar. I just wish this product was offered in a larger size. Using it twice a day, one goes through the .5 ounce container pretty quickly.

  23. Scott B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    More than just scars!
    • I recieved this a few days ago, & I have to say I'm stunned by the quick results. I only have a few indented spots on my forehead (teenage acne), but the serum has already faded the appearance of the two largest. The big surprise, however, is the reduction in the appearance of fine lines, such as the slight crows feet and the "11" between my brows. Not only did I notice, but my mother, some friends, & 2 strangers commented on my great skin; the last 2 thought I was in my late 30's! (I'm 52). 5+

  24. GINETTE A.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful
    • I have been using this product on two long fresh scratches that I have on my arms and in a matter of days the color as gone from vivid pink to pale pink. Looks like it is working very well ! Thanks for this great addition !

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, March 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing already!!
    • I only got this product Thursday evening but after only a few days of using it and only once a day - I already noticed a huge improvment in the few scars I have on my cheek. Really like this product, I found it balls up if used underneath another product but if you mix it with whatever you would usually apply over a serum it doesnt ball up at all, of if using at night just apply after all your other products including moisturiser, again it wont ball up this way.

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum is formulated with proven ingredients that not only fade the appearance of scars, but also smooth skin's texture and promote optimal healing. High concentrations of the antioxidant quercetin, Vitamin C, and numerous skin-healing and skin-repairing ingredients reduce redness and inflammation, as well as dramatically minimize scar texture and restore normal color. This advanced complex helps prevent and reduce the formation of scars on newly healed wounds and helps older scars feel softer and smoother so they're less apparent. Results are long-lasting and can be visible in as little as 8 weeks of daily use.

Who is this product for?
Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum is formulated for anyone who wishes to reduce the appearance of scars, including surgical wounds, burns, cuts, and scrapes. Perfect for all skin types and ethnicities.

Sources to support the claims made for Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum

International Wound Journal, August 2012, pages 397–402; Journal of Vascular Surgery, June 2012, pages 1,826–1,828; Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine, January 2012, ePublication; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, October 2011, pages 1,168–1,172; Wound Repair and Regeneration, September 2011, Supplement, pages 16–21; Dermatology Research and Practice, October 2010 ePublication; International Journal of Molecular Medicine, March 2010, pages 347–352; Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, January 2010, pages 113–117; Burns, December 2009, pages 1,097–1,103; Journal of Ethnopharmacology, December 2009, pages 463–467; Dermatologic Surgery, November 2007, pages 1291–1302 and February 2006, pages 193–197; Surgical Endoscopy, October 2007, pages 1,826–1,834; and The Journal of Trauma, November 2004, pages 1,032–1,037.

Key Ingredients: ascorbic acid, alpha glucan oligosaccharide, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, Hypericum extract, quercetin, calendula extract, sodium hyaluronate, tocopherol, safflower seed oil, petrolatum

Product Ingredients:

Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent/healing agents), Silica (thickener), Petrolatum (emollient/skin protectant/healing agent), Quercetin (antioxidant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Ascorbic Acid (vitamin C/antioxidants), Alpha-Glucan Oligosaccharide (water-binding/repairing agent), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract (soothing plant extract/antioxidant), Hypericum Perforatum Flower Extract (antibacterial/soothing plant extract), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredient), Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil (non-fragrant plant oil), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent).

DIRECTIONS: Apply a thin layer to cleansed skin at least 2 times daily. During the day, follow with a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or higher if the affected area will be exposed to daylight. May be applied to wounded skin as soon as a scab forms. Do not apply to open or large wounds.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What do you mean by "scar-reducing"? What exactly is being reduced?

You can take the name of this product literally, because we mean exactly that: scars will be reduced. This includes every part of the scar, including texture, color, the thickness of newly formed scars, smoothness, and overall appearance. It can help improve the appearance of raised (keloid) scars, but won't eliminate them.

How long will it take to see results?

We recommend twice-daily application (you may apply more often if desired) for eight weeks or more before full results are seen. Ongoing use may produce even better results.

Does Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum work on older scars?

Generally, no. Scars that are more than two years old have, in most cases, fully formed, so they respond minimally, if at all, to a product like this. For older scars, we advise consulting a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon for options on how to improve the appearance. There are lasers and surgical techniques that can help make older scars less apparent.

How does Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum differ from Mederma?

Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum contains quercetin, a potent antioxidant found in many plant food along with several other ingredients known to promote healing and synthesize healthy collagen production as skin heals and after a scar has formed. Mederma contains an onion extract that research has shown conflicting information on: Some research shows it works, others say it’s no more effective than a placebo. Essentially, Mederma is a one-note product for scars but Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum contains a “symphony” of ingredients proven to influence how skin heals and how a scar will look. Because scars change and continue healing even after the initial scar is formed, it isn’t too late to begin applying a scar treatment to improve the final outcome.

If I'm using this for post-surgical scars, such as from a C-section, when can I begin applying it?

You may apply Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum once the surgical wound has been sutured or otherwise closed. We recommend continuing to apply it once your sutures dissolve or stitches are removed. If you remain unsure, it's always best to consult your physician.

If I use Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum on my face, at what point in my skincare routine would I apply it?

You would apply it after the serum step, but before moisturizer with sunscreen. As an example, you would cleanse, tone, apply an AHA or BHA exfoliant, apply serum, then Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum to the affected area, and finish with your daytime moisturizer.

At night, apply Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum before or after your facial moisturizer. Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum is compatible with every Paula's Choice product, including our skin lighteners and anti-acne products.

Is Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum suitable for rosacea-affected skin?

Yes. In fact, it's packed with soothing, healing, anti-inflammatory ingredients so you'll likely see reduced redness and irritation as it works to improve the appearance of scars.

Does Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum improve icepick, chicken pox, or indented acne scars?

Sadly, no—at least not to an impressive degree. Whether from cystic acne or chicken pox, these types of scars involve deeper damage to skin's supportive elements (collagen and elastin) and typically do not respond well to topical treatments. For best results with any indented scar, consider a series of laser treatments or dermal fillers from a dermatologist.

Can Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum be used on the face and body?

Yes! Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum may be applied anywhere you have an old or new scar. It may also be applied to wounds once a scab has formed, as this can help enhance the healing process and prevent the scab from drying out and falling off too soon (which increases the chance of scarring).

Does Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum work on raised (keloidal) scarring?

Partially, yes, but not to the extent that the keloid scar will go away. Ongoing use, especially coupled with a bandage to help compress the scar, will help flatten this type of scar and improve its coloration and thickness. For many, these improvements can make a beautiful difference! You can also consider cosmetic corrective treatments in conjunction to improve the appearance of this type of scarring.

Do I really have to apply sunscreen to the treated area, too?

Absolutely! Whether wounded or intact, skin needs daily sun protection to stay smooth, youthful, even-toned, and healthy. Daylight, whether the sun is shining or not, is a dangerous source of skin damage that destroys vital substances skin needs to repair itself and heal. When a wound or new scar is present, protecting it from sun damage will enhance and hasten healing and result in a much better cosmetic outcome for any type of scarring.

Will Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum help heal new tattoos?

Yes, this should be fine, though as a general rule we advise you to follow the at-home care instructions provided by the tattoo artist. Some recommend keeping a fresh tattoo coated with an ointment, and Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum can replace or be used with such a product. It does not matter if you apply the ointment or Scar-Reducing Serum first; you may also mix the two and apply the mixture to your new tattoo. Be sure to keep the tattooed area completely protected from daylight exposure as it heals.

What's the difference between this and all other Paula's Choice products you state help to improve the appearance of scars? You've suggested the Super Antioxidant Serum in the past, among other products for fading red marks and the like. Which one do I use?

Several of our products help improve red marks from acne, though technically those marks aren't scars they're just red discolorations. You may continue to use any of those products to continue to fade red marks from past breakouts.

Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum can help with this concern, too, but its main function is to reduce the formation and improve the appearance of scars resulting from wounds such as incisions, cuts, scrapes, and burns. If scars from those sources are not your concern, you do not need to add Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum to your routine. However, if you've been using one of our serums to improve the appearance of multiple types of scars, you can either switch to Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum or use both products (apply the serum fist, then follow with Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum).

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.