Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum

Scars, you need to lighten up already. This serum restores normal skin color, smooths skin anywhere you've got a scar. Now you can move on with a scar treatment that works.
Item #: 800
  • Reduces formation of scars on newly healed wounds
  • Visible results after 8 weeks of use

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum

Enter your email address below and we will notify you when this product is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 80 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. Laurie H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful results on a 9 month old scar
    • There is a very large, thick, red scar on the front of my neck from cervical spine surgery last April. After using this product for only a month, the redness has greatly diminished and the scar is so much softer. My expectations have already been exceeded since it is an older and very deep scar. I will continue using it morning and night in hopes of continued success!

  2. LAURA L.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great to minimize torn stitch scars
    • I used this product on mole removal incisions with and without stitches. One incision with stitches was opened up after healing from removing the stitches, but with 12 weeks of use (2x daily), this product dramatically faded the wound that had gone from a 1/2 inch line to a finger-print sized scar. There are no dots left from the stitch marks, and the larger scar is remarkably lighter. I now recommend this product to anyone - I'm even gifting it to friends who are scheduling surgery!

  3. Nicole G
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Scars are invisible
    • I had a laparoscopic appendectomy and was concerned about scarring from three small incisions. I quickly ordered Paula's scar reducing serum and began using it on my scars twice daily, beginning about a week after my surgery. This bottle lasted 6 weeks, and my scars are now practically invisible. Kudos to the surgeon who did an excellent job, but I believe this product really helped with minimizing my scars, as well.

  4. JOANNE D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Bypass scars
    • Have used product for almost 3 months on new triple bypass scars (chest and left arm scar). The left arm scar is more prominent then chest scar so it will take more treatment. My surgery was August 26 and began using this serum middle of October. Chest scar is looking fantastic! Started with 2 bottles, applying a thin layer of product 2 times a day (most days) and have half of second bottle left to go. Product feels great, applies easily, no irritation. Product seems to go a long way.

  5. KATRINA G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • Amazing!! Due to sinus problems I have had puffy eye long enough that I had tiny raised bumps under my eye from the skin stretching so I decided to try to see if this would help with my "eye stretch marks" Amazing!! I was using a potent serum for anti aging before, but this within a month I could see less of the bumps (obviously these are very small so I could see why this would work faster than other scars).. I'm still using it, but looking forward to being free from those under eye bumps!!!

  6. MAREN m.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Almost unbelievable (but requires patience)
    • I used this for months on some years-old acne scars-- a raised red bump, a pit, and a mark, and didn't see a difference for a while. But around month 5 (I think), I was surprised that the scars were actually less noticeable! If I could afford to buy this over and over, I'd use it on every funny mark I could find.

  7. TERESA B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Facial Scar
    • I had a benign mole removed from my nose and was told by the doctor that I would have a scar. I ordered this product in advance of the procedure and started applying it about a week after the mole was removed (instructions from doctor's office said to wait until wound healed). I have absolutely no scar at all! ABSOLUTELY NONE!

  8. ERIN
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It works!
    • I bought this for a brand new scar on my decolletage. It started as an itchy bug bite that I scratched viciously while I was half asleep. The skin broke, leading to a wound about the size of a dime. It looked like it would scar and maybe even become raised like a keloid. I've been applying this once a day, sometimes twice a day, for about 10 days and the scar is 90% gone. Just amazing.

  9. Lucy L
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Excellent for fresh burns/scars, not so much on old ones
    • I have four burns on my face and arms, all caused (foolishly) by my hair curler. Three of them are about 6 months old, and I've been treating them with this product for 6 weeks, but have yet to see clear results. Maybe slight fading? The newest burn scar, however, which I started treating as soon as it happened 2 weeks ago, is all but gone already. This really worked on it. Hoping the older ones will eventually fade too. Meanwhile I'll practice being more careful with my curler!

  10. RHONDA M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Eye Serum
    • Once my scar was gone, I decided to try to use the remainder of the product as an eye serum. Love it! Buying another for travel. The pump seems inconsistent in dispensing product, but it's never completely stopped. Wish this dispenser was like the BHA-9 which is very consistent and you can see how much product is left. I haven't let it stop me from using this antioxidant-rich formula on my eyes. I can really see improvement!

  11. GAIL D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product
    • I had knee surgery at the end of January of this year & it left me with 3 small scars. I had been using a drugstore brand to help diminish the scarring. That product did help but, as a long-time Paula's Choice customer, I thought maybe I could do better with this product. I have not been disappointed. Within 1 week I noticed a very visible reduction in the redness & all 3 scars are rapidly continuing to fade. I am so impressed & just ordered another bottle as I do not want to run out!

  12. Yasmine B.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 26, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed
    • I was disappointed in this product as I had high expectations. I'm a fan of PC and I love the ultra light super antioxidant serum. But I tried this product on different occasions over the course of three months and it seems to cause breakouts in the areas I apply this product. I can't say if this product works or not, because after a week of use I would break out then stop using the product for a few weeks and then try again with the same result.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Sunday, July 28, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We are so sorry to hear this product didn't work out for you. This product does not contain any commonly problematic ingredients but we understand that everyone's skin responds differently. Most often, breakouts experienced after using any product is pure coincidence. The breakouts also may coincide with hormonal fluctuations, which is true of both women and men. That being said we want you to be 100% satisfied with your purchase so please feel free to contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a return or exchange. They are always happy to help!
    —Admin
  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    MIRACLE WORKER
    • I have tried many different Paulas Choice products for my acne scars. Some of them had worked slightly, but this one has worked exceptionally! I cannot be any more happier with this product! I have had acne scars on my face and back for over 2 years and I was getting sick of it. I finally ordered this product as soon as I saw it and within 4 weeks almost all of my acne scars have vanished! Im telling you that if you have any stubborn acne scars that you want to get rid get this product! It works

  14. Cara
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 13, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Disappointing
    • Very thick so followed the previous reviewer's advice about not using it on my oily acne-prone face. Tried it on the acne scars on my chest. It erased the slight scaring but did nothing for older, darker scars. I think it works no better than an exfoliant and I will not be buying it again. Just not worth the price.

  15. SANDRA L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Impressive results
    • With the very first application I noticed a significant reduction in the deep red acne scars I have accumluated over the course of 25 years. I feel like a vain 16 year old every morning carefully inspecting the growing patches of "normal" skin as the space between the red marks grows every day. I expect within the next month or two that I will finally see individual pimples which is so very exciting! After a month of use, I am using half the foundation I have needed for my whole adult life.

  16. Bryan B
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This stuff works!
    • Over a year ago, I hit my shin against the underside of my car’s dash while getting out. It not only left a bruise but also a cut. I treated it with Neosporin, etc. and it healed OK, but left a discoloration that is still fading. Cut to a couple of months ago, and I do the exact same thing, only this time the injury is about ½ inch above the old one. I’ve been applying our Scar-Reducing Serum and covering it with a bandage daily and the wound is almost imperceptible!

  17. Amy J.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 05, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Really works but a little irritating
    • It works impressively on healing wounds to prevent scarring. I get less miraculous results on old scars but have noticed some fading and smoothing effects. My skin is pale and prone to scarring and this has been close to a miracle for me. However, it stings and irritates on application (and I do not use it on open wounds). The sensation fades quickly and does not appear to interfere with its healing effects. It is also a small amount of relatively expensive product, but it does what it says!

  18. kim g.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 29, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    irritating, didnt work
    • i love paulas products and have been using them for years. the consistency of this product is wonderful and a little goes a long way,however everytime I used it my scar would itch for about half an hour. I however continued to use it for 6 straight weeks and found no improvement. I wont continue as the itching became a problem...im glad there are others who have found this effective...maybe its beacause my scar isnt new, I have had it for about 3 years.....thank u for many fabulous products!

  19. Jean-Louise J.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It's working!
    • After only week my scar is smaller. I had a bad dog bite to my nose about 6 weeks ago leaving angry red raised scars. I have very pale skin and already the redness is gone. Gone I tell you! Completely. And the scars are at least 30% smaller. This product is amazing. Thank you Paula. I've been a loyal customer for about 13 years and this time, you nailed it!

  20. JeTaime
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    excellent customer service
    • I had a situation with the CLINICAL Scar-Reducing Serum - the pump wasn't dispensing the product. I emailed to ask about it, and immediately complimentary replacement product was sent. Thanks so much for your amazing customer service. I've been a Paula customer for about 15 years. Over 8 weeks, CLINICAL Scar-Reducing Serum has reduced fine lines & old acne scars. Smoother, softer skin, color/tone more even, redness around nose and eyes reduced significantly. Value for money!

  21. TIMOTHY W.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Impressive results on new scarring
    • I used this product for several weeks on a scar that was already fully healed, leaving only a red mark that would fade in time anyway. I did not see noticeable results, but was philosophical as it was already an old scar. However, when applied on a new graze (over the scab) I have witnessed 99% of the redness disappear within a week!I cannot speak as to this product's effectiveness on surgical or deeper scars, but for speeding the healing of minor scrapes and grazes it works wonderfully!

  22. Seth B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another great product
    • Love this stuff ever since I first started using it. I get acne often so once a blemish is on its way out i start applying this and it really helps speed up healing time! Heres a good trick too: I almost always apply any extra i pumped out onto my lips. I often have chapped lips even after diligent lip balm application. Maybe i'm imagining it but it seems to help smooth out my lips and ALSO they feel plumper! I also think my lip line is more defined. Love it, and love you guys!

  23. Sophia A
    Reviewed on Friday, June 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Even my Doctor was pleasantly surprised
    • I had 4 very angry incision marks on my abdomen from a recent surgery. After carefully following my post-op instructions, I applied Paula's Choice Clinical Scar Reducing Serum as directed. I returned to my doctor 6 weeks later for a check up and even she commented how fantastic the incision sites looked. Redness was reduced and the incision sites were flat and even. At the 3 month mark, they are almost gone. I'm a believer, thank you, Paula.

  24. Maryann M
    Reviewed on Friday, June 14, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    More Product Than You Think
    • I have recent surgery scars and a recent injury that could leave a big ugly scar. I have been using the product for about a month, so I can't give final results yet. I can say that the serum is very soothing to my sore tissues. I am on my second vial, but I am still able to pump a wee bit of serum out of the first vial before it stops each day. I wish for larger vials that might provide a little cost savings over the purchase of several small vials. It may take 2 more vials till I am healed.

  25. Brenda
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Worth a try
    • I have been using the serum twice a day on a second degree burn scar that was a year and a half old. Have been using for about 8 weeks. While not completely gone has faded my scar considerably. The scar was initially about 6" inches now considerably smaller and much lighter. After 8 weeks I am just starting to run out of serum. I would Highly recommend giving this product a try.

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum is formulated with proven ingredients that not only fade the appearance of scars, but also smooth skin's texture and promote optimal healing. High concentrations of the antioxidant quercetin, Vitamin C, and numerous skin-healing and skin-repairing ingredients reduce redness and inflammation, as well as dramatically minimize scar texture and restore normal color. This advanced complex helps prevent and reduce the formation of scars on newly healed wounds and helps older scars feel softer and smoother so they're less apparent. Results are long-lasting and can be visible in as little as 8 weeks of daily use.

Who is this product for?
Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum is formulated for anyone who wishes to reduce the appearance of scars, including surgical wounds, burns, cuts, and scrapes. Perfect for all skin types and ethnicities.

Sources to support the claims made for Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum

International Wound Journal, August 2012, pages 397–402; Journal of Vascular Surgery, June 2012, pages 1,826–1,828; Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine, January 2012, ePublication; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, October 2011, pages 1,168–1,172; Wound Repair and Regeneration, September 2011, Supplement, pages 16–21; Dermatology Research and Practice, October 2010 ePublication; International Journal of Molecular Medicine, March 2010, pages 347–352; Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, January 2010, pages 113–117; Burns, December 2009, pages 1,097–1,103; Journal of Ethnopharmacology, December 2009, pages 463–467; Dermatologic Surgery, November 2007, pages 1291–1302 and February 2006, pages 193–197; Surgical Endoscopy, October 2007, pages 1,826–1,834; and The Journal of Trauma, November 2004, pages 1,032–1,037.

Key Ingredients: ascorbic acid, alpha glucan oligosaccharide, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, Hypericum extract, quercetin, calendula extract, sodium hyaluronate, tocopherol, safflower seed oil, petrolatum

Product Ingredients:

Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent/healing agents), Silica (thickener), Petrolatum (emollient/skin protectant/healing agent), Quercetin (antioxidant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Ascorbic Acid (vitamin C/antioxidants), Alpha-Glucan Oligosaccharide (water-binding/repairing agent), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract (soothing plant extract/antioxidant), Hypericum Perforatum Flower Extract (antibacterial/soothing plant extract), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredient), Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil (non-fragrant plant oil), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent).

DIRECTIONS: Apply a thin layer to cleansed skin at least 2 times daily. During the day, follow with a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or higher if the affected area will be exposed to daylight. May be applied to wounded skin as soon as a scab forms. Do not apply to open or large wounds.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What do you mean by "scar-reducing"? What exactly is being reduced?

You can take the name of this product literally, because we mean exactly that: scars will be reduced. This includes every part of the scar, including texture, color, the thickness of newly formed scars, smoothness, and overall appearance. It can help improve the appearance of raised (keloid) scars, but won't eliminate them.

How long will it take to see results?

We recommend twice-daily application (you may apply more often if desired) for eight weeks or more before full results are seen. Ongoing use may produce even better results.

Does Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum work on older scars?

Generally, no. Scars that are more than two years old have, in most cases, fully formed, so they respond minimally, if at all, to a product like this. For older scars, we advise consulting a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon for options on how to improve the appearance. There are lasers and surgical techniques that can help make older scars less apparent.

How does Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum differ from Mederma?

Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum contains quercetin, a potent antioxidant found in many plant food along with several other ingredients known to promote healing and synthesize healthy collagen production as skin heals and after a scar has formed. Mederma contains an onion extract that research has shown conflicting information on: Some research shows it works, others say it’s no more effective than a placebo. Essentially, Mederma is a one-note product for scars but Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum contains a “symphony” of ingredients proven to influence how skin heals and how a scar will look. Because scars change and continue healing even after the initial scar is formed, it isn’t too late to begin applying a scar treatment to improve the final outcome.

If I'm using this for post-surgical scars, such as from a C-section, when can I begin applying it?

You may apply Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum once the surgical wound has been sutured or otherwise closed. We recommend continuing to apply it once your sutures dissolve or stitches are removed. If you remain unsure, it's always best to consult your physician.

If I use Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum on my face, at what point in my skincare routine would I apply it?

You would apply it after the serum step, but before moisturizer with sunscreen. As an example, you would cleanse, tone, apply an AHA or BHA exfoliant, apply serum, then Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum to the affected area, and finish with your daytime moisturizer.

At night, apply Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum before or after your facial moisturizer. Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum is compatible with every Paula's Choice product, including our skin lighteners and anti-acne products.

Is Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum suitable for rosacea-affected skin?

Yes. In fact, it's packed with soothing, healing, anti-inflammatory ingredients so you'll likely see reduced redness and irritation as it works to improve the appearance of scars.

Does Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum improve icepick, chicken pox, or indented acne scars?

Sadly, no—at least not to an impressive degree. Whether from cystic acne or chicken pox, these types of scars involve deeper damage to skin's supportive elements (collagen and elastin) and typically do not respond well to topical treatments. For best results with any indented scar, consider a series of laser treatments or dermal fillers from a dermatologist.

Can Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum be used on the face and body?

Yes! Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum may be applied anywhere you have an old or new scar. It may also be applied to wounds once a scab has formed, as this can help enhance the healing process and prevent the scab from drying out and falling off too soon (which increases the chance of scarring).

Does Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum work on raised (keloidal) scarring?

Partially, yes, but not to the extent that the keloid scar will go away. Ongoing use, especially coupled with a bandage to help compress the scar, will help flatten this type of scar and improve its coloration and thickness. For many, these improvements can make a beautiful difference! You can also consider cosmetic corrective treatments in conjunction to improve the appearance of this type of scarring.

Do I really have to apply sunscreen to the treated area, too?

Absolutely! Whether wounded or intact, skin needs daily sun protection to stay smooth, youthful, even-toned, and healthy. Daylight, whether the sun is shining or not, is a dangerous source of skin damage that destroys vital substances skin needs to repair itself and heal. When a wound or new scar is present, protecting it from sun damage will enhance and hasten healing and result in a much better cosmetic outcome for any type of scarring.

Will Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum help heal new tattoos?

Yes, this should be fine, though as a general rule we advise you to follow the at-home care instructions provided by the tattoo artist. Some recommend keeping a fresh tattoo coated with an ointment, and Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum can replace or be used with such a product. It does not matter if you apply the ointment or Scar-Reducing Serum first; you may also mix the two and apply the mixture to your new tattoo. Be sure to keep the tattooed area completely protected from daylight exposure as it heals.

What's the difference between this and all other Paula's Choice products you state help to improve the appearance of scars? You've suggested the Super Antioxidant Serum in the past, among other products for fading red marks and the like. Which one do I use?

Several of our products help improve red marks from acne, though technically those marks aren't scars they're just red discolorations. You may continue to use any of those products to continue to fade red marks from past breakouts.

Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum can help with this concern, too, but its main function is to reduce the formation and improve the appearance of scars resulting from wounds such as incisions, cuts, scrapes, and burns. If scars from those sources are not your concern, you do not need to add Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum to your routine. However, if you've been using one of our serums to improve the appearance of multiple types of scars, you can either switch to Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum or use both products (apply the serum fist, then follow with Clinical Scar-Reducing Serum).

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 4:32:46 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.