Items you may also like

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Time to fade out, brown spots. Lighten discolorations and even out your skin tone with this silky gel. It improves texture and reveals younger-looking, clearer skin.
Item #: 763
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots
  • Combination , Oily Skin
  • Contains the gold standard skin-lightening ingredient, hydroquinone
  • 2% BHA targets blackheads, exfoliates skin’s surface and inside pores

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

70 out of 100
(Based on 213 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. Kristi.C
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great all over exfoliator
    • I keep coming back to this product! I actually use this as my all over facial exfoliant- Even though I have very few freckles, I prefer this texture and feel over Paula's 1% and 2% exfoliant. In fact, I find this one less irritating and just as great for unclogging pores and evening my skin tone. As a side benefit my freckles are gone!

  2. K M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great For OIly Skin!
    • Have East Indian toned skin (Rekha/Beyoncé skin tone), acne prone, combo oil/dry: I use this on my oily t-zone daily in the evening, and the 7% AHA on my dry areas. after cleansing and toning (Resist) and before the RESIST Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator. Totally fades brown/black acne marks and gets rid of blackheads. My skin is almost mark free! The best! Now, need something to fade these dark elbows and knees!

  3. Karen G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Product for my Skin
    • I have been using the RESIST Triple-Action Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel, nightly for about 2 months. As a result, my sun-spots are fading, my skin-tone is more even, pores are smaller and red blotchiness is reduced. I have never before found a product that addressed and improved my aging, sensitive, combination, sun-damaged skin. Thank-you, Paula!

  4. Gina S.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite Skin Care Item
    • This is the one skin care product that has cleared my acne, even though I'd been trying my whole adult life. I love that it is two products in one, also. Love it!

  5. Brittany P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not sure yet
    • I haven't noticed a huge improvement in freckling yet, but it may need more time. I really like that I can apply two steps with one product. The gel can be sticky, and if I apply a tad too much, it balls up (wish this came in a liquid form). I really do not like the container. I was hoping the new packaging would be better, but it's not. The gel squeezes out way too fast, and some times globs out as soon as I take the lid off. It often makes a sticky mess, and I end up wasting a lot of product.

  6. Mary A
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • This is a great product! I only used it once and i immediately saw results. My skin was not as oily the next day and my skin feels so soft. My acne scars were lighter. I will definitely keep on using

  7. SUE M.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love., Love, Love
    • I have used this product for years. You get both lightening from hydroquinone & exfoliation from BHA. You do not need to use another exfoliant with this product. I have found the AHA exfoliants are to harsh for my sensitive skin. I am 54 & have great skin for my age, which I attribute liberal use of sunscreen & various Paula's Choice products. Someone mentioned a smell, I have used countless tubes & IMHO there is no scent whatsoever. This keeps the dark spots a bay & exfoliates very well.

  8. DENISE B.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    ABSOLUTELY THE BEST - LIFE-CHANGING!
    • Love, love love this product! My fair, dry skin responds extremely well to this BHA GEL. Lightens dark age spots on my face. Also effectively treats areas around my nose and chin to clear up little white bumps ; as well as getting rid of redness and uneven skin tone! Constantly receiving compliments on my beautiful flawless complexion. No one believes me when I tell them that I am 56! Thanks to Paula and her dedicated staff, I no longer have to worry about wearing foundation.

  9. Delisa B.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 10, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Stinky
    • I wanted to like this and I really hoped that it would work for the stubborn acne scars on my extremely pale skin. And it might be an effective product, but the smell of it was so gross that I couldn't keep using it and wait for results.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    Thank you for your review! Since Paula's Choice products are 100% fragrance free, you are probably noticing the smell of one or more of the natural raw materials used to make the product. If you would like samples of an alternative product for consideration, please contact our Customer Care Department and we will make sure that these are sent promptly.
    —Admin
  10. CARLA R.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    2 Steps in 1
    • I love that I can accomplish two steps with one product. I also use the the AHA version of this as well. This product (BHA version) I use for the face and sometimes my back, and the other version for the hands and arms.

  11. Tracy M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    THE BEST
    • I LOOOOOOOOOOOVE This stuff!!!! it's amazing at fading my freckles and balancing out the splotchiness in my skin tone. I use it at night as a night cream/treatment gel. It also tones and tightens my skin. When I get bored with it and decide to try something else I ALWAYS come back to this as my night cream because nothing else compares. AMAZING!!!

  12. Jackie W
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Break out
    • I so wanted this product to work as I have some dark spots that have appeared on both sides of my face. I first tried it and broke out. Thinking it was maybe just hormones I left it for a week and tried again, same thing. I love a bunch of Paula's products but sadly this one is not for me.

  13. Courtney D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 07, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Sensitive Skin... BEWARE!!
    • So I started using Paula's products a few months ago with great success. I have struggled with hormonal acne for a long time and was looking for something that would help get rid of my hyperpigmentation/brown spots. I was very excited to try this product. I have used it twice and my skin has had a horrible reaction. I applied a small amount but still my face ended up looking sun burned. VERY dissapointed. Love her products, BUT NOT THIS ONE

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    We're sorry to hear about your experience! It sounds as if your skin may not tolerate hydroquinone, which is the active melanin-fading ingredient in the RESIST Skin Lighteners. Please contact our Customer Care Department and they will be happy to help suggest alternatives or to help with a credit/exchange.
    —Admin
  14. Zora J.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed
    • I am a big fan of Paula's effective, affordable products. Unfortunately, this lightening gel didn't work for me. I have generally clear skin, but a bout of hormonal acne left some discoloration on my jawline. I hoped this product would help even my skintone; sadly, it irritated my face and left me looking like a spotty teenager. This is the first time I've had an adverse reaction to a Paula's Choice product. This gel clearly benefits many people, and I'm sorry it does not agree with my skin.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this didn't meet your expectations. It is important to note that red marks following a breakout won't respond to hydroquinone that is used in the RESIST Skin Lighteners (they aren't melanin-based). However, you may be a great candidate for BHA 9! Contact our Customer Care department for help with a credit, exchange or additional recommendations.
    —Admin
  15. Rebecca B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It works!
    • I love this! Even though I am relatively young, I can tell exactly where my skin was exposed to the sun due to darkened and freckled areas. I began using this on my face twice daily to relieve the light freckling across my nose which looks mottled from a distance. I have now been using it where I obviously got burned in my vneck area. Wow! In a week, my skin is lighter and nearly back to its original pale but healthy, natural color. Thank you! Time to try those frecklely arms! So excited

  16. katdog75
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love it!
    • Love this product. People are always complimenting me on how fair and even-toned my complexion is. This got rid of my dry, flaky skin and lightened up my freckles and sun damage. I now need much less foundation as my skin tone is very even. I know it is often recommended to use aha for sun damaged skin but aha always causes me to flake. Even with continued use aha still causes flaking.. but the bha in this product does a great job and no flaking!! Highly recommended!

  17. Sue
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product
    • I've been using this product for years. I have normal to oily combination skin. I like that you get two in one with this treatment, BHA for exfoliating, and hydroquinone for lightening sun induced spots. I use it on my face all over and followed by a lightweight serum and then sunscreen. I have really good skin for my age (54) and this product is one of the reasons why. Do not use it on the skin around your eyes - the skin there is too delicate. I would never be without it.

  18. Tammy S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A great combination product!
    • I've been using this product for 4 months now. I have a patch of melasma on my face from preganancy and I have moderate to severe adult acne. I thought this would be a great combination product, and it has mostly lived up to my expectations. In the first few weeks, my melasma seemed to get darker rather than lighter, but I continued to use the product because the acne improvement was dramatic - best over the counter product I've ever used for acne. After a couple of months the melasma began to improve as well. It is not completely gone yet, but I think it will eventually be eliminated with the continued use of this product. However, I would continue to use this product on the acne results alone. Bottom Line: Dramatic acne improvement, along with much slower dark spot improvement.

  19. Patrick
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very pleased, great product!
    • I've been using this with the complete Resist Skin Care System, and am very pleased with the results. My pores are noticeably smaller and my skin is clearer. I haven't been using it long enough to have full effect on my few, small discolored spots, but I understand that can take some time. I wanted to address some concerns that have been noted in other reviews. The product does have a smell (from the raw ingredients) but it dissipates quickly and doesn't linger. Personally I don't find it problematic. Others have commented on the product's consistency being too runny or watery and difficult to control the volume when dispensing. To solve this issue I do not remove the foil safety seal, and instead poke a hole in it with a pin. That makes it much easier to control/dispense the amount you want to use. Thanks Paula for a great product!

  20. rowr
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Unfortunately, zero results
    • LOVE love love Paula's choice products. Very disappointed in this one, used for a bit less than a year, then switched to another product, hoping it will work better. If anything, my brown spots just got more pronounced, and I do make sure to wear sunscreen with this. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear results are coming along slowly. You may consult with a dermatologist to see if a higher concentration of hydroquinone would work faster for you. In the meantime we will pass along your comments and feedback to Paula. Please contact customer care with any questions and for help with your routine.

  21. ANASTASIYA B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Makes my skin look great!
    • I love waking up in the morning and seeing my skin look healthy and radiant. This product does a great job at reducing pore size and making the skin look youthful. I have only been using it for a week and already see the difference. I need more time to tell the difference in brown spots appearance but I don't have a serious discoloration problem so even a little help is help. I'm going to keep using the product till it's all gone. The two negative qualities: the product is too runny and it's annoying to put it on my fingers before putting it on my face and it smells bad. I know that Paula said that fragrance free products are better for the skin so I'll just suck it up. Another quick point. I have oily skin and use gentle cleanser and still feel skin get tight after using this product. So make sure you use a moisturizer. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. If you have any questions or concerns please contact customer care, we are always happy to help.

  22. JK
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT
    • LOVE paula's products and especially this one. Fades sun spots! I wish there was a larger bottle so I could use it on more of my body!

  23. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    works then stops working
    • After about a week of using the product I did notice my marks to begin diminishing (only slightly). But after about a month of using the gel consistently it just did not improve my skin and my marks began to show again. After using this product for 3 months it is not as good as I hoped it would. Paula's Choice products work better than anything I have tried before but this BHA gel does not do what is advertised. Customer Care Response: Thank you for taking the time to review this product. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce more favorable results for you personally. While our lighteners do work for many consumers, we understand that each person will respond differently to products and ingredients. If you would like to contact customer care to discuss your skin type and how the product was being used, we are happy to assist you. Additionally, remember that we not only offer products, we also offer thousands of product recommendations in case ours don’t meet your needs. These can be viewed on www.Beautypedia.com. If you have any other concerns, please contact customer care, we are happy to help.

  24. Reg
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 04, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did not help with breakouts or marks
    • I have a mark on my back from a sunburn and this product did not help lighten it at all. It is exactly the same. I am truly disappointed. I'm a huge paula's choice products user and have been very happy with her products except this one. It didn't even help prevent back breakouts, I actually got a few more spots once I started using this. Wish it could've worked. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not noticed better results. The amount of time it will take to see improvement really can vary from person to person and ultimately depends on the extent of the condition or concerns they are trying to address. Some consumers will notice results promptly while others will notice results over a period of time such as months. If this mark is a scar then sadly only cosmetic lasers would provide a noticeable improvement but we may certainly help by analyzing how this product was being used as well as evaluating the rest of your routine to achieve the best results. Please contact customer care so that we may help.

  25. Rebecca
    Reviewed on Monday, November 12, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Loyal Paula's Customer!
    • This product is basically unusable. I can live with the smell (oh it's BAD) because it does pass eventually, but it's really runny and makes a mess. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. We have issued you an in-house credit for this product which can be used towards your next Paula's Choice phone order. In the meantime we encourage you to contact customer care so we can discuss your skin type and make other product recommendations.

« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel is a unique treatment for those struggling with discolorations and breakouts. 2% hydroquinone lightens sun-damaged areas while 2% salicylic acid exfoliates to reduce blemishes. This anti-aging lightener restores an even skin tone by fading skin discolorations caused by the sun or hormones. The silky, breathable gel texture is ideal for normal to oily skin. The formula glides on easily and absorbs without feeling sticky or greasy. Special packaging keeps key sensitive ingredients stable and prevents product discoloration. You'll see improved skin texture and clarity.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.4-3.8.

Who is this product for?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel is formulated for anyone struggling with skin discolorations, uneven skin tone from sun damage, and breakouts. It is best suited for normal to oily or combination skin.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Cutis, April 2008, pages 356–371 and August 2006, pages S6–S19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, pages S272–S281; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, September–October 2005, pages 592–597; Experimental Dermatology, January 2005, pages 34–40; April 2003, Supplemental, pages 57–63; and January 2003, pages S43–S50; Cancer Letters, December 2002, pages 125–135; Journal of Dermatological Science, August, 2001, Supplemental, pages 68–75; Molecular Carcinogenesis, July 2001, pages 152–160; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001, page 429; and Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Cosmetic Dermatology Principles and Practice 2nd Edition, McGraw Hill Medical Publishing, Leslie Baumann MD, 2009, pages 150–151 and page 316.

Key Ingredients: Epilobium angustifolium extract, licorice extract, hydroquinone, superoxide dismutase, aloe juice, salicylic acid, Aloe barbadensis, allantoin, glycerin, anti-irritant, BHA (beta hydroxy acid), dipotassium glycyrrhizate

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Hydroquinone 2% (melanin inhibitor)
Other Ingredients: Water, Ethoxydiglycol (solvent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent/water-binding agent), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate (anti-irritants), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (skin-conditioning agents), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Sodium Metabisulfite, Sodium Sulfite (stabilizers), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Polyquaternium-10 (thickener), Phytic Acid (antioxidant), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily to cleansed, toned skin. Spread a thin layer over areas where discolorations and breakouts are a concern. During the day, follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice sunscreen (essential to prevent discolorations from recurring). At night, follow with Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator and/or Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. Results for discolorations should appear after 8–12 weeks of consistent use.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the difference between the Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel and Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion?

The main differences are texture (gel vs. lotion) and the type of exfoliant included in the formula. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel was designed with normal to oily skin in mind, so it contains salicylic acid (BHA) which is preferred over AHAs for that skin type. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion contains glycolic acid and is ideal for someone with normal to dry skin. Both work to provide smoother, younger-looking skin.

Can I use an AHA or BHA in combination with either one of the skin lighteners?

Using an additional exfoliant may not be necessary with either skin lightening product, because both already contain them. However, if you prefer, you can alternate use of one of our AHA or BHA products with either skin lightener. If you're spot-applying one of our skin lighteners, then you can apply your regular AHA or BHA exfoliant to the rest of your face.

At what point in my routine do I apply the skin-lightening product?

Whether you're using our Resist Triple-Action Lotion or Gel, either product should be applied to dark spots or uneven areas twice daily after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. In the morning, follow with serum and moisturizer with sunscreen. At night, follow with serum and moisturizer.

If you're using a prescription retinoid product at night, apply that first, then follow with the Dark Spot Eraser.

I have heard/read from sources that hydroquinone is carcinogenic (cancer-causing) and the FDA wants to ban it. What does Paula think of that?

Paula has written about this topic on her Web site and in her books, but the summation is that the negative research about hydroquinone and the frightening assertions being levied in the media are not related to how this effective ingredient is used in skincare products sold in the United States. It has been, and still is, the most effective topical agent for fading and/or eliminating sun- or hormone-induced brown skin discolorations and there is copious research to support this conclusion (Sources: Cutis, August 2006, Supplemental pages 6–19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, Supplemental, pages 272–281).

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.351 11/23/2014 4:12:29 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.