Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief

I won’t be caught red handed. Or red faced. This gentle liquid calms sensitive skin and stops signs of rosacea in its tracks.
Item #: 321
  • Acne Breakouts, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • For All Skin Types
  • Soothes skin after hair removal or shaving

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 80 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. ASHA E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome Product ... Unbelievable Visible Results!
    • I had a an itchy reddish patch on my forearm from a mosquito bite. I was continuously itching it when I remembered that I had purchased this product and left it in my fridge. So I decided to try this for the first time. A few drops right on the patch and "Voila!" - the redness and bumps are gone, right in front of my eyes! Which makes me wonder - is there any other brand that delivers on 99.99% of the product claims, like Paula's Choice (and I don't mean just skincare brands)?!

  2. Rebecca R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE THIS PRODUCT TO PIECES!
    • I can't say enough about this product. I have combination skin with dry red flaky areas. The results are instantaneous, the texture is wonderful, and is the absolute best thing anyone could do for a sunburn or razor burn. No more redness, no stinging, no oily residue. This is the only product my boyfriend and I use constantly from head to toe. ENJOY.

  3. ELLA E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Relief is here!
    • I bought this to try and use after I exfoliate my face and body in the shower (I do this once about every 2 weeks or when I start to feel the build-up on my skin) and what a relief! This will be another staple product for me.

  4. SUSAN K.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Bug bite relief!
    • Occasionally, I get bit by one of these vicious little black ants when I'm working outside. About 24 hours later, the itch begins. I can scratch till I'm bleeding. But this product soothes the bites better than anything - also for mosquito bites. I don't really need it for the other purposes but it's great for insect bites or a rash from plants.

  5. Ava J
    Reviewed on Friday, July 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING!!!
    • I could actually give this product a lot more than 5 stars. A couple weeks ago, I was frustrated, depressed and was very desperate to try anything just to get relief from my dry, super itchy, red blotchy face. After trying this product, it only took 4 days and the redness was totally gone. The best part about it was that, I didn't sting at all. In fact I didn't feel anything at all which concerned me thinking it might not work. Boy was I wrong! Love this product! Thank you Paula!

  6. Francene
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    superb
    • I have used this like a toner (twice a day) for the last two months, and my skin looks brighter and less ruddy. Acne marks fade faster. It absorbs beautifully, with no residue (the old formula was kinda yucky). It has a rather medicinal smell, but I actually like that aspect, because when I put it on it feels like I'm doing something really proactive for my skin. No stinging or sensitivity whatsoever, not even in the eye area. Try it!

  7. Jolene b
    Reviewed on Friday, July 12, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    not for me
    • I was hoping it would be a great thing for my rosacea, but instead it made mine bubble up like I have never had before. dang!

  8. Michelle W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Whoah
    • I've only used it twice so far so I cant tell you how well it works for long term help of redness caused by rosacea on me, but it definitely soothes my skin. I decided to try out a few new things, and as usual one of them made my face burn. Immediately, I applied this and within 3 seconds the heat radiating off my face stopped. This is a prime example of why I do not own any face care products by any other brands, I threw the very last one in the trash today & refuse to ever buy another.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Saved my skin
    • I have very reactive skin. Every month or so I get random hives, broken irritated skin, redness, or inexplicable rashes. This product stops my reactive skin in its tracks, and within 2 days, will have my skin pretty much healed. It even works to calm redness from acne (can significantly reduce my need for concealer). My only complaint: since this is an "emergency" product for me -- not for daily use -- a smaller bottle (2oz?) would probably work better for me.

  10. Amy J.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The product I have been waiting for!
    • I don't use this for redness but to calm my sensitive skin and it works! My skin is less reactive and rashy since I started using it and better able to tolerate changes in temperature and humidity without going haywire. The texture is soothing - there is an emollient-feel to this liquid. However, I tried using it with a spray top and it's a bit heavy for that, so stick to just smoothing it over your skin. I use it in place of toner at night and it layers well with other producs. BRAVO PAULA!!

  11. LH
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Takes time, but works for me
    • For the past four years I have been struggling with redness (looks like sunburn, but isn't) on my nose and the area around the nose. I recently bought the old formula, which was sticky and didn't work on this. I broke down and tried this. It dries like water and is gentle. The effects were not dramatic but I kept with it and it really helped over time. Works great on rashes and dermatitis eruptions. too. I really like this, as my skin gets easily irritated.

  12. Krista D.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 24, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Didn't Help My Rosacea, BUT...
    • If you have skin that gets sensitive after shaving, try this. I get shaving rashes in my armpits so bad it almost hurts to keep my arms down, and this really helps with the swelling and discomfort. I've used it on insect bites with much success as well.

  13. Darinka D
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 23, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Disappointed......
    • Sadly, it looks as if I fall into the category of those for whom this isn't working. Instead of being soothed, I get even more intense redness and an unpleasant sensation. I've tried using just my hands to smooth this on, but the result is the same. I'm so glad some people are having such excellent results

  14. TIMOTHY W.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for post-show relief
    • I perform under hot lights and heavy makeup. Post-show I like to use the Gentle Touch Makeup Remover for my eyes and lips, followed by a generous amount of the RESIST Cleanser to remove foundation. My skin is quite prone to redess and always looks in need of some TLC at this point in the night. This new Redness reliefs works wonders, immediately soothing and calming my skin - allowing my to go and meet my guests at the stage door with confidence!

  15. Sung Won S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good for post shave
    • I use this product right after I finish my shaving. This is the most gentle toner I've ever had and it really does an excellent job on calming irritated skin after shave. This product is excellent for guys with sensitive skin and I'm pretty sure that it will work for guys with any skin type.

  16. CAROL M.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 14, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Good for mosquito bites
    • The potassium sorbate (used as preservative) resulted in immediate redness on my face. However, I tried this on a couple of itchy mosquito bites on my legs. Worked! Within minutes the itchiness was gone.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for random skin irritations!
    • I got this as a sample in my last order and was glad I had it on hand. My hubby woke up with a red, itchy, scaly area right at the corner of his eye. He tried hydrocortisone, antibiotic cream etc. and it just got worse. I gave him this to use and it instantly stopped the itchiness and reduced a bit of the redness. Within 2 days the area was completely healed. This product is one of those to have on hand for the whole family to use. Now I want to try this on my daughters eczema!

  18. Nissa
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A Staple in My Skincare Routine!
    • I have suffered from bright red checks for several years, for no known reason, and I've tried several methods of reducing the redness, to no avail. I purchased samples to try before investing in a full size, as I was skeptical. I noticed a reduction in redness almost right away after application, and it continued to reduce redness for several minutes. I can now use a light tinted moisturizer or concealer to cover up the small amount of remaining redness, and my favorite blushes actually show up!

  19. CAROL C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    RELIEF! Thanks, Paula!
    • The skin on my neck has chenged in the past year and become red and itchy. I've worked with an esthetician but had no change. Literally overnight I saw an instant calming & the next day the red was gone, WOW....I am so impressed! I am thrilled that I can go out without my chest looking like a red lobster. After it calmed down, I tried Paula's Skin Balancing spf 30 ultra sheer defence (sunscreen) and have had not a single day of itchyness or irritation....no pink or red! Worth every penny!

  20. ANJA
    Reviewed on Monday, May 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Quick tip!
    • When I first got this toner I was a bit skeptical. The first few days it didn't really do anything. I have slight KP on my cheeks which makes them pink. The one thing that I actually do with this product is soak a cotton pad with it and then split the cotton pad in two sections. I then place each one on a cheek and let it sit there while I brush my teeth and do my eye makeup. When I take them off my cheeks are calmed! Love this, just re-stocked :) hope is helps someone out.

  21. JENNIFER C.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Sadly, no results for me...
    • I'm normally the first to rave about a new Paula's product, but unfortunately, this one is just not cutting it. I bought it to help with redness associated with mild rosacea, but I've seen zero results thus far. I will continue to use it to see if there is any improvement in the long term, but so far I have better luck with my normal Skin Recovery Toner. I'm sure the formula is wonderful and I'm glad to see it's working for others, but I'll stick with my tried and true PC products!

  22. Yumiko B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful Product
    • Wonderful product and what an improvement made in terms of texture! I'd highly recommend my family to use this, either as an emergency toner to add to their regular routines to address roughness in their skin, or to calm their skin.

  23. LINDA H.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My New Favorite!
    • I get eczema on my face occasionally, especially when the pollen count is high. My skin seems to react with pollen allergies. This product has dramatically reduced the redness! My skin is very sensitive, and this product does have a calming effect! Thank you Paula!

  24. Kristin M.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for ingrown hairs
    • I think the biggest thing it did for me was with ingrown hair. I get ingrown hair whenever I pluck or wax, and it made a big difference with that. I even got a patch of razor burn on my legs and put a little there, and by the next morning the burn was almost gone, and in 24 hours it was completely gone!

  25. Le
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Reduce acne redness
    • This new formula is simply amazing. It doesn't sting at all and doesn't irritate my skin. Instead, I notice less redness, my skin looks calmer and it definitely helps with my acne-prone skin. Less inflammation, acne redness, etc., love it! I use it with the Paula's Choice CLEAR line.

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
This one-of-a-kind, Clinically-proven liquid treatment instantly relieves redness and calms sensitive skin—especially if you have rosacea. Its uniquely gentle formula is brimming with a specialized combination of potent antioxidants that diminish signs of aging while soothing anti-irritants, including willow bark and the active components of green tea, help normalize and heal the skin. Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief works quickly to reduce redness from multiple causes, including shaving, other types of hair removal, razor burn, even insect bites. It's excellent for reducing the redness that accompanies acne and sunburn too.

Who is this product for?
Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief is for anyone who wants to reduce mild to moderate skin redness caused by inflammation on both the face and body. It's a must-have for those suffering with rosacea or sensitive, easily irritated skin—and great for use while traveling (Don't leave home without it!). As an after-shave tonic it will instantaneously reduce redness and irritation.

Sources to support the claims made for Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief

Drug Discoveries and Therapeutics, October 2010, pages 362–367; International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Pathology, August 2010, pages 705–709; Rheumatology, July 2010 Epublication; Immunopharmacology and Immunotoxicology, Volume 31, 2009, pages 277–287; Food and Chemical Toxicology, August 2009, pages 2,142–2,149; and April 2008, pages 1,298–1,307; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, March–April 2002, pages 120–124; and Life Sciences, May 22, 1998, pages 401–407.

Key Ingredients: colloidal oatmeal, sea whip extract, Boerhavia diffusa root extract, oat beta-glucan, Salix alba extract

Product Ingredients:

Water, Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Sea Whip Extract, Oat Beta Glucan, Colloidal Oatmeal (anti-inflammatory agents), Epigallocatechin Gallate (green tea-derived antioxidant), Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract (plant-derived anti-irritant), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (plant-derived antioxidant), Phytic Acid (corn-derived chelating agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Potassium Sorbate (preservative), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Saturate a cotton ball or pad with Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief and gently stroke or dab over affected areas. If using it as an after-shave, pour a quarter-sized amount in your palm and dab on your face. Do not rinse off. You can use it in place of your regular Paula's Choice toner or immediately after. For facial use, follow with a Paula's Choice AHA or BHA exfoliant, antioxidant serum, and moisturizer. During the day, follow with a broad-spectrum sunscreen or foundation rated SPF 15 or higher.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Exactly what is Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief Treatment designed to do?

The chief benefit of Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief Treatment is to reduce inflammation and its symptoms, which include redness, itching, and other forms of minor irritation. It has a toner-like consistency that makes it easy to apply. This treatment may be used on facial and body skin; do not apply to the immediate eye area.

Can I use Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief in place of my toner?

Yes, or you may use it after applying your regular toner.

Is this just a spot treatment or can it be applied all over?

You can apply Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief Treatment to reddened, irritated areas or all over the face and/or body. It may be applied anywhere skin showing signs of redness or irritation, but avoid applying close to the eyes.

Is it OK to use Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief after a facial?

Absolutely! In fact, Clinical Instant Calm Advanced Redness Relief is ideal to apply before and after a facial (or microdermabrasion, facial peels, or light-emitting procedures such as IPL). Applied before such treatments, it's a preliminary measure to soothe skin; applied after your treatment, it reduces inflammation and discomfort.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.330
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.