Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner

Go for the glow. This comforting anti-aging toner smooths and repairs skin as it calms down redness. You'll wonder how you ever did without it.
Item #: 767
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Builds collagen for firmer skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 185 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 8 Next »
  1. JOANNE C.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic product
    • I've been using this toner for a few weeks now and I have to say that this is a fantastic product! I stopped using toners a long time ago because I felt they were a waste of money. But now that I'm wearing foundation everyday, I needed something to remove the last traces of it. This toner is very soothing and leaves my face feeling soft and hydrated, not greasy, shiny, or tight. It also noticeably reduces redness in my face, something I've lived with for a long time. A keeper!

  2. Scott B
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    One of my Faves!
    • I have been using the resist line since January 2013. I've tried all of the lines, and this is my favorite toner. I like all of them, but the Resist works so well, and is so soothing, that I order extra bottles. I use it to help do a mid-day clean up when I don't have access to a sink, to sooth post-shaving sting, to remove the slight amount of tinted moisturizer, even to remove temp face spackle. It's perfect!

  3. Julia S.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • I love this toner. Gentle, but effective, with anti-aging benefits. Win-win-win!

  4. Susanna in Seattle
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Fabulous toner
    • Paula used to say that toners were not necessary (like she still does about eye creams) and maybe they're not but I LOVE the way my skin feels after I use this toner. I use it on my face and neck every morning and evening. Some reviewers mentioned using this toner as a moisturizer which seems like a really interesting idea. Why four stars and not five? The cost. I will give it five stars if/when Paula releases it in a larger bottle so it's more economical.

  5. Ashly H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing Toner
    • I have very oily skin and use both the Resist and Hydralight toners. Hydralight is great, but Resist is amazing. It's smooth, refreshing and very light. It leaves my skin soft with no residue. The ingredients are top notch and are better than a lot of antioxidant serums on the market. And actually, when I'm in a hurry I use Hydralight toner and the Resist toner serves as my antioxidant serum. It's pretty much the best, most advanced toner available. Love it!

  6. Aline B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 17, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    not good for whiteheads
    • The product seemed to aggravate my proneness to whiteheads.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, July 25, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We are so sorry to hear this product didn't work out for you. This product does not contain any commonly problematic ingredients but we understand that everyone's skin responds differently. Most often, breakouts experienced after using any product is pure coincidence. The breakouts also may coincide with hormonal fluctuations, which is true of both women and men. That being said we want you to be 100% satisfied with your purchase so please feel free to contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a return or exchange. They are always happy to help!
    —Admin
  7. Leigh A
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this toner!
    • I have never been a big fan of toners until I tried this one. It's gentle, soothing and moisturizing--I use it as a one-step product for those times I'm in a rush and don't have time for all the steps. It does a great job removing makeup and leaving my skin feeling smooth and soft. The only problems with it are the size (I'm back for two more bottles) and the dispenser--it's too hard to get it out of the bottle. I solved the second problem by putting it into a pump dispenser--works great!

  8. Rebecca O.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I can't live without this toner
    • This is the most comforting, soothing, luxurious toner Paula offers. I can not be without it! It imparts just the right amount of moisture with absolutely no greasiness. It doubles as an an all-over body moisturizer when I am traveling and don't want to pack an extra bottle. LOVE IT.

  9. Monica S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another EXCELLENT product
    • I am still in awe at how quickly PC products are able to transform my face. This toner is amazing! I never thought a toner could make such a remarkable difference. Chalk up another 6 star, but I could only give it a 5. Again, customer service is incredible, the products are right priced, in fact, extremely well priced especially given the quality and quantity. I don't know how I missed PC products in all my years. Now I'm just kicking myself for not finding this sooner!!

  10. MELISSA N.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My toner for life!
    • I always felt that toners were too drying for me, even though I have oily skin. I tried this one from PC, and I am converted. I don't put it on cotton - I just put some in the palm of my hands and apply directly to my face. Very nice way to get my face prepared for my other treatments and moisturizer.

  11. Nikolai K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    a convert to paula's choice for life!
    • A truly incredible product! I have been following paula's advice for a couple of years now never bought a product without looking on beautypedia and noticed a big difference to my skin but nothing compared to the difference now that I'm using her product line ! This toner is probably one of the best ! Silky and smooth totally non irritating and I have very sensitive skin Completely in love!

  12. CAROL M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    used on hands
    • I obtained this toner as a sample. However when using this, I got this on my hands. Rubbed it in and my hands felt soft. Am I the only one who has considered using this on her hands. Typical hand creams make my palms greasy- yuck. This could work well as a hand treatment. not working for your face? try it on your hands instead! You might be surprised- expensive for a dailyuse hand cream but as a nightly treatment perhaps. I'm trying it!

  13. EVA B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Wanted to love it.....
    • I have used Paula's line for many years have embraced the Resist line with good results. I have sensitive skin that eventually reacts angrily to ingredients it doesn't like. I had been using Skin Recovery toner for years & loved it but decided to switch to Resist Toner. After using it for about a month, I broke out in dry, irritated, itchy patches on my upper cheeks & my eyelids (never used it on eyelids). By process of elimination, I realized it was the toner that caused it. Back to SR Toner.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, May 10, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry your experience wasn't what you had hoped! We would recommend contacting our Customer Care Department via phone or email. They will be happy to discuss your routine and the possible reasons for your experience. They can assist with a credit or exchange, too!
    —Admin
  14. Harry S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I use it as a moisturizer!
    • Even with skin as oily as mine, this is great at night after my regular toner (I alternate between Skin Balancing and a toner from another brand) as a super-light soothing moisturizer. I dispense a small amount in my palm, rub quickly to get it all over my hands, then quickly distribute it across the entirety of my face, being sure to get some around the eyes, as this is one of the few products I've used that causes no irritation there. It vanishes save for the feeling of silky goodness.

  15. Alex
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Moisturizer for Oily Flakey Skin
    • I apply this directly with my fingertips, and just a few drops is enough to cover my entire face. It's light enough to not give me breakouts, nor does it make my skin greasy or affect the way my makeup adheres, which is great. But it gets rid of flakiness even better than heavy moisturizers that I've tried. And it doesn't upset my rosacea or eczema! I hope they never stop making this. Oh - and a bottle lasts me several months!

  16. Alex
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Moisturizer for Oily Flakey Skin
    • I apply this directly with my fingertips, and just a few drops is enough to cover my entire face. It's light enough to not give me breakouts, nor does it make my skin greasy or affect the way my makeup adheres, which is great. But it gets rid of flakiness even better than heavy moisturizers that I've tried. And it doesn't upset my rosacea or eczema! I hope they never stop making this. Oh - and a bottle lasts me several months!

  17. Corrie
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Toners are my new moisturisers !
    • The beauty industry often implies one can do without toners but MUST use moisturisers. I have finally, finally realised that my easily congested pores only need Paula's great toners. The many moisturisers I've tried over many years (including Paula's) always ended up on my hands & body and not on my face as my easily congested pores couldn't cope. Now I only use this toner, alternating with the Skin Balancing Toner and Regular CLEAR toner and occasionally the RESIST ultra-light serum. Fantastic!

  18. ANITA g.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is amazing !
    • I love the way this product is packaged because you can place just a few drops on your finger tips without the fear of it pouring out. At first I tried it with a cotton pad, but then placed it directly to the skin and moved it about with my fingers and its incredible how nearly instantly my skin becomes smooth and tighter and just plain feels good. I have very sensitive skin, with the occasional pimple and redness and this is proving to be an essential for me. Love it!

  19. E.D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Liquid Moisturizer
    • This is liquid moisturizer. Fantastic. I have extremely dry skin, but I can often use this INSTEAD of moisturizer -- especially as a makeup primer. If your makeup slides off when applied over a rich moisturizer, try this instead. Awesome.

  20. Deb
    Reviewed on Monday, March 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Soothing and lovely
    • When I first tried this toner, I wasn't sure if it would be too creamy for my combination skin. I'm used to alcohol based toners and this is very different, with more of a moisturizing, lotiony texture. But after trying it, I'm really liking it. I've had no breakouts or reactions, even in my oily-prone areas and this definitely seems to help the treatment and serum and moisturizer products smooth on more easily. I do let this set for a few minutes before going on to the next steps.

  21. Nora M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Effective & Soothing
    • I used to use an alcohol-based, AHA & BHA combo toner morning and night, and then spent the rest of my skin care routine fighting dry skin. Well, duh, of course I did! Now that I've switched to this toner and saved my AHAs for Paula's Choice Weekly AHA product, I find that my skin is much smoother and softer after toning. This toner removes any last traces of makeup after washing my face, adds gentle moisturizing ingredients, and preps my skin for treatment products/moisturizer. Awesome product!

  22. SUZANNE T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Just about right...
    • This is a wonderful toner, unlike any I've ever tried in the past. The only drawbacks are the size and the price. I switched over to Skin Recovery Toner for those two reasons but the RESIST really is nicer.

  23. Jan C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great toner in a great lineup
    • Love this toner. I'm 2 weeks into using this toner, along with the corresponding cleanser, Barrier Repair Moisturizer and the Skin Balancing line's 2% BHA exfoliator. My skin is baby soft, redness has dissipated, and tone is evening every day. No breakouts even during the hormonally charged monthly time, which hit during this timeframe. (I would only echo what others have said that the bottle's hard plastic makes it somewhat hard to dispense.)

  24. Kris
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 17, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Soothing
    • I bought a couple bottles of the Resist Toner when they were on sale and found it to be gentle and very effective. I couldn't be more pleased with a toner except that it is in such a hard plastic bottle that I can't squeeze it out. I have to shake it alot for a drop at a time. Not worth the effort even though I love the product. I am not old but do suffer from arthritis so wish Paula would consider all women's needs.

  25. Darla
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Essential
    • Much more than a toner because it calms, hydrates, nourishes my skin.

« Prev Page of 8 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner has a unique milky texture that is ultra-soothing to instantly calm your skin. Its diverse cocktail of anti-aging ingredients preserves and reinforces skin's barrier, helps repair sun damage, and instantly restores radiance. This super-charged toner provides the essential elements aging skin needs to reduce wrinkles, quell redness, and improve skin tone. It is, without question, one of the most state-of-the-art toners we know of!

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is formulated for anyone with normal to very dry skin concerned with reducing the signs of aging. Excellent for all skin types experiencing seasonal dryness or struggling with dry, flaky patches.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner

Journal of Cosmetic Science, April 2010, pages 19–27; Archives of Dermatologic Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; FEBS Letters, December 2009, Epbulication; Dermato-Endocrinology, March 2009, pages 72–76; International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, September 2008, pages 2,166–2,178; Journal of Dermatological Science, August 2008, pages 89–102; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Food and Chemical Toxicology, April 2008, pages 1,298–1,307; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; and Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25.

Key Ingredients: hydrogenated lecithin, Cucurbita pepo seed extract, licorice extract, vitamin C, acetyl glucosamine, pumpkin seed extract, evening primrose oil, linoleic acid, cell-communicating ingredients, Oenothera biennis oil, tocopherol, lecithin, vitamin E, ferulic acid, antioxidant, caprylic/capric triglyceride, oleic acid, ascorbyl palmitate, glycerin, quercetin, gamma linolenic acid (GLA), skin-repairing ingredients, Glycyrrhiza glabra, sodium hyaluronate

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone-based skin-conditioning agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Glycerth-26 (emollient), Dimethiconol (silicone-based skin-conditioning agent), Linoleic Acid, Oleic Acid, Linolenic Acid (essential fatty acids/cell-communicating ingredients), Phospholipids (skin-identical ingredient), Carnosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Epigallocatechin Gallate, Genistein (antioxidants), Sodium Hyaluronate, Sphingolipids (skin-identical ingredients), Ferulic Acid (antioxidant), Laurdimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Soy Protein (skin-conditioning agent), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Acetyl Glucosamine (water-binding agent), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Ascorbyl Palmitate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Quercetin (antioxidant), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil (non-fragrant plant oil), Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root Extract, Curcubita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract (antioxidants), Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Laureth-23 (cleansing agent), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Aminomethyl Propanol (pH adjuster), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Sorbic Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Benzoic Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol(preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: After cleansing, apply toner to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with the rest of your morning or evening skincare routine. For daytime, finish with a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 25 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article

What do toners “tone”? I thought Paula didn’t recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you’ve removed all of your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and add hydrating ingredients to make skin softer, not to mention they’re another leave-on source for antioxidants and other ingredients that improve skin’s healthy functioning.

How do I know which toner is right for me? Besides skin type, what are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

All of our toners restore skin, help remove last traces of makeup, are alcohol- and fragrance-free, and contain no unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. They are great as an adjunct to a more thorough cleansing routine, especially post-workout or in hot/humid climates. Even more significantly, they go beyond the basics by offering skin benefits you can see and feel.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to dry aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Resist Weightless Advanced Repairing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to oily or breakout-prone aging skin with a broad range of targeted ingredients to help improve signs of aging plus reduce enlarged pores and reduce dry, flaky, uneven skin texture. It is ideal for those struggling with oily skin, wrinkles, and large pores.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is an excellent choice for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer texture than any of our other toners and contains more plant oils and other emollients than our Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner. This is a great option for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea accompanied by dry skin.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains ingredients that help soothe and restore normal to dry skin, plus it includes a greater amount of glycerin, a key ingredient to make dry skin look and feel better. It also contains a broad range of ingredients that aid the barrier repair process so those with dry skin (or normal skin with occasional dry patches) will receive even more benefit from their Paula’s Choice moisturizer and/or specialty product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, yet still provides an array of antioxidants, anti-irritants, and skin-protecting ingredients. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to dry skin, you can use Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner in the morning and Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner in the evening.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent for protecting skin from environmental damage or dryness. In addition, its cell-communicating ingredients can, in theory, help balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen or lead to reddened or blemished skin. Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner uses a more complex formulation than our Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, and helps restore normal cell function.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is a great option for those who want more protection and a soothing, soft, feeling on their skin, particularly those with sensitive skin. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to oily/combination skin, you may want use Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner in the morning and Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner in the evening.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 12:36:32 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.