Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Smaller pores start here. This lightly hydrating toner restores skin’s balance and minimizes pores. Helps control oily and combination skin, too.
Item #: 135
  • Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Wrinkles
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Reduces redness and eliminates flakey dry skin
  • Eliminates flaky, dehydrated skin

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 283 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 12 Next »
  1. Robyn T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best toner ever!
    • Gah, this is the best toner EVER! I have oily-combination, blackhead and acne-prone skin. This is, BY FAR, hands down, the BEST toner I have EVER put on my face. It feels fresh and clean on my skin. Other PC products apply flawlessly over it. I will never be without it!

  2. Jason B.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love It!
    • THIS is what I've been looking for! That little extra something to put on my skin after cleansing. It's as light as water, not greasy at all. No smell. No stinging. Just like soft cool water being swept across my skin and it seems to really soak in fast and sit inside the skin preventing that after-cleansing redness/dryness I get. This really is the only moisturizing product I feel comfortable using on my oily skin. It's FANTASTIC for redness. Redness disappears in two minutes - seriously! LOVE!

  3. J k
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Ah-mazing
    • This product I've only been using for a short while and it has done wonders. My face is less red and much less oilier. Although this product does not have fragrance I love the smell of it.. One thing that could be improved is packaging, it's okay, but could be better. As I find sometimes I use too much or too little.

  4. Alotta Pitts
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Isn't toner just a waste of money?
    • I've always thought buying toner was just throwing your money away. But I ordered this because it's recommended, along with BHA 9 and Resist retinol serum, for sebaceous hyperplasia. I can tell that this product just by itself is really fantastic. Smooth, cooling, doesn't leave a sticky or tacky feeling. But it is pricey so an I am not sure I'd buy it again. Maybe when it's on sale or I can say for sure "Yes! My SH is finally gone." I'm waiting to offer a review of the BHA. Crossing my fingers.

  5. Kelly T
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful - pores dramatically reduced
    • This toner was really effective for me. I was worried about the big black spots (enlarged pores) on my cheeks and nose. I feel like I tried everything to get rid of them, and nothing worked until I started using Paula's Choice products. It's only been a month and I can see a huge difference. I've also been getting tons of compliments from strangers on my skin. That's new, I feel like a movie star :) If you're not sure, do it! Ask their customer support if you have any questions - they guided me!

  6. Jasmine
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Toner of My Life!
    • This toner and the 2% BHA liquid were my very first PC purchases about a month ago. I've always had bad experiences with toners. Even though this one is alcohol-free, I was still anticipating dry, tight skin after use but not so! This toner does exactly what it says: balances skin. My oily areas are now normal and dry patches are hydrated. It removes any extra dirt my cleanser misses; my skin seems clearer and best of all, my face doesn't get oily throughout the day.

  7. Scott B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This normal/dry combo loves this for Summer care!
    • I have mostly normal skin, tho my cheeks and eye areas are dry. In the summer my usual dormant T-zone area kicks into high gear (thanks to Ohio's hot/humid season). This toner helps keep it under control without irritation or drying. I use it after the Resist toner, on forehead/nose, and I'm all set. Perfect!

  8. SJR
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Toner Without Stripping
    • For the same reasons that I like the Skin Balancing Cleanser, I also like this accompanying Toner. It leaves my skin clean & hydrated, without the subsequent feeling of being completely stripped of all moisture. Even people with super oily skin (like myself) do not benefit from the effects of products that strip the skin, because that causes the body to over produce oil in an effort to compensate for the excessive dryness.

  9. Vanessa
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Toner ever
    • The skin balancing system is perfect for my oily skin. This toner is so gentle. My pores are smaller, oiliness is gone, redness is gone and my skin tone is beautiful. Thank you Paula!!!

  10. Sue V.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    red burning bumps
    • my entire skincare minus the cleanser are PC products. And this was my first toner from them. Unfortunately after the very first use I got tiny red bumps all over my cheeks and forehead (developed a few hours after application). I tried it later that night and same thing. They itch very slightly. I am not sure if I should stop using it, but I dont want it to go to waste so I guess ill only be using this once a day. I would def get a few samples first to try this out.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 08, 2014

    Hi there! We're sorry the Skin Balancing Toner wasn't a fit for you! You may be sensitive to the amount of niacinamide in this formula, and we would recommend contacting our Customer Care Team so they can assist wtih an exchange or refund (as well as sample to experiment with). Consider trying our Hydralight Toner instead, which is an excellent alternative.

    —Admin
  11. valerie t.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    fantastic product
    • I realised after patting this on my skin, it looks clearer and my previous scar marks looks a tad lighter. it doesnt feel dry which i thought it may given it's more for oily skin. it is clearing the breakouts i had from using the SP bha 2% lotion. Thank God i bought both at the same time. i had ordered 2 of this since it's on a discount now. and i love Paula's Choice Customers Service. they had been most helpful!

  12. AnnaK
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wont do without
    • After recently discovering Paulas Choice products, I added this toner. Ive only been using for a couple of weeks now, but I won't stop. I hadnt used toners in years since most of them are harsh. So I will definately keep using a toner. And i wont consider anything but Paulas because she makes it too easy. No more guessing about ingredients being right for my complicated skin or not

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 27, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Try a sample first!
    • The SB line has transformed my friend's oily, acne-prone skin into gorgeousness, so I wanted to try it as well. However, this toner made different areas of my face start burning warmly (along the cheekbones, periphery of forehead, around the nose) and turn red. It also made my face extremely sensitive throughout the day, but my skin did feel firmer. Definitely try the sample before buying- you never know!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 28, 2014

    Hi there! We're sorry the Skin Balancing Toner wasn't a fit for you! The amount of niacinamide is potent in this formula, which while generally well tolerated, doesn't work for everyone. We would encourage you to contact our Customer Care team for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  14. Max B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best product in the WORLD
    • I have STUBBORN oily skin and almost nothing yields results for me (fine lines, dark spots, lots of clogs/cystic acne, and MASSIVE PORES) unless it is SUPER strength. I had given up hope and thought that i would always be an oil slick with disgusting skin but this saved me. The formulation is utterly outstanding!!!!! The ingredients tell my skin "shhh... you have everything you need! Take a break oil glands!" My skin has made a 360 in every way and i will always have this FOREVER!!!!!

  15. Juliana L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful toner
    • This is probably the best toner I have ever used. It works beautifully with the rest of PC products and it leaves my face very soft. It's perfect for someone like me with oily skin and enlarged pores. It complements the Clear line very well.

  16. Christine D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Just simply wow!
    • Hi. I rarely write reviews about products because very few surprise me and I'm always changing from one to another. HOWEVER, this is the first time I see results overnight. I started using the BHA 2% liquid and it dried out my skin around my nose so I decided to order the toner to see if it would help. Wow. I used it last night before and woke up today with soft, smooth and moisturized skin around my nose. Wow, simple wow.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Your advice for combating sebaceous hyperplasia is excellent!
    • First of all, you are the only skin care company I have found that even addresses this concern. Second, what you recommend works even better than the skin care protocol that my dermatologist suggested. Over the years, I have spent hundreds of dollars on lotions and potions that claim to help improve skin texture and wrinkles.They have all proved disappointing until now. The triple combination of the Resist BHA 9, the Resist Retinol Serum, and the Skin Balancing Pore Reducing Toner is amazing!

  18. Tanika G.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    All about my face
    • I am a complete skin care freak and have purchased products from Biore to Clinique and while both have worked pretty good for me, Paula's Choice has really catered to my combo skin. I've had phenomenal results in the two weeks I've used these products and my face looks and feels FLAWLESS! I won't be changing up anytime soon.

  19. AimeeT
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Niacinamide is a deal-breaker
    • It took me months of trial and error to realize that the niacinamide in this is causing my face to flush. Too bad, because my hard water leaves a film on my skin, and my face feels stripped without a toner. I feel like Paula is over-loading her products with too many ingredients, making it difficult for those of us with sensitive or breakout-prone skin to use anything without difficulty.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, March 20, 2014

    Hi Aimee! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we will discuss your concerns with the team. We would also encourage you consider our Hydralight or Earth Sourced Toners, neither of which contain niacinamide and are both excellent for those with sensitive and acne-prone skin.  Please contact our Customer Care Department for help with a refund, exchange and samples to experiment with.

    —Admin
  20. Farhan Wahab
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This product changed my view on facial toner
    • I love this product! The fact that it doesn't sting onto my face, unlike Burt Bee's facial toner, is really wonderful! I love how my skin glows after usage, and I could probably use it like a form of 'moisturiser' even though it shouldn't be that way. I live in hot and humid Singapore, therefore this toner works really well for me! Oily T zone, no more!

  21. Nicole D.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Persist - it's worth it!
    • Ok, this toner did not start out well for me - I broke out in little red lumps all over my face..... then I started peeling! But given I'd accidently ordered two bottles instead of one, and determined for it not to be a total waste - I kept using it. It took nearly a week for the peeling to settle, but now my skin is really smooth and feels fantastic! My advice is to give it at least a week or so before throwing it out!

  22. Kelly C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Greasy roots be gone!
    • I recently ordered the entire Skin Balancing line, and it works really well.Today I used this toner to de-grease the roots of my hair and it worked better than anything I had ever tried.I put some on a cotton pad and just dabbed my roots.PERFECT oil control! My hair feels and looks fresh and clean.

  23. Ariel v.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a product that works
    • This product does what it says it will. I have been using for 5 days and have noticed a marked improvement in my skin texture and clarity. I never would have thought a toner would be the magic ingredient for my skin to finally calm down and look lovely, but it seems to be!

  24. Allison
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Like this toner
    • I use this toner, the resist and the moisture boost. This is my favorite one. I've noticed my skins seems to look the best after using it. The moisture boost irritates my skin for some reason - makes it burn. This is one I'll probably re-order when I'm out.

  25. Katie V.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    GREAT product
    • This is my favorite product to use - it is awesome! Light and refreshing.

« Prev Page of 12 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Unlike most other toners on the market, Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner is famous for offering potent antioxidants, anti-irritants and cell-communicating ingredients which help restore normal function to damaged, misbehaving cells. When used after cleansing, it helps skin restore and repair itself. This truly state-of-the-art toner helps balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen. Redness is reduced while slightly dry, flaky areas are made smooth and soft. It also helps to remove last traces of makeup and may be the only "moisturizer" your normal to oily skin needs during summer months or in humid climates.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
This toner has been specially formulated for normal to oily/combination skin. It is also a good option for acne-prone skin. 

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Experimental  Biology and Medicine, November 2008, pages 1,469–1,477; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9;  International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, volume 124, issue 4, April 2005, pages 756–763; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, March–April 2004, pages 90–96; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; and Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73.

Key Ingredients: vitamin C, adenosine triphosphate, glycerin, Arctium lappa, niacinamide, sodium PCA, chamomile, sodium hyaluronate, cholesterol, ceramides

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communcating ingredient), Adenosine Triphosphate (cell-communicating ingredient/skin conditioning agent), Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Arctium Lappa (Burdock) Root Extract (antioxidant), Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (skin conditioning agents), Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate (skin conditioning agent), Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol (lipid-based skin-repairing ingredients), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Oleth-10, DEA-Oleth-10 Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate (emulsifiers), Polysorbate-20 (skin conditioning agent), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Trisodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients.

What are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners and how do I know which one is best for me?

Every Paula's Choice toner repairs skin, provides antioxidants, and anti-aging ingredients plus helps remove last traces of makeup. They do not contain alcohol, fragrance, or unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. Below you'll find a brief description for each distinct toner.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains a broad range of ingredients that aid skin's barrier repair process so those with normal to dry skin will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or treatment product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage, redness, or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a rich, milky liquid texture and contains more plant oils and other emollients for intense hydration. Excellent for rosacea!

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent to help normalize skin and reduce signs of extreme combination skin (oily and dry areas). Its cell-communicating ingredients help balance skin and reduce enlarged pores.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.330
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.