Items you may also like

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Turn down sensitive, reddened skin and signs of rosacea with this milky liquid toner. Makes other products work even better.
Item #: 125
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Immediately hydrates dry skin
  • Great to use around your eyes

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 154 Reviews)
Page of 7 Next »
  1. Y. L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great toner
    • This toner is super cool. It makes skin smooth and immediately hydrates skin as in description. Strongly recommend for those who has dry skin.

  2. Kay G
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this toner
    • I use this toner with the CLEAR acne kit, and I love it. It calms my redness and rosacea, and hydrates my skin really well.

  3. Stephanie H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really nice
    • This toner is great. It provides a nice splash of moisture after cleansing and I could feel it absorbing into my skin. Will be really nice for those days this coming winter when my skin is feeling a little thirsty. Great product. Thank you Paula + team!

  4. S.W.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It's fantastic
    • I use this toner mostly at night, or whenever my skin has gotten really dehydrated. My skin is overall normal so this product is actually rich enough for me to not really need a moisturizer afterward, but it absorbs FAST & doesn't sit on my face. I usually just pour a bit into my palms & pat it on b/c I feel like using a cotton pad absorbs too much of it. It makes my face feel instantly fresher. If you have hydration problems, even with more normal skin, try this, seriously!

  5. Lauren A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Holy Grail Toner
    • I never really used toners. The only other one that I used for a long period of time left me dry and thirsting for more moisturizer. This milky toner leaves my skin just as "wet" as when I washed it, and I can see dehydration wrinkles disappear as I put it on. It's so important to my skin routine that I'll use it on my forearms, and pat some more on my face when I want to really heal my skin (I have eczema). Will repurchase forever! Please make a larger container, like the 16oz. cleanser!

  6. Jane
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A must have!
    • Gentle and effective toner for those of us with Rosacea. No irritation. I can tell a difference when I do not use this product. My skin will not feel as soft, supple or hydrated. Another great product from PC!

  7. Wendy K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Can't Be Without!
    • Haven't used a toner in years as most out there are way too harsh. Now I found this one!! Does what a toner should and leaves my skin moisturized and glowing. Sometimes I don't event need to use moisturizer. Try it you will be glad you did!

  8. ItsAllGood
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Calming and soothing
    • Perfect toner for my Extra Sensitive Rosacea affected skin. I use this toner after cleansing with Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser and my skin feels so good after using these two products, calmed and soothed. NO redness or irritation even with my extra sensitive rosacea affected skin. Paula really knows what she is doing! Thank you Paula. These were the only two products I ordered but, now I am a believer and just spent $400. for the rest of my skin care needs. Will report back soon.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent toner!
    • I've never used a toner before trying the SR toner. I really didn't think there was a need for one. But after using the SR toner, I will never go without using a toner (this one of course). I have very sensitive skin with some mild redness and mostly dry. My skin has never felt so calm and smooth! I could feel the difference after the very first use. I will definitely be reordering this one!

  10. Elise
    Reviewed on Friday, July 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another A+
    • I never used to believe in toners until I found this one. After washing my face, my skin begins to feel tight and dry until I put this all over. I love the milky consistency and how quickly it works.

  11. Kristen P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful Final Cleansing Step
    • I love this toner! I have dry skin, and I have yet to find a cleanser does not leave me feeling tight. The Skin Recovery toner takes away that tight feeling and makes my skin feel perfect. I really do think it helps prep my skin for the next products because my skin no longer soaks up my exfoliants/serums/moisturizers like a sponge. Now I can actually use less (and the proper amounts) of these products - which means an added bonus of this toner is that it saves me money!

  12. Margaret R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for Combination Skin!
    • I use the Skin Recovery Mask on my flaky, dry cheeks and needed some more moisture there so I tried the Skin Recovery toner. I have now broken out all over my T-zone. What toner can I use that won't cause me to break out? Moisture Boost Toner is not moisturizing enough for me and I'm not going to buy different toners for different parts of my face. I feel that I need a toner to protect my cheeks from flaking when I use my exfoliant (PC 1% BHA Lotion).

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, July 01, 2014

    Hello! None of our toners are capable of causing breakouts (as in true acne), so we suspect you experienced an allergic contact dermatitis to the Skin Recovery formula. This reactoin can resemble an acne-like breakout and tends to occur quickly.  Your skin may be sensitive to one or more of the ingredients it contains, so please contact us for a refund or exchange. We recommend Skin Balancinf Pore-Reducing Toner or you can also consider a very light moisturizer, such as our Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Gel.

    —Admin
  13. Karen D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Won me over
    • I'd always thought toners were optional and since my skin is dry and toners are notorious for being filled with alcohol and other drying ingredients, I skipped it. This toner is truly unique. My skin feels refreshed and super clean, AND there has been a noted reduction in dryness/redness on my cheeks and forehead. A toner, specifically this one, is now an essential in my routine. Thank you, Paula and team!

  14. Anika
    Reviewed on Monday, June 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    perfect toner!
    • i love this stuff. it gives my skin some moisture without the feeling of anything on it. feels really fresh. i like the added moisture to my nightly routine. definitely recommend

  15. Marissa C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    not just for dry skin
    • In my search for a toner with niacinmide that wasn't quite as strong as the skin balancing I found this. The milky texture is unlike any other toner I've used and your skin will love you for it. Make aure to shake well like the bottle says. A great treat for my skin after a harsh winter and not too emollient (so far) for the warmer weather.

  16. Courtney A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Results in one week?
    • I have sensitive skin with an oily T-zone and dry under eye area. I also use retin-A for hormonal acne along my jaw line. No toner or moisturizer has ever been sensitive enough to use on my face. Everything stings and irritates the area treated with retin-A. I’ve tried everything. I received samples of this product and used it daily for a week. My pores are smaller and my skin feels cleaner and balanced, but most of all it’s CALMER. This soothes and balances my skin like no other product.

  17. JENNIFER M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fresh and moisturizing
    • This toner is a godsend. I have, or should I say, had, extremely dry patches between my eyebrows, around my nostrils & at times, other parts of my face. This toner is perfect for prepping my face. It leaves my face feeling extremely clean & fresh. This in conjunction with BHA Lotion 2%, skin recovery serum, and Resist Super Light Daily Defense SPF 30 have made my face glowing. People comment all the time how I look radiant, without makeup on. I will never be without this toner. It's my HG!

  18. Julie R.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I no longer fear toner
    • I had avoided toners all my adult life, remembering the stinging I suffered through using toner as a teen. Last year I decided to try a sample because I noticed the word CALMING. My sensitive skin stays calm, but I am excited! I'm getting the extra everyday grime off my face, and not fanning my face like I've been pepper-sprayed.

  19. Morgan H.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very soothing!
    • It's taken some trial and error for me to find the right toner, but I like this. I tried the Hydralight toner first, but it was too drying for my normal / combination / a little dry skin type. So I decided to try the Skin Recovery one and it works! I was actually really impressed because I was using a hydroquinonine cream to lighten spots, but the hydroquinonine ended up making my skin peel horribly. I used the skin recovery toner to soothe my peeling skin while it healed and this helped a lot!

  20. Samantha R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Saved my neck!
    • I use the skin balancing toner on my face, but SRECT is best for my neck, decolletage & round my eyes - I even splash some on my hands before bed every night! Brilliant product :-)

  21. Janice
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skin Recovering Enriched Calming Toner
    • I would give this 10 stars & more if I could! Just simply the best that is out there. I have dry, sensitive, slight rocasia skin. Not only is it hydrating with no fragrance, but slightly moisturizing as well. The price is great too, When I order this, I order 2 at a time! I never want to be without this product. Thanks Paula!

  22. ASHLEY M.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • I love this toner. I have combination, super sensitive skin with rosacea, and this toner evens out my skin without irritating it. I've never really thought of toner as essential, but this one is for me. It's just a little hydrating, and also calming. It really helps my skin, especially in winter.

  23. Alyssa G.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lovely!
    • This toner absorbs into your skin so well, even with combo skin I'm not greasy or dewy after! Very soothing.

  24. Lola M
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    SKIN RECOVERY TONER
    • This toner is so soothing. I love it!!!

  25. Jennifer K.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    so soothing
    • I love this toner -- it instantly soothes and softens skin. I pour a little bit in my palms and pat it onto my face rather than using a cotton ball. Seems okay to use around the eyes.

Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer consistency than any other toner you may have tried (save for Paula's Choice Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner). Its milky texture is loaded with skin-protecting antioxidants, essential lipids, cell-communicating ingredients and restorative skin-identical ingredients to leave your skin feeling silky-smooth and better able to recover from damage. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner delivers key ingredients which are vital to reviving skin's intercellular matrix to help eliminate dry, flaky skin as it soothes redness and sensitivity. When used after cleansing, it helps skin restore and repair itself so it can look and act younger. It also works to remove last traces of makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner is best for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun-damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery ENRICHED CALMING Toner

FEBS Letters, December 2009, Epbulication; Dermato-Endocrinology, March 2009, pages 72–76; International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Archives of Pharmacal Research, December 2002, pages 747–758; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73Skin Research and Technology, November 2001, pages 227–237; and Contact Dermatitis, November 1998, pages 231–239; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: borage seed oil, ascorbyl palmitate, vitamin E, vitamin C, allantoin, evening primrose oil, tocopherol, niacinamide, sodium hyaluronate, hydrogenated lecithin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Glycereth-26 (glycerin- and glycol-based water-binding agent), Dimethiconol (silicone slip agent), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Borago Officinalis (Borage) Seed Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Hydrogenated Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (emollient), Linoleamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate (stabilizer), Laureth-4, Laureth-23 (emulsifiers), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, and Sorbic Acid (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Shake well. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What do toners “tone”? I thought Paula didn’t recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you’ve removed all of your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and add hydrating ingredients to make skin softer, not to mention they’re another leave-on source for antioxidants and other ingredients that improve skin’s healthy functioning.

How do I know which toner is right for me? Besides skin type, what are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

All of our toners restore skin, help remove last traces of makeup, are alcohol- and fragrance-free, and contain no unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. They are great as an adjunct to a more thorough cleansing routine, especially post-workout or in hot/humid climates. Even more significantly, they go beyond the basics by offering skin benefits you can see and feel.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to dry aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Resist Weightless Advanced Repairing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to oily or breakout-prone aging skin with a broad range of targeted ingredients to help improve signs of aging plus reduce enlarged pores and reduce dry, flaky, uneven skin texture. It is ideal for those struggling with oily skin, wrinkles, and large pores.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is an excellent choice for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer texture than any of our other toners and contains more plant oils and other emollients than our Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner. This is a great option for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea accompanied by dry skin.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains ingredients that help soothe and restore normal to dry skin, plus it includes a greater amount of glycerin, a key ingredient to make dry skin look and feel better. It also contains a broad range of ingredients that aid the barrier repair process so those with dry skin (or normal skin with occasional dry patches) will receive even more benefit from their Paula’s Choice moisturizer and/or specialty product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, yet still provides an array of antioxidants, anti-irritants, and skin-protecting ingredients. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to dry skin, you can use Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner in the morning and Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner in the evening.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent for protecting skin from environmental damage or dryness. In addition, its cell-communicating ingredients can, in theory, help balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen or lead to reddened or blemished skin. Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner uses a more complex formulation than our Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, and helps restore normal cell function.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is a great option for those who want more protection and a soothing, soft, feeling on their skin, particularly those with sensitive skin. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to oily/combination skin, you may want use Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner in the morning and Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner in the evening.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.351 11/21/2014 1:20:18 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.