Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Turn down sensitive, reddened skin and signs of rosacea with this milky liquid toner. Makes other products work even better.
Item #: 125
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Immediately hydrates dry skin
  • Great to use around your eyes

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 151 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Kat
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Not sorry I finally tried this!
    • For a long time, I considered toners unnecessary. After all, most I had used were either irritating or useless. At 56 years old, I have issues with breaking out (which has flared up with menopause), extreme sensitivity, flaky skin, eczema--and redness, although not diagnosed rosacea. I have been a beauty products junkie since my teens, mostly searching for skin care that actually works and makeup I can use without breaking out or irritation. I found Paula's products several years ago, and have gradually replaced my other products with hers. As a person who prefers natural products but is sensitive to essential oils--it's hard to find "natural" products that don't incorporate them--I at first found her "non"-natural approach off-putting, but hey, it works! More than I can say for the vast majority of other products I've used. For my most recent Paula's order, the reviews here convinced me to try this toner. I have been amazed! As I said above, menopause has caused my poor chin to flare up, basically looking like raw meat. This stuff is SO soothing--wish I could bathe in it! Combined with judicious use of the BHA 9, my chin once again is skin-colored. I will never be without this again. Thank you, Paula and team! We appreciate your dedication to effective skin care.

  2. JENNIFER C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another hit!
    • I love this toner. It's so hydrating and leaves my skin feeling ultra soft. I recently switched to the resist toner as I heard it was a "super-charged" version of this one. While I don't dislike the resist toner, I find it a bit more irritating on my skin (I do have rosacea) - thus I'll be switching back to this toner when my bottle is done.

  3. Megan
    Reviewed on Friday, November 23, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great but packaging is flawed
    • I've been using this product a while and I love it, but the new packaging is leaky... When I shake it and then open the lid, it leaks everywhere, like the lid doesn't fit tightly enough and liquid gets into a space in the top, only to drip out everywhere when you open it. Otherwise it's a great product... Leaves my skin silky smooth and less red. I've been buying it for a while now and not been disappointed until now. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will certainly pass along your comments and feedback about the packaging to Paula! We are currently improving all our packaging and trying to make the bottles/tubes easier to use. In the meantime we will send you a replacement tube to try and hope it works better for you. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  4. Erina
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • Just like the skin recovery cream cleanser, I really love this calming toner. It lightly moisturizes my skin for the BHA lotion I uses right after. I used to use Origins toner but totally notice the improvement after starting to use Paula's Choice. Highly recommended!

  5. Jenny
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a great toner
    • This toner is a-ma-zing. A lot of the drug store toners I've used in the past either make my skin warm, sting, or cause a lot of redness. This toner does none of that it feels calming and hydrating. I have dry skin, so a toner that actually hydrates my skin is incredible. My only qualm is that the bottle is only 190 ml. It would be lovely if you could sell a larger volume of product like you do with the skin recovery cleanser. Overall a wonderful product, this is my second go round with it and there will be plenty more to come.

  6. Lindsay
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 28, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Stung my face & made it pink!
    • This is the first Paula's Choice toner I've tried and I had such high hopes. But it did the opposite of what it claims: It stung my face and made it bright pink, then dry & tight-feeling after every use!! I've had very few reactions like this. I had to throw it out. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish you could have seen better results with this product. The Skin Recovery Toner is a very gentle formula and typically works very well for very sensitive skin. We would like to have you contact customer care to discuss your routine and skin type, we are happy to make suggestions and send samples for you to try. We have issued you an in-house credit for the toner because it did not work for you. You can use your credit by calling to place your next phone order with us.

  7. Bridgett
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not as good as I expected
    • This toner was kind of disappointing. I have rosacea and I hoped this toner would calm redness but still provide the effects of a toner (remove cleanser residue), but it left my skin feeling slightly greasy and doesn't seem to ever sink in, even if I only use a tiny amount. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish this toner could have worked better for you! The Skin Recovery line is great for sensitive skin that is normal to dry or very dry. The toner has a milky consistency and provides calming and anti-aging benefits. We are happy to issue an in-house credit for the toner because it did not work for you, and encourage you to contact customer care to discuss your skin type as well as make recommendations for some other toner options. If you have any questions please contact us anytime, we are always happy to help.

  8. Logan
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing. Honestly I see a difference!
    • I've never used a toner before, but I decided to give this a try. Simply amazing!!! My skin has never looked better.

  9. linda
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Toner to Moisturize!!
    • I have tried all of her toners, and this one has me falling in love!!! It moisturizes my dry spots and even sops up my oily nose. It makes my face feels refreshed after I wash it. I will always come back to this one.

  10. G.S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 06, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Found My Perfect Toner
    • I love this toner! It is perfect for my sensitive, normal-to-dry, mild rosacea skin. I have never experienced any redness with it and it helps keep my skin soft. Plus, it feels good to know I am putting so many healthy ingredients on my skin!

  11. Karen
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Toner Packaging Even Better
    • I was very glad to see the new top design on this great toner! I don't have to worry about too much toner coming out now. Thanks for reading my mind and making it better. The product is wonderful, as always.

  12. Jordan
    Reviewed on Monday, July 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The only of Paulas toners so far I can tolerate!
    • I have eczema on the majority of my face, so was skeptical with this toner, as the others of Paulas i have tried made my eczema get a lot redder! (Earth sourced, Hydralight)... so I put this on and waited about 5 minutes to see if it turned it red. It didn't! Very happy with this... definitely worth considering but get it as a sample first just in case!

  13. christine
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another Paula's Choice product I am THRILLED with!
    • Wow, I really love this toner! After it dries, my skin is so soft and it rids of the slight redness I usually have on my cheeks. The bottle top design is perfect too; toner doesn't pour excessively. My many thanks to the Paula's Choice team. As I am growing my collection of PC products, I actually tried another PC toner. Unfortunately, it wasn't what was best for my skin. They kindly exchanged the toner for me. No hassles...just love that! The Customer Service is always excellent; all the more reason why I don't hesitate to try new PC product!

  14. Sarah
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 30, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great after laser treatment
    • I had a Total FX laser treatment on my face and the post-procedure skin care routine was to use CeraVe cleanser and Aquaphor moisturizer. After about 10 days, my skin was breaking out terribly so I got my doctor's permission to go back to my Skin Recovery cleanser and moisturizer, to which I added the Skin Recovery Toner as a new product. What a difference! The toner kept my face moisturized, so important while it continues to recover, but it also really calmed the redness. I am very happy with this product!

  15. Nathan R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 28, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Rave!!
    • It's high time that I rave about this majestic toner! I have used this toner on and off (more on) since about 2008. Sometimes, when new products come out, I get distracted thinking that they will be better than this beautiful product. I am always wrong. I have normal to dry, sensitive skin, and I have used the Skin Balancing and RESIST toners. While they are both great products, NOTHING compares to what the Skin Recovery toner does to my skin. It protects my skin, and makes it so unbelievably soft!! It's also perfect immediately post-shave. Love it!

  16. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this Toner!
    • I've been using this toner for almost a year now. It removes any make up that doesn't come off when washing my face. It also leaves my face feeling refreshed and smooth. This is a must have product!

  17. Julie
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 31, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A must have toner!
    • I have rosacea and have always had a hard time finding products that work for me. I thought I had to live with itchy blotchy skin until my sister recommend Paula's Choice. This toner calms my itchy skin and leaves it feeling soft. I had no idea toner was so important but it has really made a difference in my skin care system.

  18. Summer
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good Stuff
    • I am loving this toner. My skin is dry and blemish prone. This cleans off any remaining residue (which after using PC Moisture Boost cleanser is usually none)and leaves skin lightly moisturized ready for the exfoliation. It goes on like silk.Reduces pore size and causes no irritation at all. I have tried to use it only at night to save $, but find I need it to help with moisturizing in preparation for the BHA. I just wish it was a slightly lower price point and lasted a little longer. It doesn't seem to go as far as some of PC other products and don't really like the way it dribbles out of the bottle and hard to measure how much you are getting out. A spray application would be really nice.

  19. Cat
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Silk Water
    • This is hands-down THE BEST toner for sensitive/dry skin. Dry patches, flakey skin, irritation all soothed by this toner. Feels and looks really milky, strangely feels like oil but fades to a silky texture (if that makes any sense). Sometimes I lightly pat it over my foundation when I feel lk my foundation is accidentally too overapplied/dry.

  20. Amy
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    I wanted to like it
    • I really liked how this was unscented and the texture seemed nice. It felt fine when I put it on but after a couple of days my skin broke out in lots of small red bumps, so I had to stop using it. After a few days the bumps went away. Looks like this one is not for me. Customer Care Response: Thank you for sharing your experience, Amy! We are sorry the Skin Recovery Toner wasn't right for you, but would like to process a refund (or send you samples of alternatives to consider!) Just contact us at custserv@paulaschoice.com and we will make the arrangements.

  21. Jessica
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent!
    • This is an excellent toner that was my favorite until the Earth Sourced one came out. Thank you to Paula's excellent customer service reps! They were friendly and professional when I called them after I realized they accidentally sent me the wrong toner on my first order. They shipped the correct one via Express mail and I had it the very next day!This toner has a wonderful, milky texture that I really love. It feels so good going on my skin and makes it look amazing.This would be good for anyone with dry, sensitive, or combination skin.

  22. Kel
    Reviewed on Friday, May 11, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Caused me irritation and burning
    • While i absolutely adore Paula's products, this one immediately makes my skin irritated and my skin burns and actually feels hot. i was quite disappointed as i have very dry skin and need the extra moisture. I guess I will check Beautipedia for other options. Customer Care Response: Thank you for sharing your experience, Kel! We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you, and while it is tricky to pinpoint what may have been the issue for you (or if other factors played a role) we are confident that you can find an alternative with our RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner, or the recommendations in Beautypedia.com! Contact us at custserv@paulachoice.com to set up a refund, exchange or samples with which to experiment!

  23. Helane
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I Love this Toner
    • I never understood the purpose of a toner and therefore never used them. that is until I tried this one. I love the silky feel of it and it dries very quickly. I also followed the advise of pouring a little in the plam of my hand after shaking and applying with my clean fingers. My skin feels smooth and the texture seems to have improved.

  24. Maddy
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm now a toner convert
    • I never used toners or understood their purpose until I discovered Paula's Choice. Even then, I didn't think they were necessary until I tried the Clear line toner. I liked the toner as part of my morning routine. When I noticed that it seemed like my skin was over-exfoliated (due to user error of products) I went into repair mode! I ordered a couple of samples of this toner. I firstly have to say that the sample amounts from PC are amazing! They provide plenty for several uses and free shipping on those sizes. I ran out and decided I HAD(!) to have this toner in my life and purchased it asap. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and just pour a small amount and apply it to my face with my fingers. Since there are no exfoliating actives, you don't have to be precise about application. I use it after the Skin Recovery cream cleanser and I just feel so pampered! A trick that I read is to apply moisturizer while the toner is still wet, to lock in the moisture and ingredients. I think it's been helping and my skin is looking renewed. I highly recommend this for all skin types (they all need pampering sometimes) because I don't find it to be heavy.

  25. Rachel
    Reviewed on Monday, May 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!!
    • I was diagnosed with rosacea two years ago and have had a really hard time getting it under control. At my last dermatologist appointment, the nurse recommended I try the Paula's Choice products for rosacea, as she also had rosacea and had found relief with the toner. So, after a few weeks of itching and burning from the new medication, I decided to Order the Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner. I had some doubts that this would really have any affect on my skin but, after my very first use, I felt such a difference. Not only did it actually calm my itching and burning, it make my skin feel really soft. I have been using it in conjunction with normal routine (CeraVe cleanser and moisturizers) and plan on trying other Paula's Choice products. They are the best kept secret out there!!

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer consistency than any other toner you may have tried (save for Paula's Choice Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner). Its milky texture is loaded with skin-protecting antioxidants, essential lipids, cell-communicating ingredients and restorative skin-identical ingredients to leave your skin feeling silky-smooth and better able to recover from damage. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner delivers key ingredients which are vital to reviving skin's intercellular matrix to help eliminate dry, flaky skin as it soothes redness and sensitivity. When used after cleansing, it helps skin restore and repair itself so it can look and act younger. It also works to remove last traces of makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner is best for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun-damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery ENRICHED CALMING Toner

FEBS Letters, December 2009, Epbulication; Dermato-Endocrinology, March 2009, pages 72–76; International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Archives of Pharmacal Research, December 2002, pages 747–758; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73Skin Research and Technology, November 2001, pages 227–237; and Contact Dermatitis, November 1998, pages 231–239; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: borage seed oil, ascorbyl palmitate, vitamin E, vitamin C, allantoin, evening primrose oil, tocopherol, niacinamide, sodium hyaluronate, hydrogenated lecithin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Glycereth-26 (glycerin- and glycol-based water-binding agent), Dimethiconol (silicone slip agent), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Borago Officinalis (Borage) Seed Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Hydrogenated Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (emollient), Linoleamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate (stabilizer), Laureth-4, Laureth-23 (emulsifiers), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, and Sorbic Acid (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Shake well. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients.

What are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

Every Paula's Choice toner repairs skin, provides antioxidants, delivers anti-aging ingredients, and helps remove last traces of makeup. They do not contain alcohol, fragrance, or unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. Below you'll find a brief description for each distinct toner.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains a broad range of ingredients that aid skin's barrier repair process so those with normal to dry skin will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or treatment product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage, redness, or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a rich, milky liquid texture and contains more plant oils and other emollients for intense hydration. Excellent for rosacea!

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent to help normalize skin and reduce signs of extreme combination skin (oily and dry areas). Its cell-communicating ingredients help balance skin and reduce enlarged pores.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.